Santa Barbara International Film Festival

Santa Barbara, California, USA


  • The Santa Barbara International Film Festival is a non-profit organization dedicated to showcasing independent American and international films; to nurturing aspiring independent filmmakers and honoring industry luminaries; and to preserving and sustaining cinema as an art form through educational forums. (from the festival's web site, 2000)
  • In 1999 a major reorganization of the festival's award categories took place.


10-10-10 Student Award

ADL Stand Up Award

American Riviera Award

Antioch University Award for Leadership and Change

Artisan Award

Artistic Excellence Award

Attenborough Award

Audience Choice Award

Audience Choice Award - Honorable Mention


Best Animated Short Award

Best Animated Short Award - Honorable Mention

Best Director Award

Best Documentary

Best Documentary Feature Award
  • Predecessor to the Insight Award.

Best Documentary Short Award

Best Feature Film Award

Best Foreign Language Film

Best Independent Award

Best International Feature

Best Live Action Short Award

Best Nordic Feature

Best Santa Barbara Filmmaker

Best Spanish Language Film

Breakthrough Performance of the Year Award

Bruce C. Corwin Award
  • This award is not to mix up with the Bruce C. Corwin Award for Artistic Excellence given up to 1998.

Bruce Corwin Award

Bubbling Under Award

Burning Vision Award

Burning Vision Award - Special Mention

Career Achievement Award

Cinema Nouveau Award

Cinema Vanguard Award

Courage Award

Digital Student Filmmakers Award

Gold Vision Award

Heineken Red Star Award

Honorable Mention

Human Rights Award

Independent Voice Award

Insight Award
  • Successor to the Best Documentary Feature Award.

Judges Award

Jury Award

Kirk Douglas Award for Excellence in Film

Kodak Vision Award

Lumina Award

Marquee Award

Modern Master Award

Montecito Award

Nordic Cinema Competition

Nueva Vision Award

Outstanding Creative Achievement

Outstanding Director of the Year Award

Outstanding Performance Award

Outstanding Performer of the Year Award

Panavision Spirit Award for Independent Cinema

Peter Stark Screenwriting Competition Award

Phoenix Prize

Platinum Award

Ruby Award

Russian Arcs Sidebar

Santa Barbara Award

Social Justice Award

Special Jury Award

Special Jury Prize for Artistic Merit

Special Jury Recognition

The Fujifilm Best Cinematographer Award

The Panavision Spirit Award for Independent Cinema

Valhalla Award

Virtuoso Award

Visionary Award

World Prism Award

Contribute to This Page

Recently Viewed