Logie Awards



  • The Logie Awards were the first awards for achievements in television ever to be given in Australia. There awards are handed out since 1959 and feature viewers as well as peer-voted awards.
  • The Logie Awards are named after Scottish inventor John Logie Baird, a pioneer in the development of television and the first man to demonstrate television successfully.


George Wallace Memorial Logie for Best New Talent

Gold Logie

Graham Kennedy Award for Most Outstanding New Talent

Graham Kennedy Award for Most Outstanding Newcomer

Graham Kennedy Award for Most Popular New Talent

Hall of Fame


Silver Logie
  • The Silver Logie is given in the programming and acting categories.

Special Achievement Award

Special Gold Logie

Historical Timeline

  • No ceremony is held.

  • The ceremony is broadcasted for the first time.

  • The broadcast on Nine Network marks the first time that the ceremony is aired during primetime.

  • A new Silver Logie is introduced for popular TV program.

Contribute to This Page

Recently Viewed