As Good as It Gets (1997) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
604 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Well, I certainly can say I've never seen a film like this before!
planktonrules19 February 2013
Several years ago, my wife watched "As Good As It Gets" and she told me she didn't like the film. So, I avoided it for years....and now I wish I hadn't listened to her. I loved the film---just don't tell her I said so!

The film, to me, was perhaps a bit different experience than it would have been for the average viewer. As a former psychotherapist, I kept trying to analyze Jack Nicholson's character in order to understand the story better. He appeared to either have a variety of personality disorders--including an avoidant personality (where he pretends to HATE everyone and pushes them away to avoid being hurt), an obsessive-compulsive personality (or perhaps an Obsessive-Compulsive Disorder) and probably a nice dose of either Asperger's or was just socially retarded. Regardless, this sort of person would NORMALLY live a very solitary and sad existence. However, the film manages to make it seem believable that a man like this could change...some...as well as find love. It's all very improbable but also very charming and sweet. And, later in the film rather oddly romantic. Additionally, the film is, at times, rather funny. Overall, a quirky and well-written film with some terrific acting.

A lot of other stuff has been written about this multi-Oscar-winning film....so I'll just end by saying my wife is 100% wrong...but I still think she's terrific.
43 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A superior Hollywood piece of sentimentality
bob the moo27 January 2003
Melvin is a romantic novelist who is a selfish manic compulsive who is rude and insulting to all he meets. When Melvin's gay neighbour is beaten up and robbed, Melvin agrees to look after his dog. The dog gives Melvin something to care about other than himself and his life is approaching normal until his regular waitress has to leave work to look after her asthmatic son and his neighbour wants his dog back. Melvin starts to realise that his life needs others for more than just selfish reasons.

The big Oscar winner for Jack is recent years is enjoyable if you come to it knowing what to expect. The film is very sentimental but in a good way. The film is gently comic and amusing and the characters (although exaggerated) are winning and involving. The telling is a little long winded at times and the film could have been shorter but it is still enjoyable. It does tip over into sickly sentimentality at times and can be a bit syrupy but it comes with the territory.

Nicholson is excellent and is the main reason it all works well. His un-PC Melvin is funny but also a character that you can hate and pity on several occasions. Kinnear is good because he is a solid understated character and not hammy or OTT like he can be. Hunt is good but is left with the majority of the syrup and sentiment where the other characters get more share of the laughs. Gooding Jr continues his trend of being good in over the top roles and is funny and happily avoids becoming a flaming gay stereotype.

Overall this is a sentimental romantic comedy that is typical for the genre. The story wanders to it's point but the good cast, led by a great Nicholson, hold the whole thing together. A superior piece of sentimentality.
90 out of 117 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
It's hard not to leave this film with a smile on your face.
estebangonzalez107 March 2014
"You make me want to be a better man."

I finally got around to watching this touching and funny film directed by James L. Brooks that stands out thanks to some wonderful performances and memorable characters. As Good As it Gets is proof that actions are louder than words because despite how cruel and mean Nicholson's character is, he does incredible and kind things for others. In a way this film reminded me of David O. Russell's Silver Linings Playbook as I found both films to be difficult to follow at first due to the lack of a likable character, but once we get to know who these people are we forgive their flaws and end up routing for them. Both Nicholson and Helen Hunt give excellent performances, and their Oscar wins were well deserved in my opinion. As Good As it Gets is the very definition of charm, and the screenplay written by Mark Andrus (Life As a House) shines thanks to some incredible performances. I really enjoyed this film and found myself laughing through most of the scenes. This is one more film I can eliminate from my shame list, and I'm glad I finally got to experience this romantic comedy which also has a lot to say about overcoming illness.

We are introduced to Melvin Udall (Jack Nicholson), a cranky but successful author who suffers from OCD. He lives on his own in a beautiful apartment where he spends most of his time writing. He always goes out on his daily breakfast ritual which consists of walking to a nearby cafe without touching anyone or stepping on any cracks. He always sits in the same place at the cafe and always demands to be served by the same waitress, whose name is Carol (Helen Hunt). Carol is actually the only one in the cafe who stands his constant outbursts and cruel comments. Melvin's daily routine changes through two events that end up affecting his life. First, his homosexual artist neighbor named Simon (Greg Kinnear) suffers an accident and Melvin unwillingly accepts to take care of his dog in his absence. Second, Carol's son, Spencer (Jesse James) gets ill and she quits her job. Not accepting the fact that Carol isn't there to serve him, Melvin tries to find her in order to restore order back to his life. These series of events force Melvin to change his routine and at the same time he forms an unlikely friendship with Carol and Simon proving that he isn't as bad as he seems to be.

The performances by each one of the talented actors are the heart and motor of this film. Jack Nicholson and Helen Hunt share an incredible chemistry together. It's funny how despite never being able to share his feelings towards her and always saying the wrong things, it becomes clear that she does inspire him to become a better person. The supporting cast is also incredible here, especially Greg Kinnear and Cuba Gooding Jr. who deliver several funny scenes. I was partial to Brooks's work considering I had only seen How Do You Know which didn't work for me and Spanglish which I did enjoy, but As Good As it Gets is without a doubt his best work thanks to an unbelievable cast. This is a smart and funny film, which also could be cruel at times, but it was well balanced. Despite the schmaltzy story it still worked thanks to the characters that carried this film. It's hard not to leave this film with a smile on your face.
23 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
What every romantic comedy aspires to be...
longcooljolie12 May 2014
and this movie can be watched again, and again, and again (at least by me).

By now, most people who watch movies are aware that this one practically swept the Oscars for the year it was produced. It won Jack Nicholson and Helen Hunt best Actor/Actress awards, came away with Best Picture and also Greg Kinnear won Best Actor in a Supporting Role for his portrayal of Simon Bishop, a sensitive gay artist.

Seventeen years later the movie stands up well because of its timeless quality. "As Good as it Gets" is a very tight story and performance by all the actors and there is not one moment, scene or actor wasted. The story centers around people's expressions more than most movies. One example is an elderly woman actress who has opened her apartment door to run an errand and her features contort in disgust when she happens upon Melvin Udall, the Jack Nicholson character who is about to do some mischief with his gay neighbor's dog.

Another example is Skeet Ulrich, who plays a street tough who somehow winds up doing a modeling job for Simon (Greg Kinnear) the gay artist. When Simon explains to Vincent (Ulrich) what he is looking for in a pose, Vincent's eyes widen and he murmurs "Wow." Moments later he nonchalantly delivers the type of pose Simon is looking for. Unfortunately, Simon and Vincent's association ends badly and creates a turning point for the movie.

There are also several layers of irony at play in the story. It is ironic that Melvin, a hardcore misanthropist mired in full-blown OCD can somehow deliver romance novels that women love and buy by the barrelful. Also ironic is that Melvin's character transformation begins when he must take care of Simon's dog, an adorable little Brussels Griffon.

It's also ironic that Carol, Helen Hunt's waitress character, works in a restaurant populated by actress-hopefuls who serve diners while striving for their big acting break. Some have stated that Hunt, a fetching but not-too-glamorous actress was too pretty for the role. However she was dressed down just enough for the role to make it work and her understated beauty comes into play in a big way later on in the story.

Finally there's Jack Nicholson. His portrayal of Melvin Udall stands out as one of his great performances because of all the subtle nuances. The shot of him holding Verdell the dog and cooing to him is one of the signature shots not only from the movie but from his whole career. Near 60 when the movie was produced, he comes across more fit and polished than usual, definitely more so that his portrayal of the raucous astronaut in Terms of Endearment, another one of his great performances, which had occurred 13 years earlier.

If you've never seen it what on earth are you waiting for? And if, like me you've seen it over and over, hopefully this review gives some new insight as to why "As Good as it Gets" is so gloriously watchable, over and over again.
31 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
As Good as Romantic Comedies Get
CurtMan@LVCM.com18 October 2004
"As Good As It Gets" boasts a splendid, delightful combination of wonderful, zesty acting and a remarkably bright and effective screenplay. Jack Nicholson is pitch-perfect as the obsessive-compulsive curmudgeon Melvin Udall, who possesses some of the strangest and most curious tendencies ever concocted by screenwriters; his Udall is so human, so heartfelt, so genuine, and so whimsical and Nicholson perfects him to such a degree that not a moment of his screen time is unwanted or uninteresting: in my valid opinion, this is Nicholson's best performance of his career, and one of the most reverent performances in film history. What an engaging, enthralling story: an troubled, insecure man helps a troubled, insecure waitress (troubled and insecure in different respects), and the two form an unlikely relationship from being distant acquaintances (Hunt even exclaims that Nicholson is crazy in their most uncomfortable moment in the film) to practical soul mates (Nicholson to Hunt: "I feel that I'm the only person that knows that you are the greatest woman alive"), through a series of misfortunes, self-explorations, and mutual bondings. Kinnear's character Simon has the distinct purpose in being both the bridge and the divider of Nicholson and Hunt's relationship, and he identifies with his character with compassion and understanding, as he has frequently been wronged throughout his existence. The most curious aspect to a story such as this, involving such unduly, diverse characters: a miserable recluse, a zesty, yet insecure waitress, and a sensitive and insightful, yet wronged homosexual, is that in their distinct differences, they share many of the same problems, and these problems eventually bring them all together, although hardly in a civilized manner. I appreciated practically every element in this wonderful, delightful masterpiece of exemplary romantic comedy, in its indelible acting (Oscars well deserved), its whimsical, touching screenplay (This was neons above "Good Will Hunting"'s quality) and its comforting morale, that despite all of the great odds in life which prevent us from being happy, we can perhaps find it within ourselves to take that one important step in reversing our fortunes, in "stopping with taking pills" and to allow our lives, and our desires to shine and be realized, as this story depicts life. The best romantic comedy, certainly the best film of 1997, and one of the greatest films of all time, "As Good As It Gets" succeeds in practically every entertaining and endearing cinematic respect. **** out of ****
162 out of 198 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
That's when Hollywood was great - long ago
supermaggie15 June 2017
Warning: Spoilers
These were the (good old) times, when Hollywood really was great. This movie shows what movie and television can look like, when producers and writers approach the script with decency, respect and creativity, this is how you create round characters who entertain, make you laugh, make you cry/feel with them, make you think about the world, make you feel touched, make you feel good. This was when entertainment from Hollywood meant and represented something, when movies were no vehicles for clumsy political propaganda, to deflect from national political problems and slandering other nations and not even being historically correct while doing so. If you want to get back to real decent greatness, Hollywood/TV, than you should work on perfectly written/presented stuff like this movie - heartfelt, non-offensive, valuable characters, treating each other with dignity (or rather learning to do so in the end) , perfectly acted, pure, perfect, instructive, constructive entertainment - no offenses, sex or violence necessary - this is the real thing, this deserves awe, this is what once made Hollywood great, and since then Hollywood just got more and more destructive, destroying their audiences around the world and destroying themselves/its reputation - good old times back then indeed, and they will probably never return.
24 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Simply great
ODDBear19 September 2005
As Good As It Gets is one of those incredibly moving films that is also hugely entertaining. It's not just a comedy, you can't quite label it a drama piece, it just is what it is; simply great.

What works here so well are the actors and the script. Nicholson and Hunt both won Oscars and they're simply great but Kinnear is no less effective as Nicholson gay neighbour. Plus that dog is amazing as well. This film really relies on great performances and there's no shortage of that here.

As Good As It Gets is also remarkably well written. So well defined characters and completely involving, you quite simply grow to love them and sympathize with their plight. Nicholson's remarks are terrific, each one very quotable (personal fav; I think of a man and I take away reason and accountability).

Direction is first rate, Brooks made Terms of Endearment so it's well established that he's quite capable of making great films. As Good As It Gets is very nearly as good it gets.
57 out of 75 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This comedy is as good as it gets!
movieman914 February 1999
Comedies (especially romantic comedies) can only be judged by how much they make you laugh and if they make you feel good inside. As Good As It Gets does it for me every time. I'm not just saying this on account of being a "Jack fan." The characters are so beautifully drawn, you forget it's just Jamie from "Mad About You" (Helen Hunt) and the man with the eyebrows (Nicholson). This movie deserved all of its Oscars, and then some. The role of an obsessive-compulsive is an easy one to parody and mock to death, but Jack does it with style, humour, emotion, and that usual Nicholson flair. Hunt has never been better as a waitress with a major anxiety to do something for herself for a change. Greg Kinnear is also very good as a gay artist that ends up having to turn to the irascible Jack for help after he is scarred and left destitute following a break-in. This is such a special comedy, fresh from the pen of James L. Brooks, the man behind the wonderful Terms of Endearment (another wonderful Nicholson performance) and Broadcast News. As Good As It Gets made me feel so good, even though I couldn't really relate to the characters' situations. The humor is pure Jack, set to the script with perfect ease. The emotions evoked by the actors are also authentic and heart-felt, as if they love what they are acting out. Movies like this come few and far between, and that is the reason why I appreciate this film so very much. As Good As It Gets was one of the best films of 1997. Rating: Four stars.
111 out of 139 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
How to create something out of nothing? Ask Mark Andrus and Jim L. Brooks
matanovi19 April 2000
Really, how to make something original, fresh and odd out of absolutely nothing except a few characters? Using characters, only characters and nothing except characters. That's the simple formula Brooks uses in all of his work, but, for me, he has never created so much charm, warmth and sensibility as he did in `As good as it gets'.

Characters write the screenplay in this movie, and everything that happens - happens because of what they are. They are nothing special – they are ordinary people we meet in the street every day and that have the same problems a lot of other people have. This movie presents the example of how much you can pull out of that. And if that is written as well as it is in this case, not even a happy ending can bother you. Because, in real life, shown here, what is the end?

Everything is good and warm in this movie, everything is fresh and vivacious, understandable and well performed. Jack Nicholson brings one of the best performances of his career, that terrific Helen Hunt finally got a chance to show how skilfully an actor can connect naturalism with the laws of the camera performance, and Greg Kinnear shows the most convincing emotions coming from a gay character I've ever seen.

The relationships between the characters are created in the way that you can't predict anything that's going to happen, eventhough you know in advance what could come out of their mouth and what kind of attitude they'll have in a certain situation.

You can simply feel the progressive collaboration that occurred between Brooks and the actors and the mutual understanding they developed, and it's not often that you see that kind of artistic superstructure shining on the screen so much as it does here.

I find `As good as it gets' complexed, vital, intelligent, emotionally deep and studied, fresh, original, amusing, cheerful, funny, and one of the best films of 1997.
233 out of 273 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
When Jack's on screen, you can almost never go wrong!
MovieLuvaMatt1 August 2003
Jack Nicholson is one of those actors who impresses me the second (and I'm not overstating in the least bit) he appears on screen. The moment I see Jack's face on screen, I get this feeling that everything's going to be all right. He could do a Pauly Shore film, and elevate its quality with his mere presence. And I didn't even get to his acting.

Nicholson won a well-deserved Oscar for this movie. Then again, I feel like he deserves an Oscar for virtually everything he's been in. Hell, you can even give him an Oscar nod for "Anger Management." THAT'S how great he is! He's one of those actors who can communicate even more emotion when he's not saying anything than when he is. And of course, he has one of the coolest movie star voices ever, so it makes it a joy whenever he does speak. I still feel like "You can't handle the truth!" wouldn't be as priceless a line if Jack didn't yell it. He can say almost any line of dialogue and turn it into gold. In this movie it was "You make me wanna be a better man." Again, an otherwise forgettable line of dialogue made gold by Jack.

"As Good As It Gets" is a flawed film, with scenes that drag and an overlong running time, but it's highly enjoyable and altogether pretty well-written. Aside from its many hilarious moments, it's also quite touching. But I have to admit that it's the comedy that sticks out most in my memory. There's some priceless gags like when a Jewish couple is sitting at Jack's usual table. He first intrudes into their conversation saying, "People who speak in metaphors oughtta shampoo my crotch." He complains to Helen Hunt, his usual waitress, saying "I have Jews at my table!" He then intrudes in the couple's conversation again, noticing the food on their table, saying "Obviously your appetites aren't as big as your noses." Now, I probably wouldn't want to personally know a man like Melvin in my real life, but I still found those cracks to be hysterically funny. The same when he attacks Greg Kinnear's gay character with constant homosexual slurs.

The performances are great all-around. Though Jack pretty much steals the show, Greg Kinnear gives a wonderfully endearing performance. He doesn't play out the gay stereotypes, yet he's sensitive and feminine enough to have me convinced that he is gay (unlike Eric McCormack on "Will and Grace" who acts like he's gay for the sake of the show's gimmick). It's nice to see Kinnear rise from the host of "Talk Soup" and the thankless late night talk show "Later" to a fine actor. Previously, I wouldn't have any notion that he could become what he is now. Helen Hunt also gives a compelling, emotionally packed performance. And Shirley Knight, as her mother, provides a little bit of comic relief. Cuba Gooding Jr. has a small but interesting role, and he makes the best of it.

The film does have its dull moments, but Jack's one-of-a-kind performance makes it all worthwhile. There is nobody, and I mean NOBODY, who could've played Melvin better than him. I read in the trivia that John Travolta was originally offered the role. Now, I like Travolta, but in this type of role he wouldn't hold a candle to Jack.

My score: 7 (out of 10)
67 out of 86 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Wonderful
bsinc16 March 2002
Now I know what good acting means. You are absolutely surrounded with it in this movie. There is not a single actor or actress in this movie that didn't exceed himself/herself. Helen Hunt is great (I don;t know why, but I find her quite attractive) and I won't bore you about the performance given by Jack Nicholson. When I first saw this movie I thought it was really boring and overrated, but I saw it again the second day and immediately loved it. Maybe the ending is a little bogus, but it's a romantic comedy, so it didn't bother me that much. A fairly complicated plot presented with ease and simplicity works perfectly and there's a nostalgic tone to the movie in whole. Maybe because it's a rare occasion nowadays to come across a movie that isn't stuffed with special effects. This is a movie that should be seen on a beautiful day, when you're in a good mood.

Great fun that keeps getting better and better each time I see it. A strong 8/10.
36 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
This almost all Oscar winner cast gives such a great performance that it makes it almost impossible not to love this movie in its entirety!
macpherr21 May 1999
Directed by Oscar nominee James L. Brooks, the story written by Mark Andrus brings up not only very interesting characters but also very interesting issues. I have the video and enjoy watching it. The CD is great with music of Nat King Cole, Shawn Colkin. Outstanding acting by Helen Hunt (Mad About You, Twister) who won an Oscar for this role where she plays Carol Connelly, a single mother, working as waitress in Manhattan, New York. A single parent trying to cope with her work and paying medical bills for son Spencer Connelly, played by Jesse James (Message in a Bottle, The Gingerbread Men, Gods and Monsters). Jack Nicholson (A Few Good Men, Easy Rider, Witches of Eastwick) is Melvin Udall who is an obsessive compulsive. Nicholson also won an Oscar for his part. His obsessive compulsiveness has taken over his life and he is not able to live a normal life. Melvin Udall has tons of soap all organized in his medicine cabinet. He uses a bar of soap once and then throws it out. He will not step on a crack on the side walk but skips to the next block of concrete. When he goes to the restaurant he brings his own plastic fork, knife and spoon in a plastic bag. Udall uses plastic gloves to hold the dog and has all his office supply stacked and all color coordinated in his home/office. He eats at the same restaurant, sits at the same table, if someone is seating at his table he insults them to make them leave so that he has his table back, wants the same waiter Carol to wait on him, and takes forever to take a shower. He closes his door several times and counts how many times he has done it. As a writer who works at home I do understand Mr. Udall really well. Writers think somewhat like this: we like to be alone with ourselves in order to think. We have to go inside ourselves to produce good work. It is a very isolated world. We do not like to be bothered unless we are bored, or tired, in which case we want to communicate with the outside world for a brief period of time, then after one hour or so we want to go back inside ourselves again and be left alone. This is somehow like Melvin thinks. People think that he has nothing to do and they keep knocking at his door and he gets really aggravated about that. He is my favorite character in this movie, not to diminish the other ones. He is just so full on nuances that make him very entertaining. Helen's role is very, very, good and she did a really good job with it. Greg Kinnear (Sabrina) is Simon Bishop, the artist who is Udall's next door neighbor who finally has Melvin turning into a little more normal human being and he is there to teach him many life lessons. The supporting actors are great, you have Oscar winner Cuba Gooding Jr. (Jerry Maguire) playing Frank Sachs, Simon's agent.

My favorite scenes: elementary school kids all in uniform screaming: "Wait! Melvin, wait"! Greg Kinnear imitating Melvin. Melvin and Caroll going to eat fresh rolls in the wee hours of the morning. When Melvin realizes that the dog is also skipping cracks on the sidewalk.

My favorite quote: "I am drowning here and you are describing the water." This is a nice story telling movie. I recommend it!
61 out of 91 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
By default, one of the best films of the year
Quinoa19843 December 2000
At first, i didn't know if I should put this film in my best of the year category, I liked it alot, but I wondered if Titanic would go over it. It didn't, so I put this film in, and well deserved. The film is directed by Oscar winning director James L. Brooks (of Terms of Endearment and The Simpsons TV show fame) and stars Jack Nicholson and Helen Hunt (Nicholson won his third Oscar for this and Hunt won her first).

The story follows a bitter old scrooge (Nicholson in his usual perfect self) who is also a romance novelist (his line "I think of a man, and I take a way reason and accountability" when describing writing women is classic), but through a series of events including a cute dog, a gay artist (Greg Kinnear is endearing in this role), and a waitress with some problems (Hunt), he becomes a little better. Conventional to be sure, but it is definately a winner in laughs and romance. That's comic veteran Harold Ramis as a doctor. A+
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Unusual movie
krumski17 February 2000
This movie is bizarre because, while judged overall its story is shmaltzy and unbelievable, nevertheless each individual scene plays absolutely convincingly and feels very real. It's weird. I don't know if it's just the greatness of the actors overcoming an under-thought out script, or whether it's just the script concentrated solely on crafting great scenes one after the other, but not so much in coming up with a convincing through-line. Whatever. All I know is that this is one of the most entertaining pictures I've ever seen, extremely funny and quite emotionally affecting in places. Somehow, it just doesn't matter - I like it anyway.

The performances are uniformly excellent. Nicholson shows real range here - sure, he gets to be the sarcastic curmudgeon we've all come to expect, but his character also has moments of fear, repression and vulnerability which he brings off equally well. My problem with this character (and the "problem" only exists as I think about him afterward, not while I'm actually watching the movie) is in his conception: he seems to be whatever the writers want him to be at that moment, with no particular consistency from scene to scene so when he supposedly "changes" at the end, we're left to think, "Change? This guy's been changing through the entire movie!" And also, the fact that his character is a romance novelist is never really explained or examined in any way.

And yet, Nicholson's performance makes it not matter quite so much.

Helen Hunt is a revelation in this movie - she nails every scene she's in, whether she's forced to be witty, embarrassed, angry, defiant, emotionally overwhelmed, whatever. She keeps Jack on his toes, and they work off each other brilliantly. Also, I never thought I'd find myself saying this, but Greg Kinnear was great as Simon, the gay neighbor. (It was also nice to see director Harold Ramis - the third Ghostbuster, after all - in front of the camera again, if only briefly, in a small part as a doctor.)

What more can I say? Good comedy, good love story, great acting. None of it, in the end, is very convincing, but if you just focus on the individual moments and not on the grand design - a task made easy by the wonderful writing and playing - it's very easy to like As Good As It Gets.
84 out of 128 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Way to go, Jack!
Star-4719 December 1998
Warning: Spoilers
Jack Nicholson is simply phenomenal. Yes, I will give credit where it is due and congratulate Greg Kinnear, Helen Hunt, and Cuba Gooding, Jr, on their fine performances. They are talented. But I am mesmorized by Jack's intricate facial expressions and inflection each time I see this movie.

Critics panned this movie for being totally unbelievable. I would have to agree-why would Carol fall for Melvin? Why does Melvin change his ways after so many years of acid-tongued insults? I don't know. I know people who disliked the film because Melvin was such a you-know-what. Personally, I love the evil retorts he hurls at any innocent bystander. Maybe it's a sick pleasure, but Nicholson's delivery is perfect and I couldn't help but laugh as he takes on everyone.
83 out of 106 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The worst thing about this movie is that it has to end.
carter-4276411 February 2019
I have to admit that -To some degree-I can relate to Melvin Udall's character in the sense that he is a very compassionate and caring man armored with the harsh bitterness from the world. The fact these dynamics are exaggerated make it comical.

The cast was phenomenally on point for the characters. Each and every character added flavor and depth to the storyline-Even the expressive dog.

So many small roles played by actors that are huge now.

This is one that will go in my time capsule.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Excellent!
Gordon-117 June 2003
I watched the film not knowing I watched it before, and I was happy that I rewatched it. I wonder why the film did not make an impact on me the first time I watched it years ago. The acting was superb, the script was excellent, and Greg Kinnear looked really gay too!

The film contains humour (not just the cheap toilet humour or tripping the stairs), love & the harsh realities of life. Jack Nicholson's performance as a psychiatric patient was very convincing. It was a little bit of a pity that Cuba Gooding got such a minor role, so minor that it only served to support Jack Nicholson's joke at the beginning of the film. This is probably the only flaw of the film.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
💗..::Charming movie::..💗
forksdawn17 December 2020
It's an easy, amusing, original & cynically good mood film, with a lot of charm & very lovely actors 😍. I always like to watch it... after that I feel very good 💕.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
definitely worth watching
shirlone2 October 2021
This is what movies should be. Performances by Jack Nicholson and Helen Hunt are outstanding. Definitely worth watching again and again.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Pure Genius @ Every Level
jon-890-67706022 June 2017
At the age of 54, the reality of offering up a ten rating for any movie, has acquired perhaps twice during these past 5 decades. Now, there have been plenty of 8's and 9's, but ten's are reserved for nothing less than 'entertainment-perfection'.

Different strokes for different folks is the old saying, so perhaps my particular rating will not correlate w others, so the idea of offering up the ratings for this movie, from each individual member of our family (along w their specific age), may shed better light on the fairness of the rating.

Father (54) - 10 Mom (50) - 10 Son (26) - 10 Daughter (17) - 9.5

Hope this is helpful.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
weirdest chemistry ever,but it over-overwhelmingly gets me
elftutor4 November 2005
Helen hunt and jack Nicholson make the most lovable comedy ever,the rarefied chemistry between them is so catching,,i really laughed out and loud at the final scene when jack and Helen kissed each other, and jack attempted to improvise his kiss the his compliment that is probably the nicest line in movie history .the whole flick is saturated with love and humor. the scene at the restaurant that really stands out is also very amusing, Helen tried desperately to read her loquacious prolix notes to Jake, ah... you can see the weird,funny,interesting romantic elements everywhere,i am not gonna spoil you with any disclosed details about the sequin, you should really go and check this out, a must see ,definitely a classic
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Nicholson puts on a clinic.
Peach-216 November 1998
Jack Nicholson owns this film from beginning to end. It is a tribute to James Brooks to make us care about the character of Melvin Udall. The movie has great acting all through it. Helen Hunt is fantastic. Greg Kinnear is fantastic. Cuba Gooding Jr., in a small role, is also very good. The movie seems like everybody enjoyed themselves making it. I own the DVD of this film, so I've seen it a few times. Each time I watch Nicholson's performance it seems to get better. In the last 10 years or so, Jack seemed to be running through the paces. Here in this film he does some of the best acting of his career. Brooks has made his best film since Terms Of Endearment.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A Classy Soap-Comedy
ccthemovieman-129 November 2006
I am amazed I kind of liked this modern-day soap opera-romance with the usual Liberal twists and sometimes-annoying characters. Yet, despite the annoyances, the story was very interesting, the acting was superb and Jack Nicholson combined both to his make character the most interesting of them all. He had some memorable lines. The story was involving, meaning it was tough to put down once you started. Also, for a film that featured the story a lot more than any scenery, it was well-filmed.

I did have a few complaints but they are fairly minor, such as too many OMGs and a little too worldliness at times, but nothing's perfect. For today's usual group of comedies which tend to be on a sleazy side, this was had some class to it.
8 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
90s gold
henrycoles927 July 2021
What a massive transformation Jack Nicholson's character went through, from being the most obnoxious and offensive neighbor and restaurant customer possible, to a sweet, romantic man who helps those in need. And it all started out with his selfish need to keep those people in his obsessively ordered life, of course, but it doesn't matter as long as it led him to healing, redemption and love in the end. What a wonderful movie!
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Charming film with excellent performances all round
csm-7811926 November 2019
Another great performance from Jack Nicholson as the troubled, often obnoxious, and occasionally hilarious Melvin. Helen Hunt stunning too as the one person who can save him with fine support too from Greg Kinnear. A film with plenty of humour and soul that leaves you feeling better about the world.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed