Bob the Builder (TV Series 1997–2018) Poster

(1997–2018)

User Reviews

Review this title
20 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Mehhhhhhh
sonic-883305 May 2018
The old one was good but the new one freakin sucks
18 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
the old one is better than the reboot
treykrumel24 March 2017
this show was so much better back then it is now i mean the old series had all of its jolly stuff but the new reboot series is just bad stay away from the reboot and stick to the original the newer episode keep getting worse over time but at lest the 2010 to 2015 series wasn't that bad the animation wasn't that great but promising but when the 2016 series came along it ruined everything seriously in summary I liked the old episodes so much better than the newer stuff that were getting today seriously.
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Cutest Show Ever
LizzaThee18 September 2003
I just wish that this show was on when I was in pre-school. The characters are cute, and so are the plots, which teach important lessons to kids. I even enjoy watching this show with my 3 year old cousins. Although it may be a little corny, it is just too cute to be annoying.
12 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
My niece loves it! ... okay, actually, I do.
Tubular_Bell29 May 2005
And how couldn't I? This show was like a miracle waiting impatiently to happen. Bob the Builder showed in a majestic way that shows for children don't need to be corny, preachy or shallow for children to appreciate them. All characters are extremely charismatic; I seriously find it impossible to dislike any of them. The stop-motion animation is spectacularly beautiful. But most of all, I think it's the writing that truly makes the show. I don't remember seeing any story that went into a tired, obvious cliché just for the sake of being "educational". The focus is always on the diverse construction jobs - a most interesting and rich subject for children - and on topics like teamwork, cooperation and friendship. The stories are very well thought out. I have to say that several moments of the series are just plain funny, and I actually laughed out loud sometimes.

The characters aren't banal at all. With time, you can pick up some delicate intricacies and twists in their personalities that makes everything very believable. Bob himself, for example, is an extremely competent worker and a friendly guy, but he has his own moments of silliness: he built a cornet for himself once, and got so excited that he played his loud, out-of-tune ramblings all night long (either that or he was acquiring the taste for avantgarde). Other time, he found an old tambourine while cleaning a house's attic, and while playing with it, causes a tiny catastrophe; and while seeking for buried treasure with his metal detector, he broke a water pipe on farmer Pickles's field. Those small things make the series much more believable and palpable than other children's series, and in the end, you surrender and start to believe that marionettes can live a happy, joyous life in perfect harmonies with talking machines. Not everyone can create a series like that, you know.

I honestly recommend this series for everyone. And if you (or your kid) already are a fan, please, don't miss the Album. If you live in the US and are used to the Nickelodeon dubbing, you'll have to conform with the British voices (which I personally prefer). Either way, it's excellent, exciting music.
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A VERY refreshing children's show
Intenselan14 March 2002
This is a GREAT show. It shows hard work, cooperation, and teamwork to get the job done. The best part is the fact that none of the characters are emotionally needy or use manipulation tactics to get attention (example: Why won't anyone notice me, he doesn't want to be my friend, I'm not as good as you, I didn't think you liked me). They just get the job done and have a great time doing it. Even Spud, who's the laziest of them all, tries to be good.

Also, it's not as preachy as some shows. Or syruppy either. It's just good wholesome programming!

In my opinion, I think Bob and Wendy should get married! :)
19 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
My son LOVES Bob!
hallms28 February 2004
My three year old son has loved Bob the Builder and friends for almost two years. He loves anything with tools, trucks and construction equipment, and this is right at his level. He has been Bob the Builder for Halloween for two years now. He uses the tools, his Bob the Builder fan club hat, and his Bob the Builder boots when he has to "fix" things around the house. He also enjoys the games on the website. Perfect for small ones to play with little assistance. As for the show, the tales and animation are simple enough for little ones, but not too annoying for the parents, too. Now that he is a bit older, we especially enjoy the Bob movies, Knights of Can-a-Lot and A Christmas to Remember. We look forward to more from this crew.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
"Bob the builder, can we fix it? Bob the Builder, yes we can!"
TheLittleSongbird14 May 2010
Along with Thomas the Tank Engine and Friends, Bob the Builder was one of my brother's favourite shows when he was little. And although I was 3 years older, and in year 2 of primary school when the show first aired, I loved it as well. You should have seen my brother's face every single time Bob the Builder came on, there were times when he would sulk but when the show came on it was as though he had seen something absolutely wonderful and wanted more of it. He wasn't the only person who loved it. A couple of friends of mine had a son who was ADDICTED to it, and when I was in primary school, at one time when we were doing assembly, the infants started chanting the theme song. And why shouldn't they? It is a great theme song, simple but catchy and memorable without being annoying, just like the theme songs of Rosie and Jim and Pingu, other favourites in our family. The animation was also really nice and the characters were cute and endearing. Then we had nice story lines that taught an important lesson every now and again, and the writing while simple wasn't stupid or childish. It may be corny for some adults, but overall this is a great show, that is guaranteed to delight toddlers. 10/10 Bethany Cox
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Good Show for Big Kids Like Me
metalface10112 December 2005
I just got addicted to this show just recently, when my 3 year old nephew wanted some Bob the Builder DVD's for Christmas. I watched them just to make sure they played OK............wait.......OK, I was curious too. I thoroughly enjoyed all 3 DVD's I bought. The show isn't preachy but teaches kids the importance of teamwork and getting along. At first I wasn't sure about the "pumpkinhead character" which turned out to be Spud, but he's my favorite character now. Highly recommended for small and big kids alike. I'm not sure I want to part with these DVD';s now, maybe I'll buy my nephew something else for Christmas. No, I'm kidding.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
My 4 year IL son loves it
julie_gerald29 July 2004
My 4 year old son loves this show, he watches it all the time it is a good show for kids to watch. He loves the animation and cannot get enough of it. It does not teach them much but he loves it anyway. I hope this show is on for a long time. His favorite character is Bob of course he also like Rolley and Muck along with Spud. I will definitely buy some more of the movies as they come out. He watches it everyday on nicalodeon and cannot get enough of it. Please keep it going for years to come hopefully they will make a theatrical movie of it that would be wonderful. I give this show a A+++++++. Hit entertainment had a hit when it first came out. Just keep up the good work and for the adults that want to talk bad about it for one it is a kids show.Kids love it
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
GREAT KIDS SHOW!!!!
snap200230 August 2003
Well let me start by saying this is a great show, if your 3 years old. my nephew could sit for hours watching bob the builder. And quite obviously the last person to make a comment on this show, has got so lost in his childish behaviour (just read his previous comments) , to see that this show is purely for children age 1 to 5.

the show itself is great, the lack of negative emotion between the characters is great for little minds, genereally passing over a happy felling to the young viewer, this is a great kiddies show.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Another great kids & parents' show!
Hattrick-225 February 2001
A nice show along the lines of Dragon Tales, where working together to solve problems is the key. The main song will get to adults after a short while, but it is not horrible. The characters are fun and they explore the results of poor behavior. Most of them have fears that can get a bit over done. But a fun show to watch with your 3 year old.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
It is a very educating show for kids.
elean587 October 2001
Young children can learn to tell right from wrong. Bob can educate children on their surroundings. In an episode, Bob warned the cat not to play with electricity and this is a strong message to all the young viewers. Parents and guardians must be with the children to teach them further on the things of the show. All in all, it is a very educational show and a great show to watch with your young children.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A great series, but...
doris tyldesley17 October 2001
We first encountered Bob the Builder when my daughter returned from a trip to England with a CD copy of the theme song for my son. We went around singing it for days! When we heard that the program was going to be broadcast on Nickelodeon we were delighted. What a disappointment! Why was it necessary to dub the show into American? It takes away half of the charm. Nobody thought of dubbing Wallace and Gromit.

Our only hope is that eventually there will be a DVD with a choice of English or American soundtracks. Is anyone out there listening?
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Bob The Builder Is A Great Show
Bob, Wendy And Spud The Scarecrow Have Been At Butlins Before From 2005 To 2015 Well Bob Did One More Year At Butlins in 2016, This Show Is Amazing Brings Me Back Childhood Memories I Wish HiT Entertainment Would Bring The Classic Version Of Bob The Builder Back, Butlins Had A Bob The Builder Play Area Called Bobs Yard Based On Bob The Builder's Old Town And Village Bobsville In That Play Area That Use To Be At Butlins Had Characters In Bobs Yard, Roley The Green Steamroller, Muck The Red Digger Dumper Bulldozer, Dizzy The Orange Cement Mixer And Trix The Purple Forklift Truck, I Loved This Show When I Was Young One Of The Best Kid Shows Ever I Love The Classic Series Can We Fix It Yes We Can, This Was My Chilldhood
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Can We Fix It?
zsofikam5 August 2016
When my little brother was younger, his two most treasured shows were Thomas The Tank Engine and Bob The Builder. He would watch this show almost nonstop and I actually enjoy it as well and did so even before my brother was born. I have had several younger cousins that have been fans as well. It's not just a hit within my family either. When me and one of my friends, who also had a younger brother who was hooked, would watch it with our brothers whenever we hung out at one of our houses. And why shouldn't so many of the young kids (and adults) I know love this? It's a very nice show overall, with simple but engaging episodes and characters, nice soft animation, and a catchy theme tune that is sometimes nearly impossible to resist singing along to, which is what my brother would do while he watched. Another thing I really love is the messages, especially the can-do attitude ("can we build/fit it? Yes we can!) with Lofty adding "I think so", and the emphasis on things like teamwork, problem solving, clearing up a misunderstanding, and recycling (how many preschool shows can you name that address recycling?) There's even an episode where Bob tells the cat not to play with wiring. A gem!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Teamwork.....
bruener19 June 2015
Don't know why this show is so disliked. First, I'm 14 and I don't know why I still kind of like this. But first, it's a kids show, so expect it to be not your cup of tea. Second, it teaches kids that with teamwork you can do anything! This really helped me as a kid as I used to say **** off to the rest of my friends when they decided to something together, because I thought I'd be better on my own. Apart from secondary school (now), no I wasn't, I needed teamwork and this inspired me to just get the job done. Third, unlike stupid shows such as Barney, the characters in this show have a personality. Everyone is NOT friendly such as Mr. Bentley - very stubborn at times or Spud - very mischief at times but in the long run, it is a very good children's show and should be #1!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
This is only on the original
mforsting19 January 2021
I originally liked the old Bob the builder show as a child I loved the stop motion and the teamwork theme is awesome. New one is bad every episode has the same plot it's just bad.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Can we fix it?, Yes we can!
cruickycallum10 November 2019
While I grew up watching the original Bob The Builder series, which was full of bright colours, fun characters & easy to follow storylines, the latest reboot might not compare for some, but in my opinion, it's a perfect way of rebooting a series for an all new generation, keeping Bob The Builder going for hopefully, years to come!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
WE CAN FIX IT
nogodnomasters15 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This is a number of TV shorts aimed at pre-school/ early elementary school children. The series features a white guy, a female, and an African American as builders. It includes talking vehicles, including Scoop, who typically messes things up, but all is always forgiven. The chef is creative and slightly effeminate rounding out our diverse society. No Muslims or Indians as yet.

The shorts teach diversity and friendship. What they don't teach is safety...people in a construction sight without wearing the proper protective equipment. Bob wears a harness to go to the top of a building under construction, but never ties off...i.e. what function is the harness?

3D graphics.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
can we fix it
mervclan20 April 2011
not only Thomas the tank engine was one of my favorite shows as kid and still is I also loved Bob the builder its a great show for kids its funny and the characters are likeble my favorite character was Lofty he was funny and always getting warred about something. Bob is a hard working builder who has talking tucks helping him there is always adventure with Bob Scoop Muck Dizzie and Lofty and Spud even Theo its not as good as it used to be its still a very good show I still think its a good show. There is always lesson to learn okay it might be corny for adults and teenagers but kids will really love it and I still think its great. But if you want more things about About Bob the builder Then I am not the person for it.But its still a very good show even Theo the CGI series has replaced the clay models I still think its a very good show.

I give this show a 10 out of 10 this show can really fix it.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed