House of Angels (1992) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
8 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
Quirky Swedish film is a gem
jen_woodside4 March 2002
Colin Nutley's Swedish sleeper, "House of Angels", is a real gem. Set in small town Sweden, it's about a woman who comes from the big city to claim her ancestral home, after the death of her grandfather whom she never met. The townspeople are not welcoming to this city girl. As she pieces together information about her dead mother and grandfather provided by the townspeople, she learns more about herself. The themes of forgiveness and self-knowledge are evident, but not over sentimentalized. The small-mindedness of the Swedish townspeople is captured well by Nutley; anyone who has lived in a small community will recognize some of the characters.

This is a quirky, funny and at times poignant film, crafted by an excellent director and even better actors.
31 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
The No.1 Swedish Ambassador Film
dracopticon11 July 2004
Warning: Spoilers
Why this film hasn't been made into a kind of "Ambassador movie" for Sweden, incorporated into any of the pro-Sweden sites on the web is a mystery. And the irony of it all is that it's made by an Englishman, not a Swede. But, an outside eye sees so much more than that of a native one.

First of all, I want to emphasize the quality of the music score in this movie, as it's the true highlight of the production in good company of a well written story and very nice acting by all participants. One can easily go buy the music (prod. by Björn Isfält) without even seeing this movie, and it'll still mesmerize you in the same way the film does. I've also heard that the actors played without much of a script, instead improvising on a bare-bone story explained by the wonderful director Colin Nutley.

Helena Bergströms character Fanny has that natural bubbling laugh and 24-carat happiness that comes thru so well in this film, nicely contrasted by the calmer, darker side of Zac (Rickard Wolff). They are the eye of the storm of which the revolving happenings spin.

The spinning isn't that of a big-budget action movie, but what a relief when you start to know the characters, as they are immensely more interesting than any gunslinging desperado.

The music, the Swedish summertime and small-time dealings in a village on the countryside is what you need to have a great time. Nothing more, nothing less. I will not give any spoilers as that would ruin the whole setup. See it and maybe you want to come experience the Swedish summer, one of the most enjoyable things in the world.

8 out of 10.
13 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
This is Sweden
UACW3 March 2002
Colin Nutley has a way of finding what truly is Sweden where Swedes themselves would search for such clarity. Fanny and Zak are great characters, come to an isolated village out in the Swedish "landsbygden" and Nutley exposes Sweden through the juxtaposition of two conflicting life styles. There are scenic shots in this movie which make any lover of Sweden sigh with bliss. Those that claim that this is the Englishman's finest movie are probably right - it's a true classic.
16 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Angels over Sweden
jotix10012 July 2010
Warning: Spoilers
We watched this Swedish comedy on cable recently, and while it is not exactly a film that breaks new ground, it is enjoyable as it takes the audience into parts of the country where not too many movies are set. The basic premise is prejudice against intruders that dare to come to a small conservative community acting in a manner the locals are not accustomed to see.

The film is directed by an Englishman, Colin Nutley, who also wrote the screenplay in which it is based. Sometimes outsiders can discover things that most citizens of the land, in which the action is set, would never imagine, and therefore, he can be more objective in his approach to tell a story that is fresh and make it fun to watch.

The vivacious Helena Bergstrom is Fanny Zander, the granddaughter of an old man who did not get to know her at all. Having lived in Berlin and toured with her act all over Europe, she represents an intrusion no one likes. To make things worse, she is now a landowner whose land is coveted by the greedy Axel Flogfalt, whose ambition is to exploit it for his benefit. Along the way, Axel discovers a dark secret he was not ready to face.

Colin Nutley's comedy that will get laughs from the viewer; a welcome change of pace from more serious fare from Sweden.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
a bohemian swedish classic
ops-5253527 June 2019
Aenglagård is me and my wifes all time swedish favourite movie. it tells the story about a woman touring around europe and the u.s. with her boyfriend and their cabaret group, af all kinds and genders. one day she get the message that she has inherited a house far away from the big city in the most rednecked of rednecked sweeds in the most remote southern wilderness of sweden. and here the rumours and gossip starts and develops into the most charming and loveable of loveable dramacomedies.

we've seen this movie and its sequel at least 13 times,always together in the sofa, and everytime the tears flow near the end. its a piece of wizardry thinks the grumpy old man.highly recommended
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A great film with a lot of implied stories never told
rene-petersen6429 December 2013
This trilogy is just beautiful. You have to look between the lines though. There a so many unspoken Things in these three movies about "Englegård" (Farm for angles), that it makes you love it, because it is done in a perfect realistic way.

The first and the third film are the best. The way the actors, act without saying anything is perfect. We see ordinary persons in more or less ordinary situations. Strangers arriving to a small community where everybody is hiding the truth from each other. Hidden stuff that the stranger's some how reveals. Or do they ??

I just Wonder, could there be one more movie in this story ? There are more unspoken Things about Englegård that has not been told...

I love them....

Best regards Rene Petersen
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Ya, das güd movie!
=G=6 December 2002
In "House of Angels", a staid, bucolic Swedish village is all abuzz when a lovely and vivacious young woman comes to town to claim the estate of her late grandfather. A charming, warmhearted, and fun little romp which is not so much a story as it is a study of human nature, the film seems to delight in evincing the community's eccentricities as it reverberates like jiggling Jello with the disruptive influence of its latest resident. "House...." should be an enjoyable watch for more mature viewers, especially females, into foreign flicks and people watching. (B-)
6 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
a bad movie from the start
ahmedturkey18 July 2005
Warning: Spoilers
As a Turkish man now living in Sweden I must confess I often watch Scandinavian movies. Most if them I never understand. I think actors from Scandinavia work best in Hollywood. Last week I watched a film called "The Polish Wedding" together with a polish friend of mine and we both said it was the worst movie we ever watched. Unfortunately I was wrong this movie " House of Angels" is even worse. None of the actors can act, absolutely not the female so called star Helen Bergstrom. The plot is so silly nobody can believe it.I think the whole thing is a mess from the start. lots of bad acting except from Selldal and Wollter. Ahmed Sellam
6 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed