Prodigal Son (TV Series 2019– ) Poster

(2019– )

User Reviews

Review this title
156 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
An enjoyable show
bonitawatergirl24 September 2019
I normally stay away from anything "horror" related. But, I am a criminal minds fan. Yes, I knew that it looked very silence of the lambs in the beginning, but I stuck with it and was thoroughly entertained. Michael Sheen was amazing! I hope the rest of the season continues this well.
48 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Only decent show in the Fall line-up
nmflyer26 September 2019
I perused the new show line-up and saw nothing I would waste my time and/or DVR space on until I happened onto Prodigal Son and decided to give it a try. The first 5 minutes I began to yawn but I kept watching for another 5 minutes and suddenly I was "HOOKED" It is a unique TV crime thriller with a couple of twists to keep me guessing (and that's pretty hard to do). This is the only show in the Fall line-up that I will be watching and will probably watch until it has its final season. I hope that FOX keeps it in their line-up or I will be forced back to a streaming service to find anything that isn't the idiotic junk they try to pass off as a comedy or romance.
42 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
I want to like it but...
adamg-5807122 October 2019
This show has potential but every scene is so over the top and convenient that it's hard to take it seriously.
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Rushed but not BAD for a pilot, Give it a chance!
jssmccauley26 September 2019
For a pilot episode it seemed a bit rushed, it was as if they were throwing a lot out at the viewers to keep them captivated and wanting more. Was it horrible? No, I still enjoyed the episode and the overall premise of the show itself is what's making me want to continue watching. His father is an infamous SERIAL KILLER!!!!! It's not going to be everyone's tea but if you are into crime/killer drama like me, then this may be for you. So many shows are cut short before even getting to show us what they got, try not to judge to much based off the pilot.
23 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Excellent pilot
dawnmeredith201024 September 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I really enjoyed this pilot... Tom Payne did an excellent job as the troubled titular character, and Michael Sheen was completely creepy as his serial killer father. Naturally there's a bit of a 'Silence of the Lambs' vibe given the premise, but the dynamic between the father and son is altogether different. The pilot definitely pulls you in and holds your attention. Really nice to see Lou Diamond Phillips in the cast as well. Interested to see where the show goes!
42 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Highly derivative but not unenjoyable
toadyblegh27 September 2019
As somebody else said here, Thomas Harris should consider suing. There's no doubt that this show is trying to piggy-back on the success of Hannibal and that Tom Payne's troubled Malcolm Bright is a slim shadow of Hugh Dancy's edgier and more interesting Will Graham. Nevertheless, the production is slick, the writing is solid if patchy in places and the story moves along at a relatively good clip. It's not going to change your life but it's not a terrible way to spend an hour.
28 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Michael Sheen is the best thing about the show
sooshaq12 October 2019
Michael Sheen is just a fantastic serial killer in my opinion. Intelligent, scary, and kinda charming but in a creepy way.The show itself, even after 3 episodes, is still too choppy and derivative. Payne is still trying to channel Will Graham and I never liked Will. The attempts at humor need to get better or stop. I hope Halston Sage didn't leave the Orville specifically for this role, it's just not good so far. Still I can't help but watch. Partially because I believe it will get better as the season progresses and become a good thriller, but mostly because I want more Michael Sheen screen time.
11 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Pulls you in and keeps you there
mncollin2 October 2019
I'm 2 episodes in and hooked. Tom Payne is great as the genius profiler with a traumatic past and Martin Sheen is very convincing and creepy as the "loving" serial killer father. I like that the cases being solved feel like a background story and the manipulative father son relationship stays at the forefront.
17 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Something interesting
saythatagin2 October 2019
So far so good. Two episodes in and it's staying scheduled on my dvr
12 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
entertaining procedural crime series
templescroll11 November 2019
I need to revise my earlier review, lol. By episode 7, this series gets deep dark. There's a mental anguish of something 'unknown' disturbing MalcoIm. It torments him, making it hard to do his job and even harder for viewers to bear witness to. I think its an unnecessary evil & distraction. Knowing Malcolm is the son of a serial killer, is twisted enough. Using his father's genius and Malcolm's quirky thought process is 'fresh'. Why ruin his groove with an unknown / unsolvable obsession. ------------------------------------ If you love "Sherlock" , "Mindhunter", "The Alienist" , "Castle", "Bones" even "Lucifer" you're gonna love this. Its a little darker but the protagonist, Malcolm Bright is very likable. He's not too complex, not too egocentric and has believable humor/wit with perfect timing. Also, Lou Diamond Philips is doing what he does best: add dimension, support and as a wing-man to the lead Tom Payne. You might remember tom Payne as 'Jesus' in "The Walking Dead" (sans the long hair) I'm looking forward to many episodes/seasons of this procedural crime drama. Lets just hope it stays on track & doen't digress into personal life drama's of the characters. Which seems to happen often when writers run out of story material: ie- 'CSI-Miami', "Bones" , "Castle" , this process is usually the first step to a final season, lol. If the show maintains its integrity, I'm sure it will outlast those I mentioned.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
OMG best pilot in a while!
kathrinelovstad10 November 2019
I love these kinds of show, and this is a new take on the typical profiler catching criminals series. Absolutly love the actors, the dialouge and how we are charmed by the dad from the first scene. I'm sure this is going to be an amazing show!! The pilot was incredible, not a boring second and I can't wait to see more!
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Cant stop watching
femke-bezuijen6 November 2019
Although I'm not a fan of the genre, this one keeps me wanting to watch more! Edge of the seat kind of series.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This is AWESOME!!
dragonluna-106-7662124 September 2019
Exactly the show I have been waiting for!! Michael Sheen is fabulous (of course)! Tom Payne is incredible!! LDP... who could ask for more!!! Love this!!
32 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Jesus can't act
dsims-723 October 2019
The show isn't bad at all. The lead actor, almost makes it unwatchable. Tom Payne is a horrible actor. Now I see why he was never a larger part of The Walking Dead.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Finally a good show on tv!
travism-4478425 September 2019
Great start to the show and series! First episode was awesome! Can't wait for the second episode. Looks like they finally got it right.
24 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Dexter meets Silence of the Lambs
chiluvr122828 September 2019
I wanted to try something different so I turned this on. Very disappointed. I felt like I was watching a combination of two or three different movies and TV shows. The casting is awful, the mother is played by somebody who's only 12 years older than the main character who's name I've already forgotten but he certainly over acted in this TV show.
31 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Disappointing
deadser24 September 2019
I was hoping for a good new thriller this season, but this isn't it. It's premise (as well as a number of individual scenes) is unoriginal, to the point where Thomas Harris ought to consider suing. There were more than a few cringeworthy lines of dialogue, and the actors (with the exception of Lou Diamond Phillips) were so over the top I'm surprised they didn't get nosebleeds. Add to that a completely uneven tone, and I began to wonder if this was actually supposed to be a parody of Red Dragon, et al.

One last thought: Tom Payne's character is supposed to be this great profiler because he spent some time with his serial killer dad, and learned how killers think (at least I think that's what they're saying). Yet, he seems to be more of an observationalist (think Sherlock Holmes) than a profiler. In fact, he doesn't seem to use his ability to think like a killer, other than to SAY that's what he's doing, and then looking at the crime scene details to figure out what happened. Nothing special, and I would suspect that at least a handful of NYPD detectives could do the same thing. The writers would be better served to go watch William Peterson's role in Michael Mann's "Manhunter." (The first version of the novel Red Dragon.)

I hope it gets better. I guess it would have to.
63 out of 110 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Manhunter - but quirky
marc-cheyne24 September 2019
Prodigal Son is a good criminologist drama series, in the vein of Hannibal, wherein the brilliant young criminologist (Tom Payne) has more in common with his subjects than is healthy. In this case, it's hereditary - his old man (Michael Sheen) is a renowned serial killer.

The show's only flaw is that it's producers - in an attempt to broaden its audience - have tempered the show's dark drama with the lighthearted zaniness so often seen in daytime shows like the 'unlikely buddy cop' shows.

And while a comedy crossover may prove more popular, I'm sure a lot of viewers like myself, will feel that the studio executives have effectively robbed the series of integrity and greatness - by watering it down with mediocrity and compromise.
29 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
It's been done before, it's been done much better
rachbruno27 September 2019
If you have a low tolerance for derivitave, predictable garbage and bad acting, skip this. The attempted humor was confusing and misplaced...during the cringiest scenes I kept waiting for the "son" to wink and say "just kidding!" If they had done that, I would have maybe given it another star. The two stars I did give are for Michael Sheen, who is wasted in this. Cancel this show so he can go do something useful.
34 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Will watch the second episode.
Maeve4324 September 2019
I found this show interesting enough that I'll be watching the second episode. I can see where some think it rips off Silence of the Lambs, but it's got a slight twist. Michael Sheen has always been a favorite of mine, and who didn't fall in love with Jesus on TWD? The actress that played Alara from The Orville was a nice addition. Looking forward to keeping this one on my watch list, but it's Fox so who knows?
23 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Bummer
brookecandrews26 September 2019
I was looking forward to this show but the acting leaves much to be desired and the psychology behind the "serial killer" is flawed. Also the mother is way too young to be cast as a woman with adult children in their late 20's.
24 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Prodigal Son vs Hannibal
Mrs_Girl24 September 2019
They cancelled Hannibal and made this one? Why? Need some new ideas out there...
25 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Predictable and foolish
keporter-780545 October 2019
The story line could be intriguing, but it is executed so badly that it's laughable. The lead actor is ineffectual, amateurish and about as attractive and interesting as a blank wall. The dialogue is stale and predictable. Lou Diamond Philips is his usual character and the rest of the cast range from amateurish to incompetent.
18 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Simply put, a consistent quality semi-original show
bghableh5 November 2019
First of all, Martin sheen is a must see. Tom payne is absolutely great in his role along with almost all the cast. It's a show that is consistent with the quality it delivers and it doesn't have some bloated political or social message crammed in it. That right there makes it worth the time. As for the plot, it deserves praise as it managed to add some originality to a familiar concept. It won't and hasn't disappointed
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
it's not bad
tezzahols8 October 2019
I don't mind the show, it needs to sort itself out a bit on the characters, the PTSD is really annoying and over done, how some one could be that traumatised because his father was a serial killer. Chained to a bed, flash backs, it's too over done and will ruin the show, just stick to police work and leave the pysch stuff alone
13 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed