Paddington 2 (2017) Poster

(2017)

User Reviews

Review this title
213 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Unbelievably good, brings back all those Paddington memories
NikolaiDante13 November 2017
I used to read all the Paddington books when I was a small boy and my wife when she was a little girl. We both loved all the crazy escapades that Paddington got into and he did it all with a good heart.

I very much enjoyed seeing the first Paddington but did feel it wasn't quite Paddington with the scary woman and the scary scenes.

Paddington 2 completely captures the essence of the the books and really wrings out the most of some of the characters.

Brendan Gleeson is superb as the 'nasty' Knuckles who quickly warms to Paddington. This might sound far-fetched but the whole film is very childish. Now that's not childish in the sense of "silly and immature" but in the other definition of "appropriate to a child". The whole film shows and plays scenes as a child might imagine things to be - for example how the prison works and especially the lovely idea that the warden reads the inmates a bedtime story to help them all get to sleep.

There are superb performance from all the actors and a huge number of cameos. Even the small scenes put in by the like of Joanna Lumley and Rob Brydon are clearly done with great love from the actors. Hugh Grant puts in a superb over the top performance as the baddie, which really let him flex his vocal talents!

The whole film is done in bright colours and with a superb musical backing track. When you are watching the film be careful to pay attention to all the small details, such as the newspaper headlines and the To Do list in the Brown's Kitchen, there a huge number of little jokes in the background and I suspect I'll spot a whole load more when I watch this again on Blu-Ray!

Not really spoilers but there is only one really 'scary' scene near the end but it is so beautifully done and you know that Paddington will win so even the little ones won't cry. And make sure you stay for ALL the credits as they play out to an amazing "what happened after" montage.

I have noticed that that at the time of writing this review there were 927 votes and 15 people have given the film a 1-star. Now I know everyone is entitled to their opinion but in this case I suspect these people might not really understand Paddington and what he's all about, if you have young children and they love Paddington then they will love this film.

This film is suitable for young children aged 4 to 104 :)

Let you into a secret, when my wife and I went to watch this film there were a lot of people in the cinema but not one was under 18! From the looks of it the audience was aged 20 - 80!

I cried and I laughed through the whole film and rekindled my inner Paddington.
93 out of 103 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
602nd review: A Superb Children's Movie
intelearts12 November 2017
Paddington 2 really is a fine children's movie. In fact, I would go as far as to say one of the best children's movies I have seen. It is not just charm and whimsy and genuine laughs though it has those in buckets - it is a real plot, and a solid caper movie to boot. By building on an ingenious crime element and real plotting it has turned from a sentimental journey to something more. As an avid reader of the books as a child, the main worry is the spirit of the bear who believes in the good in everyone, while creating untold chaos around him, will get lost to serve the storyline or some idea of updating Paddington. Luckily, none of the spirit is lost, and instead, we have an immensely enjoyable, fun, funny, and charming film. The whole family loved it - and we all laughed, cried, and cheered. Just be sure to stay seated for the credits. A really excellent children's film.
50 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
For once a sequel that doesn't disappoint
trevorwomble10 November 2017
I was hugely surprised at just how good the first film was and was tentatively cautious when this sequel was green-lighted that perhaps it might cheapen Michael Bond's beloved family friendly creation.

However, fear not, for this sequel is absolutely terrific on all levels. Firstly it is as funny and witty and as brilliantly animated as the first film. The excellent cast from the first film is also enhanced by a superb turn from Hugh Grant, who hasn't been as good as he is here in a long time. In fact it is quite clear to the viewer that Grant is thoroughly enjoying himself by playing against type and sending himself up as a faded egotistical actor and total cad who sets Paddington up to be the fall guy (or should that be Bear?) for a dastardly deed. There is a touch of the pantomime villain to his performance, but it works splendidly and it fits his character perfectly.

All the wit and heart of the first film is still evident here and in some ways, built upon. Brendan Gleeson is also excellent as an old lag and prison cook who loses his angry nature when he succumbs to Paddington's charms and talents in the kitchen. There are also loads of great jokes too, some pitched at younger children and some deliberately aimed at the more adult viewer.

All in all this is a worthy sequel and a great memorial to Paddingtons creator, Michael Bond, who died whilst this sequel was still being filmed. It is full of laughs, thrills, action sequences, great characters, some wonderful animation (one scene is an obvious nod to the 2D paper cut-outs of the human characters in the 1970s children's TV show) and you would have to have a hard heart indeed to not burst into tears at the wonderful ending. Also, don't leave the film until you watch Hugh Grant gloriously send himself up with a musical song and dance act as the end credits roll.

Thoroughly recommended to anybody who wants to see 100 minutes of family friendly fun that isn't either sickly sweet or too dark for youngsters and still thoroughly watchable to adults too. Great fun and a worthy sequel to one of the best British films in recent years.
59 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Practically perfect Paddington production
ramonster_uk20 November 2017
I was an unexpected fan of the first Paddington movie, walked into it expecting not to enjoy it, but I was proved wrong. When I heard that a sequel was coming, I just hoped it would retain the magic of the first and it did, with a cherry on top! This movie invoked the inner child within me and was just a perfect viewing experience for this time of the year.

The casting was genius, featuring many well known British actors, in roles big and small. It was like a gathering of all the best of British, all having the best of time together. A huge hats off to Hugh Grant, pure brilliance!

The imagination that went into this movie and the skill that managed to put this across to the audience was second to none! You will find yourself being absorbed into this world and will not want to leave. I've read some people complaining that this isn't what London is like today, but this is exactly how London was in my childhood mind, where fantasy and reality met. Don't let go of your imagination, suspend reality and just enjoy.

I cannot recommend this movie highly enough. You will laugh and you will cry. Go see it, on your own, with your partner or with you family, you won't be disappointed.
40 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
One of the year's biggest delights
TheLittleSongbird10 November 2017
Loved the first 'Paddington', was not sure whether that would be the case but it turned out to be one of that year's biggest surprises and delights. Was enthused about hearing that there was a sequel with the same crew returning, always a plus when it comes to sequels, but there was the concern as to whether it would fall victim to "sequel-titis".

Very luckily, 'Paddington 2' does not fall victim to that. It is one of not many sequels to actually be equal in quality to its predecessor and come close to being even better. It maintains all of 'Paddington's' heart, fun and charm, maintaining everything that made that film so good, and even builds on that appeal. For such a hit-and-miss year and seeing my fair share of overblown big-budget blockbusters with little soul, films that waste great premises and films that attempted laugh-a-minute laughs and doing it in a way that came at the expense of heart, 'Paddington 2' was a much needed refreshment. Not saying at all that it has been a completely bad year, actually there have been very good to great films, just that 'Paddington 2' stood out in the best of ways in recent weeks.

Maybe it could have been ever so slightly longer and would have again liked to have seen more of Mr Curry and his acrimonious relationship with Paddington. Everything else is magic.

'Paddington 2' once again looks great. It's beautifully shot and vibrant in design with a little bit of grit and Paddington as to be expected couldn't have looked more perfect. The music score is suitably soothing, rousing and whimsical, while the direction keeps things moving at a bright and breezy pace. A pace that never slows down but doesn't ever feel too hasty either.

Scripting is also spot on. The comedic moments are incredibly funny, the best of it hilarious, with rapid-fire wit, endearing quirkiness, clever gags that don't feel like pale retreads of before and perfectly pitched misunderstandings and physical comedy. Underneath all the humour and the darker and more suspenseful mystery/action-oriented elements of the story is a big heart and strong emotional core, with some lovely inspiring messaging and values that are very much current and some touching parts. It's also incredibly intelligent, not many films this year have treated its audience with the amount of respect that 'Paddington 2' has, and has such an endearing innocence.

A large part of that is the character of Paddington himself. Can't fault his design or Ben Whishaw's beautiful voice acting, nor can one fault his truly adorable personality, absolutely love how he tries to still remain even in the grimmest of situations and he is easy to root for and love throughout. The story may on the slight side structurally but has a lot going on, without being cluttered, that makes it very much eventful and to me there weren't any tonal issues.

Every ounce of the heart, charm and fun seen in 'Paddington' is here and everybody gets a chance to shine, especially Mr Brown and Mrs Bird of Paddington's family. The new characters are great additions, with a superior villain and the character of the cook Knuckles being one of the film's nicest surprises. Only Mr Curry could have been done better.

Performances across the board are great. Hugh Bonneville balances comedy and drama with ease, Sally Hawkins is compassionate and Julie Walters is a hoot. Jim Broadbent is always a welcome presence and the younger actors are appealing. Brendan Gleeson excels in a departure role, a dramatic actor in a more comedic role in a family-friendly film could have gone wrong but Gleeson brings a curmudgeonly charm and great comic timing. Hugh Grant is also cast against type and brilliantly sends up himself and the world of acting. This is Paddington's film though.

Overall, an absolute delight and refreshing. 9/10 Bethany Cox
52 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Pure bearfection 10/10
Padreviews21 November 2017
To think I had second thoughts about even going to see this !

A perfect film in all ways suitable for all the family for children 8 months to 80 years and beyond .

A total delight . Cinema-photography was excellent, giving an interesting nostalgic feel set in modern times , at times you felt you were being transported back to your childhood in the 1950s - 1970s with many aspects such as steam trains and Victorian architecture and prisons - the Hugh Grant Phoenix Buchanan character was almost as if Terry Thomas had been reincarnated to play the role! Shots of Windsor gardens and the Shard juxtapositioned the tourist view of London old and new .

The theme of good versus evil reigned supreme throughout . Together with love conquers all and community spirit . Michael Bond the author sadly died in Paddington on the last day of filming never reaching the age of Aunt Sally but at 91 he lived a long life and left us with a masterpiece .

The cast was absolutely superb - the animation top notch - you'd forget that Paddington is a bear as did the characters at times - watch the credits right to the end for Hugh camping it up to the max .

Superb - you'll love it

Pad.A 10/10'
41 out of 54 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Somehow - and thankfully - as good as the first
rogerdarlington13 November 2017
I loved "Paddington" and - to my delight - I loved "Paddington 2" too.

Of course, we start with the adorable character created by Michael Bond (who died between the release of the two films), the brilliant CGI representation of our furry friend, and the purr-fect voicing by Ben Wishaw. This is such a British franchise with so very many British character actors (OK, and one Irish) and so many London locations, although this is the kind of gentle London that we saw in "Notting Hill" (most notably in the prison scenes). Indeed the villain this time is less threatening than Nicole Kidman's character in the first film and played brilliantly by the ever-so- English star of "Notting Hill", Hugh Grant, who - following his success in "Florence Foster Jenkins" - shows that he is not just a pretty face.

The film is endlessly inventive, not least in bringing to life a pop-up book of London landmarks which is at the heart of the plot, and it is stuffed full of visual gags as well as so many funny lines, a few aimed at adult viewers rather than little ones. My granddaughter (almost seven) found it delightful with one of her favourite scenes being Paddington's window-cleaning efforts. Be sure to stay for the credits - a final delight in 100 happy minutes.
25 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Delightful
Alanjackd12 November 2017
For starters ..I have given a 10 for this as a family movie and nothing else.

As family movies go you won't get better. A delight from start to finish with everything you could possibly want...fun..comedy...romance...heist..slapstick....drama..danger.... .baddies..robbery ...everything.

Everybody hams it up perfectly..and also some of the direction and animation is actually very awesome.

Perfect family trip to the cinema here for young and old.

One thing to add...in the drama of the Weinstien troubles...some expected a boycott here..nothing of it at all..the theatre was rammed at every showing..I don't know what that tells us but I thought it was worth mentioning!!
28 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great sequel
jshoesmithkr12 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
The first Paddington film was cleverly made but just wasn't long enough. This film however lasted longer and had way more to it which made it better. Phoenix as the villain was kind of better than Millicent as he was more cunning. Knuckles was a great addition, how you couldn't like him is just wrong, if you like Knuckles The Echidna then you'll like Knuckles McGinty.

Mr Curry could have done more although they gave Mr Gruber a more dominant role like in the books. The scenes were mainly funny. Judy was attractive like in the last film but three years' film difference can emphasize how much actors can change, especially Johnathan and Judy. The prison bit was a bit like Muppets Most Wanted as Paddington befriends his cell mates and then they start to enjoy themselves and then at the end they help his escape, only difference is that some of them join him. Overall a 9/10 for this film. Can't wait for Paddington 3.
22 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Stellar Film For All The Family.
hannahjodie28 January 2018
Paddington 2 Did Not Dissapoint. The Cast Is Stellar (Very Good). The Characters Are Very Likeable. This Film Is For Both Adults & Children As It Has The Appropriate Humour At The Right Time. Plot Is Also Very Good And Delivered Very Well As All The Actors Brilliant. This Film Is Not A Waste Time And Is Better Than The First One. This One Is Aimed At A Wider Range Of Audiences.
20 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Just as good, if not better than its predecessor
areatw19 August 2018
As someone who thoroughly enjoyed the first 'Paddington' movie, this sequel was a must see for me. Not only does it not disappoint, as so many hyped movie sequels do, it exceeds all expectations and is arguably the better of the two films. 'Paddington 2' is another visual feast - the warm, vibrant animation is just phenomenal and a delight to watch, and the London setting is once again captured perfectly.

In terms of the plot, I actually think 'Paddington 2' is even more enjoyable than its predecessor. It's full of ideas and creativity and contains so many laughs and memorable individual scenes. The cast is also brilliant, with the two Hughs (Grant & Bonneville) delivering particularly entertaining performances in their roles. And of course, Paddington is as charming as ever. This is another perfect family film and a sequel that, for once, lives up to all expectations.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Even better than the first!
thechriscloud7 April 2018
Spoiler Free Even better than the first! One minute I'm cracking up, one minute I'm tearing up and the whole time my jaw is on the ground from the visual effects. Great for the whole family. The music is so beautiful and creative. The writing and scene composition is so amazing and thought out. Just like the first, you just love Paddington and every character surrounding him. I hope they make a third!
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wonderful.....
michellesusankelly18 November 2017
I watched and enjoyed the first Paddington movie but have to say that , unusually for a sequel, this is better. I found all the characters so endearing, the story was fantastic, a great number of cameos, and hats off to the actors all great. Beware, a hankie may be needed during this film, and I have to say, best movie I have seen this year. Wonderful family movie.
15 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Amazing, suitable for all
tahemairis26 November 2017
With no shame in saying so, i teared up at the end of this beautifully crafted family-flick. There i was, a 20 year old, sitting in between at least 8 ten year olds, cheering for the charming Brown family and of course, the adorable Paddington.

It is a delight for all, with clever and tasteful British humour that will satisfy all viewers, from 5 year olds (i actually witnessed a 5 year old laughing her heart out at the screening i was at) to full grown adults (many parents and also my mom who i was seeing this movie with, had a blast seeing many, more adult- oriented, but still appropriate and child-friendly themes throughout the movie).

The casting is great, plenty of A-lister Brits give an endearing performance and for not once will you think they did it for an easy paycheck. The film is pleasant for the eyes and has a positive, vibrant color-scheme. The plot is good, does not have that well- feared "sequel syndrome" (which i was indeed a bit sceptical about before buying the ticket) and can very well stand on its own.

This movie provides an important lesson of kindness and understanding and is a deeply moving depiction of family, community and motherly love. Perfect film to warm you up for the winter ahead.

Go and see it, you won't have an ounce of regret later!
12 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The Rare Sequel That Improves Upon the First
bkrauser-81-31106419 January 2018
As hacky is it is to start a review comparing a new movie to food, the charm of this one pretty much begs for it. Thus if all family-oriented adventure films are to be compared to some form of cheese, Paddington 2 is like an artisanal muenster in that it is immediately engaging, rich with flavor and has a potential for gooeyness but never goes overboard. Also, orange rinds have something to do with it.

This film starts with the well-meaning Peruvian bear happily acclimated and settled with the Brown family in their posh and homey London neighborhood. As a bastion of courteousness, Paddington (Whishaw) still sends letters regularly to his dear aunt Lucy (Staunton) who will be turning 100 in the next few weeks. As a result, Paddington pursuits a rare pop-up book he'd like to send as a gift. Unbeknownst to him, the book holds the key to a hidden treasure which has been hunted for ages by the nefarious Phoenix Buchanan (Grant), former star of the stage and screen.

Those who delighted in the warmth and wit of the original Paddington will find just as much to enjoy in this playful continuation. Paddington 2 takes full advantage as a sequel by immediately feeling more lived-in and comforting to those in the know, while still remaining as welcoming as ever to outsiders who are just now hopping on the bear's bandwagon. More impressively, it also retains the same emotional intelligence, thematic clarity and childlike wonder in such a way that it feels almost dirty to call something like this a "sequel" to a "franchise".

It'd be more appropriate to simply say that Paddington 2 is a joy to watch, with the only obvious negative being that it remains unassuming and modest when it should be shouting its ability to engage from the rooftops. There is an able effort to shake the material from humility in the form of Hugh Grant who positively oozes charisma and is a gas to see chewing the scenery. The film lightly lampoon's Grant's off-screen persona by having the villain vamp against mannequins, sporting costumes of roles long past. It's a fun role but the ensemble isn't as all in as he is. This is not to say Hugh Bonneville, Sally Hawkins, Jim Broadbent and Brendan Gleeson aren't good, they're just left in the dust a lot of the time. There's also a few deus ex machina moments that lit up my pessimistic adult brain, but in a movie that has a full on jailhouse musical number, I'm willing to forgive the wayward assumption that good things can actually happen to good people (and bears). All in all, Paddington 2 is a charming affair - one which takes the daintily assembled world of the first and builds on it with heedless aplomb. In many ways it's a comfort for these increasingly cynical times. It serves as stark reminder that while adversity always abounds, a little bit of gumption and politeness can make this world just that much more pleasant.
6 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Good, entertaining movie!
Amyth477 September 2018
My Rating : 8/10

This is amazing! I thoroughly enjoyed it. Damn good entertainment.

Go watch it!
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
AS GOOD AS THE FIRST FILM
alcantaraj-1659421 July 2018
"Paddington 2" is as sweet, funny and heartwarming as the first one. The cast's performances (and Ben Whishaw's voice acting) is equal if not better than the previous film. Hugh Grant is a funny, charming and welcome addition to the cast
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I can't believe I'm giving this film 10 stars... but it deserves it!
keal22 January 2018
I went to see this film simply because the critic rating on Rotten Tomatoes was 100%, and I had already seen the rest of the films at my local theater (Jumanji, Molly's Game, The Commuter) and this was the last thing I had to see before the next week's new shows would come around.

I hadn't seen the first Paddington. No one I knew had yet seen Paddington 2. So I saw it knowing nothing except that everyone I talked to loved the first Paddington. Whew. I was floored. I immediately took to the main character. The voice actor is just perfect for Paddington. So polite, and so likeable.

I laughed when the kids in the theater laughed, and cried a few times during the heartwarming scenes. The very end scene made me sob because it was so extremely touching. I tell people that this stupid kid's movie made me cry. Paddington 2 is AWESOME.

I then watched the first Paddington movie at home. This sequel is better, and you don't need to see the first one to enjoy it, but if you saw the first one? It continues the story with many of the same characters. Not just the main ones, but also the secondary characters!

I don't care for films aimed at children, simply because there's enough films aimed at adults like me to take my theater money, but at this very time, with films like Jumanji and The Last Jedi.... Paddington 2 is at the top! If you have to spend your hard-earned money to watch something on the big screen, you will not regret spending it on this!

All the prison scenes, and scenes with the characters from the prison, are just the most enjoyable things I've seen in years. Nuckles the chef is just the best! The final scene... I'm talking about the very last 30 seconds of the film... make the whole movie worth more than anything else playing in the theater right now. Bring your tissues!
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Paddington 2 is amazing!
Fadi_Michel12 December 2017
The first movie was in my opinion the greatest family movie in recent years. Surprisingly, the sequel is better!

Ben Whishaw as Paddington is still amazing. Hugh Grant is GREAT! I want to see him more in this type of roles. Brendan Gleeson is excellent. All the other characters from the first movie have strong presence here.

The movie is extremely funny and entertaining. You may notice some similarities between this and the first movie but the script and the direction took everything one step forward and deliver pure joy and entertainment. This is a strong achievement.

I left the cinema with a big smile on my face. I really enjoyed every minute in it.
11 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
You'll believe a bear can fly
iandbaldwin19 November 2017
Warning: Spoilers
From the opening moments to the end credits this film is a fitting epitaph to the author Michael Bond. I can honestly say this is the best "children's" film I have seen since Mary Poppins when I was 6. Like a very good marmalade it is bitter sweet, with moments of comedy that will have tears of laughter running down your cheek and moments of pathos that will do the same - a good thing I was in a darkened cinema. The animators are the star (Paddington) but special mention must be made for Hugh Grant who throws everything at this Oscar worthy role (Don't leave before the end credits or you'll miss one of the best moments) and Brendan Gleeson is suitably menacing and lovable at the same time.

Spoiler Alert :- The film flashbacks to Peru when Paddington was rescued by Aunt Lucy and Uncle Pastuzo from a fast flowing river. When you see the quality of the animation of this scene you know you are seeing movie platinum. The pop up book that Paddington wants to buy and send to Aunt Lucy for her Birthday present comes to life at the Quayside with Paddington welcoming his aunt to London and showing her the sights - these scenes are inspired and worth the admission price alone. When Paddington gets sent to prison for being wrongly accused of stealing the pop up book his transformation of the prison and the chef Nuckles McGinty (Gleeson) is amazing - and it all starts with marmalade. There are too many other excellent scenes to mention but when Paddington has been cleared and released from prison and is back home he goes to the front door to open it and at this point, thanks to first rate animation throughout, you will believe a bear can fly.
10 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
I just love this movie beyond words
thetruemrwalker30 March 2018
I don't know what to say really... this movie has everything I look for in a family movie, and then some. Laughter, excitement, tears and that wonderful little fellow, Paddington, that has been with me in my mind since I was a little child and who just melts my heart. The team and the cast behind this movie do Paddington such justice that they deserve all awards and celebrations for decades to come. I hope there will be a Paddington 3 and 4 and keep going til the end of days, I will never get enough if they are made with the same spirit and love as these first two. Thank you so much Paddington movie crew for I wonderful job, jolly well done.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the finest feel-good family films
jezfernandez17 February 2018
The original Paddington movie was a surprise hit and this follow-up is close to storytelling perfection. It has a simple plot - Paddington is saving up to buy his beloved aunt a pop-up book of London, only the book contains a treasure map and dastardly Hugh Grant wants his hands on it. Cue a series of unfortunate events which see the loveable bear banged up in chokey with Brendan Gleeson, while his beloved family pull out all the stops to clear his name.

What makes this film such a delight is the ensemble of truly likeable characters and the writers' steadfast commitment to making this fun. Example? Paddington wins over the entire prison by serving homemade marmalade sandwiches. Hugh Grant is the villain, but he too is rather loveable.

This is a movie infused with fantasy, charm and innocence, bursting with genuine laugh-out load performances (such as Richard Ayoade's 2 minute turn as a forensic witness, or Tom Conti's unfortunate haircut victim).

Through it all is a theme of pure loyalty and commitment - the unstoppable lengths that people will go to for the ones they love.

This is no quick cash-in. The effects are phenomenal, especially Paddington's virtual tour through the pop-up book, and every aspect of the film shows loving care and attention.

I defy you not to shed one tear during this terrific adventure, which is right up there with Toy Story 3 for sequel success. If you're in need of a reminder that this world still has a good measure of love and beauty, go spend a couple of hours with the Browns. You won't regret it.
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Paddington can change your life!
adliquidmetal9 January 2018
A must watch and on top of it, It does not disappoints at all. A great family movie and some good messages in the world which we really need right now.
8 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
What an amazing General Movie
small_benjamin17 May 2019
Paddington 2 is a triumph of many aspects of filmmaking. First off the cgi is incredible and Ben Winshaw knocks it out of the park again as "Our Favourite Bear" Paddington. Secondly the Cinematography is abosuley gorgeous and feels more realistic than the first film. Last but not least Hugh Grant's character should have won a globe or an Oscar he plays the role to perfection. Everyone in the cast is excellent and relatable. This is definitely one of those movies that make me care about everyone, and the ending makes the cry happy tears.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good Enough
pennyelenabooks5 October 2018
Paddington 2 might be better that Paddigton one. It was a sweet and cute that all the family should enjoy, with funny moments here and there, enough action and the fairy tale element all over the movie. The CGI were great and the performances were enjoyable.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed