Cold Call (TV Series 2019– ) Poster

(2019– )

User Reviews

Review this title
19 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
1/10
Utterly let down by the last episode
audreybell-2061622 November 2019
Warning: Spoilers
It had all the potential for being brilliant but the last episode was a disgrace. What a lot of tosh. Do the writers think we are thick and stupid? Ridiculous pantomime baddies.. was anyone scared of Mr Zimma or whoever he was? And Kirk? No one would ever take him seriously in the real world... and would our main character really seriously react in the way she did.. she blimmin killed a man (didn't seem to effect her much) kidnapped an old lady.. and hid her in the most obvious place ever, manage to organise a new wedding dress in what like a day, wandered about the wedding like an extra who hasn't been given their wardrobe yet for it 'all to work out in the end'. Sally Lindsay must have been like, man.. why on earth am I actually doing this? The story first fell flat when her character stole the money for the pram.. nah.. didn't believe she would do that. What a disappointment. Writers should be ashamed of themselves..
12 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A little bit of disbelief after the excellent first episode, but it's good entertainment.
Sleepin_Dragon13 December 2019
It's nice to see some original drama on Channel five, a pretty good job was done with this. In terms of subject matter it was relevant, I've heard a few cases in the news, people caught by online and telephone requesters. Part one had my blood boiling, it was definitely the best episode of the series, after that it loses a bit of reality, but remains a good watch. The finale is out and out bonkers, take it for what it is, a piece of tv drama, and you'll enjoy it.

Sally Lindsay is excellent as the lead, I'd love to see her in more drama leads, she did a great job.

Paul Higgins is excellent as the bad guy, he plays a man on the edge very well.

Crackers, but fun. 7/10
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Laughable
dunna-4656225 November 2019
A good storyline which started off well but oh my it sure did go downhill fast. Unbelievable plot twists, caricature "heavies" b movie dialogue and more besides. Each episode was more absurd than the one before. However I stuck it out simply because it was so bad it was good !
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
What a disappointment
julianrosser-440-78783923 November 2019
The ending was just a shambles and the acting very mediocre throughout. It could have been so much better with a bit more thought and better choice of cast.

I wouldn't recommend it I'm afraid.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Shame about episode 4
keith-61822 November 2019
While we were watching the second episode of this my wife said "This is brilliant, I wonder why it isn't on ITV3?" When we watched the final episode 4 we both knew why. The writing went off the rails.
8 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Nice idea poor script
stephenhawthorne-7821821 November 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I loved the scamming and the insight into that part of the story. The main characters seemed implausible and far fetched with a script with very predictable lines. The psychology of the characters flip flopped for no apparent reason spoiling the integrity of what could have been a very very good drama
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Where are the unicorns
mzerogsm24 November 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Exactly... where are the unicorns as most of this drama is make believe.

Spoiler Alert: Main character has lost 83k and her Mother has committed suicide but you think she had last a tenner down the back of the sofa. So nonchalant and indifferent about these devastating events in ones life.

Then meets a geezer who has dedicated his life to finding this guy who commits the frauds at a support group who coincidentally was an ex boyfriend of hers at school.

Really it's just tosh.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Suspend your disbelief
pvb98722 November 2019
As another writer has said, you really have to suspend your disbelief because it is all so implausible. Some viewers will be happy to do that - it's just not my cup of tea as I prefer the cases to be more realistic and less dramatic; maybe I should be watching documentaries.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Great idea in principle, terribly executed
gibbs-181725 December 2019
Had all the potential of a hit great cast for a great topic but unfortunately it has channel 5 all over it.

Piss poor production, worse editing a story that as pointless aspects that detract from the main issue and a Mark Addy that looks like he's put on a 90°c boil wash for 5 days then bundled in the dryer for the weekend.

Stopped watching 20 minutes in the 3rd episode and skimmed the 4th episode, the Christmas ads were OK
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Terrible execution of what was a decent idea
gibbs-181725 December 2019
Good idea, good cast. Piss poor product with worse editing and production
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Facepalm icon please!
rogerkellyphotography8 December 2019
Oh my days! What a load of drivel. Watched Episode 1 after checking half way through that I hadn't accidentally skipped three episodes - such was the ridiculously fast pace and missing links. Can't believe these respected actors put their name to such an awfully produced, directed and truly unbelievable drama containing more 'convenience' than Tescos! Shame really as this topic has serious potential for a great drama. The bottom line is that it reminded me why I haven't watched anything on Ch5 for twenty years!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
A wasted opportunity
davideo-23 December 2019
Warning: Spoilers
STAR RATING: ***** Saturday Night **** Friday Night *** Friday Morning ** Sunday Night * Monday Morning

June Clarke (Sally Lindsay) is a hard working carer, who's hoping to buy her own house, and help her daughter Hana (Taj Atwal) out. But then she falls prey to a telephone 'cold caller', who fleeces her of all her money. She runs into Des (Daniel Ryan), an old school friend, at a therapy group for victims of scams. He knows how to go about tracking down fraudsters, and together him and June discover the man behind her scamming is Kirk Wiley (Paul Higgins), a wealthy client of hers, setting her on a dangerous path.

In an age where most theft is increasingly done over the phone and online, the modern day phenomenon of the 'cold caller' is certainly ripe for dramatic license, with all of us often reminded to keep personal details safe and to be aware of suspicious sounding calls and e-mails. There are plenty of real life recollections of such events on numourous consumer watchdog programmes, and it certainly could have produced some emotive real life drama. Instead, we've got this ridiculously over the top suspense thriller.

Despite a promising opening, with Lindsay well cast in the lead role, it descends into a nonsensically far fetched affair, deviating from any sort of believable real life sequence of events, into a crazy scenario involving gangsters and some mysterious old man, like in one of those old spy thrillers. By the end, June's gone from being an ordinary, everyday person, to someone who's taken a life without any sort of trauma, and then happily flies off on a holiday, and with a real life lead character that unbelievable, how can you take to anything else?

I'm not sure what the makers of this had in mind, or the direction they were trying to take it in, but it's a wasted chance to shine a light on something that affects many people today. **
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Could have ended in 1 episode
kfyls30 December 2019
Just like someone else has stated. I thought I was watching a trailer at first, everything happened so fast, no pace to anything. The lady has been scammed within minutes of starting and knows who's done it in the same episode lol. If only was that easy! Someone needed a whilst putting this together but wanted to finish it before going to the loo!
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
More of this please
nezthe21 November 2019
It's been a while since i've watched anything on channel 5, but if they come up with more shows like this, then they could become a serious rival to the bbc, itv and channel 4. First class drama.
7 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Quite good... until
mkmatthews-9429423 November 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Thoroughly enjoyed this series. A bit short so felt pretty rushed in terms of the storyline but that was okay and understandable.

Good up until the very last sentences from the main actress. She supposedly did it all for her daughter. In the very last sentences that she speaks on the phone in the final episode, she clearly shows that her daughter hasn't benefitted a single bit. I don't think this was by design but rather just a rushed storyline and ending. Honestly, I just laughed.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Cold Call
mariedonaldson24 November 2019
Total waste of time lots inaccuracies bit or research would have made it more watchable
2 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hooked
bella-1010321 November 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Absolutely love this programme, I know stuff like this happens and I feel sorry for those that get scammed, can't wait for the next one
4 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
More please Channel 5
lindseyannedouglas23 November 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Sobering tale, said with knowledge of scams like this, and excellent acting from Sally Lindsay and the menacing Dan Skinner. Understand producers had tighter than average budgetary constraints compared to other channels, series performed really well against competition with room left for possible sequel. More like this please Channel 5.
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Drama
karenwilloughby22 December 2019
Entertaining! Doesn't have to be realistic to be good. I really enjoyed it!
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed