Happy Gilmore (1996) Poster

(1996)

User Reviews

Review this title
316 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
To Be Remembered Forever: 'Happy' And Bob Barker Trading Blows
ccthemovieman-130 March 2006
A "pro" golfer duking it out with veteran game-show host Bob Barker right in the middle of a tournament. That scene alone makes this one of the more memorable comedies of the last 30 years. Almost everyone I know has either seen or heard of that scene and everyone laughs at it.

It IS ludicrous and that's what makes it so funny. In fact, most of the movie is totally preposterous, totally unbelievable and totally wacky, which is Adam Sandler's trademark in these comedies. He's low key but violent, as he was in Mr. Deeds, Punch-Drunk Love and a few other films.

Here, Sander is even more vocal and violent than normal and definitely more crude, which is saying something since this actor usually doesn't play guys with a lot of class. "Happy" is a hot-tempered hockey player who can hit a golf ball 400 yards so he tries his hand on the PGA tour to help raise money for his grandmother. I just shake my head even writing that last sentence, it sounds so stupid....but this is a stupid movie with an incredibly stupid story but is hilarious, for the most part.

Anyone who is a golfer would appreciate this movie more than others, because Sandler says and does things we'd all like to do on the links at times but, thankfully, don't. In short: this is a crude but very funny movie.
81 out of 97 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Turn off brain, watch movie, laugh, enjoy, laugh some more
nucksfan4life17 September 2002
"Happy Gilmore" is the Adam Sandler movie to see. If everyone had to see one Sandler movie before their lives were complete, I would seriously hope this is the movie they see. It's nice to see golf and hockey in a movie again. I don't think there is another movie out there that makes me laugh as much as "Happy Gilmore" does. You have Happy, the ultimate hero, fighting to win a life of security for his grandma. There's Shooter McGavin, the villain you love to hate, who attempts to foil Happy's quest. And then there's Mr. Larson, Happy's 8' tall monster of a former employer, threatening Shooter at every turn. Hey Bob Barker is in this movie! It doesn't get much funnier than Mr. Price Is Right insulting our hero. Well maybe Ben Stiller's part in this movie is funnier, as he corruptly directs a retirement home. It doesn't matter what's the funniest. This whole movie is one hilarious moment after another.
68 out of 84 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Apollo Creed with a wooden hand!! funny as hell
Quinoa198430 April 2000
Adam Sandler has a very funny movie here that works like no other since Caddyshack. Sandler plays a lazy guy who has to save his grandmother's house from being removed. So, he starts to play golf in a way that only Sandler can. He is also instructed by Carl Weathers (who memorably played Apollo Creed in Rokcy), and wathcing his scenes I had to leave the theater from laughing so much (he had a wooden hand and it always gets knocked off). Sandler knows how to keep people rolling in the ailes, and this proves it. A++
43 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Violence, hockey, vulgarity ... all the good stuff!
Mr-Fusion25 February 2019
My favorite Adam Sandler movie.

I just think it aligns perfectly with his comic persona. He seems to fit this character perfectly. It's the kind of adolescent silliness that I gravitate toward. I can't tell you how happy I was that my 9 year-old seemed to approve ("That was a very good movie"). And she's way more mature than her old man is.

It's not just the character of Happy Gilmore that's memorable here, but also Shooter McGavin, and Christopher McDonald deserves credit for making the entitled jackass a solid villain. Same for Carl Weathers, and you would think he'd be slumming it here, but he sure doesn't show it.

Best of all? Out-of-Nowhere Bob Barker; secure enough in his celebrity to openly parody it with a free-for-all fistfight.

Tell me "The Price is Wrong, b***h!" isn't one of Sandler's best lines.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Slapstick humour that does not need you to think but with excellent timing.
d-crowder6 October 2004
Adam Sandler may not be the all-round actor who can deliver many different comic performances but he does have a certain comic style. Happy Gilmore is a failed Hockey player who cannot skate and has a lack of any self-discipline. His life seems to be a complete failure until he finds out he can hit a golf ball over 400 yards. At first you might feel little empathy for Happy as he obviously deserves all the bad luck he gets from the way he treats his friends. But the introduction of Shooter to the screen suddenly makes you root for the underdog. The plot is thrown together to get the most out of Sandler and his antics on screen. Some of the scenes are totally unbelievable particularly when a car is driven on to the golf course to run down Happy! But no matter how many times I see the film it can still make me laugh.
33 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I say, We just lay by the bay and make hay! Okay?"
uds328 August 2002
Okies....here we have the indisputable King of mediocrity but one thing you gotta say for Sandler - they don't come more unpretentious! He delivers what you expect and in HAPPY GILMORE he came up undeniably with his best film!

As the wannabe hockey great in dire need of an anger-management course, Sandler discovers by chance his prodigious golfing talents - but using a hockey stick! In a performance best decribed as R-rated Jerry Lewis, Sandler is a hoot as he takes on Bob Barker, the establishment and Shooter McGavin - golfing's hissable "Mr Smarm" (An Oscar-worthy turn from Christopher McDonald)

Carl Weathers turns in a blinder as Sandler's newly come-by coach with an unfortunate earlier run-in with a hungry croc! If you don't find anything in this film funny, you're a dead person! Like many devotees, we have watched this film countless times - it just improves with age!
40 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Comedy Gold
filmprodigy1826 March 2003
In what is Adam Sandlers best work to date, the hopeless hockey failure Happy Gilmore must join the Professional Golfers Tour to help his Grandmother with her finances.

As a golfer myself I can say that the antics pulled in this golf caper are are riot! I have seen the film probably over 50 times but each time I laugh as if it were my first time viewing it.

From Carl Weathers and his wooden hand, to Happy teaming up with Bob Barker, this movie keep you laughing the whole way through. Even my 80 year old grandparent loved it!

Perhaps the best review I can give for this movie comes from Happy himself-- "Talk about a hole in one!"
39 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Sandler's Best
Deniro-84 March 2000
This is Sandler's best movie to date. I could watch this movie 50 times and still laugh. It doesn't get any better than this, except for Tommy Boy! Sandler can only go downhill from here, Waterboy was dumb compared to this. Goddamn I hate that Bob Barker, Classic!!!
34 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
My favorite Adam Sanlder movie ever!
hchais10 June 2007
This movie is hilarious! It is just so funny. It is full of non-stop laughs for me, because I love this kind of comedy. I love this movie. It is one of my ten favorite comedies of all time. It is also my favorite Adam Sandler movie. I just love it. It is very, very funny for me. It could be funny for you if you like this kind of comedy. This movie has tons of very memorable quotes that are very funny. So, all in all, in the end, I love this movie and I always will. I love it. 10/10. I have to do ten lines, so, this is a good movie. This is a good movie. This is a good movie. This good movie. This is a good movie. This is a good movie. This is a good movie. This is a good movie.
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best comedy I've ever seen!
madtigerx19 March 2006
This movie is an incredibly hilarious movie, no matter how many times you watch it. It's true that it's profane, violent, and stupid, but in this film, that's what makes it so funny! The timing is just perfect. It's a great movie to watch with friends for the first time, especially for the fact that you will be quoting lines with them randomly for quite a while. I have seen it over 30 times, and I still laugh. This is Adam Sandler at his very best. Great random characters, such as the "Jackass" man, the homeless guy, and very best, Bob Barker! To tell you the truth,"It'll make you laugh until you hyperventilate". There's not only great vocal humor, but the visuals and especially the body language coming from the actors is classic. To me, there is not a better comedy.
52 out of 85 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
It's not Caddyshack, but it's quality comedy
Flagrant-Baronessa29 July 2006
Happy Gilmore is Adam Sandler's only standout performance in a long list of half-assed, unfunny comedies. But this is it, the real deal. This is the film that all other Sandler films make references to, quote and celebrate, in case you ever wondered where phrases like "It's all in the hips" (as said in Little Nicky) and "You eat pieces of sh*t for breakfast?" (quoted everywhere) came from. Well, Happy Gilmore is the birth of these phrases as well as the birth of a comedic star. It is also just all-around solid comedic entertainment and a crash-course in golf. Or rather, 101 Things Not To Do On The Golf Course.

Adam Sandler is Happy. But this is only his character's ironic name, because Happy is really quite angry and extremely frustrated at getting nowhere in his amateur hockey career. He slips into golf by what can only be described as a fluke, and is able to take out his aggressions on the golf-court, setting records for longest drives ever as he aggressively hits the ball. The anger he has is advantageous here, but a big problem when it comes to putting - and an even bigger problem when it comes to dealing with smug competitors like Shooter McGavin (superbly played by Christopher McDonald).

Happy Gilmore thus follows Sandler on the golf-court, where 90% of the film takes place. Happy is one of those rare characters in films that you desperately pull for and end up hating all of his competitors and enemies. In this way, Happy Gilmore is a very effective film as it establishes a hero-feeling with its main character, in spite of his flaws. I can't think of many other films in which I've wanted the lead character to win as much as in this one. On top of that device, you have such gems like Adam Sandler beating up old man Bob Barker on the green, Adam Sandler screaming at a golf ball asking it "Are you too good for your home?", and Christopher McDonald in one of the most hilarious and subtlety comedic performances of the 1990s.

So Happy Gilmore is the Godfather of all Sandler films, as well as the only truly good one. It borrows somewhat from Caddyshack in the goofy golf sense so it can't be considered truly original, but it IS original when it comes to Happy Madison productions.

8/10
28 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A film that I treasure.
jaysilentbob372 July 2006
This film is the one that introduced me to one of my favorite actors, Adam Sandler. His movies are mostly hit-or-miss gag machines, but this is one of his movies in which nearly every gag works. I almost miss the old Adam Sandler. The old Adam Sandler character would be a man who acts nice, but turns violent and angry when he doesn't get his way. Now he plays a mild-mannered every-man who makes little wisecracks. Not that the latter isn't funny, but the former is what he'll always be remembered for, and this is a perfect example of an Adam Sandler's true comedic side.

Happy Gilmore (Adam Sandler) is a nearly unlikeable loser who after a strangely traumatic childhood, grew up to be a raving, anti-social lunatic, who happens to be obsessed with hockey. He constantly tries out for hockey teams, and proudly holds two league records (Most time spent in the penalty box, and he was the only person in history to ever take off his skate and try to stab somebody). One day, his girlfriend dumps him, he doesn't make the hockey team, and the IRS repossesses his grandmothers house which he grew up in. Soon, he discovers that he has an incredible talent for golf, with a record breaking long drive. Unwillingly taken under the wing of one-handed former golf pro Chubbs Peterson (Carl Weathers), and becomes a golf sensation due to his long drive, and extremely rude behavior, much to the dismay of the leading tour money winner, Shooter McGavin (Christopher McDonald). A bitter rivalry and a race-against-time ensue, as Happy tries to earn back his grandma's house, and beat Shooter.

Happy Gilmore is a movie that I truly adore, and will always cherish. There are many quotable lines, and hilariously random scenes and/or characters. One of the funniest ones is a cameo by Ben Stiller as a cold-blooded orderly at an old folks home, who treats the citizens like inmates. One of the funniest comic bits in any Adam Sandler movie is the sequence in which Happy gets into a fistfight with Bob Barker, the host of "The Price is Right." For some reason, Bob fails to notice the heckler who's most frequently uttered word never fails to affect Happy's game for the worst.

Another hilarious thing about this movie is how many of the characters in the movie manage to play their parts and keep a straight face, even when Happy is assaulting innocent people for the smallest reasons, and cussing out the golf ball when it won't go "home." Happy is one of a group of quirky characters in the film, but much of the humor comes from the reactions of the serious characters, and/or the extras when Happy does something stupid. One hilarious example of this is when Happy repeatedly screams out every word that can't be said on TV, well... on TV. The overall premise of the film is fun, and the film delivers non-stop laughs. Sit back and enjoy the classic Adam Sandler vehicle. I highly recommend this film, and give it 10/10.

It is proudly rated PG-13 for Language and Comic Sexuality. Sex: 4/10 Violence: 5/10 Swearing: 5/10 Drugs: 2/10
28 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Don't Look Now, I'm Finally Happy
thesar-227 July 2015
Warning: Spoilers
A follow-up to his miserable Billy Madison, Happy Gilmore is actually one of Adam Sandler's best comedies he's done. Maybe they got the right script, the correct director or just that Sandler dropped his loud, incoherent, obnoxious and incomprehensible gibberish…a ton worked here and I found myself actually (and FINALLY) laughing out loud in one of his comedies.

I do my best to keep an open mind during any movie, and I devoted this weekend to spend more time with Sandler's more well-known films I hadn't seen. Even though, I didn't have high expectations for this. It didn't help, the opening credits were fairly lame and I thought: here we go again. But, then, the comedy began to work with Sandler's first couple of strokes of the golf balls. I started to uncontrollably laugh and enjoyed myself for the remainder of the flick.

Granted, it's not the most original movie, and it relied on the usual antics, movie tricks and clichés. Still, I enjoyed the ride despite knowing how it would play out.

Sandler works best when he doesn't lower himself to sudden, expected and whiney outbursts. Much like modern-day Melissa McCarthy; when she's not "Tammy," she's pretty damn funny.

If I hadn't just now watched this movie for the first time in 2015, I would've had a renewed faith in Sandler, despite his already failing grade in 1996. Unfortunately, he would continue to make an enormous amount of garbage that would certainly make his movies a(n unintentional) laughing stalk in the industry. That all said, he's had a few gems, and I completely recommend this one.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
My first Sandler film
nightbiker-110 June 2005
This movie was my first introduction to Adam Sandler.

Generally speaking, I tend to avoid popular comedies because I rarely find them worth the trouble (or expense). This was a movie that was bundled with another, in the 'previously viewed' bin.

I can't recall the other movie (wasn't worth the time it took to watch it) but this one was hilarious.

I have since purchased the DVD and viewed it enough times to make the wife groan whenever I reach for it. I have yet to show this movie to any friends or family and find one who didn't like it. The movie is basically about golf (as evidenced from the picture on the box) but you don't have to know a thing about the sport to enjoy it (I didn't). I love movies, but its been a while since I enjoyed one so much.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Funniest movie ever?
Dr_Lange7 March 1999
Happy Gilmore is the funniest film I have ever seen. I laughed so much I couldn`t breathe. It is a hundred times as funny as Dumb and Dumber, and ten times as funny as Ace Ventura, and that says it all. Adam Sandler is just perfect in the role as Happy Gilmore and you will laugh from beginning to end. PS:See it together with someone. It`s funniest that way.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the funniest movies of all-time!!
OriginalMovieBuff2130 April 2004
Happy Gilmore is probably one of the funniest movies since this day. I truly recommend a lot of people to go see this movie. This is Adam Sandler's best film and it sure will be for a long time. The humor of this film is outstanding. At it's best!!! Golf has never been better although Caddyshack might be a little bit better than this but I'll tell you that this was great. Norman McDonald played excellent as Shooter McGavin. He was so funny. " I eat sh*t like you for breakfast."

" You eat sh*t for breakfast"

" No!" Omg that part was just so funny and also when Shooter brags it's funny. I also love Happy's dreams and Chubs was great to with no hand. I love this movie and I hope you love it to.

10/10
31 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Surprisingly pretty okay
hung_fao_tweeze19 April 2011
Time and experience has made me loath to watch nearly any movie starring an SNL alumni. Yet every now and then one rises from the comedic swamp that is actually better than the rest of the stable. This is one of them. I avoided seeing this movie until now. After viewing it I was pleasantly surprised. I admit that I didn't expect much so I was quite ready to 'diss' this movie. And, indeed, there are places where you're not sure something was supposed to be funny or not, but the movie doesn't dwell. The pacing keeps it alive and interesting. It's good to see Richard Kiel again. Carl Weathers is a hoot with his wooden prosthetic hand and obviously longer arm. He should do more comedy. And Bob Barker!! A great and memorable inclusion. The only real disappointment was the rather abrupt ending. It didn't go off with a bang - it faded. Abraham Lincoln? Why? Why not. His sudden brief appearance for no reason is always funny. Bottomline: if you find the need to watch a movie from the line of SNL players - this is a good recommendation. I didn't kick myself afterward like I have with Will Ferrell flicks, etc.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Yup...Adam Sandler at his finest
jumplittlechildren11 August 2019
Why is this movie only getting a collective 7 stars??? It should be 9 stars @ least! This movie is an awesome comedy classic right up there with Caddyshack & Dumb and Dumber. Hail to Sandler! Hail to a Comedy Legend!!!
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Back In a Time When Sandler Was More Risky
eric26200330 July 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Back in the 1990's there was a time when Adam Sandler was one of the leading funny men. The two standout films that starred Adam Sandler at the time was "Billy Madison" and this one here "Happy Gilmore".was the metaphoric jumper cable that electrified Mr. Sandler's acting career. For the past decade and a half, Sandler's movies have been simple in plot, but they are never short on entertainment and you become quite passive over the surreal moments. "Happy Gilmore is by far no exception to the rule.

Sandler stars as Happy Gilmore, a young energetic hockey player with a big problem, he can't skate. Happy is raised by his grandmother after his father was killed after a severe slap shot to the head. When government officials discover that his grandmother owes them $270,000 in taxes. they raid her house and repossess every on of her belongings that even includes the house. And that they'll only get it back if they can find a way to pay the money they owe.

With his hockey career being null and void, Happy seems his chances of getting back her loot is virtually impossible. As the movers carry their possessions, one of the moving men starts up a bet to Happy that happy couldn't strike a golf ball farther than him. Much to even Happy's surprise he actually has the amazing ability to to drive the ball well over 400 yards. This inspires Happy who continues to gain impressions on spectators including Chubbs (Carl Weathers) who was an ex golfer whose career was cut short by an alligator bite. on his hand.

Chubbs persuades Happy to compete in a local tournament and if he succeeds, he will be eligible to compete in the PGA tournament. And so Happy emerges victorious and brings a volatile demeanour and mean drive as well as a very strong fan following. But his short-tempered attitude almost gets him kicked off the tournament due to his gratuitous cursing and destroying clubs. With the help from Chubbs he progressively tones down his act and even his payroll starts to materialize. During the tournament, Happy becomes a hated rival by a top player named Shooter McGavin (Christopher McDonald) McGavin takes the sport seriously while at the same time looks down on all the competitors due to his condescending nature.

There is not very much thought put into the movie, but that could all be forgiven because it's hilarious and brilliantly scripted. and after "Billy Madison" this is the second funniest film that Sandler ever performed. This is definitely a movie you don't want to miss out. It's hilarious, easy to follow along and even if you don't like golf it's still fun to watch.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Best Golf Movie Since Caddyshack
jts040527 December 2005
Adam Sandler as Happy Gilmore brings laughs once again to the career of Adam Sandler. This movie is one of the movies Sandler started out with. Billy Madison and Happy Gilmore are both the two movies Adam Sandler started out with. Going Overboard was no professional movie at all. With Billy Madison and Happy Gilmore you have Happy Madison Productions. Happy Madison has done well good movies. They did the first Deuce Bigelow and they did Dickie Roberts Former Child Star. Adam has come from Saturday Night Live with all he knows and has acted with what he knows. David Spade, Chris Farley, Dana Carvey, Mike Myers, Ben Stiller, Steve Martin, and Bill Murray are the other men who have done well after Saturday Night Live. Adam Sandler still has a great career ahead of him.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Better than billy Madison
angeltania2 January 2020
Warning: Spoilers
This is one of Adam sandlers classic comedy movies
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Ahhh Nostalgia...
dwn-6358423 December 2019
They truly don't make em like this anymore. Maybe that's a good thing so we have these gems like Happy Gilmore, and Billy Madison to look back on... The 90's for action, and comedy were some great times. If you come across Happy Gilmore, make sure to give it a watch. I still laugh in tears everytime the kid goes in the batting cage after Happy uses it 🤣 lmfao
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I didn't know golf and hockey could work so well together
Min11131 January 2019
That's how you sum this movie up. It worked too. If you're into comedy, you'll really enjoy this because this movie gets you laughing, and that's why I like it. Adam Sandler starred in many fine films, but Happy Gilmore is one of his more underrated ones, and often, looks overlooked. I like, in this movie, how the character, Gilmore, uses a hockey stick to play golf, and it basically gets hilarious from there. He really has the talent to play his shots. The plot was good, and this movie will basically get you laughing.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Happy Gilmore
coledrew26 October 2016
Happy Gilmore is a great movie. It's a great movie for many reasons, the plot is fantastic, the script is awesome and Adam Sandler is hysterical. The 1996 film starring Adam Sandler, Julie Bowen, Christopher McDonald and Carl Weathers is a classic. Directed by Dennis Dugan, it is one of his bests along with other films like Big Daddy, I Now Pronounce You Chuck and Larry, You Don't Mess with the Zohan, both Grown Ups 1 and 2, Just Go with It and Jack and Jill. Being produced by Robert Simonds, this is also one of his best known films. Other notable films produced by Simmonds are Cheaper by the Dozen and The Pink Panther, This Means War and Big Daddy. Happy Gilmore is a rejected hockey player with a really hard slap shot. He gets cut from the same team every year but still tries out. He finds out that his grandma, who raised him as a child, house is being evicted. While playing around with some golf clubs he learns he can drive a golf ball really far. With help from his friend and trainer, Chubbs, he works his way up to the PGA tour in hopes to win enough money to get his grandma's house back. His antics attract an unusual crowd to the PGA tour which is good for business but other top golfers like Shooter McGavin think he's an embarrassment. Making $41.20 million dollars, Happy Gilmore is another one of Adam Sandler's best movies. The comedy was rated 7/10 of IMDb which is lower than what I believe it should be. I would rate the movie 8.5/10. 30 year old Adam Sandler is hilarious in this film and the acting over all is very good. Another reason I love this movie is because I think they did an awesome job attracting all audiences, I watch this movie with my family all the time. It attracts people of all ages. My younger cousins and my grandma and grandpa both love this movie as well. Over all, this movie is a classic. It has a very funny plot that is easy to follow for everyone. The actors assisting Sandler do a great job supporting him throughout the film. There are many hilarious scenes and quotes from Happy Gilmore. Most people have seen the movie already, but if you have not you definitely should soon.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Enjoyable Older Sandler film
Floated29 August 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Happy Gilmore is an early film of Adam Sandler's during his 1990's era. The spirit of the film and the title character played by Sandler are every bit as enjoyable as many have considered this film to be. Happy is the ultimate chip-on-his-shoulder leading man, who settles every argument with a punch in the nose or a biting wisecrack. He has a short fuse which is shown that the slightest spark can set him off, occasionally with great results. He is a lifelong hockey fan, and he wants desperately to play with the pros, but he has one problem which is he can't skate. However after one day occasionally fooling around with golf with a few friends, he is noticed by former gold legend Chubbs. From there on, Chubbs tells him that Happy is a great and has talent, though Happy doesn't want any part of golf since his goal is to become a hockey player. Happy Gilmore does have several decent laughs and Adam Sandler plays the character as needed. For a comedy the plot works well enough and the pacing is good. It isn't too long and it is quite enjoyable for those of fans of this sort of comedy. As a rewatch 02/27/20' Happy Gilmore remains an enjoyable and fun positive watch.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed