Brüno (2009) Poster

(2009)

User Reviews

Review this title
413 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Underrated and gets an unnecessary amount of hate
jonsefcik27 July 2017
How does Borat have a 7.3 and this only a 5.8? Both movies follow basically the same formula: A crazy, super exaggerated walking stereotype played by Sacha Baron Cohen goes to America, getting involved in wacky antics and meeting some celebrities along the way, often in front of real unsuspecting crowds. Do people hate this movie because its the same formula again? I guess you could argue Borat is a little funnier than Bruno, but even still, its hard to get a laugh out of me and I involuntarily burst out laughing at least 15 or 20 times. Is it because of offensive, overly exaggerated gay stereotypes? I know this movie goes a bit far at points, but come on people, have a sense of humor! Pointing out Americans' ignorance of foreigners with funny accents is OK but doing the same thing with gays is too much? Sure. I often find myself rating movies lower than the average score, but this is a great movie, and I'd easily give it a 7 or 8. I honestly have no idea where the hate for this movie is coming from. Granted, its a HARD R and some of its more extreme content might be a little off putting to some, but come on people, this movie is hilarious!
80 out of 86 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Eccentrically funny
bryanus15 November 2009
As a child of the age of Aquarius, I found myself liking this movie. I thought it was completely hilarious in an unusual way. When Brüno puts himself in various situations (and some dangerous situations), and finds himself speechless; it almost makes you think that Sascha Baron Cohen couldn't possibly come up with any semblance of a clever retort. But exactly at those times is when he wows you with his virtuoso-like skill of improvisation. If I wasn't when I saw Borat, I am now completely convinced that Cohen is a genius. I highly recommend watching the DVD for its alternate, deleted, and extended scenes; and a highly pertinent interview with Brüno's unknowing agent after the fact. I highly recommend this movie, if for his skill at making a story into the various peoples he meets.
36 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Too bold for uptight America
sinkoenator29 February 2012
Granted, the DVD I rented began to skip about halfway through the film and I didn't see the whole movie, I believe that the only reason that this movie doesn't get the same reviews as Borat is because the American audience is too uptight. Yes, the movie is gross and at times cringe-inducing. Some of the more extreme scenes could have been hampered down, but I believe at the expense of the humor. Posters say they have never met anyone like Bruno, however have they ever met anyone like Borat. Neither exist in the real world and that is why the movie works. Cohen is a brilliant improviser and always two steps ahead of his targets. Some of the pranks don't deliver, but that's okay. I admire his audacity. For all the people who say it was too gross, imagine if the film was filled with explicit heterosexual sex, I'm sure the reaction would be much different. The aversion to this movie is primarily because there is a deep seated disgust to homosexual activity within the American psyche and even the most tolerant liberal is likely to be disgusted at some point. That's okay, that is why the movie works, it asks us what it is and why we are appalled.
65 out of 87 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
'Brüno' Shows You How To Become A Star
Chrysanthepop18 August 2010
The comparison between 'Brüno' and 'Borat' seems inevitable and even though 'Borat' tackles some relevant issues and constantly maintains its sense of very crude, offensive, outlandish and macabre humour 'Brüno' does the same but it's more toned down when compared to 'Borat'. Yet, even though the vulgarity is less in frequency when compared to 'Borat' at its crudest, 'Brüno' tops the aforementioned (hint: a swinging penis that talks). Needless to say, the comedic sequences are over the top (which is to be expected in a movie lead by Sacha Baron Cohen) but I found most of it hilarious, even overall funnier than 'Borat'. At the same time the film touches on some relevant issues for example when Brüno visits the gay converters or when he has parents audition for him to take a photograph with his kid. The movie makes fun of them but it also makes viewers aware of the existence of such people. The execution is well done. Even the score is ticklish at times. Overall, it's a hilarious little film but definitely not everyone's cup of coffee.
26 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Underwhelming
RussianPaul17 July 2009
I just saw it and I was a bit let down. I am gay, I love Cohen, and was ready to laugh. But the problem was he didn't expose any under-the-surface bigotry like he did in Borat. He overdid his "gayness" to such a violent extreme that he forced reactions out of people, some of whom are probably plenty openminded. You ended feeling sorry for these people.

Especially Ron Paul, who out of all the politicians Cohen could have chosen, deserved it the least. He's no champion of gay rights, but he is certainly not an enemy either and he reacted like any normal person would in that nightmarish situation. There were also some genuine bigots in the film, but Cohen goes to such an extreme to provoke them, by the time it gets to that point, who cares?

There were funny moments, of course, Cohen is a funny man, but this movie lacks the bite Borat had. This was just an exercise in bad taste (which is fine, if that's what you're looking for).
182 out of 272 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Piero Is A Christian Loser
ytrinhzfd27 December 2019
Well this is not as good as Borat, but it is funny and definitely makes most audience members squirm.

Making people uncomfortable has been Ali G's specialty and he does a great job of it here. In that sense, we laugh at the film and laugh at the audience we know is squirming.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I had prepared myself for this film...
rogue_eagle8 July 2009
I expected there to be a high level of gay and crude sexual jokes in this latest Sacha Baron Cohen adventure. Then the movie took it 2 steps further than anything I had prepared myself for.

The result; a lot of uneasy moments, a lot of uncontrollable laughing, and some putting my hands over my face in disbelief or disgust. The humour in the film is clearly that of in-your-face slapstick, however given the extremes the film goes to, it's all relatively entertaining. Like Borat, all of the genuine laughs are in everyday peoples reactions, rather than the poorly structured story or scripted scenes.

That said, it was a challenge of how much one could handle, and I wouldn't have minded if they had left out a particular full frontal shot of the male anatomy spinning around (an image that will stay with me for some time and probably haunt my dreams). It's not a movie I could really get 'comfortable' with watching, seeing all hell unravel in a variety of situations one after another with very little in the way of breaks, but time did go by relatively quickly, which helps given the intensity of the scenes.

It's not a film for the faint of heart, and definitely has more potential to offend than Borat ever did, though for the more open minded among us who aren't so easily offended, you may find some enjoyment in this film. Humanities finest moments certainly aren't on display here. Go see it with a few mates or drinking buddies and have fun, though you may exit the cinema a little more disturbed than when you went in.
270 out of 430 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Brilliant satire
howard.schumann26 July 2009
Satire has been defined as stretching a position to its logical conclusion in order to expose its absurdity, for example, Jonathan Swift suggesting that the starving Irish should show initiative by fattening up their children and selling them to well-to-do families as food. The brilliant satirist Sacha Baron Cohen in Larry Charles' Bruno takes the story of a Gay Austrian fashionista seeking to become a celebrity in the U.S. and stretches it to its logical conclusion and then extends it - way beyond. It is often hard to tell if the film is an exposé of the debasement of our culture or just another of example of it.

In the film, a sequel to the 2006 mega-hit Borat, Bruno comes to Los Angles to become host of his own A-List Celebrity Max Out after being fired from his job as a TV host of the Austrian show Funkyzeit and being "schwartz-listed". Needless to say, it maxes out after the first viewing thanks to an abortive interview with Paula Abdul and Harrison Ford. Not letting a temporary setback stand in his way, Bruno hires an assistant named Lutz (Gustaf Hammarsten), and travels far and wide in an elusive search for the American Dream known as fame and fortune. In his stunts and misadventures (mostly in the South and Southwest), he exposes the raw prejudices that exist against gays and the sickening cult of celebrity that grips us as a nation.

The funniest scenes are at a swinger's party, on a Dallas talk show, at a gay "deprogramming" session, during a visit to a psychic where Bruno mimes oral sex, and the spectacle of a drunken crowd stirred up by "scared straight" Bruno bashing gays in a fight-club arena. Seeking to become recognized world wide, Bruno travels to the Middle East to try and bring the Arabs and the Israeli's together but confuses Hamas with Hummus and the only thing they can agree on is that it is good with pita bread. In another sequence, he goes to Africa to swap his iPod for a little black child named OJ which he uses to crash American talk shows. Baron Cohen, who wrote the script with Anthony Hines, Dan Mazer and Jeff Schaffer saves his heavy artillery for narrow mindedness of every stripe.

The film ridicules all it comes in contact with, sparing nothing and nobody - from exhibitionist gays to up-tight straights, to families who will starve their children for a modeling gig. Some sequences hit their targets, others do not. If you are looking for good taste, you will not find it here. While satire in film is not supposed to be a comfortable experience and is supposed to make you squirm and even at times hide your eyes, it is not supposed to make you want to walk out.

Bruno travels a thin line between what's merely outlandish and what is revolting and its in your face shamelessness comes awfully close to defeating its own purpose. The fact that the Cambridge-educated Cohen is ultimately able to pull it off, however, and make it entertaining is a tribute to his courage and originality. While Bruno can be shocking and very disturbing, it is also a mirror for us to look at ourselves. Like the est training of the 1970s that was often confrontational, we may not like what we see but we can use it to grow from the experience.
106 out of 163 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Outrageous fun
chicandcheerful22 June 2009
I was lucky enough to win tickets to the premiere and spent the entire movie alternating between HUGE belly laughs and covering my eyes in disbelief. If you didn't like Borat, you are unlikely to enjoy this one either as there is a lot of nudity (including one memorable shot of a talking.... body part), profanity and taking the mickey out of: a) rednecks b) fashionistas c) F-list celebrities (and a few A-listers too; remember, children are not an accessory. Unless they're cute. Or match your outfit.) d) terrorists (yes, really, don't know how Sasha got out of that one alive)

I loved the movie and although some of the scenes worked better than others, for sheer inventiveness, audacity and brilliant ad-lib comedy, Baron Cohen remains at the top of his game.
396 out of 660 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
For those asking how the shock effect of 'Borat' could be topped...
nosiesnetnieuws10 July 2009
Brüno is a gay Austrian fashion reporter impersonated by the man that notoriously starred as Borat in... Borat.

(For those that have seen Borat: you probably know what to expect. If you did not like Borat for the painfully explicit content, stay away from Brüno. If you almost died of laughter during a certain hotel scene in Borat, go see Brüno immediately and prepare for almost certain death.)

Obviously, having made Borat, the producers of Brüno had a hard time to repeat the surprise effect. It should therefore not come as a surprise that the movie contains substantially less confrontations between the main character and innocent (famous) bystanders. Still, confrontations with a number of people, among which a few famous ones, seem sincere, and work on multiple levels, as in Borat. Others are clearly scripted, but not less funny for that (watch the ending credits for an example).

In general, compared to Borat, Brüno focuses more on a) effectively shocking it's viewers with the (sexual) misconduct of the main character and b) stunts of this main character in front of a large audience. Essentially, this time the shock effect is moved from the 'random' people that appear in the movie, to the audience looking at the movie.

For many, it will definitely be more shocking than Borat, given the shamelessly explicit content that exploits every possibility for jokes concerning men making out. For others, the never-ending provoked racism of Borat will have a longer-lasting impact.

All I know is that I laughed a lot during this movie. It will once again lead to lots of controversy and imitation at thousands of workplaces around the globe. Maybe it is therefore best if you know what it is about.

But be warned. If you are easily offended, you will be offended. Majorly.
224 out of 377 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Oh Bruno, Bruno...
marcosaguado11 July 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I laughed until it ached. I was exhausted after the 80 odd minutes were over but didn't stay with me the way that Borat did. Borat was unquestionably fresher - if you can call it that - the horrible surprise was a one off situation. Bruno is a priceless creation but somehow the pranks are already part of the audience's expectation. A talking penis or Ron Paul trapped in a sex film are things we're not about to see anywhere else anytime soon and that's were the power of this new Sacha Baron Cohen shocking, hilarious opus resides. He is an irresistible, shameless, fearless genius. He knows exactly where the corpses are buried and he digs them up in the most unexpected way. The charity girls, the army guys, Paula Abdul sitting on a Mexican worker. Awful and very funny, very funny indeed.
104 out of 175 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
"Borat was so 2006", but is still Sacha Baron Cohen's best work to date. Nevertheless, Brüno is hilarious!
RainDogJr8 November 2009
Warning: Spoilers
In an interview in Sweden the South Park creators, Trey Parker and Matt Stone, are asked about the reactions that their 2004 film Team America had in the United States. They say that most people really liked it but that a section of people that really hated it. It was basically the same that always happens with their stuff, they say that pretty much the section of people that hate their stuff is always sort of changing (in the case of Team America it was the extreme-left, for the most part) but there's always present, which, they add, is good and pretty normal due to the subject matter and basically if every single person likes something they did they would be wondering...and they would be like Shrek!

Obviously the latest Sacha Baron Cohen/Larry Charles production (the film of Cohen's character Brüno, who is a gay Austrian fashion reporter) is not a Shrek. Brüno was released back in July in the US but just last Friday in Mexico City. I don't think here it will be in theaters more than this first week, today I saw it and aside of my familiars and me in the theater were just about 5 other persons. Having seen Borat (for me not only Sacha Baron Cohen's masterwork but also the most hilarious film of the decade so far) I knew exactly what was going to be Brüno then basically if you enjoyed Borat you will have a truly great time watching this, otherwise you will want to do what a couple that was in the theater today did: leave the theater in the middle of the film, or press the stop button and throw away the DVD/Blu-Ray (yes, while here in Mexico it just arrived a couple of days ago its DVD and Blu- Ray release is near).

I don't think I should write a lot about Bruno since it is basically a Borat, still I will add some more words. The first laughs came (I must add that aside of that couple the other few people in the audience laughed as hard as me, which was really really hard!) when nobody was yet in the screen, just the first sounds, the first seconds of the song "Nessaja", you'll know why! Cohen's show starts and, like Roger Ebert pointed out, it "doesn't contain 30 boring seconds". We have of course a plot or well we have Brüno after losing everything he had as a successful fashion reporter (including his lover Diesel; I guess at the part when Brüno drinks champagne and do other stuff with Diesel some were and will be like "that's enough, f*** this movie". I don't think the runtime marks more than 10 minutes when that part happens!), now he will go to the land of opportunities and will try to become a very famous star, "the biggest Austrian superstar since Hitler" to be exact. Many great dialog like that one and of course all those reactions of the people that meet Brüno during his journey to become a star ("there's a lot of African Americans in Africa!" "No! There's a lot of Africans in Africa!" "That's racist!"). And he tries many things during that journey: to become an actor (he has to be the most active then annoying extra ever!), an interviewer of Hollywood celebrities (Harrison Ford is here, yet...) for his own TV show (the pilot is "worse than cancer" for its audience and well, just extremely f****** gay and hilarious!), the protagonist of a sex tape (poor Ron Paul!), involved in the charity work (what's in?, asks Brüno to the experts and hell, these experts, Nicole and Suzanne DeFosset, take the cake as the dumbest and most hilarious "guests" in the film! Still those parents of the child photo models are quite up there!) and some other things.

All of that sounds quite hilarious, right? Well, the film gets funnier when Brüno tries to become straight (since stars like Cruise, Travolta and Spacey are straight!). Is greatly structured with Brüno talking with Christian converters and in between doing the activities like hunting and learning to fight against dildos (!). Enough, I just add that Brüno is definitely one of my favourites of the year.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Watch the trailers, then stay at home
demeyer-113 July 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I watched the trailers and thought they were incredibly funny. But packed into those few minutes you will find all the best scenes from the film, and there's very little worth watching in the remainder.

So yes, the film is shocking and pushes the boundaries (again) quite a bit further. And yes, it ridicules our society's obsession with celebrity status. But that in itself isn't enough to make it a good film. Bad acting and a terrible story line remain bad acting and a terrible storyline, even if it has been done on purpose (of which I am not even certain). In any case, it gives the film the doubtful qualities of a cheap 70s porn film.

So what about the humour? Baron-Cohen has always looked for comedy in breaking the boundaries of social convention, and with Ali G and Borat that was often to great comic effect. But not so much in Bruno: cheap shock effect and trying to heap even more embarrassment on his victims appear to have been the main recipes of the film. It doesn't even work anymore: he's now so ridiculous that everyone storms out within the first minute. Porn scenes with a pygmy flight attendant, overacted dancing, a swinging penis (didn't we see that in EuroTrash yeeeears ago?), lowering your trousers in front of a US presidential candidate... it may be funny to some, to me it just stinks.

By the time it came to scenes that *could* have been funny (like the day-time television talk show) - I had properly tuned out, and much of its potential fun was lost on me.

My advice: watch the trailers, laugh your head off, then just be happy with the idea of a brilliant film that could have been, but wasn't made. If you do go, be prepared for disappointment, lots of cringing and the hohoho-type nervous laughter of embarrassment.
158 out of 279 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
No one is spared...NO ONE
raycja8912 July 2009
This outdid Borat by a landslide. Quite possibly the funniest movie I've seen since...well, Borat! The comedy is grosser, the nudity is MORE GRAPHIC. I went in expecting the unexpected and I gotta tell you guys, the whole thing was unexpected (with of course the exception of the scenes shown in the trailers), Bruno had me laughing non-stop from beginning to end. I had to look away a few times because it got a little over the top even for me.

Go in to this expecting what you saw in Borat...just think of it as, the GAY Borat.

Worth a check if you're into gross out humor and lots of gay jokes.

Enjoy!
19 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Humor that hurts
Smells_Like_Cheese13 July 2009
Warning: Spoilers
Now I want to get one thing straight, I really wanted to love this movie, Sacha Baron Cohen is a consistently funny and shocking comedian that takes the most absurd characters putting them into situations that not only make people uncomfortable but react in a way that makes you laugh so hard that it makes your stomach hurt. After seeing the trailer for Brüno, I don't think I even need to say this, everyone wanted to see where Sacha would go after Borat and Brüno looked like an incredibly funny movie. I consider myself a liberal person, I don't mind the "shock" humor of today, but my problem with this movie is that it's hurting more than harmless humor. I have a few homosexual friends who are struggling to be taken seriously in life and this movie is honestly setting them back. My thing is that if Sacha had a message in the film vs. just mocking not just a country but other people, the film would have worked a lot better.

Gay Austrian fashion reporter Brüno is fired from his show after disrupting a catwalk show during Fashion week. Accompanied by his assistant's assistant Lutz, he travels to the United States to become a superstar. After a pilot of a celebrity interview show bombs with a test audience, he attempts to become famous via various other methods. In an attempt to create a sex tape, he arranges an interview with Ron Paul, and while the two wait for a staged technical problem to be fixed, Brüno starts hitting on Paul. He consults PR consultants to select a world problem he can tackle to maximize his fame with a minimum of effort. He flies to Jerusalem where he interviews former Mossad agent Yossi Alpher and Palestinian politician Ghassan Khatib in which Brüno asks silly questions and gets kicked out of the country. On a TV talk show hosted by Richard Bey, he shows the African American audience a Black baby named O.J., whom he acquired in Africa by swapping him for an iPod. The audience is appalled. Social Services take the boy away from Brüno, driving him into severe depression. After realizing that the biggest names in Hollywood are straight, Brüno consults two Christian gay converters to become heterosexual.

Brüno is Borat with a different character, it seems like Sacha is just relying on shock over actual humor now. Although I'm actually curious what the unrated DVD is going to look like because this might as well have been a porno. For God's sake they have a scene that Brüno goes to a swinger's party and there is just full frontal, back, side, everything you can imagine in a porno is in this scene. Not to mention there's a sex scene in the beginning with Brüno and his boyfriend that is just plain disturbing that involves a bike connected to a dildo that pleasures Brüno while his boyfriend exercises and it's a bit much for most to handle. Then Brüno speaks to a "gay converter" to become straight that was just over the top offensive not just from Brüno's lines but also the leader of this group who clearly is hiding behind God's skirt. Now if this is your kind of humor, honestly, I'm not sure if I'd want to know you because this is the humor that is more stupid and hurts people vs. just having fun. I wouldn't really recommend for people to run out and watch this trash, I hate to say it, Brüno was too offensive and that's saying a lot from me considering that I thought Borat was hilarious.

2/10
115 out of 212 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Loved Borat, Hated Bruno
chucknorrisfacts18 July 2009
Warning: Spoilers
In 2006, I went to see a movie called "Borat" and found myself completely caught off guard for the hilarity that ensued. I thought it was easily one of the funniest movies I had ever seen, and I still think that.

However, it left high expectations for whatever Sacha Baron Cohen would do next. When I first learned of the premise of "Bruno" I thought the concept was likely to be very humorous, but I was surprised when it wasn't.

Amongst theatergoers (myself included) there was only scattered, uncomfortable laughter. Not like "Borat", where the audience was practically in stitches the whole time.

The plot was pretty thin. In fact, I'd say they just threw something together to hang the "gags" on. I was left supremely disappointed, and won't be recommending "Bruno" to anyone.

Skip it!
74 out of 133 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
You won't catch Brüno with his pants down
paul-355515 July 2009
Sacha Baron Cohen must be one of the bravest men in comedy today. To openly taunt terrorists, violent homophobes and right-wing religious zealots must require a pretty solid backbone. Despite the danger he seemed to put himself in quite regularly, he didn't visibly flinch or hold back once.

I was a little wary of the film at first, in case it turned out to be cruel - but it wasn't as uncomfortable as I'd imagined it would be - really, most of the people who get savaged by Brüno are either thoroughly deserving, or handle themselves well. Much of the comedy results from the astonished/horrified reactions of his 'victims'.

Some scenes are clearly staged - including a notable scene with a 'swinger' and her belt - but this is made pretty obvious, and I see no reason to believe that any of the important set-pieces were anything other than genuine.

Brüno is hilarious, and if, like me, you are a doubter, then I can only suggest you try it for yourself. You are unlikely to be disappointed.
80 out of 147 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Better than Borat
simonparker19901 July 2009
I got free tickets to an exclusive screening of Bruno last night, I went in expecting to find it funny, but the memories of Borat, and the catchphrases that haunted me months after the movie came out still lingered. Yes I loved Borat on first viewing, yes it was shocking, it was original, but it was brilliant. Sadly it became way, way too popular, and sadly the joke wore very thin by the millionth time I had heard many of the lines from the film. When Bruno was first announced I had no interest in the film. The character was good, but in my opinion also very one note and lacking the comedic potential that Borat had. Yet I can safely say after watching it, that it is by far one of the funniest movies in ages, narrowly just above The Hangover I would say. Bruno is a hugely risky comedy, and will offend many people. Yet it doesn't seem as offencive as Borat, and as a result possibly funnier. This isn't to say Bruno is tame, far from it. A scene with a talking penis more than sees to that (also the funniest scene I have seen in many a year). But credit has to go to Sacha Baron Cohen, is really is the modern day Peter Sellers. Like Sellers he has perfect comedic timing, has a vast array of characters to play with, and truly seems to inhabit his roles. At no point in this movie did I question that Bruno didn't exist, thats how brilliantly he plays the role. Sure Bruno may grate to some viewers, but he is actually a decent character. The short run time, while questionably too short (possibly the missing Latoya Jackson interview might have made up for this), makes sure the film never outstays its welcome.

Cohen truly is perfect in the movie, and also a very incredibly brave man. While I question whether some scene weren't actually staged, the man does seem to put himself in very risky situations. An interview with a terrorist being frighteningly realistic, and the crowds reaction at the end basically coming across that he could be murdered at any second. But the key to this type of humour is the public's reactions, and some members react absolutely brilliantly. The most horrifying and shocking for me being an interview with parents who want their children in show business. What they are willing to do is absolutely horrifying. I question Paula Abdul's interview not being staged, but it is funny all the same. Bruno's assistant, Lutz, played by Gustaf Hammarsten, is amusing though not as great as Borat's manager. The pair do have some great scene, especially when they're locked together in a rather sexual way, that is pretty damned funny.

Bruno will either drive you into hysterics, as it did me and everyone in the audience. Or will horrify and shock you, yet as I just said it didn't appear to do so in my audience, in fact unlike Borat (where at least 10 people walked), nobody left Bruno at all. The comedy is brilliant, and while it is shocking you cannot help but laugh. It balances wincing with embarrassment with shock humour to perfection. It's an incredibly funny movie with so many memorable lines (that possibly I may hate in a month because of the movies inevitable popularity), and scenes that are just hilarious. My only gripe with it is the length I guess, which is both a blessing and a curse for the movie. It just seems lacking a bit more, ten/fifteen more minutes would have been perfect in my mines just to make the movie flow that bit better. But when a movie is this funny, how can you really criticise it for not falling into many comedies traps? Just running on far too long, yes 40 Year Old Virgin as much as I love you I am looking at you.

Overall Bruno is a must see of this summer, which so far seems to be lacking in many quality movies. Anyway if you want a short, sharp, shock, but a funny shock, of a movie then Bruno is definitely for you. Just don't go with your parents!
229 out of 451 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hilariöus...Ovër Thë Töp...Sööö Brüno !
derinquizitor7 July 2009
I just saw Brüno, and was not disappointed ! Sacha Baron Cohen delivers what he does best as he tricks people into believing his character is a real person. Brüno is dumb, annoying, shocking, and he exaggerates to points probably not closely reached in Borat.

Clearly, if you loved or simply enjoyed the humor of Borat, chances are great that some scenes will get you close to die laughing. While the storyline is thinner than in Borat (which hadn't the biggest scenario in movie history), it's enough to attach scenes after scenes(interviews or sketches) to it and create laughs after laughs.

Hilarious is the word which defines the best Brüno, and this movie deserved the clapping that the audience gave it at the end.

To sum it up, Cohen ends his character trilogy, and sends Brüno to retirement with a BÏG B Ä N G !
81 out of 156 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Stupid
pptartsrgud17 July 2009
Warning: Spoilers
I saw this movie the first day it came out. It was terrible. The trailers show all the funny parts. The Swingers Club was terrifying. I don't know how people thought this was funny. Half the theater left before the movie was over. Yeah, Sacha pushed the boundary farther than Borat, but this movie was the most disgusting thing I have ever seen. Bruno should be taken out of the theaters and be X rated.

I felt like the guy who shot himself during the Watchmen. The sex scenes were mortifiying. The racial and religious slurs were horrible. I was actually offended by it. References to Hitler were also distasteful.

As previously stated, the only funny parts are shown on the trailers. The rest of the movie was very, very boring.

If I were homosexual, I'd be offended by this crappy movie.
69 out of 137 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Be Warned!
Cecil-B11 July 2009
Warning: Spoilers
It's hard to imagine "spoiling" a film like Bruno: there's really no story, and the jokes are all about how they're executed, so whatever you've heard in advance surely won't ruin your fun. I mean, telling you that in one scene Bruno is undergoing "anal bleaching" while talking to his agent in Hollywood will subtract nothing from the shock and possible hilarity of what you're going to see on screen.

No, there's no way anything outside of the film can ruin it. The problem lies entirely within its frames. Think of Limburger Cheese. That pungent flavor and stunning odor are its normal properties. And few people choose to eat it.

When my wife and I saw it yesterday our reaction was "mixed" to say the least. I found myself alternately cringing and laughing; my wife alternately cringed and asked me if I was ready to leave yet. For me, the film's flaws were not so serious that I felt that if I ate one more piece of it I'd refund my popcorn, but my wife's gag reflex was stronger, and so we left the theater before the film ended.

For us the most offensive aspects of Bruno did not involve the over-generous displays of backsides and genitalia. Even when Bruno's sizable penis got blown up to an on-screen size of about 3 to 4 feet, our only comment was that we were glad that the movie was not photographed in 3D.

But the conceit of the film is that our society's hypocritical preoccupations with celebrity and other-people's sexuality make many of us fair game for gotcha exposure. "Look at these fools who'll do anything to get themselves or their kids on camera!" "And look at these benighted dolts--both the bible-thumping red-necks from the rural South and the pseudo-sophisticates in the coastal big cities; don't they deserve to have a big man-butt wagged in their faces so we can laugh at them when they get mad?" Those are the questions Bruno poses. His lack of cleverness actually made me feel sympathy for people who usually burn me up. I'm no Ron Paul fan. I find his brand of Libertarian-Republicanism to be far too conservative, frankly. But Bruno's vulgar mock interview with him seemed undeserved. Dr. Paul is a decent, pretty broad-minded fellow. Bruno came off looking like an ignorant fool.

Similarly, his excruciating farcical peace-making session with an Israeli hard-liner and a representative of Hamas did nothing to point out the shortcomings of the two intransigent enemies. If it did anything it made me feel sorry for two aging politicians whose jobs require spending endless hours in boring, frustrating, fruitless meetings. Mr. Baron-Cohen seems to believe that by adding a few hours of mortification to their lives he is somehow adding something to someone's understanding of the slaughter-factory known as the Middle East.

The people responsible for this film are very talented. I have enjoyed some of their other efforts. In spite of the amount of derrière shown in this movie it struck me as half-assed. You can do better, guys. Use some of that other big organ you've got, Sascha, your BRAIN!
31 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Don't listen to the hate, want a good time? Go watch Bruno.
guiarRK7 July 2009
So I was able to attend an early screening tonight here in Houston, and it seems Bruno is touching some buttons here in America, I understand. Yes Bruno is a flaming stereotype of homosexuals but didn't Borat do the same thing? Cohen ran throughout America depicting Americans in uncomfortably stereotypical situations.

If you loved Borat you will undoubtedly enjoy Bruno. It follows the same genuine formula found in Cohen's previous film, be as outrageous as possible with some slight classiness/taste and the austrian is exceptionally well at it.

I really don't want to spoil anything for yall since the commercials/trailers have shown a lot but Bruno offers everything a great comedy can offer to you which in total means a great night at the movies.

The only cons I can think of are some jokes fall flat but the great ones easily overshadow the bad ones.

If you're easily offended by blatant nudity and controversial topics steer clear of Bruno but if you're open minded and ready to have an amazing night at the movies, I would buy your ticket for opening night ASAP.

9/10
28 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
FANTASTICALLY Funny Movie!
beccy_babe_842 July 2009
I was one of the lucky ones who got the extreme pleasure of viewing this movie at the beginning of the week in Brisbane. I haven't been able to tell people the funny parts in the movie, as I feel it will ruin it for them (but have highly recommended the flick to them to watch ASAP so we can laugh at all the funny moments together).

I felt it started off a tad bit slow (and was missing the Borat-type humour!) but it picked up and it never fell! I wont ruin any of the funny moments for anyone out there, but just thought I would express my absolute happiness for the movie, and once it has officially bee released, we can all laugh at the 'many many' funny moments throughout the flick! I give this movie easily 8 out of 10! VUSSUP!
32 out of 61 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Some laughs- A LOT of shock
main-3811 July 2009
I remember pretending to go to sleep some nights and then waiting for my parents to go to bed. After the coast was clear I would sneak downstairs and watch HBO. One of my favorite shows, besides 'Real Sex', was 'Da Ali G Show'. I still try and catch it whenever its on now and it still is classic and timeless.

I had no idea how they were going to pull it off but I saw 'Borat' in its opening weekend and I, along with the rest of the audience, laughed from start to finish. Borat was pretty close to perfect and definitely engaging and re-watchable. It was fresh and it was nice to see a movie that did not have a tired, recycled plot.

It is hard to watch 'Bruno' without making comparisons to Bruno's first carnation on 'Da Ali G Show'. I was expecting something along the lines of Borat. I went into this film with the same hopes and expectations of 'Borat' and honestly the magic just was not there.

The beauty of 'Borat' was in the reactions of the people interviewed. People were intolerant, racist and sexist. 'Borat' was a complete study of American ignorance and a great sociological experiment.

There was ample opportunity for Cohen to capture this feeling again. Homophobia is a big issue today and I was really hoping to see some kind of exploration into the subject.

It was there but not in the way I expected. It felt, to me at least, that Bruno was there to simply make everyone around him uncomfortable. This was funny the first time but it got a little stale. It would have been nice to see more in terms of intolerance.

I also expected more in terms of parodying the shallowness and unpractical nature of the fashion industry. There were plenty of opportunities to take stabs at fashion but this was only done in the beginning.

Without giving anything away there is a lot of shock and a great scene with Harrison Ford- but other than that it just seemed kind of under enthusiastic. I expected a lot more.
25 out of 48 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
While 'Borat' had actual substance, 'Bruno' is cheap, shock humor.
DashTheGreat11 July 2009
Fans of "Da Ali G" show will find Bruno to be a familiar character, but 'Bruno' lacks the element that made it funny on Da Ali G show. Instead of Bruno's gayness being implied, the whole movie consists of penis after penis, and ass after ass being flashed in front of the audience, to the point of being nauseating. This movie is 5% of the type of humor that made Borat funny, and 95% shock humor. 'Bruno' had many funny scenes, such as scenes with Paula Abdul, and Ron Paul. On the other hand, scenes such as those at the "Swingers Club" played out like some sick porno movie and were barely tolerable to completely intolerable. I don't know why they bothered, as almost everybody in the theatre was turning away from the nauseating scenes playing out before them. Similar to Borat, Bruno takes on bigoted rednecks and the overly religious. The setttings are also more diverse than that of Borat, making the first half of this film more interesting. On the otherhand, the last half of this film borders being unwatchable because of the nudity. A less funny, more disgusting version of Borat, basically.

4.5/10
46 out of 96 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed