Glory Days (TV Series 2002) Poster

(2002)

User Reviews

Review this title
17 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Kevin Williamson Strikes Gold Again!
Clay-Pigeon17 January 2002
A smart and slick series from the creative man who brought us such wonderfully written thrillers as "Scream", Scream 2", "I Know What You Did Last Summer" and "The Faculty". Kevin has returned to the genre that has made him famous and he does it successfully with this excellent new series, a welcome departure from the same old thing we see on TV over and over again. "Glory Days" finds writer Mike Dolan returning home four years after writing a supposedly fictitious murder-mystery novel which was inspired by his own father's death. He hasn't written anything since so he decides to return home after receiving a creepy anonymous letter about his father. He finds that the citizens of Glory Island weren't big fans of his book, including his own family who think that his book degraded the memory of his father. The local sheriff is Mike's former childhood friend who Mike depicted as a repressed homosexual in the book. A waitress at the local diner didn't fare any better, Mike made her out to be his father's killer. Upon coming home Mike is witness to an accident on a ferry which he claims was murder. Because of his book everyone in Glory considers him to be untruthful and nobody believes him so it's up to him to uncover the truth with the help of a lovely young coroner, new to Glory she's the only one not spurned by Mike's book. Filled with Kevin's sharp humor and smart character development (the cast does a wonderful job of bringing these characters to life especially Frances Fisher as Mike's mother, who he pegged as bipolar in the novel) the series draws you in to the mystery of the island and you don't want to leave until it's over, even then you eagerly await what will happen in the next episode. Once again Kevin Williamson has taken an ageless genre and tweaked it with his familiar touch to give us and hour of great entertainment filled with suspense, comedy and drama.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
from seconds to an Hour
Bob__Loblaw25 March 2002
I was flippin' though the channels one day and found this show on the WB channel. I meant to look for a few seconds, and stayed an hour. Nothing spectacular sticks out by itself, but all the parts together make for a fun show. Good acting, good writing, good direction and even the somewhat far fetched plot in most episodes, combine for a good show. I hope being on the WB will give this show a chance to last a little longer.
5 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Great new show...scary and fun
ehosh24945 April 2002
I was excited to hear that the WB was airing this new, creative series created by Kevin Williamson, and I have seen the majority of the episodes and I am absolutely hooked on this show, it's incredible! The setting is a small island town called Glory and the main character is a writer named Mike who along with the town sheriff, Rudy, and the medical examiner, Ellie, attempts to solve eerie mysteries dealing with murders, kidnappings, supernatural occurrences and other strange events which plague the town. This show is scary, fun and I really like the characters because there is always something interesting going on between them. I am hoping this show gets picked up again because only about 10 episodes have aired, as some sort of mid-season replacement I guess, and I have not heard whether or not it is being picked up again. Hopefully it will be, this is a promising new show that is very enjoyable and fun to watch every week, I know I always look forward to new episodes.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Good Entertainment
claudio_carvalho26 November 2004
The young writer and prodigal son Mike Dolan (Eddie Cahil) returns home, after writing a successful book, where he used real events with his relatives and closest friends as if they were fictional characters. While traveling in a ferry, he is the unique person to see a man being pushed overboard. The office in charge of the investigation is Sheriff Rudy Dunlop (Jay R. Ferguson), a former friend and hurt with the comments of Mike's book. The coroner Ellie (Poppy Montgomery) finds fingerprints in the dead body indicating that Mike's observations were correct. After resolving this crime, a slaughterer clown kills and decapitates his victims. And finally, in a competition about the best seaman of the island, persons are being drowned on earth. Yesterday I saw this VHS, released by 'Warner do Brasil' with the compilation of three episodes of this unreleased series (in Brazil) and I liked. The unique known actress (for me) is Theresa Russell, but the young cast works very well, there are good sarcastic lines and the stories are very engaging. My complaint is against the disgusting procedure of 'Warner do Brasil', which released a VHS with a cover and a title ('Demon Town: The City of the Demon') inducing the viewers that 'Glory Days' would be a horror movie. My vote is seven.

Title (Brazil): 'Demon Town: A Cidade do Demônio' ('Demon Town: The City of the Demon')
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Great show lost to a ratings battle
WiSH-on-the-StArS1 January 2003
This show was truly an accomplishment for the WB, giving a nice break from their sap-dripping teen shows that only Gilmore Girls and Smallville have seemed to accomplish otherwise. The dry humor was wonderful and refreshing, and the romantic tension between Mike and Ellie was fun and edgy, avoiding what many other shows do not - jumping into it too fast, leaving no room for anticipation or appropriate development. Also, the weekly obstacles created not only something to look forward to, but something that truly held one's interest for the entire hour. The characters were great in each aspect, often going outside the lines while not being outrageous, just delightfully quirky. Unfortunately, as the WB often does, this show was canceled due to "poor ratings" in nearly impossible and illogical timeslots, being a midseason replacement for the popular Angel and jumping between airing after 7th Heaven and Dawson's Creek, who's audiences would not likely be interested in this show, of a very different genre, in that place. Well, we can always hope for a video release.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Amazing! Wonderful cast and writing!
Jayme8 February 2002
I wasn't even going to watch this show, until I found myself one Wendsday night with nothing to watch, flipping channels. I fell onto the premiere of Glory Days, and after watching 10 minutes of the show I Was hooked. Wow! Amazing show. I don't know what it is, but somehow the writers, the cast and everyone made this show so good. I like the suspense in the show, and also the times of comic relief. The WB should not do a thing to change it, only let it grow. Wonderful!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Unsurprisingly short run
TBJCSKCNRRQTreviews30 November 2011
After a moderately successful novel, Mike returns to the small town he grew up in only to find that the locals are unhappy with him using them as the "inspiration" for said book. He joins the newspaper there, and stays around... you know, I'm not entirely certain why. Because this did manage more than one 40-ish minute episode, I suppose? Yes, a whopping nine total, and seven of them were released on DVD(together with with three trailers, one for this, the other two for Asian Vision and Shaun of the Dead) edited into three feature-length combos(in an utterly random order, leading to something being solved early on, only to suddenly be an issue later) under the titles of DemonTown I, II and III. The relative lack of continuity actually makes them run awkwardly together... more than once, I mistook the opening sequence of one bit for part of the ending of the previous one. Anyway, the young male journalist of course has a penchant for figuring things out, and he aids the sheriff(his child-hood friend) Rudy and the coroner/obvious love interest Ellie(pre-Without A Trace Poppy Montgomery) in determining the truth behind the seemingly supernatural murders and abductions. They encounter vampires, decapitating clowns(!), possession by the devil and The Silence of The Lambs(hey, they make that reference, as well). The conflict is too often soap-opera-ish, the mystery comes off as Scooby-Doo level(albeit they do keep you guessing(after a while, it gets annoying with all the red herrings), and mostly holds up, if one or two explanations don't make sense), and the quirky characters just aren't that compelling(not to mention that they seem to change drastically on occasion, when the writers got a new idea; they are easily forgotten about). The acting is fine. This can be funny, but it tends to have a goofy tone, and it's pretty paint-by-numbers. I'd say this could have been better, it had potential, it simply didn't get around to realizing it. Would it have, had it gotten more time to try? Meh. Maybe. I don't think the viewers would have stuck around to find out(as a matter of fact, I suppose that is exactly what did happen... too many of us gave up on it, understandably enough). The dialog can be clever. I enjoyed seeing Emily VanCamp of Everwood(evidently she likes being the charming hottie in a little, forgotten village) fame. The production values are decent. Kevin Williamson swung and missed, with this one(maybe he got too much credit from us for Scream). This can be tense and scary, if ultimately it feels unsatisfying and doesn't leave any kind of lasting impression on you. If you ask me what this was in a few weeks, it may take me a while to recall. There is some bloody, gory, violent and disturbing content in this. I recommend this to fans of crime-dramedy, who the "lightness" of this appeals to. 6/10
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Up the Creek?
CaliforniaKara18 February 2002
Take one part "Picket Fences", add a dash of "Twin Peaks", stir in kids who are fluent in "Dawson's" speak, and throw it in a Kevin Williamson blender powered by Weinstein. The result?

The series debut of "Glory Days".

Welcome, kiddies, to the WB's first attempt at a *gasp* suspense series. Mind you, I entered viewing with a severe case of unenthusiastic trepidation. When I first heard of "Glory Days" last spring, my heart was all aflutter at the thought of fresh material from one of my favorite scribes, Kevin Williamson. The show's original premise revolved around a one-hit wonder whose severe case of writer's block rendered him unable to write a follow-up to his best-selling debut novel "Glory Days." It sounded just like something we'd expect from the WB: a "Dawson's Creek"-type show focusing on romantic relationships and light situations.

Enter the squelchers of all things creative, aka Network Executives, and pretty much in came the official Big Rewrite. When all was said and strewn on the cutting room floor, there lay a show that still followed the original premise of runaway novelist who must face his demons upon his homecoming. Only no "Dawson's", no romantic relationships, and no light situations.

Welcome, instead, to Bizzaroland.

Let's review the players (at least the ones I care about so far):

Mike Dolan (Eddie Cahill) – The Prodigal Son, who wrote a book using most of his family and close friends as characters, returns. Said loved ones are, of course, less than thrilled with his depiction of them.

Ellie (Poppy Montgomery) – Town coroner and a close dead-ringer for Julie Benz (the original female lead) who partially buries dead bodies in her garden to study decomposition rates. Quirky in that sense, yet needs to be flushed out.

Rudy Dunlop (Jay R. Ferguson) – Deputy Doug, er, I mean Sheriff Doug, er, I mean Rudy. Mike's former best friend who was falsely characterized as a Card Carrying Friend of Dorothy in Mike's novel, "Glory Days."

Sara Dolan (Amy Stewart) – Older, slightly neurotic sister who inherited the editor-in-chief title at the family-owned newspaper when Mr. Dolan died.

Sam Dolan (Emily Vancamp) – Little sister who missed her older brother terribly. Her relationship and interactions with Mike remind me of the Claudia/Bailey dynamic on Party of Five.

Zane (Ben Crowley) – Sidekick to Sam.

Mitzi Dolan (Frances Fisher) – Kind of crazy mom to Mike, Sara, Sam and Mike. Let me just lay this out on the table from Day One: I LOVE HER. How could you not with lines like, "Sara, he's your brother first, jackass second." *snarf*

If you've read my other analyses, you'll know I hold a certain bar to "Party of Five" because of the well-written details and moments from that show. I'm seeing glimmers of PO5 in this show, and that gives me hope. Finally, another series comes along that concentrates on developing characters.

THE CORONER'S REPORT (my high points and low points for the episode):

  • Mike and Rudy playing Hardy Boys amused me to no end, though the interrogation of the boy felt forced. - Gee, hmmm, saw a few Miramax and Dimension commercials. Do ya think Harvey and Bob got a cut on ad rates? - Wow, an actual laugh out loud moment when Rudy said, "It's ‘cause I cried when Goose died in Top Gun, isn't it?" in reference to why Mike thought he was gay. - The ferryman's widow is a pretty sharp shooter for a drama queen with a penchant for wearing bad wigs. - Did they take their stock shots from the same bin as Dawson's Creek and ILM mountains into the background? I was this close to hearing "I don't want to wait…" on the opening credits when the camera panned from marina to shore.


So I did it. I made it through the hour, and am actually looking forward to next week's installment. "Grim Ferrytale" (oh, Kevin, clichés should be beneath you by now) pleasantly surprised me. Between all the rewrites, lead character changes, and dire predictions from the trade magazines, I thought this one was DOA. I really, truly thought I was not going to be able to physically sit through the entire episode.

Kudos to you Kevin, for crafting a well-written tale that concentrates on characters, I say, "Welcome back, we missed you." You're not so up the Creek as I thought you'd be.

Kara ScoopMe.com "Glory Days" reviewer
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Great idea, terrible execution....
virtualstranger31 January 2002
The premise of "Glory Days," an actual suspense- thriller television show, was one that I'm sure filled many people with hope and interest. What they've seen, over the past three weeks, has probably crushed those hopes fairly effectively....

In the first episode, we are given several creepy elements; a seemingly random murder, a mysterious letter, an entire town where we're told odd behavior is commonplace, with a population who strongly dislike the returning prodigal son (some of whom are his own family), and a disturbingly- designed board game, just to name a few. Any one of these elements, handled correctly, could carry a show for several episodes. "Glory Days" disposes of them all by the end of the very first episode, explaining away every element in precise detail, wrapping up every possible loose end.

This pattern, alas, was repeated with the second and third episodes as well. Each individual story sewn up nice and tight, with nothing left to gnaw at our minds or make us wonder at work the next day. Each episode ends exactly as it began, with only superficial changes to the characters lives, and no change at all to the world they live in.

Answering every question mere minutes after it's asked hardly builds suspense, and a mystery that's solved in less than an hour isn't much of a mystery. The most effective element of mystery and suspense, the part that gets people hooked, is not knowing, not having the answers. To paraphrase Neil Gaiman, people forget the stories, but they always remember the mysteries.

There are no mysteries on Glory Island. Simply put, instead of stepping into the shoes of "Twin Peaks" or "The X-Files," or possibly bringing something new to the small- screen, "Glory Days" is merely a hip, teen- oriented version of "Matlock" or "Murder She Wrote"

A shame, because the cast, and the audience, all deserve something better....
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Tastes like Eerie
UrbanLegendzGal27 March 2002
In a genre of TV shows populated with such-- dare I say it?-- excretement as Dawson's Creek, Gilmore Girls, and all reality TV, Glory Days brings back a lost line of hope to the WB. It is a beautifully crafted show finally worthy of Kevin Williamson's talent.

The show takes older murder mysteries (for example, Murder She Wrote) and turns them into, if not better, more appealing to the teenage eye. Its eye candy measures up to its content, because it doesn't slack on that, either. It has interesting, real characters who feel and flirt and fool around in a way that doesn't bore like the endless trysts of Pacey, Dawson, and Joey (doesn't that sound like a GLAAD smile beaming?). And while building characters, the show never loses its plot, that it is a murder mystery and each episode can stand alone...the show is a beautiful revival of favorites like the Twilight Zone and Eerie.

And Eddie Cahill's utter beauty doesn't hurt either...*wink* Check it out- you won't be disappointed!
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Awesome!!!!
brynna8716 January 2002
I have seen alot of tv shows, teen shows imparticular. Which I am sure this show will be classified among most adults. I am a teen, so naturally this show was one I really liked. But my parents both sat down and watched it with me, and both liked it. I thought it was great, the acting, the atmosphere, it was awesome. I liked the fact that it was suspenseful, a bit scarry, and had comedy in it as well. So I say: This show rocks, and I hope others feel the same way!
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Not Good, but entertaining
Elfie-520 June 2002
I would have kept watching it. There was something appealing about the show, but it wasn't plot contingency. The show was really odd in that you could watch the episodes, after the first one, in pretty much any order you wished, and it wouldn't make the series make more or less sense to you. The only contingency between episodes at all was the various relationships, not that they were really solid either. Besides that there was no carry-over from one episode to the next at all. I sort of miss it...
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Quite possibly the thinnest premise for a TV show that ever has been or ever will be.
steveg9918 March 2002
I've watched 3 episodes of this show so far, and correct me if I'm wrong here, but the entire population of Glory Island (with the exception of one nosy writer with too much free time on his hands, one dumb-as-dirt cop, and one cute-but-kooky coroner) apparently consists entirely of crazed serial killers. Every week there's a bizarre series of kidnappings, murders, or what have you, and every week we're treated to a handful of never-before-encountered suspects to choose from.

Of course, all you have to do is disregard the red herrings tossed clumsily into your path and instead pick the one who seems the most harmless, the most friendly, and most sane. Sure enough, by the end of the show he or she will be ranting incoherently as they try to do our hero in with a speargun or weed-whacker. Ho-hum. Nab the bad guy and reset everything back to the way it was at the outstart of the episode.

But why even bother trying to identify the lunatic de jour? Next week there'll be some other nutjob with a deep, dark, secret axe to grind. Let all the psychos run amok; the law of averages says that eventually they'll all start bumping each other off. Just as "Murder, She Wrote's" quaint little town of Cabbot Cove grew to become the murder capital of the county over the course of a decade, Glory Island is destined to become the maniac mecca of the U.S. God, forget solving all these picayune mysteries and just drop a nuke on the place already. Worried about fallout? All right, get a crop-duster full of thorazine and seed the clouds over the island. Or even better yet, start writing campaign to get the plug pulled on this unimaginative, uninnovative, and downright tedious waste of time and film.
1 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Just plain dumb
notstudyinglaw7 July 2002
Like everyone else it seems, I was looking forward to this show. But, I hate to say it; it is just plain old bad dumb TV. Bad plots, bad dialogue, bad production values. Sad, sad, sad.

For some reason I thought that the name "Kevin Williamson" would indicate some level of quality. Then I looked back at Williamson's filmography- is he really all that? The Scream series is brilliant and witty, and Dawson's had moments. But beyond that, when you add Glory Days to the pile, his inane juvenile panderings are seriously starting to outweigh his insightful fresh offerings.

Yes, Glory Days has been cancelled. It did have potential- I'll admit I watched beyond the dreadful premiere. But it never seemed to realize that potential was not enough. In order to succeed and satisfy, it desperately needed to honestly evaluate what works and what doesn't from the genres it was drawing on.

Perhaps if they had left behind the unbelievable soap-opera-ish set-ups, which are the annoying hallmark of suspense shows directed at the older set, including Murder She Wrote and Diagnosis Murder, I could have swallowed it? After all, it ain't the gray hair that keeps me away from those shows, it is the endless parade of Scooby-Doo like "mysteries." Yes, the amusement park owner, or the new boyfriend, or any number of stock "killers" really DID do it. Did the fun twists of Scream wear Williamson out?

Or what if they'd tried harder to make us care about the main characters, as Williamson was somehow able to do in Dawson's? I fully acknowledge that Williamson is no Whedon, so I knew better than to expect anything actually thought provoking. But even slightly believable, or engaging, or entertaining, could have kept this show afloat.

Good Riddance. But here's to hoping the WB will try its hand at the genre again.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
No glory here
jacksonblueman625 January 2002
Well, I've only watched this show twice so far, and both times I have been disappointed. It's not scary at all, and it has absolutely no gore. I was thinking that Kevin Williamson, the guy who brought us waste such as Dawson's Creek would make this be more like Scream which he wrote. Unfortunately, it's not anything like Scream. Not only is it lacking gore(notice that I stress this), but it's also lacking the sharp wit that the Scream movies and I Know What You Did Last Summer had. I'm sure its target audience is 12-15 year old girls. I'm a horror movie fan and was really looking forward to a thriller on t.v. Freaky Links, a show that was canceled without ever getting a chance, was a superior thriller. It had some gore, had a few scares, and despite its Scooby Doo-esque formulaic plots, I liked it.
0 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I'm not sure...
BHorrorWriter24 January 2002
...So far, two episodes have aired. And so far, I can't say I hate it...yet! Kevin Williamson is probably the writer which I have the least amount of respect for. Okay, Scream was okay...it was fresh and new--not HORROR, but new suspense! Then Dawson's Creek, Scream 2, the utter garbage that was Teaching Mrs. Tingle, and he took 100% credit for just rewriting Lois Duncan's book, I Know What You Did Last Summer. Well, I just really don't like him...He is a smug, whiny, gay man, with little talent! I think him being openly gay is the only thing I respect about him!

Now, with that said..Glory Days. I was really expecting to see a dark Dawson's Creek...and in some ways this show is that, but in others it isn't, and steers away from the typical BS Mr. Williamson is famous for.

The acting is acceptable, though I didn't think lead man Eddie Cahill was all that good while he was on Friends. He just doesn't capture me as a good actor. He has not expression, however, being gay and and an up-and-comer in hollywood isn't easy. But, he still needs to work on his acting! Jay Feguson plays the sheriff excellent! The rest of the cast, I will not tear apart, but each are okay, but nothing superb.

One of the greatest things about the show is the Beautiful Vancouver scenery. It seems Canada is always used for "anywhere" USA. Which is fine, because the images are beautiful.

Overall, I don't think this show will last...Only because of the 1st 2 episodes...there was no real meat to them. The 2nd episode was a deliberate rip-off of Exorcist, with a twist, but we (the audience) are expected to beleive way too much...which is typical Williamson. Where did this kid get all this equipment to set up these pranks? I don't know...I can't get into all this...it would just be too complicated!

I will continue to watch, until too much of Kevin Williamson is evident in the show. And here is a hint, Kevin: Real people don't talk the way every one of your characters do...especially young people! There is not reality to your characters.

(score pending)

After 2 episodes: 6 out of 10
0 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A good teen/adult thriller
Spooky200118 March 2002
I saw the first episode and between the first episode and now I have only missed about 2 episodes because of work. I was hooked when I first saw the show. It is a great teen/adult thriller. I would like to say good job to the cast which makes this show worth watching. Kevin Williamson created a cool show.
0 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed