Veep (TV Series 2012–2019) Poster

(2012–2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
137 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Utterly vile and sublimely superb
Having seen all the original aversion in the UK (The Thick Of it) and adoring it... I didn't think it could be topped in sheer poetry of swear words and toe curling insults. Always close to the bone and often vulgar but in the most intelligent and hysterically funny ways - this is absolutely one to binge and turn it up... you will miss some corkers from the deafening laughter in the room if you dont. Not for the faint of heart or easily offended but utterly wonderful right up to the very last episode. It seemed to cram in quite literally every filthy joke and disgraceful insult they'd ever written and not got the chance to use so as not to waste any. And thank God they did!!! No spoilers but just watch it all it's a breath of fresh air in this oh so vanilla TV landscape.
36 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I am truely going to miss the brilliance of this show.
atwiththestars10 May 2019
This show communicates well how the most selfish, petty and arrogant of people are drawn to politics. And what makes it work is that it never mentions parties. This show perfectly captures what both parties are potentially like, and also what most global politics are really about. This is one of the best shows of my lifetime.
23 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
excellent
rednblack10 May 2012
Like the rest of Ianucci's work, this is a fantastic political satire. The reflexive self-serving sycophancy, the arbitrary nature of power, the automatic deferral to the hidden powers behind the throne, the elevation of random dross above real issues (brilliantly lampooned in the pilot when the use of cornstarch forks in the White House becomes a stumbling block to setting up a clean jobs task force) are skillfully portrayed, showing how the dysfunction of the modern arena (especially the media's eye, usually passive but, as in the second episode, sometimes accompanied by a mouthful of vicious teeth) prevents the exercise of power for actual governmental function. None of the characters are perfectly likable, though all are well-played, but somehow the ensemble is endearing. Watch this if you want to see a sharp commentary on the drunken carousel that is politics.
66 out of 82 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
the VEEP get my vote as funniest new show anywhere,
steveaherne200024 April 2012
I was surprised to see only one vote in for this hilarious new show,i always assumed HBO attracted a more discerning kind of watcher,ah well I'm sure word of mouth will do the trick.

VEEP is a deliciously bracing concoction brought to us courtesy of the man behind the similarly themed British TV show THE THICK OF IT and movie offspring IN THE LOOP,Armando Iannucci.

Like those projects as well as many others(Iannucci often works with those other mainstays of British comedy Steve Coogan and Chris Morris)Iannuccis dry (very)sharp wit is on full display here as he delivers machine gun pace dialog and manages to hit all his targets with a resounding bullseye.

do yourselves a big favor comedy fans,seek out this brilliant show,tell all your friends because it would be a real shame if this show falls between the cracks becoming the TV version of the real vice-president,you know its out there somewhere but u can never seem to spot it!
85 out of 110 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Brilliant
Br00723 April 2012
Just saw the first episode of Veep and, if the rest of the series is as good as the opener, HBO has a brilliant series on its hands. Louis-Dreyfus delivers a performance reminiscent of her Elaine days; utilizing every ounce of her talent and pouring her entire body into each moment. It's easily her best work since Seinfeld, and that's no put down of her post Seinfeld work. It's a commentary on just how brilliant she was on that show.

The supporting cast is up to the task of keeping pace with a comic and actress as strong as their leading woman. Pleasantly surprising is Anna Chlumsky's funny and endearing chief of staff.

One episode may not be enough to judge a series on but, for episode one I vote 10 out of 10. Smart and laugh out loud funny is a hard combo to come across. I sure hope the rest of the show lives up to day one. I look forward to more.
98 out of 131 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Reopened my account just to score the show high.
ian8024 April 2012
Why are people voting on a show before it's aired? There is no way this deserves a 4.9; however, I'm sure it will go up as actual viewers chime in. I've seen the first episode and I'm hooked already.

Short and sweet: Louis-Dreyfus is best at characters with an edge. She had me laughing out loud and re-watching line deliveries ("Selena. Hi. I'm melting, I'm melting."). The entire cast is great. Tony Hale does what he does best -- meek, a little dim -- but it works great. Anna Chlumsky holds her own next to Dreyfus. The writing snappy and natural. The direction slick.

I hope this show sticks around for a bit!
76 out of 105 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Contrary to popular belief, this show is hilarious.
daniellouthain28 May 2012
I waited until after the sixth episode to review the show so it had time to germinate and really show the audience its potential before I made judgment. I liked the show from the start, mostly because I love The Thick of It and In the Loop. Now I love this show.

Its smart, the dialogue is rich and full. You don't get the crappy, tepidly funny one-liners you get from most comedy series nowadays, you get incredibly intelligent situational humor that really makes you wonder about politics in the US and around the world. The show really highlights the humanity that people often dissociate from politics, a quality Armando Iannucci has always brought to his political humor with wit and vulgarity. Highly recommended.

This show is only funny if you actually pay attention to the plot of each episode, you simply won't get it if you pay half attention, because every line has a twist of humor, and every line builds on the last, which is so rare in comedy in the US.
58 out of 79 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great comedy
nimitberry14 February 2019
A very smart comedy that I believe can only be understood if you have brains and some knowledge of the American political system. I don't know how people can rate this comedy to be worth 1 star . Probably the above conditions would missing
13 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Many great laughs, do not give up after the couple of episodes based on The Thick Of It comparisons
anotherclueforyouall23 June 2012
For those who gave up after the first episode or two and are writing this off as 'not as good as The Thick Of it', you're doing yourself a great disservice.

The Thick Of It is brilliant. This is brilliant too, and in parts surpasses the original. The subtlety is still all there, the bullies, the bullied, the excellent dialogue, the jokes that you'd miss if you blinked, and it manages to hold up well even without any Malcolm Tucker character (something I'm not so sure the original could manage).

The closing title sequences are often hilarious (unlike in the original), and I'm sure Arrested Development fans will enjoy Tony Hale as Gary.

I know it takes extra effort to to accept a remake of something that's already so brilliant ('why do they need to do remake in the first place?? you think'), but I honestly think the effort is worth it in this case.
35 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fast & Dry
generationofswine27 March 2013
This is a great example of how comedy should be written. The humor is dry, witty, and fast paced. By the time one joke is sinking in the next one has already arrived & been delivered by an excellent cast that has the good sense to play it straight. I'm forced to give it a ten out of ten, the writers are brilliant & the cast knows how to handle the script.

The only down side is that it's probably too clever, witty, & faced paced for it's own good. In an era with a lot of dumbed down crap--"Big Bang Theory," "Parks & Recreation," "How I Met your Mother," to name a few--"Veep" comes as a warm welcome that reminds us that comedy can be both clever & funny. Intelligent even.

Unfortunately, that is probably going to be its undoing. It's doomed to go down in history with a small but loyal cult following & an appreciation that comes only decades after it's off the air. Its too smart for its own good, which will probably doom it to an early cancellation.
59 out of 86 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hilarious
sellashaw6 March 2020
Julia Louis-Dreyfus absolutely nails this character. She really makes the entire show believable, with all the other characters falling to their knees for her. The chemistry her character has with other characters make it interesting and likeable. It has made me laugh out loud more than any other show!
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
This show is hysterical!
pburntproductions22 June 2012
Get the remote, find the rewind button and get ready. Not an episode has gone by where I didn't have to rewind because we missed dialogue over the laughter in the room. In some cases, we just have to re-watch scenes over again for sheer enjoyment of Julia's performance.

This show is bound to get a bad rap because it comes across as vulgar comedy. Audiences are forgiving when it is delivered by men, but when a woman is leading that charge, there seems to be some rule that it must be respectful or clean. Not here and good for her! This show is just flat out a good time and Julia is at her very best (and I miss Elaine!). The supporting cast is strong and able to respond and react to her every action.

The dialogue, be it written or improved, is unmistakably honest and delivered to perfection with the timing that hits the mark with almost every line. With each view, i catch comments and reactions that are not visible on the first view because the show moves like a rocket. The moments are fast and filled with the perfect elements of comedy.

HBO is a good home for VEEP and this show better last. .
42 out of 61 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Selina Mayers rocks
mecbik29 May 2014
Initially started watching Veep being a huge fan of Julia Louis-Dreyfus. Season 1 , first few episodes were not so gripping but as the show progressed the plot as well as the comedy quotient heightened.Now cant wait for the next episode.The dialogues are witty and a lot of intelligent situational humor. You might a lot of expletives being used but thats what it more realistic.

As expected Julia Louis-Dreyfus has a exceptional comic timing and the supporting cast is also up to the task of keeping pace with actress as strong as their leading woman. Every character has his own little quirks

A must watch
21 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best thing on recent politics
sparsh-hardik1 February 2020
Selina, surrounded by some incompetent allies, looks as a self-destructive person at first, but then the opportunity hits her and she emerges as a politician who is kind of a nightmare for any democracy. Self-centric Selina, as if her personality were there to reinforce her dwarf-like figure, is the face of many politicians of modern age, to the world who are merely a two dimensional cut-out deliberately nurtured with the help of the media.

She really doesn't value the people she relies on. Many a time she needs her bagman Gary to feed the information in her ears about the person she is talking with, even during the conversation with her own daughter. That is just pathetic.

Despite all these, undeserving and ungrateful Selina is not an evil like Underwood from House of Cards. S03E03 is a key episode for her journey, which shows her compromising with one thing she likes to care for to gain some advantages. It's not new in politics, but crossing the border of satire, it really hits hard. At one point, she is confronted by one of her most close allies, Amy, who tells her: "You have achieved nothing, apart from one thing. The fact that you are a woman means we will have no more women presidents, because we tried one and she fucking sucked!"

Like in every best sitcom, there is an eccentric character here; poor thing Jonah Ryan is hated by everyone. Always anxious Amy, a strange combination of "lacking self-worth and narcissism", is such a charm! Gary is stupidly blind worshiper of Selina. His innocence makes him sort of a wallflower in the deceitful environment. ("A 12 year boy trapped in the body of 12 year girl.") All the characters in VEEP are in such a fine balance. Hats off to Julia Louis-Dreyfus for pulling 'Selina' marvelously.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Political fun show
UniqueParticle8 October 2019
Julia Louis Dreyfus is outstanding and so are many others in it! Lots of fast talking and well written clever dialogue. Now that Veep is over I'll definitely binge a lot of it. Hilarious throughout, one of the best of it's type! Also I avoid most news and political stuff but this is different; quite deserving of it's high praise.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A perfect ending
mollanesluis11 June 2019
The team behind this show clearly were dedicated to stick the landing and it sure did. Veep now joins the ranks of the greatest comedies that American TV has ever produced.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best Comedy Show
Snowinterr15 May 2019
Best comedy show ever 10/10! Great characters and excellent writing makes this show one of a kind!
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
My favorite tv show!
umutcanalpak7 December 2018
Veep is the best comedy show imo. Wits and cleverness of this show just kills me with laughter.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
everyone should watch it!
mertcan-uzun8827 April 2012
Yes, another HBO serious, another Julia-Louis Dreyfus acting; and here you go; VEEP!

It is not only funny but also Genius! The acting's are really deserve a big applause! For me the rating for such an extraordinary and astonishing series is really low! But I bet it will be increase! And I also bet, Julia will rock at the Emmy and the Golden Globes!

The scenario is way much better than those existing comedy-series.

And please, do never vote a series, or a movie before watching it. Because the first episode showed us, it is brilliant!

Greets...
42 out of 72 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the Best Comedies of Our Time
whitcroy12 May 2020
Hands down one of the best comedies I'll ever see. 7 perfect seasons led by the queen of comedy herself. I mean seriously, all she has to do is sigh and it's gut busting. The supporting cast is great as well. I love Gary, Mike, Amy, Dan, and dare I say Jonah. It gets even better with the introduction of Margery and Richard. If you don't think this show is great then that's your opinion but just know that it's the wrong one. I will binge this for the rest of my life.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
FUNNIEST SERIES EVER !!
jennfinn23 January 2020
If I could give this show one hundred stars I would without a doubt. I was never interested in Veep when it first aired because I can't stand politics. So unfortunately I avoided it until Julia got sick and then I binged watched it and fell head over heels for it. I used to think It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia was the funniest show of all time but Veep is even better IMO.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Political parody and satire done perfectly!
minister_of_silly_walks18 August 2019
One of the best modern U.S. comedy shows is a must see for any comedy fan out there! It is clever, fast paced, incredibly funny and it pokes fun at all of the political tropes we come to expect form politicians all over the world. The cast is just amazing, especially Julia Louis-Dreyfus as the main protagonist Selina Meyer and the standout performance of Tony Hale as series favorite Gary Walsh. There is not a single dull moment in this series as the characters try to establish themselves in the world of D.C. politics where backstabbing and plotting is an everyday occurrence.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Definitely hilarious
Red_Identity15 July 2014
This is just fantastic. I think it starts off a bit rough, but gets better and better as it goes on. The performances are all aces, the writing is on point. It's also incredibly admirable just how the writing is layered out as if it was a drama and never really going for obvious comedy clichés and tropes, and just having the comedy play out naturally instead of like in other comedies. It's all rather well done. Dreyfuss is just perfection here, and like the show always seems to play on the verge of drama. This is a fantastic show that has only gotten better with each season. This is definitely strongly recommended. Go
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Brilliant satire on US politics
grantss26 April 2016
(Updated after Season 7).

Selena Meyer (played by Julia Louis-Dreyfus) is the Vice President ("Veep") of the United States. We see how she and her staff go about their day and the things and people they have to deal with.

A brilliant, biting comedy on the hollowness, superficiality, manipulation, keeping-up-appearances, lies and deceit that is US politics (and politics in general). Created and written by Armando Iannucci who previously gave us The Thick of It, a similar satire on UK politics and even more over-the-top than Veep, and In the Loop, a great movie spin-off of The Thick of It.

Everything and everyone are fair game and nothing is sacred, which is refreshing and rare in today's overly-PC age. Definitely not for the easily offended or the fanatical party partisan.

Screamingly funny, and delivered in quick-fire fashion: the rewind button got quite a workout!

Amazingly, Iannucci manages to keep up the hilarity, quality and freshness of the show through eight full scenes. If anything, it got even better towards the end: Season 7, the final season, was probably the best of the lot. With Jonah Ryan as a politician, Iannucci turned the amp up to 11.
10 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A political Larry Sanders
cherold17 May 2019
In seven seasons, Veep never missed a step. Always hilarious, always savagely cynical, always brilliantly acted, this is one of the best TV sitcoms ever made.

The series is very much in the vein of The Larry Sanders Show, stripping away the positive public facade to reveal a vile mix of cynicism, greed, and stupidity.

The main difference is the people in Sanders would lie to themselves and convince themselves they were really good people. In Veep, everyone knows their terrible people doing terrible things for terrible reasons and their fine with it.

There are probably two things you will need to enjoy Veep, an interest in politics and a dark view of the human race. If that fits you then watch this series immediately.
7 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed