How I Met Your Mother (TV Series 2005–2014) Poster

(2005–2014)

User Reviews

Review this title
577 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Love it but the end disappointed me :(
pe_lun_20610 May 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Hello everyone! I have to say that I really really love the series! Especially, I love the couple Barney-Robin so bad! I learnt a lot from the gang and I really love them. I cried with them, I laughed with them, spend every moment with them. Really, I cried a lot when Marshall's Dad died, and when Tracy died, I was broken :( and I had a quite tough day after. I used to think that the season ninth may be the season that I like the most, but turned out, I was wrong @@ The moment Robin said: "We got divorced" made me cry :(( I don't know if I'm a sensitive person, but I cried a lot. And then when Ted stood under Robin's apartment, holding the f**king blue French horn...I was totally speechless. I spent a whole day after cursing the directors, I really did that -.- All I can say is that I was totally disappointed by the end of the series. But after all, we can't forget the contain just because of the ending. So I decided to see the episode 22 is the end, or at least the last five minutes were just pretending. Anyway, thanks for reading this!
115 out of 128 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wonderful stuff
milicevic-2614927 August 2018
I have to admit that I created imdb account just to rate this show after watching it.
60 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
This show is fantastic!
orlaithgra7 November 2005
I love this show!! It's one of the best sitcoms on the air and one of the best CBS shows!!! I disagree with the other comment - Barney is the best character. He's the funniest person on the show. I love how the entire ensemble has chemistry together!! It actually feels like they're friends in real life. And I don't think they need new writers, they just need to grow a little more. This show gets better with time. I laugh so hard with the show that my sides hurt every time I watch. I recommend this show to anyone that has a great sense of humor and wants to laugh until their sides hurt. I hope that this show has a long run on the air.
434 out of 574 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Good laugh for late twenty-somethings
kasiemahan8 November 2005
I've enjoyed the first few episodes of this post "Friends" comedy. It really captures some of the humorous albeit awkward situations that late twenty-somethings are finding themselves in these days.

Alyson Hannigan once again presents her hilarious, quirky sense of style and humor. Along with her boyfriend, Marshall, they are an excellent representation of the couple who are trying to figure out an identity in the "not still partying like college kids, but trying not to be all grown up" stage of life.

The lead character, Ted, provides great entertainment. Audiences will be drawn in by his sensitivity and likability. He's not desperate to get married, but merely ready to find the One, tired of game playing.

Overall, I think this is a half-hour well spent. The humor is edgy, unpredictable, and you will find yourself reminiscing about those first few years after you graduated from college and struggled to find yourself out in the "Real World."
229 out of 309 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Good Story
omieg831 April 2014
Warning: Spoilers
SPOILERS******

I think too many people took the title of the show too seriously. A lot of people wondered why Ted decided to sit down and tell his kids a story about meeting their mother which included his ex-girlfriends. Well without some of the girlfriends, he would not have grown and become the man he did. He also would not have lucked into the opportunity of meeting their mother. And without those stories we would have not had a TV show.

The show has a great combination of funny and heartfelt moments going on that I've only seen matched with Friends and Scrubs. There were some episodes along the way in season 7-9 that were forgettable but a lot of shows get like that when they're on past their prime. Now that I know the full story and that Ted ends up with Robin, I want to watch the entire series over. To me it makes perfect sense to end the show the way they did, because Robin was a main character to the story and not necessarily so with Tracy. It was clear through most of the series that Robin was the one that got away from Ted and the one that had the biggest impact on him. Robin helped make Ted into the man that the kids saw and helped shape him into the man that would fall in love with their mother.

Barney's story was also very interesting. A lot of people felt that the writers undid all of his development in one show. The thing I like about what they did, was that it felt real. Barney's character was complex. He had been let down throughout his life and had his own very deep seeded psychological problems. Those were not necessarily gone by the time he married Robin. I think they were still within him, hence the jokes that he was still able to make about other women's boobs and so on. The thing Barney gained from his relationship with Robin was that she helped him love someone. She helped him see that he was capable of doing so. Little by little, Nora, then Quinn, then Robin helped Barney see that he was capable of more. I think Barney was heartbroken by his marriage with Robin. He felt that it was going to be a certain way. He was as excited if not more excited than her to be married to each other. Hence his nervousness leading up to the wedding and how perfect he wanted it to be. I just think that he couldn't handle what their relationship was becoming kind of like the first go around. He loved her too much to lie to her. But he learned how to love and become a bit more stable. His 31 day spree after his divorce was more about him going to a dark place than it was about him wanting to be that guy. The other thing is that Robin never would have been able to give Barney a child. His daughter was the love of his life and I found that sweet. She changed him forever.

Going back to Ted and Robin. What people might forget is that present Ted is telling the story and not past Ted. People felt like he wasn't genuine in his love for the mother Tracy. I think he loved her with every ounce of his heart. Present Ted was 6 years removed from his wife's death. He wanted to tell his kids the story of how he met the most incredible woman of his life. The only problem was that there was more than one woman that had that effect on him. He just didn't realize the effect Robin still had on him and how important she was to him. His kids helped him realize that. He wasn't the only person in the story who loved multiple people. Robin fell in love with two different men and Tracy had fallen in love with Max before Ted. The show was very real in that sense.

So to sum it up, the mother was a Macguffin but a very beautiful one and one that helped the story have a direction. The last scene b/w the mother and Ted where they finally met was beautifully written and acted. And the final scene to me has not stopped running through my head. The music hit, and Robin brought out the romantic side of Ted again. No words needed to be spoken there and I'm happy for that. We all knew and in the end I was happy b/c these fantastic characters that I've come to love were all in a better place.
40 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I hope this show is kept
MarkOnline27 September 2005
I don't know if I have enough to say to fill up ten lines. I basically wanted to say that I think this is a funny show, and I hope the network keeps it. I especially like the twists and sense of mystery.

I've liked Alyson Hannigan for quite a while, and I think she's doing a great job in the first adult role I've seen her in (I can't believe she's already 31). I also think Doogie, I mean Neil Patrick Harris, plays his character really well. If you haven't seen him in "Harold & Kumar Go To White Castle", you should. Josh Radnor also does a very good job in his first leading role.

I agree that everyone is entitled to his or her own opinion, but I think this show has a lot of elements that make a good series: good plot, good writing, good acting, and attractive cast). I think previous series like "Friends" have raised the bar very high for new sitcoms, but I hope that even if a series isn't destined to become the next "Friends," it can still be recognized as a good and worthwhile sitcom.
306 out of 427 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Grows on you
emilyswope27 October 2005
Watched the show, thought "Hm, I haven't decided if it'll stay or not". But then the next day, my husband and I are quoting it and want to watch it again.

We try again the next week, again with the quoting. I haven't watched a show where there are lines that stick with me like this for a very long time. The show wouldn't be anywhere without "Barney", but somehow none of its faults matter because I enjoy it just too darn much. Every episode there's a new line, haven't been disappointed so far, hoping it continues and gets even better.

I mean come on, with lines like: "Suit up!" "Phone Five!" "Not awkward guys, its only awkward if we make it awkward"

And the numerous variations of "suit up" are a hoot "Snow suit up!" "Flight suit up" I gotta say, I just enjoy it.

There isn't great philosophy, it has a laugh track, but I don't miss it and end up watching the episode a couple times because its the only things worth watching sometimes.
199 out of 278 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
How I Met Your Mother is the best new show in a very long time!
pmk-sjk13 October 2005
How I Met Your Mother is so worth watching! What great characters and amazing writing! This show is a Hit! Finally something to tune in to on Monday nights. Not since Friends have the characters on a sit com bonded like this. I love that there are 3 guys and 2 girls..The writing is fresh and in control and productive.....I particularly enjoy the Ted with the shirt episode - what a unique story line and all the characters just seem to work so well together. I love the added suspense of "who is Ted going to end up with". The character of Ted does an amazing job! He has such a cuteness and innocence about him that makes the whole premise of "How I Met Your Mother" really work and keeps the audience so tuned in to find out what is going to happen next! You have accumulated such a great staff of writers!!! Amazing new show! Our office is taking turns staging Monday night soirees to watch! This premise really works! Keep us the good work! Keep Monday night TV rolling along! Yeah!! Hilarious!
221 out of 312 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
spoiler defending the ending :-)
suzie_only1 April 2014
Warning: Spoilers
First of all, to everyone raging how they hated the ending: Come on people, it is a TV show, for crying out loud! Get over it!

For me the ending was brilliant! At least it explains Ted's twisted story-telling and why it took 8 seasons before we actually got to meet the mother. And true, it was sad that she dies, but Marshall's dad also passed away, which i found way more depressing. Having Ted show up at Robins apartment with the blue horn was bittersweet and basically brought it to a full circle. Barney finally committed to a female who will turn out awesome, when she grows up. Marshall and Lily are the perfect couple as you always knew they would be.

I congratulate Craig Thomas and Carter Bays for having the courage to not end HIMYM like any mediocre sitcom would and want to thank them for almost a decade filled with laughter and sometimes tears (sometimes both at the same time) because the characters they created felt multi-layered and so real at times you wished they were actual friends you could hang out with at MacLaren's pub. It never got boring to watch, even if Ted seems a bit whiny sometimes and when re-watching the show you finally notice that Lily is a bitch. Having said that I'd like to send a virtual high five to everyone involved in making this show. It was legen-... wait for it...-dary.
26 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
My favorite show on TV behind only Seinfeld.
darkmanishere99017 October 2005
What can I say about this show? The cast is awesome. The writers rock. The show is great. My favorite character is Barney. He is probably the main person I watch the show for. He is funny and brings a certain "something' to TV that it needs. It is totally the best new comedy in awhile. While it does have a laugh track - it isn't needed. Bob Sagget is right at home on this show playing the Dad. I think it is very fitting for him to be playing that role. The rest of the cast is great also. The guy who plays Ted is great at being the 'every day' guy and Marshall and his soon to be wife, Lilly are perfect together. As for Robin, well she is Robin and there is nothing wrong with her. I think everyone on this show including the regular cab driver are great. This show has everything and I hope everyone gives it a chance. I love it. It is legendary. Till next week Barney.
255 out of 373 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Sweet romantic comedy you must watch!
Sir_J26 June 2006
Excellent series to waste some time. Perfect for the romantic souls! The story is about five friends and their love adventures, mixed up with tons of funny stories. Ted is a lonely guy, who wants to make a family, but the girl he loves does not want a serious relationship and keeps cutting off his attempts to win her heart. Marshal and Lilly are Ted's best friends they are together for 9 years and are planning a wedding with all the consequences coming from that. Barny is the Casanova of the company. He's funny and arrogant in a very humouristic way. The director's method's are different and will keep your attention in these cute series.
181 out of 274 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Thanks for everything Ted, Marshall, Lily, Barney, Robin, and HIMYM Team
kocaturkdeniz9 October 2015
Warning: Spoilers
Greetings,

I know it's weird, but I have to confess it. Maybe I'm not the first guy who confess his thoughts about HIMYM.

First of all, I want to thank for everything it's taught me. First time I watched How I Met Your Mother TV Show, some thoughts are started to appear in my mind. It's very strange to tell, I don't really know how to start or how to describe it. It's like panic attack, you can't describe it too, you know. But these thoughts are good. I started watching in 2005. As you know start day is September 19, 2005. If I remember true, I started on October. Anyway, I have no idea what will happen in this show in the future. I have never expecting to watch it for the last episode. This show is different then others, it's teaching many things to it's followers; friendship, love, kindness, sacrifice, generosity et cetera and et cetera.

To tell you the truth, I did not establish a deep friendship until now. I tried too much, but why is it not work, really I don't know. I don't know. Ted, Barney, Marshall, Robin and Lily taught me too much things about friendship, love, kindness, sacrifice, generosity. I learned more. Until now, I learned that there are too many things that I must learn. You look like you have too much free time in my country. But in the end, there is a free time they seen but you have not, and they are steal your free time for nothing... Instead of this, I can travel to more country, and learn more. I can work more, more and more for me and my family, friends... It's started eat my mind.

Anyway, as I said, I have watched How I Met Your Mother too many times. And this show, these cast and the team, who are stayed background, taught me too many things. I'm still continuing to watch this show on TV. Even I realized that, I have to own bundle box of this show. I found a site, and I will buy this bundle.

Maybe you said, "I don't understand why you are yelling?" Believe me, there are some things that can hurt. HIMYM helped recognize myself. I believe that, all of these main cast is reflects an idea. Ted is ambitious for his dreams. If you believe, you can do anything. Barney is looks like lecher, but he is not. Just like Ted, he is looking for a door to happiness. Lily. Ah she is adorable and interesting person (but she is very professional to hide her thoughts). Robin is unperturbed, but she is very professional just like Lily. She is hiding her good feelings during some situations. Marshall is childish, and this is a virtue too.

As you see, I discovered these emotions in these characters. All of them was a very good lesson for me; Always be an ambitious, and release your emotions while reaching to these dreams. But at the same time, be lecher for your dreams. Do interesting things and do not listen/see what people talking about yourself about these situations. And of course, don't forget to do some childish things. This will make you happy.

Thanks for reading. And best regards to How I Met Your Mother TV Show cast and the team, of course!
14 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Watch iT!
gidget2347 November 2005
When "How I Met Your Mother" first appeared on the small screen, I refused to watch it. But then I watched an episode (I think it was Episode 5 when they went to a club) and a thought it was pretty funny. I must admit that the new show isn't laugh-out-loud, slap-your-knee HILARIOUS...but it has potential to be great! Every character in the CBS show (5 in total) are likable but I must give extra kudos to the characters played by Alyson Hannigan (Lily), and Neil Patrick Harris (Barney). I may be biased towards my liking of Alyson Hannigan's Lily (due to her previous comedic roles: American Pie Series, and Buffy the Vampire Slayer) but she brings a charm and charismatic flair to the show. Also Neil Patrick Harris' Barney is GREAT!!! He basically plays a creep which I'm sure everyone is familiar with (because I know I sure am!). I find Barney hilarious!!! He IS that creepy guy at the club but that's what makes him lovable.

All in all this show has potential! As long as the stories, acting and writing keep up then I am definitely going to tune in! I think once people start getting to know the characters better, they'll start tuning in as well. Everyone always compares this show to "Friends" which didn't really get popular until after the first season. Hopefully, this show will continue to be funny and exceed our expectations. But WATCH IT!
161 out of 248 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
love it
nametaken2711 November 2005
Warning: Spoilers
well. if you just look at the title, its most likely you would think its some crappy show that will probably be cancelled the first season for being extremely lame and incredibly boring. honestly, i felt this way about this show when i saw what it was going to be called.."How I Met Your Mother". Come on. thats what most people would expect.

well, if people gave it a chance, its actually a really cute and hilarious sitcom about the main character Ted pondering on his love life and looking for "the one". Josh Radnor I've never heard of before, but i really do like his humor in the show. it's a strange kind of humor to me though, almost dry humor. The supporting characters give great comedy to the show, esp. Neil Patrick Harris' character Barney. (who's my favorite character in the show). Man, his character cracked me up in the pilot. I laughed continuously when everyone kept on dismissing his ideal of them all wearing suits. Its great that Doogie finally comes back to television in a great new series. Their are other great characters i feel give great comedy to the show such as the couple Lily (Alyson Hannigan) and Marshall (Jason Segal) who make a great team. They have those romantic, but hilarious scenes together where you have those laugh out loud moments. Then you finally have Robin (Cobie Smulders) who is seen as "the one" at first, but turns out to not actually be Ted's future wife. She has her funny moments, but i don't really see her as funny as the rest of the characters.

Thats basically what people need to know about this show. Most of the actors we have never heard of and haven't seen in movies or shows in awhile, but this is great stardom for them. It's a great show for everyone to watch for it has great comedy and writing to it. It's nothing really what i expected though when i saw the previews for the pilot. Just give this show a chance, you won't be disappointed. It def. has a potential to last some more seasons.
64 out of 94 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Cute Little Show
briannebytheseashore19 September 2005
I don't have much in the way of a review other than to say that based on the pilot, I think this show has a lot of potential to be a really good show. The cast is funny and endearing and the premise is fun. It might not be the most original idea for the show (think Wonder Years) but it has it's own little twist that should make for some interesting episodes. Hopefully next weeks episode will be just as watchable and entertaining. If you haven't checked it out, I recommend that you do. Alyson Hannigan and Neil Patrick Harris are the perfect complements to the show. The rest of the cast is somewhat unfamiliar to me though I must admit. I recall seeing Jason Segel in Freaks and Geeks, but I haven't really seen him in anything as impressive since so hopefully he'll bring the same originality he showed as Nick to his new character, Marshall. Josh Radnor is the newcomer in the bunch and he is just perfect for the part. He's cute yet dorky, with a lovable charm that will certainly endear him to many female viewers. I see only good things on the horizon for this show and I hope it finds a permanent home at CBS.
123 out of 195 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Please stop it now!
kevinmorice4 December 2013
Warning: Spoilers
I loved this show. Unfortunately, the ninth series is increasingly putting the past tense into that statement.

The whole nonsense of having Marshall travelling rather than present is tedious. And he really is important to the group chemistry, which is increasingly unbalanced. The flashbacks are getting contradictory. Dragging out 3 days into a whole series is just stupid.

It is still watchable, but there is none of the magic or the emotional investment that has been present in the first 8 series. And now we have seen the Mother and having her as a permanent recurring cast member, why can't we just write her in properly and get on with having Ted meet her?!
14 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Until season 5, epic. After that, avoid at all cost.
petercms29 November 2013
This review will fall into two pieces, inspired by the latest 2 episodes ( seriously guys, what the f... is going on with the musical bits and ridiculous rhyming).

Until season 5, somewhere mid-season 6: some of the best comedy I have ever seen. Hilarious, right on the spot, with great one-liners and characters. Absolutely wonderful.

Anything after that: what the f... went wrong? Lame jokes, terrible musical bits, awful dialogue, just plain awful TV. And yet somehow, I am still watching, just to see the last episode. Com' on guys, this should have finished 3-4 seasons ago: on your epic legendary peakness.

Thanks for all the wonderful laughs, but wow, you really overstayed your stay!!
112 out of 186 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Absolutely my favorite ever
brendonshuke19 January 2019
The perfect amount of drama and comedy. Every character is perfectly developed and very rarely go outside of their core personality. I have seen every single episode and can say that our of 208 of them I might not have liked maybe 8. All the other episodes are captivating, unexpected, funny, accurate, realistic, full of positivity, and after you've seen all of them in the end you'll be a little bit better as a person. At least that's what it did for me.
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Funniest Comedy I Have Ever Seen
olesya_di14 June 2015
Warning: Spoilers
How I met your mother is definitely one of the best American sitcom. It is the funniest dramas with eccentric humor I have ever seen. The producers of this comedy, Carter Bays and Craig Thomas, created an entertaining romantic story full of awkward and amusing moments, so I have not one bad word to say about it. This comedy, with interesting plot and irresistible characters, is certainly my favorite.

The story is about the adventures of architect Ted Mosby and his friends, and how he met the mother of his children. However, the comedy is not similar to a traditional love-story, which begins from the moment when the romantic leads first meet each other. The structure of this drama is absolutely unique, Ted Mosby does not introduce his wife until the final season. Additionally, the series start with Ted retelling to his children in 2030 the story about how he was so close to meet their mother. He had been seeking his love for 8 years. Ted failed a lot, but his crazy friends every time provided him social and emotional support. With a lovely couple Marshall Eriksen and Lily Aldrin, womanizer Barney Sticnson with a secret job (you also will find out it only in the final season) and funny anchor Robin Sharbatsky, Ted has unforgettable adventures and a number of ridiculous stories.

How I met your mother is suitable for everyone. It's a really positive, humorous and amazing comedy, which you can watch with your friends and with your family as well. However, parents need to know that this comedy focuses on flirting, love and relationships, includes sexual jokes and some vulgar language. On the other hand, some obscene things are substituted with interesting activities, and it makes stories more comical. At the same time this drama has controversial ending, which suggests that sometimes life has no happy endings. Overall It's easy watching sitcom with different funny story lines, so you will never be bored.
10 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst comedy I ever followed
xyxymani17 May 2011
Warning: Spoilers
How can I say it respectfully? hmm.... It's disgustingly boring and insultingly illogical.

I admit that season 1 and 2 were extremely well made. Maybe it is the reason why I am now extremely disappointed. The writers only uses tricks of "sudden turns of events" to generate funny moments. Having watched many episodes of this show, all I see is that characters constantly changing their beliefs, decisions, and actions back and forth without any logical reasons: we two must break up, no, we must get back together, no, that's just impulse, we should still break up, no, that's true love, we must get back together, no, it's true love because we wanted it to be, we should break up......

The show is not making too much sense now. The five figures in the show don't have consistent characters any more. You can not ask such questions: "how could this person possibly do such a thing?" Because you won't have any logical answers. Maybe this is exactly what American shows are about: like fast food, you don't need to enjoy it, just swallow what is given to you. Sometimes, you stop and think "wait a minute, this doesn't make sense, doesn't XX just did something exactly the opposite a minute ago?" No, you can't. The writers just throw to you another contradictory joke and you are moving on.

I feel deeply insulted watching the show. I feel that the writers assume that audience never think deeper than the superficial meaning of the jokes while watching shows, which is not true.

Deeply disappointed.
195 out of 367 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Most overrated Show Ever!!!
sahib-randhawa5 January 2011
One of the greatest mysteries of this universe is How this show got sooo popular. People who love this show act as if F.R.I.E.N.D.S never existed. This show is a terrible rip-off of 'FRIENDS' and I am insulting FRIENDS by comparing HIMYM with it. I mean c'mon.... the jokes are predictable and lame, the situations are kiddish, the characters live in a world of their own,the story NEVER seems to move on, they give stupid names to each and everything, the way 7-year olds do... (eg. Lets pull out the 'mosby', I've won the 'three way belt' etc. etc.) I've watched each and every episode of the show till date and have not laughed even once, smiled maybe but never laughed... whereas in shows like there Big Bang Theory, Friends, Seinfeld... I fall off my chair laughing at least once even if it is the nth time i am watching the episode....

The only good thing about the show is Barney aka Neil Patrick Harris, probably the only reason I did watch every episode... otherwise the show is totally LAME....

I give it 1/10 only because of him.
168 out of 318 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
I think it's a great show!
kandisallyna24 October 2005
I love that they gave Aly a new show, she is so great and she deserves one. They stuck with the "kinky girl" persona the movie American Pie gave her, but I still like it. The show is funny and the characters are great. I can't wait to see who Ted ends up with. The TV show may be a little silly at times, but I like it a lot, and I intend to watch it every Monday night. I don't know if the show can have multiple seasons since it's a one story type of thing, but if they can figure out how to do it, then I hope they do it. Anyways, I give high praises to the show, and I hope it sticks around longer than some of these other TV series, like Head Cases. Kandis
88 out of 160 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What? How is this still on the air?
jeffreypgibson15 May 2012
I had heard from several people that this show was "amazing," "funny," and any number of other wonderful adjectives. So, why had I never heard of it? It has been running since 2005 after all, and this is 7 years later. Well, Netflix supplied the answer with 5 episodes of the most recycled, predictable garbage I have ever seen on television. I didn't laugh a single time, accurately predicting almost every encounter in the first few seconds and staring at the screen in baffled wonderment. How is this show popular?! This show is essentially THE prime example of our American pursuit of laziness. We don't dare watch a show that challenges our thinking or is interesting in any way, we just want to watch the same crap that has been on TV since the first fart joke debuted.

I digress... This show was trashy, boring, insulting to the intelligence of a kindergartner, and poorly executed at that. In short, an epic piece of utter trash that I will avoid at all costs in the future. Others are of course entitled to their opinions, but for those unsure if they'd like to take a chance on it, don't! I would sincerely rather watch an infomercial; it would be funnier.
113 out of 210 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
I don't get it...
nardo_9512 September 2011
Warning: Spoilers
When i first heard of this show i was like "hmm, this could be interesting" , but no, it sucks. I first saw it in my girlfriends house, and thought "wow, this is actually pretty entertaining" but then i began to think about the jokes, the characters... and the only thing that came into my mind was "Friends". "OMG, this is a copy of friends!!!" i thought, and i was right, it's the exact same thing, the jokes the scenario the characters attitude and their friendship, it's all there!! Now tell me, why would they make a reboot of the 90's show? Because it sells, so why watch it? Just to prove my point i made a list of things that we have seen in "Friends" and that are similar in "How i met your mother" :

MacLaren's Pub / Central Perk.

Monica & Chandler/Lily & Marshall

Rachel & Ross date / Robin & Ted date

Rachel & Joey date / Robin&Barney date

Joey's a womanizer / Barney is a womanizer.

Barney and Phoebe don't know who their dad is. Both have been lied by their mother/grandmother respectively.

Ross & Ted both end up as professors.

Emily didn't want Rachel to be around Ross / Stella with Robin..

And the list goes on...

So that's that, "How i met you're mother" is like a show made for kids, it has stupid/childish jokes, it has loving/clichéd characters, and it has a moral in the end of every episode, to give us that worm feeling that everything is going to be alright... Man this show is the basic form of a US comedy, it always has been this way, and it will stay this way until people realize that sh*t like this is boring, repetitive and simple has hell, kinda like pop music these days, but that's another story...
132 out of 249 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Why I started seeing this nonsense show, after all !
youmecinema21 May 2012
One of most horrible shows of all time. I do not even understand how this show got 8.6 rating. Does not deserve a 5. The characters are totally confused. And how many times Robin will jump from Barney to Ted. Since 7 years the characters have not grown even a single bit. I am bored to death seeing every episode having flashback shots. Marshal and Lily are utterly boring couple (though they are good for each other but such a couple should definitely not be the center characters of a sitcom. Barney's cool character has started to bore me since season 5. and there are so many loopholes and unnecessary twists that I can just - How I met this F***** Up Show.
85 out of 157 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed