Yaariyan (2014) Poster

(2014)

User Reviews

Review this title
37 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
2/10
A very very poor and unconvincing teen,patriotic... movie by a rookie director
WadoodS17 January 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Here we go to 2014's first well-promoted movie, Yaariyan, it may be a commercially successful low-budget film but the movie has nothing to offer to the viewers. There is this College which is one of the most prestigious colleges in the country but due to a land claim, Some Australian businessman plans to demolish some parts of the college and build a casino and a hotel right beside the college. So the selected 5-member Indian team has to compete in a 5-round game vs. Australian team to save the college girl hostel. On selecting the team members the college principal has no reason to select Lakshya (the main lead actor) but selects him only because his father was an Indian shaheed (martyr), really Mrs. D. K. Kumar? The movie is full of unconvinced scenes. The big joke of the movie is the final and 5th round of the game when the main lead actor is competing with an Australian mountain climber, and right when he is miles behind his rival the makers create a big water fall from peak of the mountain and he jumps right close to his college. The maker may have tried to create a teen, romantic, comedic and patriotic movie which she fails in all. The main lead actor who is a new guy in Bollywood is shown as a naughty and funny guy which is a very common quality for the Bollywood new guys. He is nobody and he is everybody. As an actor he has a lot to learn to work in a lead role. He doesn't have the impression of an actor. The same could be said about the lead actress. Those who enjoyed the songs on YouTube may give it a try, as I did. You may watch it at your own risk of your precious time, but I want my 2 hours back!!!
12 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
worst movie ever
priyam-guptau19 January 2014
please burn your money, put it under a rock and forget it, buy dog poop but never ever ever go for this movie. after watching this movie I would want Ram Gopal Verma's Phoonk or Rani Mukherjee's Aiyyaa to win an Oscar at least.

This movie is so amazingly pathetic that right from the first minute me and my friends wanted to scratch ourselves to death. they even said that watching construction outside would have been more interesting than this. I am sure my dog would have a better sense of direction. it would have made better sense to invest my 200 rupees to buy dog poop or buy blood sucking leeches and keep them as pets than to watch this movie. Be it the cast, plot, drama, comedy, editing, direction, screenplay, etc everything is horribly pathetic with no relation or support to each other.

Go and watch this movie only if you like Intervals !!!
35 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
0/10 - Spoilers inside. In short, just avoid this and burn the money instead
chetanthaker11 January 2014
Warning: Spoilers
This is BY FAR the worst movie I've EVER watched. There was not ONE scene which made me even chuckle a bit, let alone die of laughter.

The cast was absolutely ridiculous. 3 guys, of which one is a spoilt brat of a martyr, second had no back story, except that he had long hair and liked playing drums. The third one was completely lost and was like a tag-along in the movie. Of the two girls, one was a tall bimbo with a permanent duck face and the other was a 'gharelu ladki' with jasmine oil in her hair and pigtails. They are all entered in a college knock-out by Gulshan Grover who was the principal of this massive college, against the Aussies who planned on building a casino and a hotel in their campus. First round was a rock band faceoff. Aussies win that one by 'cheating'. One guy gets beaten up and by the time India (these 5 retards) win the chess round, that dude dies despite getting defibrillated (shock treatment once a person dies), revives, cries a little and dies anyway.

That was where the movie broke into an interval and we made a break for it.

I am surprised that no one, i mean NO ONE took 2 steps back and thought that this was: 1. Not well directed, 2. Not well cast, 3. Had a ridiculous story, 4. The ABCD song should've been right at the end. 5. The dialogues could very well give someone a seizure. 6. The editor should have been shot.

I WANT MY MONEY BACK.
19 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
All I can say is UGHHHHHH!!!!!!!
varmaraghuvir11 January 2014
Those 145 minutes were a total waste!! I horribly regret the 68 bucks I paid for nonsense.

The story was clichéd, phony and nonsensical.

The new actors are pretty annoying -- even Jimmy Shergil seems Oscar-worthy in front of them.

Deepti Naval was the plus point.

Cinematography + Direction + Choreography + Script = belch!! My neighbor walked away halfway out of annoyance. I too wanted to do that but I had a tasty tub of cheese popcorn to hog up. It kinda kept me engrossed.

AVOID is the conclusion!
36 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Garbage !!
ketgup8312 January 2014
Sometimes I wonder whether Bollywood prepares any script before directing any film. Spending so much on location, songs and dance would not give inception of a good film unless script is thoroughly worked upon.

Yaariyan tells the story of 5 friends who has been assigned task by their principal to compete with Australian team to save their college from being sold off by a powerful business man.

First time director Divya Khosla Kumar does not do justice to the area of direction. As the movie begins, you are greeted by glossy and candy floss environment of college( reminds of Kuch Kuch Hota Hai ) with unnecessary insertion of songs. The main drama unfolds in the later reel which again is intolerable with screenplay written by a school kid. Art direction and Cinematography is excellent especially the ones shot in Australia. Songs are tuneful. Dialogues are less-impacting. Performances are over-top. Aditya Raj Kapoor does not have conventional hero looks nor has given good performance.

Overall, a pathetic film in every sense. Poor- 1/5
24 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Too Generous of me to even give it one star. Rated 1/10
suri101110 January 2014
Warning: Spoilers
As the year 2013 ended with a DHOOM, the year 2014 starts with a DOOM. I still can't believe that I actually went to watch it.. Me, my friend and just four other people were present at a 1pm show. Guess no one else had the courage to go through this crap. okay.. Lets start with the review... Acting- Everyone except Deepti Naval did a PATHETIC job. 0.25/10 Story- Ehmmm... No plot at all. 0/10 Music- Bleh!!! 1/10 Direction- Can be one's worst nightmare!!! I don't know why did he (director; i don't know his name) had to begin direction.. 0/10 You all might be wondering why did I 'donate' one star.. Well, its simple.. Its because the movie ended.. These would be the worst 140 minutes (although they seem like 14000 minutes) Never be Yaar (friends) with Yaariyan
18 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Emotional, financial and psychological waste
chitquizzer17 January 2014
I spent a total of 30 bucks, (INR) and still I regret it.the only silver lining was to see Himansh Kohli, who is a patient of Cerebral Palsy but was able to perform almost normally. The White actors or whatever they were in movie were picked from Paharganj in Delhi for 10 bucks an hour, so you don't expect much. The movie was never shot in Australia and they used low resolution stock footages to show glimpses of Australia.The lead actress suffers from Creepomania and she has the creepiest eyes I have ever seen. The Director was half busy feeding her child, hence the story line goes everywhere but runs out of Logic. Thankfully I was very tired that day and I don't remember watching second half. Although when my friends woke me up after credits finished they were swearing about who's idea it was to watch Yaariyan.
17 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Everything is haphazard
dineshprakash16 January 2014
Director Mrs. Divya Khosla Kumar work is full of confusion. She has stuffed every possible formula of a hit in this movie, like suspense, fight, romance, love triangle, patriotism , bike race even bicycle race, mount climbing, long lip lock, exposing body and lots of others stupid stuffs but she had drastically failed to make them convincing or even at the level to make it understandable. There is no story, very weak and confusing screenplay, not a single memorable dialogue. If an Australian purchases half of college land then why should he give the stupid music, chase, race and other lots of competition, and that is also in different rounds? Only because director wanted to stuff that type of scenes!!? Main male lead knows everything mount climbing, bicycle stunt, does stupid stunts like an idiot Spiderman. He prefers to slide down keeping his head down on a very dangerous wall rather than climbing or coming down keeping his legs down. He does not know such type of basic things but he can do unbelievable things. Hero team knows that the person being projected as a college student from opposition, to compete in climax is not a student but a professional stunt performer but rather then challenging his credential they prefer to compete. Performance wise most of the actors are below average mark. Music is very repetitive too.
16 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
YAARIYAN: Tale of a guy who had a Guitar but didn't really know how to play it
raja-mishra721 February 2014
-1/10 in all generosity that I could generate

Overacting+Underacting and clueless direction and no story, ha! Things people do when they have a lot of money to spend.

The leading actress the Miss India girl Rakul Preet was hot and not and hot and finally invisible. She has a future, can do better. The guy was pathetic to the power n. The camera man has an eye for beauty, the locations were captured pretty well! In no point of time, despite all the overflowing scopes could the director even forge a catharsis, she could be a good assistant, but definitely not a director again There was a little of everything from every hit Hindi film in the history. was there a story, if there was that was narrated poorly. Confusion over details and time-lines, and continuity were apparent.

the girls in the film were beautiful, but then that's all the takeaway from this film, cause this is certainly not for children!
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
It makes "Student Of The Year" look like a World Classic.
bobbysing31 January 2014
Though the heading of the review says it all, still I would like to share few interesting points about this latest young film made on the lines of some recent successes particularly targeting the (college going) youth & the multiplex audience.

Taking on the bright points first, it's the debut film of Divya Khosla Kumar (wife of Bhushan Kumar, the young mastermind behind T-Series), who had earlier acted in a big budget film AB TUMHARE HAWALE WATAN SATHIYO (2004) and then also directed few major music videos before taking on to film direction. So looking at the background, she could have easily gone for a safe film featuring a known sellable star without making any big effort. But the fact that she bravely decided to make a project with a completely fresh cast, spending all that time to train them before coming on to the screen, surely deserves some praises in these cunning commercial times, mostly concerned with the initials and the first weekend earnings. So all the youngsters featuring in it must have had a good time shooting with a lot of fun as it seems, but I only wish the team had also worked on its script too with the same devotion and spirit.

Now as backed up by one of top names in the entertainment industry, YAARIAN has a mega budget, a bigger canvas, an eye-catching competitive cinematography and a Hit musical score to do the trick. But unfortunately it relies too much on its catchy music and other technical aspects only and doesn't care about the most important part of a film i.e. its content or the script. As a result we have a pretty childish mix & match product taking its clear inspirations from earlier hits in this genre like JO JEETA WOHI SIKANDER made way back in 1992, the repeatedly adapted UGLY BETTY T.V. serial concept (2006) and STUDENT OF THE YEAR released just a few years back in 2012.

The film begins on a very routine note and then goes on to offer many seen before, mediocre and even bizarre sequences which should have been deleted right from its first draft only by the debutant director. For instance, here we have a foreign investor who wishes to buy a major part of the school and turn it into a Casino, as if it was being opened like an amusement park for the students. To decide whether the Casino can be made or not a competition is organized between the students in Australia & India, bringing in the 'Nationality Card' as a completely weird thought put in by the writers. Further the absurdity reaches its height when in order to win the competition the foreign investor calls in a complete professional sports person to compete with the Indian student contestant, and the Indian School team calmly accepts that like a group of morons having no objection of any sort.

However what disturbed me the most was that despite being a film made by a woman director, it has all the girls and ladies used in it like the objects of lust, a lonely mother is handed over the ashes of his only son just like that, there is a highly insulting scene disgracing our own concept of 'Bharat Mata' and then we also have a totally insane smooch between the lead pair which clearly looks like 'Eating' and not 'Kissing' from any angle.

The film desperately tries to impress you with its well shot cycling and rock climbing scenes coming towards the end, but by then the damage has already been done and the viewer is simply interested in getting away with it as soon as possible. On the acting front, all the young performers become the innocent victim of some extremely poor writing which actually doesn't let them leave any kind of impression on the end user. Plus the director wastes both Gulshan Grover and Deepti Naval in their small roles and they don't have much to contribute in the film as per their known caliber. Yes, Divya Khosla Kumar shows some good sparks in the competition sequences of the second half executed well, but in order to make a good film she has to understand the importance of a good script and content before taking on her next project.

In all, YAARIAN does have some good musical tracks to bring in the initial crowd but as a film its simply like a poor amateur version of Karan Johar's STUDENT OF THE YEAR, which in fact makes SOTY look like a World Classic in comparison.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Clichéd, Stupid, Immature and just Plain Awful.
andre_rox9918 January 2014
YAARIYAN is a coming-of-age film directed by Divya Khosla Kumar, starring Himansh Kohli and Rakul Preet Singh in the lead roles. The rest of the star cast includes Serah Singh, Dev Sharma, Evelyn Sharma, Deepti Naval and Gulshan Grover.

The film revolves around "college life" and how a group of 5 Indian college-goers must battle against Australia in a range of activities to save their college while undergoing life-altering situations.

I'll just get straight to it: this film is just plain awful. Now I know that my summary of the review above is extremely harsh, I apologize, but its nothing but the truth, and believe me, if you're still reading, there's gonna be a lot more of it.

Now, first thing's first: the promos and hype. That's all great, I mean, they used the music and the fact that its 'from the makers of Aashiqui 2' to distract you from the ACTUAL story, in fact, the trailer itself doesn't even give you a real insight to what you're getting into. Normally, that's a good thing... but for a film so bad, its a downright con, and its totally like having a guy's pocket money stolen.

If you skipped on reading the story synopsis and if you're planning to watch the movie, I STRONGLY suggest you read it IMMEDIATELY. It makes NO SENSE WHATSOEVER, in fact, it looks like a cheap rip off of Student of the Year (which wasn't that good either) but in comparison to Yaariyan, the former looks like we're comparing the latter with 3 Idiots. There's no better way to put it; its obnoxious and I don't know what the staff of the film saw in the script. I don't even understand what it has to do with college life. In the case of SOTY, we understand that the competition takes place every year, so it's completely justified... but in the case of Yaariyan, it isn't like we have the name of the film talking about a competition, its about friendship, and I'm sorry to say that the film failed in portraying that as well.

The acting was just alright; most of the stars were new-comers, therefore mostly immature. The only good ones were those who have been in Bollywood for years; Gulshan Grover, who had less screenplay, and Deepti Naval, who was my favorite of the two; she portrayed her emotions and character with such accuracy (which everyone else failed to do) that you actually wished the story could be better to support her acting. Himansh Kohli had potential, and you could see he had the charisma, being he's like I said earlier: immaturity was at its finest in all the youngsters (including him).

AND I shall leave the only best thing (and saving grace) of the film for last: THE MUSIC. BRAVO TO ALL THE MUSIC DIRECTORS. The music was so good that it was the ONLY reason I was sitting in the cinema till the end. I haven't heard a better album since Yeh Jawaani Hai Deewani, and the film delivers such great hits like "ABCD", "Sunny Sunny", "Baarish", "Allah Waariyan"... even the not so popular ones were great, especially "Love Me Thoda Aur". By the end of the film, I sat wondering whether the film was just directed for the songs, and a cheap plot was added just to have a background to the songs. Whatever it was, it worked to an extent because when I left the cinema I felt that my ticket money was justified only because the music kept me hooked. Its a shame though, that such a song like "Sunny Sunny" that gained global recognition belongs to such a poor film.

In conclusion, I'd tell you to watch YAARIYAN only if you were only interested in the music. If you can't wait to watch the way the movie blended with the music, I'd suggest you watch it in a single screen, because it's not worth the full price. And if I could lead you with one last message, it's that YAARIYAN is not completely rubbish, because I'd rather enter the cinema and watch the music and some of the extremely ridiculous situations it has rather than sitting and staring at a wall for 2 hours.

YAARIYAN- 2/10
10 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
worst,humiliating and pathetic
anishbachchan979 June 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Goddamn it. I hate this movie but I dunno why my brother like their songs which is now irritating me. I always want get rid of this movie but my brother always listen to the songs.I hate Aashiqui so much But I hate yarriyaan more . This is just a waste of time and money.The movie has a bad cast,awful jokes , misusing patriotism and so on . You know what . I rather watch Joker than this movie. This is why I hate Bollywood . I think Bollywood should be banned . So GROW UP SCUMS. And do not do your dance , singing because you are no match of Hollywood . THE MOVIE ALSO MISUSE THE SOLDIER SACRIFICE OF THE COUNTRY AND IT MUST DEALT WITH.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Blah blah blah blah blah blah
narulagaurav13 March 2014
Hindi movies are, after all, Hindi movies - there are some, and then there are some. Yaariyan is neither. Its a mix of something here and something there, and then its a mix of everything. There's the coming of age theme, love, villains, action, rock music settings, family, psycho bullshit, Chetan Bhagat- esque hate for the father, patriotic fervour, naughty pranks, hot bods, not so hot bods, ribald attempts at humour (please note - not 'attempts at ribald humour'), middle age love themes, trauma, tear jerking, Mother India, the college culture fest setting, etc., etc., etc., etc., etc., etc.

All of the above are accompanied by poor acting, poor looking cast, multiple weak story lines.

Redeemers? Excellent music, some sets, Evelyn Sharma, Serah Sharma's sucker actions (till she reached the lollipop stage - go look up the difference). Those are about it.

Divya Khosla Kumar wanted to get a movie under the belt for her kitty party discussions. She should leave it here. The term 'regression' only looks good when coupled with analysis. Bollywood has moved a little ahead.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
This movie is just a Garbage like the Director Divya Khosla Kumar is having in her head
arjuncshekartheofficial13 February 2019
Absolutely the worst movie ever I had seen in my life. The director of this movie Divya Khosla Kumar, is having garbage in her head it seems. Except title track this movie isn't even worth watch for single minute also actually I would have been given 0 out of 10 for this movie but according to IMDb standards I given just one out of 10.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Not as bad as you think!
vivekmihirshah10 October 2019
Okay this movie doesn't deserve the hate it's receiving. Just rated it 10 to increase its average rating. It should atleast be rated 5/10.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst movie...Dont even bother to think about watching it
rahuldubey-2919110 March 2019
Worst movie. Just started watching it today..but director has used army man for comedy....utter non sense.. Why they need to make joke of each thing...

Have some sense..and show whatever you want but do not make fun of your country
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
very poor
jagdeeshp-6477119 November 2018
Very irritating and senseless, i am waiting for something good in movie but nothing in this movie totally poor story !
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Garbage!
kawasakiguru17 May 2018
An absolute waste of time. Total garbage. An absolute waste of time. Total garbage. An absolute waste of time. Total garbage. An absolute waste of time. Total garbage. An absolute waste of time. Total garbage. An absolute waste of time. Total garbage. An absolute waste of time. Total garbage. An absolute waste of time. Total garbage.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
worst movie ever made by far
eraserhead-7160728 October 2015
OK this is my first review ever and the only reason i chose this movie for my debut is only because i am a philanthropist and i don't want to see other people going through the same excruciating and agonizing pain which i had to,i don't know what the actors and the technician's were thinking when they agreed to do this movie,DIVYA KHOSLA KUMAR,the wannabe visionary director of this MASTERSH*T really deserves a standing ovation because she is so special,from where she got the courage and confidence to make this nonsensical pile of trash??no wonder she also wrote the story and screenplay of 'yaariyan',i have said whatever was necessary to save your money and there's no point in discussing this forgettable piece of cinema's story or performances or direction,so my advice to you people is just save yourself from watching this,that would be a wise decision,BELIEVE ME!!!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
"Yaariyan" should have been named as "Yawniyan".
binducherungath19 March 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Yaariyan (यारियां) is a mindless film without any purpose. The theme is based on a College Romance. Bollywood has witnessed wonderful College Campus based movies like Jo Jeeta Vahi Sikandar. The film is made keeping youth-audience in mind, but it is an insult to their intelligence. There is nothing to save this film. Divya Khosla Kumar disappoints as a director. Her characters are superficial, story is shallow and the execution falls apart. One keeps wondering what the director wants to convey. A bunch of aimless students are shown, who are in the college just for Masti but given a huge task by Principal (Gulshan Grover) to save the college from not being sold. The college campus seems to be more of a party-ground where every now and then parties, racing, swayamvars are thrown. None of the students are shown focused in life which is not today's youth (who definitely know where they want to head in their lives). The second half tries to build up the story on themes viz. love, patriotism, competition, mother-son emotions etc. but it turns out to be illogical. Dialogues with double meanings, girls in minis are very very unimpressive. Even credible stars viz. Gulshan Grover, Deepti Naval, Smitha Jaykar's acting skills are under-utilized. The screenplay and editing both are pathetic. Cinematography in few frames are good. Music is also good upto an extent. The film may get an audience who would love to laugh at silly jokes, but otherwise, it is a poorly crafted film.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Worst Movie ever.......
dradityasadawarte18 March 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Its been torture whole time in movie Director Mrs. Divya Khosla Kumar worked so stupid and in last she has given explanation also saying she was parenting her kid ... LOL this is so embarrassing for Bollywood. Such an unprofessional if u think you are not ready for the work please take one job only at one time. I felt such an idiot watching this movie till end. The hero of movie has done James bond role mount climbing, bicycle stunt, and does stupid stunts like an idiot Spiderman with rope. Whole climax part look challenging to gravity / nature / thinking. I was wondering only cartoon script writer & director can think of such. Music is average but Honey singh as always rocks.. actors are below average. Honestly i think director & script writer need to take a proper education about basics first & then can give a thought for movie. I feel i wasted my money n more important time behind this crap movie. Movie Strictly recommended for morons.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Thank God im still alive ova here.
alekhyadas17 February 2014
Movie Review: Yaariyan [2014]

Please visit - http://iamalekhya.blogspot.in/

WTF was that? Thank God i'm still alive ova here.

Those 145 minutes were a total waste!! I horribly regret the 68 bucks I paid for nonsense.

The story was clichéd, phony and nonsensical.

The new actors are pretty annoying -- even Uday Chopra seems Oscar- worthy in front of them.

Deepti Naval was the plus point.

Cinematography + Direction + Choreography + Script = belch!! My neighbor walked away halfway out of annoyance. I too wanted to do that but I had a tasty tub of cheese popcorn to hog up. It kinda kept me engrossed.

The only good thing about the movie is the soundtrack!

One of the worst movie I ever seen in my life. A total wastage of time n 700 mb data

Don't dare to go to cinemas.
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
really awful
anuragyadav506122 April 2014
This movie is just a waste of time, or that's what i think. I rarely watch Hindi movies but i had to watch it with my friends and it disappointed me greatly. Bollywood has great potential to make good movies too e.g. Hera Pheri, Kahaani and other good movies but they are wasting it. There is nothing interesting about this movie, not good acting, not a strong story. The jokes are old school and forced. The actors are really awful. They are "overacting". It doesn't even pass your time inside the theater. The whole time, I was praying it to end fast and go out and get rid of the suffocation due to the movie. I want to tell you guys to not waste your time watching this movie. You will be disappointed greatly and your time and money will be wasted.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
It's about time IMDb should consider a "0" rating option!
A_Voice27 January 2014
Warning: Spoilers
I rarely rate a film 1. Even the worse of worse I rate 2 or 3. There is just handful of the 2300 ratings I have given. I only consider a 1 rating when a film is absolutely horrible and intolerable, which this is.

A few youngsters try to save their college's land to be auctioned to some Australian Billionaire. Meanwhile they discover love.

It was totally a let down of a film for Gulshan Kumar Productions. A supposed tribute to the college life ends up being a haphazard frustrating nonsensical intolerable mess, with pathetic acting and a lot of bikini clad girls of-course.

The film is so absurd, it specially introduce a completely unnecessary character to kill him off, that to out of nowhere. The scenes seem so abrupt and forced at certain points that it literally drives you mad. And the stunt artists probably weren't looking when Himansh was just sticking upside down on a wall with only his stomach to support him. (And they thought they'd pull a Mein Hoon Naa). I wonder why talented actors like Gulshan Grover sign for these kind of films.

At the end credits, Divya is seen with her cuter son on the sets, with him saying "pack up" and "action". I have a strong feeling that it was he all along who directed and wrote the film, and it was Divya's way of letting us know. *jk*.

The only good thing of the film is its songs, especially "Baarish" (though I hated the Honey Singh ones). I wonder when Bollywood will understand that good songs and good hilly locations don't make a good reasonable film.

Direction: Pathetic.

Script/Screenplay: Even RGV ki Aag and Himmatwala were better written.

Acting: Rakul is cute, but her acting isn't convincing, rest are pathetic.

Music: The score is average. Songs are good.

Overall a film to be avoided. 0/10, since the option doesn't exist, I'll have to settle with a generous 1.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Best way to start 2014 with "Yaariyan"
Hilebhj9005 April 2014
"Yaariyan" hits the floor on a very special month "Its New Year". I feel its a great movie to watch with your buddies and have fun. You will definitely remember your college days, all the fun you had, Little fight, love, affection. Its a promising movie of 2014.Its very Entertaining movie, A cocktail of entertainment, emotions, competition,patriotism and while coming out of the theaters you will be lost in your college memories. Lets appreciate the hard work of the team "A Team of Debutants" (I would say) has shown a true/tremendous work, much appreciated. Its not for those who will carry the baggage of Big Banners/Directors story line. Music of the movie is really blasting, can't stop your feet tapping, Yo Yo Honey Singh sizzles. Songs of the movie is everywhere.
3 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed