Slippin': Ten Years with the Bloods (2005) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
8 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
6/10
Well done
lvc319 September 2006
Having grown up in LA and actually knowing gang members I feel that the sentiment was well conveyed. This film was not going for the blood and gore of gang life, but in fact was trying to communicate a message more in tune with what it is like growing up in these neighborhoods. Escape is not easy. You either join a gang or it is difficult to survive. I happen to live 3 miles from these streets that are shown in this movie, and have seen just what goes on out there. Survival is the pretext of this movie. The need to do whatever it takes to survive, and one of those things being breaking the law if necessary. If a person draws down on you and you're not strapped then you're dead. Joining a gang is just something these kids do so they can survive. There is power in numbers, and if confronted it is always good to know that your homeboys have your back. I feel this documentary truly covered exactly what it is like growing up with gangs, and in the hood. Joachim Schroeder and Tommy Sowards did a great job in getting the message across.
13 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent Gang Documentary
cure6712 February 2007
I can't think of any other documentaries that are quite as raw as Slippin'. Covering quite a duration of time (10+ years), you get a clear picture of the roller coaster emotions of gang life as you follow several members during turbulent rides. This film illuminates a captivating interpretation of street respect. It has many surprising scenes that not only test the fight or flight instincts of the gang bangers but the film crew as well. You sometimes question how far they will go as they walk a fine line of footage in the light of day meandering into the dark of night. Color and adrenaline mix a wild blend of entertainment and reality. Check it out!
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Slippin' is an excellent documentary about gang life.
pairanoid9 September 2006
"Slippin'" is the only gang documentary I've ever seen with a true story from the hood. Most of the other gang doc's I've seen just show fragmented sections of gang life without a linear story like the one in "Slippin'". "Slippin'" is the only doc that really allows a viewer to meet a few gangmembers giving one the feeling as if you know them well by the end of the movie. Sowards and Schroeder have delivered a documentary well worth watching. It's not a piece about violence, but it's a piece about young kids suppressing their anger in a world full of violence. It's a story about true friendships and a story about friendships being tested. It's a documentary about hope and the possibility of change. The music is used well--not over powering the visuals, but enhancing the mood of the pictures on screen. Their style of long takes without quick music video cuts really pulls the viewer into what it's really like living in South Central as a gangmember. It's an excellent piece of work and I hope others receive it as well as me.
11 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A Real Story Without The Hip-Hop Sensationalism
woljm456 March 2007
This is by far the best gang-life documentary I've ever seen. This coming from a person who has watched and read plenty material regarding this lifestyle. Most documentaries like this try to focus on the flashy violence to get everyone's attention instead of investigating the roots of the culture. The title may give the impression that it focuses on the Bloods gang, but actually the story revolves around a small group of associates, in which only one is an actual true-red Bloods member. It's a collection of interviews and segments that span over ten years.

The reason I enjoyed this film so much is that most people have the impression that gang members just hang out, get high, and get into beefs every day. Those parts do play a big part in the lifestyle and it does appear in the film, but they're also husbands, fathers, sons, and people more like the rest of us than maybe we want to admit.

It's the little details which separates this from the other gang-life documentaries, it keeps your attention without the bullets, fighting, and scantily clad women. When you see the environment these guys come from, it's hard to imagine that its in the United States, you might think that they live in a third-world country. "Slippin" is definitely a real life journey worth taking without all the glamor that Hip-Hop makes it out to be.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Interesting
MicahC11719 December 2006
I didn't think this was a good documentary, but I did like all of the footage that was captured. If one is looking for a well made documentary on gang life, this is not it. If you want to see some interesting unfiltered footage of gang life without an underlying biased view, this should intrigue you. There isn't much narration, and I don't think there is a point and/or moral to the story (at least, it isn't clear). I don't see how this could be an inaccurate depiction of gang life, seeing as how all of the footage is real and the narrator never makes an attempt to indoctrinate you. You just see things the way they happened to a particular group of guys and how they reacted.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Insightful documentary
groggo19 November 2007
This is an interesting and insightful look at five members of the 'Bloods,' who are involved in a decades-long street struggle with the 'Crips' in south-central Los Angeles. The feuds have to do with dope-selling, territory, gang pride, and respect.

I couldn't really begin to understand where all the machismo comes from. We see Blood gang members getting high, and ruthlessly talking about vengeance and killing. Meanwhile, somewhere outside of their territory, no doubt the Crips were doing the same thing. It would have been interesting to 'compare' their attitudes, although I suspect those attitudes were identical.

This doc is valuable in showing viewers (particularly white viewers) the madness and hopelessness in festering ghetto life . When a 16-year-old 'home boy,' Michael Johnson, is shot dead, it acts as a catalyst in slowly changing how the members look at themselves and their lifestyle, which seems to have been pre-ordained for them before they were even born. They joined to survive on the streets, or so they thought.

This is an honest depiction of how the four 'survivors' (Low-Down, Dig Dug, KK, and Jumbo) more or less escaped from gang life to find other lives. Two of them found comfort in religion.

I'd like to see an update on this film, because the viewer, despite looking at these men with their violent (and often senseless) macho attitudes, still cares about what happens to them. Very well done documentary.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent, true-to-life, and gritty documentary
heathercarrillo27 October 2007
Not your average documentary. There are no talking heads here, just real-life action. I think this film can open many peoples' eyes to see that gang members are more than just thugs. While most would not agree with their tactics, there is a sense of community and love between the members, and it is great to see the people speak for themselves, not behind some faceless narrator. The filmmakers do not pass judgment, and the viewers should not either. While there are some heartwarming moments, there is also heartbreak, and the camera views both of these equally. There are no excuses here, just the good, the bad, and the reality that lies somewhere in between.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
No Hoop Dream
adresher25 April 2005
Warning: Spoilers
When one hears "Ten Years with the Bloods," one would expect a detailed documentary that exposes one to day to day gang violence. That is hardly the case with "Slippin." Other than showing the viewer that these gang members are constantly smoking pot (there is not a second in the film when the main characters are not high), one learns and is exposed to nothing new. The use of one of the gang members as a narrator/voice over is very ineffective. If the directors were attempting to create sympathetic characters, they failed miserably. One leaves disgusted with all the main characters and their families. While most documentaries attempt and are usually successful catching the characters at vulnerable moments, "Slippin" has no such moments. Although one of the characters does die from gang violence 1) it is not captured on tape and 2) one does not feel at any time that their lives are in constant danger and could end at any time. If gang violence is a subject of interest to you, better choice is to read the book "Monster."
5 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed