My Big Gay Italian Wedding (2018) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
8 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
7/10
Almost perfect
dashingmusic17 August 2018
Warning: Spoilers
I really did enjoy this movie from the very beginning almost to the end. Yes, some parts could've done better, edited better. But thats just minor issues.



My only (two) problem were ...

Who actually set the church on fire? If its the Dad, then how?? He smoked there ? What ??

And after the crazy person went berserk and Paolo wanted to leave, Antonio sang just that song to win him back, in like 5 seconds without saying anything? I mean ... at least say something .. this could be that Golden moment where people would cry their eyes out! But instead, it just went to that song and then credit. So Does that song.. has a meaning to them? like whats the rush..

Oh come on guys.. please reshoot or at least edit something.. like use a picture and have narration or reveal a twist ... why that song.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Genius move casting Gomorrah mob boss in this light-hearted yet thoughtful comedy
dconsolini25 August 2018
I saw this confection on a flight home to London. I'm a huge fan of Salvatore Esposito from his gripping, gritty role as mob boss Genny on "Gomorrah". Genius move to cast him as a cute gay guy marrying his equally adorable boyfriend and soulmate. The film was a delight: from the 2 adorable leads seeking their family's approval to the gentle, wise, accepting small-town priest, with a nod to Pope Francis's modern approach to gays, the quirky flatmates (including a hilarious cross-dressing bus-driver) and the well-meaning but pompous father of the groom whose classy, determined wife forces him to live up to the high ideals he pushes on the town as their high-minded mayor. I don't know the original Broadway stage play that inspired this movie, but I love how the director changed made the story politically and socially relevant. A must-see but not because it's worthy. So many laugh out loud moments. The father complaining about musicals being silly: A little gem!
8 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Love has no boundaries
paolar-793934 January 2019
A delicate theme treated with irony and humor, revealing the deep gap existing between one' s moral or ideals and the awareness of reality, often hard to accept.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Nice but with empty parts
carminereccia-5356030 September 2018
Funny film, which also deals with difficult issues such as the sexual acceptance of their children. Although some parts have gaps, without explaining why something happens.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Funny and fun !
Trystan1313 August 2020
I think people have grown away from appreciating a film for just what it is, as opposed to what they want it be. This film is funny and fun. Somewhat predictable by the title itself. But in the Italian way it is fun. I enjoyed it !
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Well worth the price of a ticket
peterfiasco28 September 2019
I agree with some reviews, that the movie could have been more polished, particularly in the editing, but if you see this in the way I think it was meant, as a light hearted story, with a good message, then you can get past it. I felt towards the end they may have ran out of time so they edited it to get to the end, and I have to say this is the past I had most issue with. But you can forgive that. If you get the humour (typical Italian) it really is funny to watch. I enjoyed it. Was it a masterpiece, no, was that what the producers were going for, doubt that very much. So for what it is, it was a great film to suit back, not take seriously and enjoy. Although it tried to deal with very real issues, coming out, acceptance, love is love, even small towns disappearing, none of it was felt with in any real depth. Don't expect the deep conversation with a parent giving a hero speech. It's just a fun movie to have a Google and if you take it that way you'll come out having laughed a little and smiling. That's good enough for me.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Absolue rubbish
edhart0821 September 2018
Not worth the price of the ticket.....lost in translation.....totally silly. Don't bother
2 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Magical Landscape Gay Marriage Story
javierubio3 April 2020
This movie caught my attention for bringing the subject of gay marriage into an old small town in the middle of nowhere in Italy but with beautiful pictures and historical buildings typical from Italy. The story was pretty good and the actors brought that humor and made the movie full of development and made it alive bringing a nice color to the whole story. What really surprised me was the end of making this an unexpected musical dance and singing instead of ending the story in the best romantic way! But i really enjoyed it!
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed