V.C. Andrews' Heaven (TV Movie 2019) Poster

(2019 TV Movie)

User Reviews

Review this title
48 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
Hair Color Matters
mweaver-3347429 July 2019
I have read and loved this series. Lifetime screwed up. Heaven is supposed to have dark hair, her mother silvery blond. This may seem minor but it is a HUGE plot point. Jane is Our Jane and she and Keith were not twins. Where were Grandpa and her loving teacher Miss Deale, who inspires Heaven to be a teacher. Not one character matched their description from the book. In short, if you are going to make a movie based on a book, please READ the book.
70 out of 75 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
If you like books based off movies, Dont watch this !!!!!
Heavenleigh401 August 2019
Just horrible. I would give it a -10 If I could. Hair colour is a big issue that was changed. After that is said where to start. It's like watching an accident. You can't not look away. If v.c.andrews were alive she would be disgusted with this garbage Lifetime and Andrew Neiderman call a movie. They would have have been better off just making a new movie series. I'm sad that I share the same name as this pathetic Heaven. Not the girl I grew up with. Lifetime, Andrew pls stop ruining books for us true fans that care. Either fallow the book to the word or dont bother making a movie. Waste of time and money to watch. Unless you like to.pay to be sad
31 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Why didn't they just follow the book
lhevi28 July 2019
I really wish lifetime would stop screwing up book to TV movies as well biographies. This movie was nothing like the book none of the characters looked like they were described as in the book. The family didn't look poor it was just all wrong
34 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Know Your Audience
wrightjr-286492 August 2019
Of course movies are bound by time and plot elements and characters may be different or not exist in the film but for an adaptation such as this they got it all wrong. Numerous posts have mentioned the hair colour aspect and though usually not essential, in Heaven it is. Heaven has dark hair - as in Dark Angel - she is the picture of her blonde mother, Leigh who was called Angel except- you got it- her hair is black. It's not that difficult. Everyone else is off the mark too- poor, exhausted Sarah looks pretty good. You get what I'm saying. To VC Andrews readers this is very important because her descriptions of the characters are so vivid. I could go on but whatever, it's badly done.
28 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Trash just trash
dollfacemm31 July 2019
My mother read V.C Andrew's and passed the love on to me. I was so excited to see this movies because I closed my eyes listening to the audio book 1000 time. Picturing the characters. Feeling their sorrow, enjoying the love and enjoying the beautiful story. But this this is not Heaven. It's like buying Nike's and the swish is upside down and they spelled Nike wrong! And I dont want anyone saying "it's a movie not the book!" It said BOOK to SCREEN! Not let's edit characters out add things that didnt happen almost changing the storyline
27 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Awful adaption
Slytherinreader29 July 2019
Warning: Spoilers
*spoiler* From the begining they ruined this adaption. The cottage they live in looks like a regular home. They added beds and comfort. How are you supposed to see how poor the children were. How much they had to over come to become who they grow to be?I understand two hours is a short time for an in depth view but they glossed over the poverty, Sara leaving (who by the way was not a loud mouth red head as she is in the book) heaven and Tom going out and stealing food just to survive because they had no clue when their father would return with food. No this movie shows him bringing food right away and as soon as Sara leaves he gives away the children. They don't show the heart break of these children being sold for 500$ a piece and being ripped away from each other. What was the point of changing Logan's family to butchers instead of pharmacists when they don't even show the kids going to church and meeting him at his dad's store. Later in the books Logan is supposed to bring grandpa Toby medicine from his shop but they don't have to worry about that because they got rid of grandpa's character all together. Heaven living with cal and kitty. They make it seem like kitty only becomes abusive after she starts her medication and gets jealous of her husband and heaven. This made it seem to anyone who hasn't read the story that heaven was stealing her husband. Instead of the truth of kitty hurting her so much and cal making her feel safe as any father should then taking it to far. Kitty put heaven between them and refused to put out blaming heaven being in the next room but no lifetime didn't follow that either. Heaven is the one that tells Logan what happened at her mother's grave in the book. Her pa comes to kitty before she dies and trys to apologize. He gives heaven and Tom the option of living with him or letting heaven go to Boston. She doesn't attend Kitty's funeral! She finds out after she left that kitty died! So many details were changed. Heavens red hair makes no sense. She was supposed to have dark casteel hair unlike her mother's beautiful blonde hair which she later changes to look like her. Fanny isn't portrayed as a flirt and going after Logan all the time. They couldn't even get our jane's name right! She never once was called Janey in the books. Heaven wasn't called hevlee by the twins nor heavenly by tom. Makes you wonder if the writers even read the series or if they care about the long time fans of these beloved books.
25 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Travesty
Cheecco31 July 2019
Waste of time, money, effort, light, air, water, HD space..................I love the book series so much, this could have been really good but - Lifetime :(
19 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Not even close...
fervis7729 July 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Once again, Lifetime has destroyed a V.C. Andrews novel. The book and the movie bear almost no similarities whatsoever. Even basic plot elements have been warped, destroying the original themes of the storyline. The hair color mixups aside, the movie rushes through Heaven's early life, barely interacting with the family she holds so dear. Grandpa, and Ms. Deale, both vital to the story have been cut and Heaven's close relationship with Tom and strained relationship with Fanny have been overlooked. The downright evilness of Luke Casteel is glossed over, making it look like he simply gave his children away for the sake of their own happiness, when in fact he sold each and every one of them for $500 a piece. He left them for months at a time to starve and care for each other. Tom didn't leave of his own free will to send money back to the family, he was sold to a farmer and worked like a slave. Heaven's goal is always to reunite her family, not just "to make her mama proud" as the movie suggests. The relationship between Heaven and Cal is sensationalized to draw in viewers, but Heaven was a less than happy participant in the novel, feeling a great deal of guilt and trying to avoid spending time with him. When Kitty returns to Winnerow, her mother and family took her in grudgingly and were rather indifferent to the fact that she was dying. After she passed, the movie has Cal chasing after Heaven, pleading with her not to leave him, when in fact he was the one who left her. Now free of Kitty, he is eager to strike out on his own. This remains the theme through the entire Casteel series, as Heaven is always yearning to be loved but always ends up slighted. Lifetime completely missed the boat with this one...I won't bother watching the remaining Casteel family movies.
33 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Horrible adaptation
curly_Q_CO29 July 2019
This movie is a disgrace to the book. I am generally ok with film adaptations, knowing that the book is obviously going to be better. I went into this film with incredibly low expectations, and I was STILL severely disappointed.
24 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Horrible
mmadams-4846329 July 2019
Haven't even finished, and don't even think I can. Seriously straying from the book, awful acting, and rushing through just how awful heaven and her siblings had it.
15 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Terrible Casting for the Main Character!
traceywilliamson-416981 August 2019
Did the makers of this movie even read the book? Why oh why, out of all the young actresses they could choose from, would they choose this one for the character of Heaven? Not that she's a bad actress, but she is not even close to the physical description of Heaven, which is a big part of the story throughout the books. Heaven is supposed to be dark haired and waifish, thin from not getting enough to eat. Instead, they cast this buxom, healthy looking redhead? She almost looks more like the character Sarah is described in the book. I simply could not get past this and cannot understand what the casting director was thinking.
20 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
*Disappointed Sigh*
ldream17 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Like many of the other reviews I've read, I must agree wholeheartedly, that, while I normally support a small amount of creative liberties in the book-to-translation process, they just simply strayed way too far from the formula on this one.

V.C. Andrews is who got me reading regularly in my tweens., and inspired me to become a writer. Her books were amazing and Heaven was by far my favorite series. The films failed to show the vital significance of the small, but details details of this story. It appears that quality took a backseat to overplayed drama in this project, with overacting characters constantly being tossed at us with no real effort to show the importance of the role each of them had in developing Heaven's personality. I appreciated least Heaven's greatly downplayed picture of growing up in the backwoods.

I'd been waiting since I was 12 for these films to be made and I wish more respect had been given to the quality of what is an amazing series of stories told by an amazing writer.

Jason Priestly should have been given more to work with. He's been the best part of these films, which frankly, are so disappointing, I wish I'd never seen them. I 100% believe, even as an amateur writer, I could have done much better with translating these classic and beloved stories to film.
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
BOOK TO SCREEN MY A$$!
allwetoddid4 August 2019
First let me say I own and have recently re read all 5 of the Casteel books. Perhaps that was my mistake. Aside from the names of the characters and a few extremely minor tidbits here and there thrown in I am convinced that NOBODY who helped in this adaptation actually read any of the books. They may have read a few synopsis and possible "spoiler" reviews of the books but I am convinced that's all they did. I understand having to rewrite it to make it fit in under an hour & 30 mins without commercials but they left out what I believe to be extremely important details. I am not sure if I will be able to finish the rest of the movies if they continue to be so far off. And I must also add the I am extremely disappointed with all of the actors. They were very bland with little personality
12 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
The first 20 minutes and I am lost
dsrowold-4713328 July 2019
Remembering these books from my teen years, I've reread the series in the past few weeks.

Hair color matters.

...as a matter of fact, Heaven's hair color (as well as her Willie's Pa, adoptive crazy mom, etc), plays a huge part. Such a small detail goes MILES for someone familiar. We'll see how the rest goes.
18 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
This was not good at all!
msneed-2663425 August 2019
I read the books in the 80's. I agree with the other person heaven had dark hair she was beautiful and so was her mother. I am so disappointed in this series they could have done better. Lifetime has to do better with telling stories. I was so happy when I found out they were doing heaven and now I'm so disappointed. Red hair no not at all.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Disappointed!!
leewee-9230926 August 2019
Read all the books, and wish the movie had followed the books. We not recommend to friends.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
If you are a fan of the books, don't watch this movie
Laney_Kaye24 August 2019
This movie is horrible. The characters don't look anything like what they are supposed to, and normally this wouldn't matter very much, but in the book, the look of the main character is a huge deal. The movie doesn't even include major characters like Heaven's grandfather, and her amazing teacher Miss Deale. This movie missed the mark on pretty much everything. I won't be watching the rest of the movies.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Does not do justice to the book
julybabiesmommy28 July 2019
This adaptation of Heaven was not what I was hoping for. The discrepancies in the character of Heaven, Pa and Kitty were just too far from the book. First of all Heaven has black hair. Not red. And that may not make a difference to some, but to me that was huge for this character. It didn't make sense. Her black hair in the books was a huge part of her character and the reason I believe the next book is titled Dark Angel. Pa was not as hard and gruff as the book described. So for kitty, she was a red head. She was a hair dresser not a dental hygenist. She was also not as pretty as the actress. Not rough around the edges enough. I think the storyline was ok but definitely think a few of the discrepancies, especially of the character of Heaven were disappointing.
17 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
I'm disappointed.
haircutterdarci30 July 2019
I loved the Heaven series and reread the entire thing about 20 times while growing up! I was so excited to see this movie! I am so disappointed. First, I don't understand how Heaven can be a redhead when so much of her character was marked by her dark hair. Seems none of the characters match their descriptions. Second, They changed Logan's family business to a butcher instead of a pharmacy and Kitty turned into a dental hygienist. They seemed to try to make Kitty a more sympathetic character instead of the twisted woman she really was. I understand they have to change things to make into a movie, just seems to me, at the very least, they could match the character descriptions and keep them close to what they actually were. If I didn't know the story so well, I may have enjoyed the movie more. I will still watch it though!
11 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Terrible Adaptation
portiamohammed24 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
The Casteel Series is one of the most well known and loved from Virginia Andrews. If the show couldn't have been made closer to the books, then it should never have been made at all. These movies butchered the memory of the books starting with the casting. The casting was absolutely atrocious starting with the lead of Heaven. Apart from the fact that Heaven is dark haired (a major plot point of the novels), this girl was nowhere near as beautiful as the character of Heaven should have been. Don't bother wasting your time to watch this if you're a fan of the books.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Not good.
amber_lynn10028 July 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Not good nothing like the what the series is based on. Heaven is supposed to have dark brown hair for a reason. I've read the book series many times. Important parts in her life mark her changing her looks to be like her mother later on in the next books. And before she realizes that her step-dad is not her real dad And she thinks she has cursed Casteel dark hair. No thanks I will just continue to read the series.
12 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
WHO WROTE CAST PRODUCED DIRECTED THIS!!! WE NEED A DO OVER!
cherissemcherry13 August 2019
Who ever wrote, produced, directed age casted this adaptation obviously did not read any of the series. I was disappointed within the firs minute after observing the hair color of the characters. Their hair color was an extremely important detail to get correctly. The hair color is a character in itself.

Setting It was as if the creators could not decide whether it was the 60s 70s 80 90... as well as wardrobe The homes from the cabin to farthingaje, they may have been able to get away with but KITTY's home was a very important detail as to kitty's character. And what happened to grandpa Heaven never looked like she made the transformation from poverty to having money her hair remained uncontrollable and her wardrobe was dingy. The only cries that gut the vision was granny and Gillian.

If one had nit read the books one would not be able to understand what was going on

This adaptation appeared as if my 7th grade students wrote directed produced and cast it.

Us VCAndrews fans need are owed a do over.

This could have been done better If I could give it Jess than a 1 I would
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Still unknown
princessgidggy30 July 2019
I read the series when I was younger, but for some reason, couldn't remember the details. I was hoping the movie would jog my memory... nope. Not at all. It wasn't the worst movie I've ever seen, but not the best, by far.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Twisted entertainment starts here
phd_travel22 August 2019
Lifetime movies aren't that long but these VC Andrews movies are. It seems that almost all the grownups are sick and depraved. These long potboilers have so many trashy characters it seems almost like a non stop trash parade.

Having said that it is fairly watchable. The main actress is sweet but isn't that unique. Not initially as shocking as Flowers be patient there's more perverseness on the way. Things get better in Dark Angel.

If you are in a mood for some low brow entertainment, thanks Lifetime.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
low budget
LiveLoveLead19 August 2019
Anyone who loved the books will not be happy with this TV series, but even if you didn't read the books I doubt you'll enjoy these films much. Besides the fact that the book to screen adaptation is very flawed, they are just poorly done. The acting and camera work seemed amateur. We all know most Lifetime movies are cheesy dramatic flicks, but usually they still make for a good guilty pleasure watch, but this one looked so low budget. The pace of the film, the writing, camera work and especially the acting are horrible. Even Jason Priestly was bad. Poorly done, In My Humble Opinion!
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed