Bed of Roses (TV Series 2008–2011) Poster

(2008–2011)

User Reviews

Review this title
8 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Enjoyed
missytucker-2409418 June 2018
Unlike the previous reviewers, I enjoyed this light hearted show next to so many dark Australian and British shows. It reminded me in many ways of Gilmore Girls.
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Corny but a lovely story
gomezcaticha30 July 2018
This is the type of sweet show that is a guilty pleasure. The acting is solid, the script makes me laugh and cry, there are love stories, animals, women friends. There are serious conversations about life and death. This isn't for everyone, but if you liked shows like Offspring or Rita (Danish), then you may like this.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I love this series!!
shelbybakker9 September 2018
This is fun with alot of real life embedded in it!! I hope more is on the way!
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Just plain silly
jacshop-0331713 June 2018
Offered on Acorn TV, so I decided to watch the entire first season just to see if it improved. The main character was a ditz and none of the other characters were especially likable. I am stunned that it lasted 3 seasons. I sure won't bother watching anymore.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Dumb, Dumb, Dumb
lworden-2641030 May 2018
The writers have gone overboard trying to make this woman appear DUMB. Nobody would try to vacuum up streamers. Nobody is that stupid. Surprised it got a second and third season but then again Offspring has 7 seasons and the main character in that series is very similar. Must be what Australians like to watch.
8 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Miscast
Tony_J6117 May 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Second episode aired on ABC TV Australia. May 18th, 2008.

The beautiful and talented Kerry Armstrong stars in this mini series as an unfortunate widow, whose husband dies in bed with another woman. Due to mismanagement of their money by the now dead hubby, Kerry (Louisa Atherton) and daughter Holly, wind up at the mercy and scorn of Louisa's mother. Mother and daughter take up residence in a dilapidated house on acreage, trying to make ends meet by taking any job on offer. Holly alienates herself from schoolmates, as she's seen better schools, having been at a private school in Melbourne.

I've always enjoyed watching Kerry in shows like the axed 'MDA', pulled at the end of it's second series. 'Bed of Roses', besides having an annoying and repetitive theme song in episode one, is not a series I would have cast Kerry Armstrong in. She's seen as a klutz, who couldn't fight her way out of a paper bag! Disappointing, as she's mostly been seen in confident parts.
10 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Awful
blondieboy-6745912 March 2020
Poor writing, a plot that doesn't make much sense and an irritating theme song throughout. I couldn't even make it to the end of the first episode.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Uff Da
barb-5340613 January 2020
Horrendous acting for the most part, but liked the story line enough to stick with it. Main character AND her daughter both do that Diane Keaton thing (murmurations, uhs, uh-huhs, mmms) constantly.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed