"Breaking Bad" Pilot (TV Episode 2008) Poster

(TV Series)

(2008)

User Reviews

Review this title
38 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
The Beginning of Excellence
adarshbohra6927 January 2017
1)The Good - This is one of those really strong pilot episodes that does a tremendous job of selling itself to viewers.The choice to begin things with a dramatic sequence in the desert worked out well. It gave Walt a memorable introduction and raised intriguing questions. The cooking montage managed to include both characterisation (Jesse goofing around) and the authenticity of good chemistry. I liked the shot of Walt drying his money, giving us the perspective of the back of the dryer as he collected his first ill gotten gains. The sound and camera work was also clever when we saw Walt's disoriented reaction to his cancer diagnosis.

2)Best Moment: I particularly enjoyed the scene where Walt attacks some arrogant boys making fun of Walter Jr as he struggles to try on clothes in a store. That scene seemed to capture the contradiction at the heart of Walt's transformation.

3)The Bad: Nothing really.

4)The Bottom Line: Breaking Bad is a show with huge potential and this was a hugely enjoyable and well executed first episode.
55 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A great start
andrewkempf30 March 2017
I've heard a lot about this show from numerous friends, and reading multiple times online that it's among the greatest shows ever, if not the greatest. This first episode already has me hooked. Walter White has already shown that he's a mad genius. I'm intrigued by the Jesse Pinkman character, as I see a lot of potential for a lot of character development on his part. It was a great first episode.
16 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Breaking Bad "Pilot" Review
thecleverboy24 June 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Breaking Bad's pilot episode is one of my favorite episodes in the series. The one that started it all.

Walter White is a high school chemistry teacher with a pregnant wife, Skylar and a son with cerebral palsy named Walt Jr., who loves eating breakfast. In addition, we have Walt's brother- in-law DEA agent Hank Schrader, and his wife Marie Schrader. Walt finds out he has lung cancer. Inoperable. So he teams up with former student Jesse Pinkman to cook crystal meth. But their first drug deal doesn't go so well.

This pilot episode was a success. It set up the story line, it introduced us to our main characters, and it had an awesome story.

My Grade: A+
12 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Superb Beginning
Hitchcoc8 October 2015
Well, I'm on the journey. With many series, it's just too much of an investment. But this has become a cultural icon and now that the whole thing is available, I decided to jump in. The opening episode (pilot) really does a great job of introducing us to the principles. The poor science teacher with the death sentence of inoperable lung cancer, his partner, a former student, and the sad state of affairs he must face each day with a disabled son and a pile of bills. I asked myself the question: How can you care about someone who is producing a deadly drug that has devastated our culture, and yet one sees the desperation. I'm a former teacher. I'm surprised that at 50 he has so little, but his son has probably been a draw on his bank account and his wife probably can't work outside the house. The most tragic scenes are when he has to work in the pit at the car wash and have his students taunt him and take cellphone pictures of him. We are also made privy to the dangerous world of the meth trade and the types of people he is going to be facing. This is a very good opening episode.
17 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Pilot: Or, How Breaking Bad Ruined TV For Me
tahmeedkc24 June 2014
Walter White and Jesse Pinkman are an interesting combination. Bryan Cranston and Aaaron Paul give us a hit of some outstanding chemistry (no pun intended), and this episode was a perfect beginning for one of TV's greatest shows.

Walter White is a 50 year old over-qualified high school chemistry teacher. He discovers one day while working at his second job ( washing cars, embarrassingly), that he has 3rd stage Lung Cancer. He goes on a ride along with his brother Hank, a DEA (Drug Enforcement Administration) agent to bust a methamphetamine lab. This is where all the action begins, with the end of the episode being iconic: Walt, in his underwear with a gun pointing at the screen.

How one situation leads to another is incredible in this show. In the opening episode, the set-up for astounding character development is laid: it followed through magnificently in the following seasons.

Bryan Cranston gave an Emmy-winning performance for this episode. His performance was a visceral revelation, and Aaron Paul is outstanding as Jesse Pinkman. This show is one to binge-watch, and due to account of this episode, one to admire forever.
15 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Intriguing
maximusprimex-114-83581223 September 2014
Warning: Spoilers
A very good episode as far as pilots go. Definitely got me interested in the series as i only started watching the series because of its reputation. I already know that Walter White is gonna transition from mr. chips to scarface but this spoiler hasn't really diminished my interest in the series. I'll admit that I'll probably never have started watching the series if it weren't for the Breaking Bad hysteria before the series finale, not to mention my friend giving me all 5 seasons on a usb stick, which was an obvious incentive to watch. All I can say is that I'm excited to see how things will unfold. I've also been told that this series has a reputation for putting characters in tight corners and making them face brutal moral dilemmas which is something that i am definitely looking forward to.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
One hell of a kickoff!
Mr-Fusion29 December 2017
The image of a show's main character in the middle of the road, without pants, ready to shoot it out with the approaching police . . . that's some ace cliffhanger material. Yet it's the first thing anyone sees!

An exhilarating hour of television, this pilot deals effortlessly with the unenviable amount of setup that "Breaking Bad" requires. Portrait of a man beaten down by mediocrity suddenly liberated by a cancer diagnosis, Walter White is the guy you feel sorry for, but you also desperately want the guy to snap out of his suburban malaise and grab life by the balls (played with no shortage of intensity by Bryan Cranston). This intro lays out the conflict and colorful supporting characters and laces it with excellent dark humor. As fun as it is to see this guy at the end of his rope, it also demands that you return for next week.

I've been telling people for years to ignore the hype and just give the first episode a shot. And for good reason; it's one of the best pilots I've ever seen.

9/10
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best start they could have wished for
svenbes2 December 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I think this might just be the most underrated episode of the series. It sets the tone perfectly for the rest of the series and sets up the entire plot in limited time, without it being confusing. Definitely in my top 10 favourite episodes out of all shows I have watched.

*Spoiler alert*

The ending of this episode, after Walt and Jesse survive all the horror they have been through in so little time, with the feel good song 'out of time man' in the background is one of the most memorable moments in television for me.

I am hoping for Better Call Saul to be just as fun to watch as this, even though it is almost impossible to out-do this show.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A great introductory episode
Tweekums28 September 2012
Warning: Spoilers
As this pilot episode begins we are immediately thrown into the action as we see an RV hurtling along a desert track; it is driven by a man wearing only a pair of Y-fronts and a gasmask; in the back there appear to be two bodies. The RV crashes and the man gets out; he hears approaching sirens and raises a gun... Things then jump back a few days and we see the driver again; he is Walter White; a high school chemistry teacher whose pupils don't respect him and is so short of money that he has a second job at a car wash. Then two things happen that will change his life forever... his brother in law, who is in the DEA, invites him to ride along as they go to bust a meth lab and secondly he is diagnosed with terminal cancer.

As the raid goes ahead Walt sees a man jumping from the window of the house next door and recognises him as his former pupil Jesse Pinkman... Walt is fed up of doing the right thing and being poor; he sees an opportunity and he is going to take it! Drug dealer Jesse needs a new chemist and Walt is a professional; he isn't just going to make methamphetamine he is going to make the best methamphetamine and Jesse is going to help him sell it. Once the decision is made Walt gains a new confidence; we see him confront a group of bullies who are mocking his son who has cerebral palsy, quit his job at the carwash and finally deal with the two drug dealers who are threatening to kill him and Jesse.

When I first sat down to watch this I wasn't sure if I'd enjoy it or not but I was hooked by the opening scene... after that I wanted to know who this man was and why he was driving through the desert in such strange attire. The cast did a fine job; especially Bryan Cranston who plays Walter in a way that makes the viewer believe in the mild chemistry teacher who suddenly wants to make drugs. He is ably supported by Aaron Paul who plays his new partner Jesse. This episode contained a decent amount of humour to balance out the more serious elements; Jesse's first appearance was hilarious as were most scenes featuring Walt's brother in law Hank; Dean Norris is great in the role. This was definitely a great opening episode which left me keen to see what happens next.
12 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Stunning and riveting pilot
quiddity95 August 2013
Absolutely intense, unpredictable and creative. Novel premise, challenges perception of what can be done in television, and draws the viewer into heightened awareness. It's the only show I can recall which demanded my attention within the first seconds. The show takes such a hold that it feels like being on the drug in question.

I wish the show had stopped at the end of the 3rd or 4th season, it was SO good. The early episodes were experimental and, as I understand from various interviews, relatively low budget. This combination some times encourages the best work, and the first few seasons reflect this. Corporate sponsors weren't present, unlike later seasons. It shows.
14 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Perfect combination of comedic dramatic gold!
Red_Identity9 December 2010
I am a huge fan of AMC. I consider Mad Men to be the best show airing on TV, and The Walking Dead and Rubicon from this year were also very impressive. I decided to catch a glimpse of the Pilot for Breaking Bad, since it is so far the only show I had never watched.

The Pilot was an amazing hour of television. It had subtle and effective writing, introduced characters, and had an amazing performance by Bryan Cranston. I know he has won the Emmy three times in a row, so I was glad I was able finally able to watch him in this show. Absolutely amazing! His facial expressions, the change in his actions and character throughout the Pilot was perfectly portrayed. He has created an absolutely interesting and emerging character, and whenever he on screen one is determined not to look away.

Seeing as how this was the first episode, I cannot start raving about the entire show, but the Pilot and the second episode were both amazing, and dare I say it, perhaps had the strongest Pilot from any AMC show.
33 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The pilot that started it all!
Breaking Bad comes RIGHT out of the gate: with Walt driving a filthy RV in the New Mexico desert, in his underwear. A television phenomenon starts right here in a bald, absurd and beautiful fashion. Bryan Cranston is a man freaking out about the current predicament he's in, and we get how difficult everything's become for him, before we even get to the title of the show. Vince Gilligan doesn't try to second-guess his audience's smarts. He starts the series where the story's already started, and then he takes us back to catch our breaths.

This pilot single-handedly launched the classic television show that has come to be the template of writer-driven television and its potential to have PHENOMENAL storytelling. The pilot gives us a taste-test of what we're to expect from the rest of the show, but it leaves us wanting more: in the most satisfying way. We're EAGER to see what happens next instead of begrudgingly thinking we should. This show is its own drug.

If you haven't already seen the Breaking Bad series please do yourself a favour and watch asap! You're missing out on pop-cultural history right here!
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Pilot (#1.1)
ComedyFan201024 December 2013
Warning: Spoilers
Wow, didn't expect such a remarkable pilot. The first episode is usually alright, but this one was absolutely excellent.

It makes the viewer hooked from the very first scene, by presenting an extraordinary situation which makes one go "wtf...what am I watching here?".

And after awaking the viewers interest it starts introduction to the main idea of the story and the characters. We see Walter White, a chemistry teacher whose family is struggling with money, being diagnosed with terminal cancer. Through a relative who is a cop he finds out that meth labs bring a lot of cash and partners up with his ex student, Jesse Pinkman, who already knows the world of drug dealing to make the best meth in the neighbourhood.

The characters all promise us a very interesting show to come, and the acting is absolutely high level. I love how in such a short time we get introduced to the main cast and already get an idea about who they are as well as start really liking and caring for Walt and Jesse.

We also get some comic relief, such as the first scene of us seeing Jesse, the hand job, Walt in his tiny whities and of course the "cow house".

It is amazing how much has already happened after only seeing one episode. Looking forward to watch this amazing show and to find out what happens to Walter White and Jesse Pinkman!
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Ossm
tewaridevansh-9705221 October 2018
Never expected that even the first episode would be such great. This show also has comedy.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Great Pilot and a Solid Short Film in Its Own Right
mrrockey16 August 2015
Warning: Spoilers
What can you say about Breaking Bad that hasn't been said before? It's one of the greatest television shows of all-time, if not the greatest. It's funny, dark, witty, intelligent, nuanced, unpredictable, complex, and features one of the greatest characters ever created for television in Bryan Cranston as Walter White. However, with all that said, was Breaking Bad always this great of a show? Did it start out as another clichéd "good, law abiding citizen forced to a life of crime through bad circumstances" drama? Let's take a look, shall we?

Breaking Bad tells the story of Walter White, a mild-mannered chemistry teacher struggling to pay his bills and provide for his family at the age of 50. He has a wife named Skyler, a son with cerebral palsy, a second part-time job working at a car wash, and a brother-in-law cop who greatly overshadows him. However, when Walt learns he has lung cancer, he decides to use his knowledge in chemistry to cook crystal meth with former student turned drug dealer Jesse Pinkman.

For first time viewers, the pilot of Breaking Bad can feel a little slow at first. We are shown through the life of Walter White prior to his meth-cooking career for the first half or so and it takes quite some time before anything really exciting happens but yet, the episode is never boring. Because not only does the first half do a good job displaying the unpleasantness in Walter White's life, but also has a good sense of humor about it.

We are shown that he is a tired, worn out man that never gets a break in life through stuff like him working at a job he hates, not getting appreciated for it, being treated like crap by his boss etc. It's all pretty standard stuff, but the scene that cements his place is a scene where Skyler attempts to give Walt a handjob. While at first, it seems like just a scene used for the sake of a raunchy gag, it actually sums up how the character feels better than words ever could. It shows that Walt isn't feeling like a man, how he feels inadequate about himself and how he isn't behaving like how a man should. On top of that, it's a genuinely funny scene and there's a very amusing payoff to it.

Once he decides to start cooking meth, the episode takes on a much faster pace with action, thrills, and suspense. This part is genuinely exciting because the pilot was a little slow at first which makes this incredibly satisfying to watch. During his first adventure in the meth underworld, he gets his identity mistaken for a cop, is forced to teach his successful formula to others, and ultimately embarks on a supposed chase through the desert with two supposed bodies in a RV.

The story is so well paced and structured to the point where it could easily be a short film on its own. We see a character go through an arc in a 60 min runtime with a beginning and an end. He starts out as a weak, inadequate individual but finds himself again at the end of the episode at the expense of his morality. Even if there was no continuation for this episode, it's still a solid short film in its own right.

Vince Gilligan is the main reason this episode(and the rest of the show, for that matter) works. His directing here is excellent. Not only pacing his story well and delivering a satisfying conclusion, but also using appropriate and clever stylistic flourishes. For example, during when Walt discovers he has cancer, Gilligan doesn't use any melodramatic music to punctuate it. Instead, he uses an ambient sound effect that drowns out the dialogue and shifts the camera from a close-up of the doctor's mouth to a mustard stain on his jacket. It sounds odd but it's a really effective way of showing Walt simply not giving a sh!t to hear this news since he didn't feel he was alive anyways. The cinematography and music choices were also excellent.

I haven't talked about the acting yet and while all these actors would go on to prove themselves as excellent dramatic actors later down the line, the two standout performances in this episode are Bryan Cranston and Aaron Paul. Cranston perfectly portrays a man stuck in a life he despises and feels inadequate of perfectly but also can portray the character's excitement and joy when he breaks bad. Aaron Paul doesn't do that much in this episode but he's instantly funny and likable as the weak and scrawny drug dealer Jesse Pinkman. Even though he's only in the last 30 or so minutes, he and Cranston have an instant chemistry on screen. It's also nice to see Gilligan cast someone who wasn't overly attractive as Skyler White with Anna Gunn(though, she really isn't ugly like some would say).

Overall, this pilot is a great start for a great series and works well on its own as a short film. 10/10
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Clear as crystal
TheLittleSongbird26 May 2018
'Breaking Bad' is one of the most popular rated shows on IMDb, is one of those rarities where every season has either been very positively received or near-universally acclaimed critically and where all of my friends have said nothing but great things about.

Very few shows in recent memory had me so hooked from the very start that before the week was over the whole show had been watched, especially when for a lot of shows now airing watching one episode all the way through can be an endeavour. 'Breaking Bad' had that effect on me, and its reputation as one of the best, consistently brilliant and most addictive shows in many years (maybe even ever) is more than deserved in my eyes. Its weakest season is perhaps the first season, understandable as any show's first season is the one where things are still settling.

Actually everything is established remarkably from the very start, but once the writing and characterisation becomes even meatier the show reaches even higher levels.

"Pilot" though has to be up there with one of the finest pilot episodes for any show ever, and there are a good deal of great ones.

Visually, "Pilot" is both stylish and beautiful, with photography and editing that are cinematic quality and put a lot of films today to shame, where there are a lot of visually beautiful ones but also some painfully amateurish looking ones. The music always has the appropriate mood, never too intrusive, never too muted.

The writing for "Pilot" is a fine example of how to have a lot of style but also to have a lot of substance. The dialogue throughout is thought-provoking and tense, while also have a darkly wicked sense of humour and heart-tugging pathos. The story texturally rich, intimate, tense and layered, with the pace of it consistently deliberate but taut. The direction couldn't be better.

Can't say anything bad about the acting. Bryan Cranston is phenomenal as one of the most fascinating anti-heroes, or even of any kind of character, in either film or television. Aaron Paul has never been better and Anna Gunn is affecting. The characters are compelling in their realism.

Overall, a couldn't be better start for a show that got better and better. 10/10 Bethany Cox
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Pilot
heberjpscp19 November 2015
Warning: Spoilers
What a great pilot to start a show! Obviously a show that finds humor in the production and distribution of a deadly, addictive drug, a show whose hero learns in the first episode that he has terminal lung cancer, a show in which vigorous attempts to destroy a corpse in a bathtub full of acid end with the remains of the body, and the tub, crashing through the ceiling to the floor below — well, there you have a show that is definitely "not for everybody. Cranston's performance alone is enough to keep me watching for a while, but I'd like to see something resembling a completed formula, and soon.I know I've been watching it since it debuted (in the month of January, no less, which seems weird for a show so associated with the summer now), but I couldn't tell you what I thought of it after the premiere.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Excellent Pilot!
gab-147122 August 2015
Breaking Bad is one of the greatest television series to have graced our planet, and you can see hints of that from this pilot episode, which very well may be the greatest television pilot of 2008. What I really liked is how the show used its dark subject matter, dealing with subjects such as terminal cancer and drug abuse, as well as murder and creating a meth lab. As evidently seen in this episode, Vince Gilligan decides to use dark humor to combat these subjects. For example, when Walt learns he has cancer, he absent-mindedly points out the mustard on the doctor's jacket. It was one of the few quite funny scenes. The episode begins and ends with a fast pace. The story needs to be told, so definitely pay attention so you don't lose any details. The cinematography is gorgeous, as evident during the scenes in the New Mexico desert.

Now as the plot goes, it's a rather simple one. But the plot is executed in such wild ways in the episode. We are already told the plot twist within the first five minutes, so all we get for the rest of the episode is the events leading up to the twist. Anyhow, we meet Walter White who is a high school chemistry teacher just celebrating his 50th birthday. Life goes south when he finds out he has terminal lung cancer. He decides to recruit one of his former students, a druggie named Jesse Pinkman to help him start a meth lab, so he can provide for his pregnant wife and his crippled son after he is deceased. When Jesse puts him in contact with one of his distributors, Walt and Jesse fear they may be too far in up their sleeve.

This show introduces some rather interesting characters. There is Walter White, who is played by the amazing Bryan Cranston. Cranston is known for his comedy, but he does a great job handling drama and in particular, the average-looking, intelligent man. Anna Gunn plays Skylar, Walter's rather suspicious wife. She does a good job in playing the confused part, while Walt is out and about with his criminal activities. R.J Mitte does a rather good job as Walter Jr, who suffers from cerebral palsy. Aaron Paul does a good job as Jesse Pinkman, although his character is just a tad whiny. There is just a funny scene involving him and the neighbor while a drug bust is going on. Dean Norris does a wonderful job as Walt's DEA brother-in-law, Hank Schrader. He seems to be the witty member of the family. Though not much screen time is involved, Betsy Brandt plays Hank's wife, Marie.

So this pilot episode ends up being one of the better pilots in recent memory, thus beginning television's golden age, which we are currently in the midst of. This episode is not only full of action and how it sets the stakes high from the get-go, but it also is a funny episode. Some favorite scenes of mine involve Walt flipping out at his surprised car wash manager, and Walt protecting his son from bullies at a clothing store. Although Walt's first attempt at meth ends in failure, he is convinced that road will still go on.

My Grade: A
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A fascinating pilot episode for a show that would go on to be called one of the greatest of all time
RicinBeans9419 September 2013
Warning: Spoilers
"My name is Walter Hartwell White. I live at 308 Negra Arroyo Lane, Albuquerque, New Mexico. 87104. To all law enforcement entities, this is not an admission of guilt. I am speaking to my family now."

Walter White (Bryan Cranston) says that chemistry, in his eyes, is the study of change. Breaking Bad is undoubtedly a show about change. Even by the end of this very first episode, Walt's life is significantly different to how it was at the beginning. Before the cancer diagnosis and the ride-along with his DEA agent brother-in-law, Hank Schrader (Dean Norris), he was just a high school teacher, albeit a very intelligent and overqualified high school teacher. The title of this show, though confusing to some, is perfect. By the end of the episode, Walt has broken bad. It's about character change, often not for the better.

It's a testament to the writing of this episode that before we have any idea how interesting characters like Jesse Pinkman (Aaron Paul) and Hank will become, they are already intriguing to watch. Jesse appears to be nothing more than a junkie and Hank an arrogant cop, but both deliver some hilarious lines in this episode and we will come to learn that they both have so much more to them. Walt seems like a stereotypical nerdy teacher, although it's hard to deny that the moment where he takes out the bully is bad-ass. He too has his moments of comedy ("Wipe down this!") and while it's hard, at this point, to imagine him ever being scary or intimidating, Bryan Cranston is definitely a brilliant choice for the lead role in this show. Other characters introduced include Skyler (Anna Gunn) and Walter Jr. (RJ Mitte), Walt's pregnant wife and disabled son, and Marie Schrader (Betsy Brandt), Skyler's sister and Hank's wife.

It is worth noting just how funny Breaking Bad can be, particularly in the early seasons. The end of the first bedroom scene with Skyler on her laptop is hilarious, while other favourites of mine include Jesse's description of the 'cow house' and Walt quitting his job at the car wash.

Looking back, it isn't obvious where Vince Gilligan planned to take the show, but from the bodies in the RV, it's clear that it was always going to be somewhere dark.

As far as pilot episodes go, this is as good as anything I have seen, and knowing what this show would become, it's thrilling to watch the beginning again.

9.6/10
7 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the greatest pilots of all time
squirtsquirt731 August 2019
Everything is perfect about the opening to Breaking Bad. The first scene catches your attention, the impeccable acting by Cranston keeps you watching, and the wonder how it got to that point sucks you in. Perfectly paced, written and acted. A wonderful start for one of the greatest shows of all time.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
An Intriguing Beginning
joshuamarriott-568262 March 2019
I'm fairly embarrassed to say that I'm watching this critically acclaimed show for the first time. The hype around Breaking Bad is something I've never been able to understand. The premise behind the show has never been that interesting to me. Sure, it's a creative idea, but would it work as a show? Apparently it does according to critics and the general public. But i finally decided to sit down and watch it, and I can definetly say I'm intrigued.

While this definetly wasn't the ground-breaking pilot i was expecting, it was far from bad. It was actually pretty good. The main focus I found to be the Tragedy on this character, Walter White, who just seems to have the most boring but also tragic life ever. I disliked a couple of the scenes involving his character towards the start, mainly the birthday party scene, which involved a pretty annoying and unbearable character wishing Walt a happy birthday in the most condescending way I have ever seen. It was quite sad seeing the life of this character, and what I found great is that all we needed were a few scenes showing Walter's daily routine to see how depressing his life is.

The other character, Jesse Pinkman, I'm assuming is going to be a secondary character, has a lot of room to become an interesting character. I'm hoping we don't get any flashback sequences explaining his backstory and that it's included in clever dialogue and writing.

The reason a lot of Pilots don't seem to impress me often is that they don't really give a scope of the rest of the show, but this episode definetly did. Whilst the character moments with Walter were upsetting, they were a little bit slow and had it been on in the background I probably would have turned it off out of boredom. But past that first section the episode picked up, and I'm very glad it got straight to the action and point of the show instead of spending a few pointless episodes building it up. I'm expecting big things from you Breaking Bad.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The Beginning of Everything
axel-koch4 October 2013
Suicide is not a solution, but cooking crystal meth is. That's the lesson that Walter White, a high school chemistry teacher diagnosed with terminal lung cancer, learns over the course of Breaking Bad. He's doing this with the help of a former student, Jesse Pinkman, who is a rather dim-witted fellow, but one that has experience in cooking and also selling the stuff the unlikely pair commences to make in this pilot. Added to that are Skyler, Walt's pregnant wife, Walt Jr., Walt's handicapped teenage son, Marie Schrader, Skyler's sister, and her husband Hank, a successful DEA agent. And with a fantastic cast and crew, these are enough ingredients to create a ten-time Emmy-winning show that is additionally the best-rated fiction TV show on IMDb.

The main characters are introduced through a handful of incredibly accurate scenes, with my favorite being the view on Walt as a teacher, in which his passion for the subject is obvious, but his disappointment with his apathetic class is as well. A couple of minutes later, Jesse makes his appearance in one of the best scenes the whole first season has to offer. Bryan Cranston and Aaron Paul have a brilliant screenplay by Vince Gilligan to work with, but they deserve praise on the same level as they portray their characters fantastically well. I could say that for numerous scenes in this pilot, but this particular part is a rememberable gem I'd like to point out. It doesn't take long for feces to hit the fan, and once it does, 'awesome' is the singular word to describe it. The process of cooking crystal meth is staged superbly and also remarkably improved by the great soundtrack choices and the unique way of editing all of that – a deserved Emmy for Lynne Willingham.

Other hugely impressive parts about this episode are the cinematography and the set design. The bleak parts of Albuquerque where the series is set are perfectly reflective of Walt's mentality and are captured in such great pictures by the Oscar-winning cinematographer John Toll. There's almost no scene in the 58 minutes of this pilot that doesn't include an amazing point of view by the camera team and the inventive shots impress me every time I decide to watch the episode. And last but not least, actually most importantly, the story and the screenplay are just wonderful. They get even better over the course of the seasons, but this pilot is a terrific start already and gives you an outstanding first look at the interesting characters Mr. Gilligan has invented. I don't quite consider it a 10 yet, as I'm aware of how excellent future episodes of Breaking Bad will be.
7 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
This Is How To Start A TV Show!
g-bodyl9 August 2013
Breaking Bad is one of the most talked about TV shows being produced today and if this introductory episode is any indication, it deserves all the hype. This pilot episode is action-packed and is very engaging from the start when we see a guy driving an RV in his underwear. There is a fine mixture of comedy and drama and I think this will be an awesome series.

This episode, "Pilot" features a 50-year-old chemistry teacher named Walter. After he finds out he has been diagnosed with terminal lung cancer, he teams up with a former student of his Jesse and they produce meth. But things go wrong when they try to sell the drug for the first time.

Overall, this is what a quality TV show should look like. It has great character development and some fine dramatic/comedic moments. Now I'm definitely looking forward to more episodes. I rate this episode 9/10.
11 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A very promising start to one of the great television programs
SLionsCricketreviews19 December 2015
Warning: Spoilers
I have never seen "Breaking Bad". Since its inception in 2008, until its departure from television in 2014, I have never once watched a single episode of the show. And it is with that, that I start my reviews of the show.

The pilot episode features Bryan Cranston in his defining role as Walter White, a high school chemistry teacher who on his 50th birthday is diagnosed with terminal cancer. Realizing that there is an opportunity to cook and sell crystal meth, as a means of supporting his family, he enters the business with a former drop kick student of his.

The theme of death, and meeting death, has been explored in great detail in cinema. Legendary films, such as Akira Kurosawa's "Ikiru" showed the way an individual changes when realizes death is soon upon them. Vince Gilligan's "Breaking Bad" is immediately about the corruption and the consequences of White's actions, as he enters the drug business.

Here we have a fairly ordinary human being, whose mid-life crises are too much to handle. He lives at home with a pregnant wife, played by Anna Gunn, and a mentally handicapped son. He is a chemistry teacher in high school, and is disrespected by students. He takes on a part time job at a car wash to support his family; a job he clearly has a disdain for. And at the age of 50, he discovers that he has only a few years left to live at most. Bryan Cranston is terrific from the first moment to the last, and is able to sell the characters sudden transformations perfectly. White remains very much a family man, at least so far, and it will be interesting to see how the character becomes corrupted as the show progresses.

Jesse Pinkman is played by Aaron Paul, who would later win a number of Emmys for Supporting Actor. In this episode, he is simply decent, but his character also has not much to do in the script. The dynamic of teacher/student in the context of "Breaking Bad" will be very interesting to explore.

Centered very much around Walter White's crumbling life, the pilot does an excellent job of introducing the central character and making his very sudden transformation convincing. When White decides to enter the drug business, he seeks out Jesse after realizing he is behind a drug op. His line "You know the business, I know the chemistry" is now an iconic line, and rightfully so. It will make these very different individuals coming together all the more interesting.

Among pilots that I have seen, "Game of Thrones" and "Angel" are the two shows that best succeeded at introducing its characters and worlds. "Breaking Bad" has a very good pilot, one that manages to focus almost exclusively on Cranston's Walter White, and takes an interesting and unorthodox turn with his character.
5 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Changing Attitude
claudio_carvalho21 January 2015
In Albuquerque, New Mexico, the high-school chemistry teacher Walter White lives with his pregnant wife Skyler and his handicapped teenage son Walter Jr. Walter works also in a car wash to support his family. On the day of his fiftieth birthday, Walter faints and is diagnosed with lung cancer and the doctor gives the maximum of two years to live. Walter asks his brother-in-law Hank Schrader, who is a DEA agent and married with Skyler's sister Marie, to go with him in a drug raid. He discovers that his former student Jesse Pinkman is a drug dealer but he keeps the secret. Later Walter seeks out Pinkman and tells that he wants to cook and sell crystal meth with the intention of securing his family in the future. Walter changes his attitude in the beginning of a criminal life.

"Pilot" is the promising beginning of "Breaking Bad" in a show that combines drama, crime and comedy in right doses. The black humor is great, and the last scene is witty to show how Walter changed his behavior, with Walter and Skyler on the bed. My vote is eight.

Title (Brazil): "Pilot"

Note: On 12 April 2015, I saw this episode again.
11 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed