The Hangover (2009) Poster

(2009)

User Reviews

Review this title
683 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Genuinely funnier than any comedy in recent memory
MovieAddict20167 June 2009
Most great comedies are based on fundamental truths -- we find a deal of humour in the illumination of our own human tragedy. Office Space is funny, for example, because we've all worked that type of job, put up with that type of boss, and suffered that type of monotonous everyday boredom.

Todd Phillips' new movie, The Hangover, is as aptly titled as anything else released this year: it's about a Vegas bachelor party gone horribly awry, in which the groom inexplicably disappears, no one can remember a damned thing, and Mike Tyson wants his tiger back.

Yes, we've all had those nights, though perhaps not to such extremes (that's where the exaggeration of comedy serves us). The Hangover is funny because it takes this cultural ritual -- an American tradition; something almost all of us can relate to -- and finds genuine humour in the pain of its aftermath.

I concede that bachelor party movies are not in short supply; the genre (if it is, indeed, a genre) should have probably both begun and ended with the Tom Hanks flick almost three decades ago. But The Hangover wisely studies the day after rather than the day itself; this is funnier because the plot works backwards, without tacky flashbacks, and much of the evening in question is left to our imagination.

While it would be misleading to claim this is a brilliant film (in either regard – as comedy or character study), it's an assured picture that finds its footing immediately and achieves a surprising level of sustenance throughout its running time. And frankly, let's be honest, this is a breath of fresh air: it's one of the best R-rated comedies of the decade, and certainly the most uproarious since Superbad was released two years ago. Most R-rated comedies produced today are defiant; the R-rating has become a hindrance to film studios' sensibilities – everything is PG-13, saving the shameless Unrated schpeel for the DVD cut. The occasional theatrically-released R-rated comedy, as such, is infrequently modest; the ads stress the rating to remind us what we've been missing. For every legitimate offer, such as Forgetting Sarah Marshall, we're treated to movies like College that attempt to lure us into theaters based on the promise of raunchy decadence. The problem is that it's all so coldly calculated; these films are not funny because a majority of the time they are simply lazy and dishonest.

The simplest reason for The Hangover's success in being genuinely funny is the fact that it achieves a rare balance of character and vulgarity. We laugh at the characters' misfortunes because we like them, we empathize with them, and they are distinctly actualized. Are they stereotypical? To a certain degree, sure: we have the repressed pussy-whipped guy who obeys his girlfriend's every command (Ed Helms); the weird John Belushi-esquire figure who speaks in non sequiturs and naïve absurdities (Zach Galifianakis); and the womanizer whose confidence renders him automatic leader of the group (Bradley Cooper). It's a testament to the strengths of these actors that they make their characters endearing and believable, even in the face of total lunacy.

Helms has been an underrated highlight of the American Office for the past several years, never quite earning the praise he deserves. His character on the show is played with pitch-perfect perversity: he's not overtly creepy (like the program's other weirdo, Creed), but rather subtly unnerving. Helms invests a great deal of nuance into what is ostensibly a throwaway, supporting goofball; this movie, if nothing else, will justly reveal his talents.

Cooper uses his looks to his advantage: it's funny to watch handsome people exploit their securities. Cooper essentially turns your typical Leading Man figure into a bumbling idiot, self-absorbed and clueless. It's effective, he's got great chemistry with the other guys, and it's fun to watch such an immoral and ruthless character take center stage in a mainstream comedy.

Galifianakis, a cult comedian who I've admired for years, has been struggling quite a while. Not many people other than myself and Sean Penn saw his 2001 comedy Out Cold, probably because it wasn't all that great; but he was easily the most amusing aspect of the picture. He once described himself as being gifted by the opposite of the Midas touch, with more than a few canceled TV shows to his credit (including Comedy Central's unheralded Dog Bites Man), but it seems his persistence has finally paid off: he has discovered, at last, a movie of strong enough quality to reflect his talents. Galifianakis has a fair share of the film's funniest dialogue; as far as fat funny guys go, many of them (such as Chris Farley) made the ill-fated mistake of playing dumb in a sharp fashion: hurtful quips and silly one-liners, all self-aware. Galifianakis plays his character straight and the laughs are subsequently heartier; when he embraces his brother-in-law while nude, the act seems innocently awkward rather than deliberately awkward, and that's what makes it so funny. He's described in The Hangover, by another character, as a child with a beard. Imagine how funny it is when he names a Caucasian baby Carlos, without any shred of condescension or knowing humour.

The Hangover is surely destined to become the sleeper comedy hit of 2009, and, more likely, a cult flick in the years to come. It's more deserving of such acknowledgment than many recent successes, and while we may live in an era saturated with unnecessary sequels, I actually left The Hangover hoping to see these guys again. And that's a rare feeling these days.
393 out of 636 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A very funny movie
dalagler26 May 2009
With the exception of one character (more later in this review), I found this movie filled with male, sophomoric humor. Having said that most of the females in the audience also enjoyed it; kind of an equal opportunity movie to offend all sexes equally.

Unlike most trailers that show all the humor in a 60 second clip, this movie will throw so many funny situations at you so quickly that you will be giggling non-stop for the first hour.

Then, the introduction of the Mr. Chow part - essential for the plot, but played WAY over the top by Ken Jeong - became distracting. Up to that point, Bradley Cooper, Ed Helms, Justin Bartha, and Zach Galifianakis carried the movie briskly and with real chemistry. Zach Galifianakis, in particular, was brilliant. Who is this guy???! The last 30 minutes were not as good as the first hour and I found the ending somewhat forced.

HOWEVER, everyone I talked with after the movie will be seeing it again. This is one movie that is as funny as advertised.

Of course, I will get flamed by those who find this kind of humor too low brow for their tastes. Hey, just know what you're getting into when you see this.
394 out of 682 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very Funny
hawkman156930 May 2009
I just saw the first screening of the movie, and it is very worth the money you will pay for it. I was skeptical about it at first, thinking that the previews would have only the funny parts, but they are just the tip of the iceberg... Everyone hit a home run in this movie. Even Mike Tyson generated a few laughs for everyone. If you need a pick me up from a bad day, just watch this and you will definitely feel better about everything that may be going wrong in your life. I will DEFINITELY be buying this to watch over and over again once it comes out on DVD, probably even see it in theaters again. I hope you find this review helpful because this movie is definitely a must see in my opinion.
373 out of 650 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the funniest movies I have ever seen. PERIOD.
jirshon6 June 2009
I walked into this movie a little hesitant, and man did I feel like a complete tool for doubting Todd Phillips once again.

I was hesitant for quite a few reasons. One being that I was a little unimpressed with the trailer, but trust me, after you see this movie you will realize that most of the movie couldn't have possibly made it into the trailer. Another reason was the writers.... their previous works being The Ghosts of Girlfriend's Pasts and Four Christmases and Rebound. I don't know what they did between those and this but damn did they step their game up.

Now, the movie is hilarious. I have become so used to the thought of the Judd Apatow gang being the only ones to make truly funny films, but I realized very quickly into this movie that I was dead wrong. I think this movie was by far ten times funnier than Pineapple Express, Forgetting Sarah Marshall, Step Brothers, etc. And I find each of those flicks truly, hilariously, funny.

I remember watching Superbad the first time and thinking that that was the funniest movie ever made, when it comes to films with legitimate plots and characters, etc. And maybe Superbad and The Hangover are pretty close, but who knows....

So PLEASE see this film. The audience I saw it with was laughing hysterically every five minutes at least. There is enough one-liners to quote all summer, and enough subtle jokes to laugh about later on that you didn't catch the first time.

OH and by the way, if you love Old School, you will LOVE the ending. That's all I can say.
446 out of 797 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Funniest film so far this year.
ste_shmoobert15 July 2009
I reckon it will be noted as the funniest film this year as I think it would be hard to top. It is certainly the best comedy I've seen for a couple of years. The cast were excellent with a truly great dynamic of main characters played by very talented comedic actors. The performance that sticks out is Zach Galifianakis' character 'Alan'. Zach has brought a fresh character to the screen and with the quality of this films script the combination of the two are what brings this to the point of a comedy masterpiece. As a film fan who is partial to only rating thrillers and dramas with a sense of respect, this film reminds me of how comedy can be the masterclass of cinema and the reason why we enjoy it so much. My Dad is not a fan of comedy as such and normally sees going to watch films of this type as a chore but to see him laugh as much as my brother and myself at 65 years of age shows how its humor can break not just an age gap but more importantly a persons taste in film. I have absolutely nothing bad to say about this movie and do not wish to say anything about the story. The best thing to do is to go and see this film for yourself and you'll realize what i'm talking about.
42 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Bland and uninspired comedy, highly overrated
cannedtrash22 July 2009
Warning: Spoilers
This is without doubt one of the most overrated comedy of all times, the jokes are totally bland and boring and the whole concept has been done over a million times before . The story looked like a bunch of toilet jokes and elementary grade humor slapped together resulting in a forgettable comedy that definitely doesn't live up to the hype. One of the worst moment in that movie was in the casino scene where they won over $800000 with the help of a black jack book, I mean it looked like the script writer couldn't find a better way to get the characters out of that problem and he just went for the easy way with an all time classic (and cliché) video editing scene just like the karate kid movies (you know the whole "be a champion in 2 minutes" thing). The acting in some scenes looked like it came straight from a forgotten b-grade , straight to VHS movie. I know that a lot of people found that movie hilarious but I didn't find anything fresh in that movie, it was the first time that at the end I pulled out my cellphone and started watching my sms out of boredom.
199 out of 358 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Succeeds Where Old School Fails
mrhgibs5 June 2009
After much anticipation, The Hangover has finally hit theaters. Todd Phillips returns raunchier than ever with a surprisingly consistent comedy loaded with bizarre situations ensued by lots of laughter. From a live tiger in the bathroom to an abandoned baby in the closet, this movie has everything. Seriously, everything (confirmed by the credit sequence).

Phillips does not shy away from his formula. The movie centers around four immature adults dumbfounded by the seemingly unexplainable result of a wild Vegas night catalyzed by the foursome's out of control bachelor party. Set the day before one of the principle character's wedding, the film is primarily seen through eyes of Doug (the groom-to-be), Alan (the lovable moron), Stu (the hopeless one), and Phil (the stud, and in many ways the leader of the pack). The director of Old School does not shy away from shock humor but embraces it, while gradually building confidence and self discovery within the characters.

Overall, the film triumphs through curiosity and chemistry. Just like the main characters, we are eager to find out what happens, or what DID happen. At the same time, the strong relationship developed by the characters makes the viewer realize how much he/she cares about what ultimately happens to them. Chemistry is the secret to a good comedy; it is about time somebody shows this understanding.

I don't want to reveal too much, but let me tell you this: everything does get explained in the end (except for the chicken aimlessly walking around in the hotel room, but I mean, it's a chicken). All of the actors succeeded in their roles admirably, and I wouldn't be surprised to see these guys in more lead roles. Ed Helms hasn't made me laugh this hard since The Daily Show. Seriously guys. Go watch this movie, you won't be disappointed.
246 out of 452 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Outperformed the already high expectations!
bigchris0025 June 2009
I have to start by saying that my friends and I have been talking about this movie and watching the trailers for weeks, so our expectations were really high.

With that being said, this movie didn't just live up to the expectations, it was one of the funniest movie I have seen in a long time. Bradley Cooper, Zach Galifianakis, and Ed Helms are all very good. Galifianakis steals the show at times. It is hilarious from the beginning. Mike Tyson brings a few laughs and Mr. Chow (Ken Jeong) is a great twist. Do yourself a favor and go see this movie, it is worth every penny. Just got out of the midnight showing and I'm going back tomorrow night.
275 out of 512 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Disappointed...
chucknorrisfacts25 June 2009
Warning: Spoilers
Every now and then, there's a movie that has a lot of hype surrounding it, and everyone seems to talk about it, and without a doubt, "The Hangover" is one of those movies.

Unfortunately, it doesn't live up to or deserve the hype it's getting. I found it to be a rather empty "comedy" and I can't understand why so many people seem to think it's so humorous. Apparently, I wasn't the only one not to enjoy it, the audience I was a part of barely let out a snicker during the entire flick.

I think a lot of the attempts at humor were forced, and a lot of the jokes fell flat. The acting wasn't very impressive either, particularly that of Zach Galifianakis.

Overall, I'd say to avoid this movie if you don't want to be disappointed. Is it the worst movie I've ever seen? No. However, there are far better comedies out there I'd recommend over this for sure.
235 out of 435 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Still one of the funniest movies i've ever seen
alej_sena23 May 2019
Pretty much every joke lands perfectly, few movies still make me laugh every time i watch them and this is one of them.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Please tell me what all the fuss is about?????????
GAKAS27 July 2009
Warning: Spoilers
After I saw this movie I rated it 2 out of 10. But after having a further think and discussion about it, I reduced my score to 1 out of 10. Why? This movie is stupid! Most of the time it doesn't make sense. A cop car that's stolen but there's no man hunt for it, a tiger in the bathroom but they're talking about it in the living room like they've had it happen to them previously. Meanwhile the nerdy guy is more scared of his fiancé than the tiger! The hotel finds a bed thrown on a statue but assume it was thrown out of a window, even though they don't have windows?????? What the hell! The tiger is drugged and put into their car to take it back to Mikes place? Have you lifted a tiger lately?? I know they are trying to be funny, but they lost me from the beginning. By the time the photo's are shown at the end I was already over it. Not only that there are absolutely no consequences in the end for any of them. BOOOOOOORRRRIIIINNGGG! "Yeah, lets high five each other" Amazing that Hollywood can produce this crap and promote it so hard, and still make huge dollars. In conclusion, rent Very bad things, now that's a Vegas movie. And if you don't get what's going on in that movie, like one person who called it an evil movie about a homicide........IT'S A BLACK COMEDY!!!
151 out of 277 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
No one in the theater laughed never- super stupid movie
tmglobe200411 July 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I feel burned for going to watch this super stupid movie. I am baffled that so many other people in IMDb thought it was funny and that it has good reviews. There were about 30 people in the theater when I watched it of a pretty good demographic spread and there were nearly NO LAUGHS through out the whole movie. At best a few people chuckled a few times. Some of the attempts at comedy are so, so old. OK, here are a couple little spoilers. In one scene one of the guys is face down on the ground about to get up & another one of guys opens up the car door and opens it bumping the guy laying down on the ground in the head- so, so stupid! This scene was funny in cartoons when I was under 10! Another spoiler coming- in a different scene one of the guys finds a used condom in there car and they start grossing out and tossing it around- so stupid and not funny anymore since I was 17. I can only understand the high reviews on IMDb that there are so many more potheads these days. If you are a pothead under 25 is the only demographic I can understand that can laugh from this.
193 out of 361 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Terrible, Terrible, Terrible movie, the fact that it is a phenomenon is just depressing.
zididane10 July 2009
Warning: Spoilers
This movie was terrible, to put it simply. To look at it more thoroughly read on.

Character: There was almost no character development in the movie, one character learns any kind of lesson at all, other than that everyone is the same character at the end of the movie as they were at the beginning. And while I'm looking at the characters let's do some summaries, we have the smug asshole, the beyond idiotic weirdo, the angry nerd, and the uninteresting groom, who also has an uninteresting bride, who by the way has like four lines in the movie.

Plot: The idea of forgetting what happened in the night time and trying to put all the pieces together in the morning, yeah it's clever. The problem is, the movie was so short, every problem they encountered had to either resolve it's self, or they solved it so quickly it wasn't really even a problem to begin with. Mike Tyson comes and claims the tiger, then they drive it back, fascinating, really I'm enthralled. They see the hospital bracelet and the Las Vegas doctor remembers everything that four drunk guys said earlier that night, not only that he leads them to there next clue right away. Maybe the doctor could have magically just told them where there friend was. And those aren't even the worst parts.

Dialogue: I hardly feel like touching this but let's go. The nerd, all he does is get abused, and then start yelling, then people laugh. Ha ha ha, nerds yelling, ha ha ha. The weird dumb guy, insert non sequitur here, that's pretty much every line in the movie. The Pretty boy who's a dick, well he's just mean and for no real reason, and as for the uninteresting groom, well he only has like four lines, and they aren't very good.

In conclusion, I wish I could rate this movie zero, who ever programs this website might want to get started on that.
188 out of 352 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
give me a break!
ojolie2 July 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I can't believe this movie gets such high ratings. I just wasted 1.5 hours of my life. I decided to see it because everyone was so high about it... I had such high expectations as a result, of course. Oh man, there is nothing more in the whole movie than in the trailers. And to me the trailer was no fun, either... So you can tell if you are with me at this point.

It started really slow and I was waiting for something to happen.. nope nothing... At some point I expected a twist. nope... The tiger, the baby, the tooth, the bed, everything is just so forced. It was like when Conan o'Brien creates absurd situations and take a shot of that moment in his show. Conan's creations are waaaay funny though... I have to apologize from Conan for comparing this movie to his absurd shots since he does them for what they are. But these guys in hangover is trying to sell a real funny story, but I don't buy it. not a bit, sorry.

All those screams, cursing, unnecessary naked people and stupidness got me stressed! I didn't enjoy it, but go ahead and watch. I may be the only person who is telling you that it's not good. just... whatever...
121 out of 221 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
You spin me right round, baby, right round
Smells_Like_Cheese5 June 2009
Warning: Spoilers
From the moment that I saw the trailer for The Hangover I knew I had to see this movie, I don't think I had laughed so hard watching a trailer in my life. But one thing I was kind of concerned about was how most movies just show the funny parts in the trailer and this would just be another "Old School" type of movie that would have no originality. I saw The Hangover this afternoon and I just can't believe how funny this movie was. The great thing about it as absurd as the story is, seriously, it's kind of realistic in some matter. I mean, who hasn't had a morning where they woke up from a night of drinking and just cannot remember one thing about the night before? This is a comedy mystery story that just gets funnier with each scene that is played due to the strong cast, great chemistry and a hilarious story.

Doug is about to be married, so his friends: Stu, Phil, and Doug's soon to be brother-in-law Alan, take him to Las Vegas for a bachelor party. Stu's girlfriend is very controlling, thereby forcing Stu to lie to her about their destination. The guys get a suite at their hotel, then sneak on to the roof of the hotel and toast to the night ahead. Skipping forward to the next morning, the three groomsmen awake with no memory of the previous night. They find Doug missing, Stu missing a tooth, a tiger in the bathroom, and a baby in the closet. Initially they believe Doug to have gone out for breakfast, but soon worry when his cell phone has been left behind. They collect what memories they have to figure what happened to Doug. They go through the whole town of Vegas discovering they messed with the Chinese Mafia, Mike Tyson, marrying a stripper and it just keeps getting weirder and weirder.

This is one of the funniest movies I have ever seen, I don't think I've laughed so hard consistently in a theater. Granted the movie has it's flaws, not everyone is going to fully get it or have the same sense of humor, but just to see Mike Tyson jam out to Phil Collin's "In The Air Tonite" is worth the ticket price alone. I don't think there isn't going to be one person I don't recommend this movie too. I think what did it for me was the cast, they just had such great chemistry together and really made the movie work and took us with on this crazy story. All the side characters were a great laugh too with Heather Graham as Stu's stripper wife and the Chinese Mafia leader Leslie Chow, who has the biggest "WTF?!" moment with getting out of their car trunk naked and beating the heck out of the boys. Trust me, you have to see this movie, if you liked Old School, you will love The Hangover! If you have ever had those mornings when you woke up and don't remember anything, this is the movie for you.

9/10
69 out of 122 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Cheesy ripoff 'sequel' to "Very Bad Things" (1998) gave me a hangover.
ignoranceisntbliss18 August 2009
Warning: Spoilers
It's amazing browsing thru some of these 15 page orgasmic rave reviews to such an unoriginal lackluster film.

Very Bad Things: 5 guys go to Vegas for a bachelor party and all hell breaks lose. Cops. Comedy. Suspsense. I think they might have even been driving there from LA.

HANGOVER: 4 guys drive from LA to Vegas for a bachelor party and 'all hell breaks lose'. Cops. "Comedy". "Suspense".

I was amazed that the opening scene of HANG depicts the story line just before the actual wedding, and then after the short title sequence a caption appears saying "Two days earlier". This had to happen within 4 minutes of the film. VBT (1998) start with a scene just before the wedding ceremony, showing the male actors all stressed out, and then a captions says "A few days earlier", within about 2 minutes. In HANG the male actors are calling in to the wifey just before the wedding all stressed out with their potentially wedding altering circumstances. Not even original there, as the notion of the wedding being called off due to the events leading up to it was already done in VBT.

VBT contained some of the best acting of the careers of the many known faces. Hangover contained bad acting from a bunch of nobody's. VBT even contained some gut wrenching special effects, although compared to HANG it didn't need any, whereas HANG was desperate for anything to spice it up in VBT's wake.

VBT is a top notch dark comedy, whereas HANG attempts to enter the category and falls smack into its own dark crack.
76 out of 136 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Heterosexuals in Sin City
agmancuso28 June 2009
Yes, okay, it's very funny at times down right hilarious. What sets this comedy apart from others of its ilk, is a well structured script and a pace that doesn't allow any form of thinking. The chemistry between the four leads is also a plus. There is a surprising, maybe unconscious, touch of innocence in the midst of this night of debauchery that makes it palatable even charming. Bradley Cooper is coming into his own and I'm absolutely certain that he was born to play Emperor Caligula in a future Ridley Scott flick. The women, as in most films about a bunch of heterosexuals doing childish things, are treated appallingly. They are the enemy that they have to protect themselves from or just escape, run, run as fast and as far as you can. Try to find the hooker with a heart of gold, and if she looks like Heathter Graham, that much better and forget about settling down. "The Hangover" has already become the surprise hit of the summer 2009. I say, well done, it could have been worse
79 out of 145 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Unchecked Id
Michael Fargo6 June 2009
Zach Galifianakis, Ed Helms and Bradley Cooper fall so perfectly into the circumstances of a night out without the wife/girlfriend—a bachelor party, no less—that we're all happy we're safe in the audience clucking our tongues but secretly envying every single moment (one that includes the ever watchable Heather Graham). These boys fall and fall hard, and trying to pick up the pieces of a night they strangely can't remember brought more laughs than the last time I laughed this consistently (that was "There's Something About Mary").

The cast never forgets that they are actors here and not on an episode of "Jackass" as Apatow's comedies often feel. There's tight control on the dialog and we never descend into simple slapstick. Oh, there's broad humor, but we're watching terrific actors in very broad situations. The trailer is a perfect sample of what you're going to get, although it may veer into raunch perhaps a little more than the trailer hints. But it's never just sensationalism, because I can—regrettably, I confess—relate to waking up in a room with a chicken and not knowing exactly from whence it came.

Galifiankis has the most unique character (well, besides a naked Chinese fellow, but you can discover that one for yourself) and he's wonderful to watch. Not everything he does comes off 100%, but when he scores, it's so far out from our own comfort zone, that when the jaws of the other characters drop, we're right there with them. Rachel Harris deserves special mention as the girlfriend who demonstrates why marriage can be so fearful.

This is as tidy a script as "My Best Friend's Wedding" and just as beautifully shot. The cinematography could be pulled from any of the Las Vegas Chamber of Commerce ads, and it only adds to our confidence that whatever is coming around the next corner, we don't have to worry that it will wreck all that's gone before. The makers of this little gem are as much in control as the characters are out of control, and it was joy to finally get a great farce that we're very sorry to see end. I see that "Hangover, 2" is in development, and I hope lighting strikes twice.

(The standard for wedding singer has been set. Anyone want to top this?)
150 out of 290 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
WOW - Oversold or What!
seeksSilence20 July 2009
Warning: Spoilers
When movies get billed as the comedy of the year, the blockbuster everybody is talking about. Well, I tend to walk to the other way and I wish had sticked to that plan before deciding to watch this complete crap.

So here's the setup, Husband to be, two buddies and the brides brother get together for an overnight in Vegas.

Friend One - School teacher and low-life, rips is class off to pay for Vegas trip. Not a good start.

Friend Two - Hen-pecked Doctor (Dentist) lives in permanent denial of his girlfriends infidelity and unhappy relationship.

Brides Brother - Dysfunctional family idiot, quite plausible.

Groom - A Mother-in-laws wet dream, yawn..........

So here we are four different but evidently three close friends and the idiot set off to Vegas in father-in-law to be prized Mercedes-Benz.

What happens over the ensuing 24 hours is quite honestly woeful, predictable and not funny - at all.

The problem I think is that the three characters that are supposed to carry the film just don't work. There not interesting or funny in any situation they find themselves in, not once - ever.

At one point the idiot turns into 'rain-man' and wins big - oh no didn't see that coming....yawn again.

Very formulaic, unfunny crap - and Hollywood thinks we need more of this. Be warned, stay away and spend your money more wisely.
57 out of 103 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Hey another "guys are complete morons" movie. That's new.
Bigbang16 August 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I don't find the "dumb guy" shtick funny anymore. If I want to see guys portrayed like complete buffoons all I have to do is watch television commercials and sitcoms all day. It's getting old and played out, especially because the Apatow clan and similar movies have covered this ground over and over the past few years. This movie just threw a bunch of random crap at the screen to see if it would stick and people would laugh. I guess they did, look at the high IMDb rating. I know that happens with new movies and the rating will go down over time, but come on.

How many times have we seen the "get so wasted in Vegas and wake up married the next day, not remembering how it happened" thing? Even the recent What Happens in Vegas with Cameron Diaz and Ashton Kutcher was a lot better than this, which proves I'm not some anal-retentive humorless guy who forgot how to laugh or can't enjoy stupid movies. The clichés in Hangover are endless and the humor predictable.

The ridiculous plot holes don't help. There's nothing wrong with absurd moments in comedies that aren't believable to get some laughs, but come on. Personally I need some connection to reality to get a laugh. A tiger in the hotel room? And then the guy walking in the room to hand the tiger a steak, instead of just throwing it in room and quickly leaving. Totally predictable. Although it was good to see the Mike Tyson cameo, they totally wasted it with more random nonsense. It doesn't help that he's a terrible actor.

Heather Graham, who I used to love, continues to throw her career in the effin garbage. Although her mere presence helped at least. Well seeing that this move got high marks from a lot of people, we'll be stuck with this BS for awhile. No one is forcing me to see them, true, but even in decent movies there's always at least one "dumb guy" character. I'm tired of it. I can't watch one more dumb guy. Enough already.
38 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Hugely overrated
reperu15 September 2009
Warning: Spoilers
In my opinion is overrated. I voted 1 (one) for this movie hoping to lower a bit the 8.something rating. I didn't pay to see it, it was almost free on the internet. Maybe it's not as bad as many of the new movies from Hollywood but no way this is a top 250 movies all the time. I was expecting, in many situations, that the story will get more complicated but instead it was another dot on the linear path of the story. Last 20 minutes were completely out of fun or suspense. So, overall not a good story no such act or quote to remember. Many will say: 'It's just a comedy don't look too hard, it's a movie for watching at home during week-end, not demanding to understand, just fun and relaxing' I will reply to them: ' I hate that kind of movies!'
29 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Slow, uninspired, not funny
junkmail-38515 August 2010
Warning: Spoilers
We got a single half-chuckle out of this movie at the 32 minute mark. That was it for the entire movie. We stuck it out to the bitter end only because so many people at the rental store said this was a very funny movie. Thanks to a couple of beers on hand, I didn't die of complete boredom, but we should have listened to the minority who said they turned it off after a few minutes.

This movie contains trivial, unfunny "humor", including lame butt jokes. The acting is ponderous and uninspired, largely because the content is completely lame and due to the need to drag this movie out to feature-length. I could write funnier material than this if it was my job.

Casting was also terrible. For instance, the "Fat Jesus" character just wasn't crazy or ugly enough.

The sleeping with the bartender joke was lame the first time. We didn't need it repeated 10 more times. Same with the Dr. Dentist joke.

The portrayal of police officers and the physician as unprofessional was too uninspired to be funny.

The movie is chock-a-block full of 4-letter words and unimaginative insults, yet every so often it throws in a kiddie swear word for no reason at all. Stupid on all counts!

Why did Dr. Dentist ever think he'd get away with staying in Las Vegas, when his girlfriend checks his credit card statements and he was billing the hotel room to his credit card? It wouldn't matter if the bill was for $100 or $10,000, she would still see it was in Las Vegas, not Napa.

Never answered: how/why did these deadbeats meet Mike Tyson and how did Mike Tyson's tiger ever get to the hotel?

Even the makeup was bad: Doug should have much redder and his color was inconsistent between scenes at the end.
36 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
just joined IMDb to trash this movie
silasCT2 November 2010
Warning: Spoilers
I just joined IMDb to trash this movie, that's how much I didn't like it. Now, I found SuperBad, 40 yr old virgin, Something About Mary, Animal House all hilarious movies....not opposed to 'gross' humor is my point. But this movie was completely humorless, had no soul, each character more deplorable than the last. What makes movies funny is often the tension between the well-intentioned 'good' character and the rogues who beset them, (think Ben Stiller's character vs Matt Dillon's in SAM). Nothing like that here, really the character who might have brought comic tension into the story was the one roasting on the roof, off-camera for 95% of the time...dull, dull, dull.
39 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Funniest "guy movie" since Wedding Crashers
ruravin6 June 2009
Absolutely loved this movie. The theatre was all laughs through the whole movie. Don't go expecting a cinematic masterpiece but if you are looking for out of control laughter this is your flick. The story was funny the acting was hilarious and I don't want to spoil it but the end was so funny my wife hurt her ribs (no I'm not kidding) from laughing so hard.

I am going back to see this movie again. And I don't do that often, but for any guy with a sense of humour or has ever been to a bachelor party (or can't wait to go to a rockin' bachelor party) this is a must see movie.
172 out of 344 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
It didn't do it for me
midtra5218 May 2010
Warning: Spoilers
Not only did I think this movie was awful, but most of my family did too. We thought it was completely awful, and didn't laugh once. I even tried to force myself to laugh, of funny there's a tiger in the hotel room, wait that's not funny, or is it? But the odd thing about this movie is other people I know thought it was hilarious. I watched it on my own so I'm confused about what parts others found funny. I guess what this movie lacks for me is wittiness, it's more of scenic humor possibly. I don't know how else to explain it because quite honestly I'm confused and just wish I hadn't watched it. I'd like to hear someone that understands what makes people laugh explain why it is that this movie gets so many laughs from some but none from others.
43 out of 77 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed