Shtisel (TV Series 2013– ) Poster

(2013– )

User Reviews

Review this title
68 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
First review
sufadufa31 December 2016
Shtisel is a par above the best television and most cinema produced in Israel. My copious consumption of TV and film notwithstanding, I have never reviewed, but was compelled to when discovering the stunning absence of commentary for this stunning work of art.

In a hyper digitized culture this show is reactionary to say the least. It returns to the origin of the medium of moving pictures, storytelling. Beautiful, delicate, morally challenging and consistently human stories.

Technically the show is artful and precise, with a seemingly authentic, almost anthropological portrayal of a society that is generally inaccessible. Drama seems to arise slowly, patiently, through competent composition of scenes, performances that posses each character flawlessly, and again, stories that speak to the heart of who we are and how we relate to each other. Perhaps it takes a society that has not been swept by time as much as most, to demonstrate a few timeless truths that we can all relate to.

We live in the golden age of quality television, no doubt. But I can count on one hand the number of shows that humbly rely on the basics: acting and story. No FX, no cynicism, no melodrama. If you enjoy Detectorists, this'll probably be up your alley.
103 out of 105 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Family life and subtle sense of humour
LucyBonette4 January 2019
This is about a orthodox Jewish family. I am not Jewish and I don't know much about it, so it's interesting to see certain customs.

While it's a very different life from mine, it's so relatable! Family dynamics are just the same everywhere. They are real people that with all the feelings of pride, hurt and sibling rivalry. And there is such great humour in this show as well. I sometimes rewind scenes just to look at facial expressions of all involved, because the actors are great. All of them. The patriarch and youngest son are also played so well. Highly recommend, though it's clearly for a niche audience.
62 out of 63 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A real gem
radelman-6881923 January 2017
Without exception, everyone I know who has been introduced to this series is hooked almost immediately. It is beautifully written and acted and gives us a rare look at an Orthodox Israeli family that nevertheless must deal with universal problems, contradictions and consequences. The English subtitles do not distract from the show's dramatic impact or the actors' nuanced performances. Orthodox Jewish viewers will undoubtedly have a better understanding of the material; there are subtleties that can be appreciated only by those familiar with the lifestyle. But that should not preclude others from giving this show the opportunity it deserves. There appear to be conflicting reports concerning the production of Season 3. Hopefully we have not seen the last of this terrific series.
109 out of 113 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fantastic, best thing on Netflix at the moment in Australia if you like people dramas
zippo816 January 2019
This show is just so special, beautifully drawn, written & presented, I loved all the characters, the opening credits, the unpretentious un self conscious feel of it and how the many aspects of personality/ behaviour around grief loss deception yearning etc is portrayed. Highly recommended. It's a shame so many people will be binging on exploitative muck like YOU and missing this wonderful heart and soul contribution. Thanks to all involved.
43 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Wonderful story!!
prd-555781 January 2019
Well at last I have found a program that I absolutely love. Grandma makes me laugh out loud, she is a real character. I am learning about this different culture and find it so interesting. So here it is 2019 and I have only just found it!! I think the actors are all superb! I wish it was more than just two series. Well done to all concerned. A really great and intelligent story.
53 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Deliciously different
janewarren212 January 2019
I started watching this by accident, and was hooked. It is so sweetly different and well worth a binge session. The characters were well written and not like the two dimensional ones in some dramas. I don't know anything about the Haredi community but this web of very human stories made me laugh out loud, brought me close to tears and left me wanting more.
37 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Love this film so much
mal-863452 January 2019
I am totally hooked on this and am sad that there is no 3rd series. It's amazing and the actors are fantastic. I especially love the girl Ruhami she's a brilliant actress. Please bring it back.
52 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
One of the BEST series on Netflix
rvfrost29 January 2019
I cannot describe how much I enjoyed watching this series. The pace is perfect, the quality and strength of characters is second to none. I have totally fallen love with all of them particularly Shtisel and his Father. Shtisel senior is a fantastic actor, his energy is magical and his mannerisms are amazing. I have learnt so much about the Orthodox Jewish community, it has been so enjoyable and interesting. PLEASE bring out series 3. I not am not sure why this series has appealed to me and touched my heart so much but it has. I am a huge fan of World Cinema and this is a unique and original peice of work.
35 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The best TV I've ever seen. No- the best visual story I have seen in 70 years.
wallyhawn1 May 2019
There is no 'blowing up and cussing' as the cliche goes. Nothing, absolutely nothing spectacular until you watch it. These seem to be real people in real life situations that relate to life as it is lived. Beautifully presented videography, superbly written scenarios and acting- the acting!
22 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Well worth to watch
manugw31 December 2018
Totally addictive, great character developments. Intense dramas with an omnipresent fine touch. Welcome to an approach to the life of an ultraorthodox Jewish family of Jerusalem.
21 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Stunning
edhewetson7 March 2019
I've just watched series 1 and 2. Shtisel is outstanding. I've rarely watched anything so gripping and moving. This is as good as TV gets.
13 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A liberal American Jew is totally smitten!
jfpastor14 January 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I've just finished watching the entire two seasons of Shtisel. I was totally engaged from the beginning and wanted to know all about the characters and their stories. I confess to having been a binge watcher. As a liberal but committed American Jew, I really liked the opportunity to become more familiar with the ultra orthodox community and can better understand how they live their lives. I can't wait to see what's next with Libbe and Kive and Ruchami and her husband. The acting is also superb.
25 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
maybe the best TV series in the history of TV
elizabethbrooks-455363 February 2019
This came up on the Netflix portal and I avoided it, as being probably all about religion and patriarchy and just ... heavy. Something in the face of the actors Doval'e Glickman - then something in the face of Michael Aloni - (Shtisel father and son, and we never really know who we love more and who is our main character) - jumped out from the publicity images. I'm not Jewish and have always been a bit scared of orthodox anything. The story is really elemental and could take place at any time. It takes its time to explore the impact of seismic struggles between parents and children and husbands and wives, the kinds of struggles - that can forge your character or wreck your life - that many of us are doomed to go through. But these people more so because God can called on by both sides to bolster their arguments. And there is much love in it, even when the characters are treating each other brutally. There is also playfulness and urbanity and some magic. It takes place in Israel but because the ultraorthodox don't approve of the society they live in ('those evil people' they call the Zionists), you can set aside your personal views about the political situation. The cast is incredibly well chosen for their roles, all very distinctive and lovable, even the bad characters; the acting is very fine; the pace is perfectly judged and the writing never intrudes; the locations are authentic-seeming; and the whole structure has the weight and momentum of myth, more truth than a true story and more treasurable and satisfying than anything else I can think of in any artform over the past decade or so. Thank you to all who collaborated and created this series - if you never did anything again in your life, you can be content you have reached a level of beauty that may not have previously been achieved in television.
50 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Haredi life at its best
true-vips29 December 2018
It is unbelievably good how the director could put life and emotion together to show the haredi's life.

Passion, love, intrigues and some thrilling emotion make this TV Show iconic.

Don't miss it.
21 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Re: review above
ilanaseagull10 March 2019
The Jews depicted are not Chasidic as one reviewer pointed out. They are Charedi.

I find much joy watching this show as a traditional/spiritual Jew with orthodox connections. There's a lot of love, personal strife, (dark) comedy.
12 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Beautiful. Very well done.
morris-822847 February 2019
Funny and sad. Real. Excellent acting and directing.
12 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A 10 Plus
jannrudd1 February 2019
Wonderful series. Can't recommend it highly enough. Great writing, awesome actors. My only criticism is the series stopped after only 2 seasons. I want more!
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Superb in every respect
PeterHerrmann15 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
... acting, writing, directing, casting, cinematography, etc. It starts slow ... first time I tried watching I gave up before the end of Episode 1. But user reviews persuaded me to give it another go. Glad I did. One could write a doctoral dissertation on the many themes of this series: family relationships, orthodoxy vs the individual, how some characters who are like-able (extremely so) do cruel, unthinking things to their kin - for what they think are the best intentions. How intelligent people can do stupid things, etc. I just finished the episode in Season 2 in which - for a truly magical -and sad - few seconds - Kive, on a bus in Jerusalem, looks out the window and sees the snow falling in Antwerp. (The context is clear if you've watched the series, otherwise not). The series is just full of such brilliant little touches. I'm a secular American jew who has never understood the orthodox world; perhaps this series helps me understand better. Perhaps the opposite, if it distorts that world - I have no framework of reference. Or, perhaps like all cultures, it's too big and varied to encapsulate with just one extended family (the Shtisels). It's a refreshing change from many series: no violence, warm, entertaining, sometimes infuriating, sometimes LOL funny. Just great.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
-Outstanding TV drama Shtisel-
humbrey_vilas13 July 2019
This is the first time I am watching a Israeli TV show on Netflix. Wonderful ! after a long time you get hooked to a TV serial like this.As if you never wanted it to end. But all good things come to a end. Nukhem & Ruchami stood out as my - the two most endearing performances.- Esp Nukhem he was a such a natural. The vast exposure to the culture, food,religion ,relationships transports you into their world.

All others too, played their part so well that you cannot forget them.

This serial has made me realise that countries are different but the people in them are the same.Those conflicts, those doubts & most of all struggles in relationships. The act of forgiveness in the serial says a lot.

Shtisel has made me feel that I must visit Israel.Just have to go there! Brilliant story telling.
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Excellent drama
esther-turan26 May 2017
Warning: Spoilers
Shtisel is a great way to get a glimpse into an otherwise close community. Seeing it from the perspective of a young man with his needs and desires is a great way to relate to what typically we consider too conservative and distant. The dialogues are interesting and reliable and the performance by most actors is excellent. The locations chosen are authentic.

Great to watch.
14 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fascinating insight into a totally different world
mandygaziel29 January 2019
I really am enjoying this interesting series. It opens a window into a completely different world, but one that is so familiar. The series is extremely well acted with no pretentious melodrama. I enjoy the authenticity of the small winding Jerusalem streets, the modesty of the characters and the plain truths of the dramas being acted out. Well worth watching.
9 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Israeli family saga studies tension between authority and compassion
maurice_yacowar11 April 2019
Warning: Spoilers
As this TV drama was the most compelling and detailed since The Sopranos, I gave it the same kind of episode by episode analysis that I gave The Sopranos about 20 years ago (The Sopranos on the Couch, published by Continuum). My new study is Reading Shtisel.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best tv show in years
sassakorman20 March 2019
Amazing screenplay. Amazing actors. Amazing direction. It was a privilege to go deep into the shtisel family dramas and issues. Please, tell me that there's another season for all of us!
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Very enjoyable insight into another world
whitfieldgeoff11 January 2019
I've really been enjoying this series. It's a fascinating look into another world, with sympathetic views of the orthodox world in Jerusalem.

Seeing these people in what appears to be a very strange way of dressing makes it appear that they are an entire world away. But this shows people who live in a very similar way to ourselves, and breaks down barriers between the "us" and "them". Rather than being a world away, they become real people, with just some customs different to what I'm used to.

I gather that they aren't ultra orthodox, in that many aspects of modern technology are acceptable, perhaps with some limits.

Not being familiar with Hebrew or Yiddish, I was surprised to hear some Germanic words. I found it worth while to read up on the use of the two languages in the series.

A minor niggle - some subtitles carried the original word which I wasn't familiar with, words which may have been familiar to Israeli viewers. I thought that Kotel was a hotel until I looked it up to find it meant something quite different (the Western Wall).
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Superb acting; intriguing, inspiring, and occasionally frustrating plot/characters
MzKarizzma6 May 2020
This compelling family drama is terrific on many levels. It gives the viewer a close-to-authentic, inside look at the good, the bad, the ugly, and the inspiring relationships within this mostly insular community. I was hooked from the beginning and fell in love with certain characters. The acting is fantastic - I laughed, I cried, I "kvelled." If I could, I'd give the series 10 stars for acting and 6 for consistency and plotting. Why? Because some of the main characters behaved so erratically that I didn't know from one episode to the next (or even within the same episode) if they were Dr. Jekyll or Mr./Ms. Hyde. And I was disconcerted by several plot holes and contrived plot twists, including implied dramatic scenes that occurred *between episodes* (i.e., the build-up to the event happened at the end of one episode and the consequences were shown - or sometimes totally ignored - in the next). I wanted to see these scenes! Despite my occasional frustration, I enjoyed this glimpse into the world of the Shtisels and hope another season gets produced at some point. Note: I came to this series after watching Unorthodox and being "wowed" by Shira Haas' performance. While she has much less screen-time here and is four or five years younger, her acting is every bit as powerful as it was in Unorthodox.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed