British Independent Film Awards

England, UK


  • Created in 1998, these awards set out to celebrate merit and achievement in independently funded british filmmaking, to honour new talent, and to promote british films and filmmaking to a wider public. (from the BIFA web site, 2001)
  • The BIFA trophy was designed by sculptor Aron McCartney in 1998. The design was updated in 2001 by artist Lindsay Henderson of Art for Glass.


British Independent Film Award

Douglas Hickox Award
  • Bequeathment from the estate of acclaimed British director, Douglas Hickox, this award is to be given to the best British director on their debut feature.

Lifetime Achievement Award

Producer of the Year

Raindance Award

Richard Harris Award
  • The award has been inaugurated in recognition of Richard Harris's life work and his legacy.

Special Jury Prize

The Discovery Award

Variety Award

Historical Timeline

  • The new category Best British Feature Documentary is introduced.

Contribute to This Page

Recently Viewed