Death Stranding (Video Game 2019) Poster

(2019 Video Game)

User Reviews

Review this title
52 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
A slow burning masterpiece.
shivamghe9 November 2019
Death Stranding excels in more ways than one, while also being too obnoxious and repetitive at times. Particularly the gameplay. The loop at a certain point will become extremely annoying, you'll be praying for a perhaps future patched in fast travel system. But then again, walking through a scenic landscape while planning out your route and cargo, with Low Roar playing in the background is something else. There is so much fun to be had here. The first 20 or so hours for me were addicting. I was hooked to the cinematics and the wonderful gameplay dynamic. Always at awe looking at the world from atop a mountain. The visuals never got old. Add to that the walking mechanics themselves are so very well done. Balancing system to most might seem useless, but it adds a whole new dimension of tension into the game. You'll be constantly scanning areas and judging if you can make that leap or climb that slope. If you can cross that stream or just walk a few more meters to your nearest propped ladder or opening. While your bike climb that? Can your truck vroom over that rock. So many things to do with this simple gameplay loop, that it becomes engrossing aswell as addicting.

It's a shame to see 0-1/10 reviews by other people. A 0 or 1, heck anything below a 5 signifies an incomplete, absolutely broken and unplayable product, which Death Stranding is not. That title belongs to road of redemption or big rigs.

This might be the most polished game on the planet. There is so much fun to have here.

The narrative is intriguing and compelling. Be it a little convoluted, but its coherent nonetheless. If you keep up with the emails, the story unfolds pretty well without any hiccups. I have seen people ask questions about the story thatve already been answered via the main story and most through the emails. They explain terminologies for most words. So be sure to check your archives when you have the time.

Overall. GOTY 2019. Even after finishing the game, I want to go back to that beautiful world. Those fantastic characters, BB (special attachment I can never forget).

In a weeks time, the empty world will be populated with player built structures. So you can expect the tedious gameplay loop to become far less tedious.
105 out of 127 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Game of 2019
mitog8 November 2019
Death stranding is a creative game with great actors and a great story. I love the gameplay it's different from other games these days. It's beautiful to look at the landscape of the world. It's unlike anything you played before.
76 out of 98 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
What a game
julesverne-725719 November 2019
I'm playing video games since the 80s, grew up with sonic, played super mario 64 like crazy and was hooked with my first PlayStation and the first Tomb Raider, Resident Evil and Silent Hill. Video games, like music and movies, have always been an important part in my life. But with almost everything in life nothing lasts forever, and years ago I reached a point where nothing felt worth it anymore to play. It's not that I didn't feel the urge to play, but there was nothing satisfying out there. And then came Dark Souls and Bloodborne. It was all I've ever wanted but never could have imagined such a concept and gameplay. Well, with death stranding I'm feeling very much like when I discovered the soulsborne games. It's just one step ahead in every matter. Of course the graphics are pretty awesome, but what really flashed me was the gameplay. In all those years I've never got anything even close to that experience. It's only my opinion, but this game has next level mechanics, incredibly precise, you just feel every step and move. That's why it's so entertaining to just get with your cargo through an area and you piss yourself when the BTs or Mules are coming. Because it's not just running away like in every other game. It's like running away irl, where you have to consider every obstacle. It's goosebumps when the enemy is literally flying above you and you have to press R1 to hold your breath, move slowly forwards but consider the balance of your cargo, take care of your BB and think where is a good point to inhale again. And please quick, because the TimeFall is ruining your equipment. There is no other game like this.
51 out of 68 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Don't quit, the game does some things that basically filters the quitters out very fast. Stick with it, you'll see why.
ioio32l13 November 2019
At first you'll think this game is boring. But hold tight. Keep at it, you'll soon leave the tutorial area and move on after a boss fight or boss escape. You'll be glad you kept at it when you reach Episode 8. TRUST ME, DO NOT QUIT, everything starts making sense and you will suddenly have everything hit you all at once, and you will thank me and anyone else that told you not to give up. When the credits roll and you set the controller down, enjoy the music, you just beat the best game of all time. You will be emotional during the end. You will be proud of yourself! I'll be proud of you!
37 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Not for all, but incredible for some.
prstohn10 November 2019
Pure zen for some people, perhaps boring for others. Fantastic storytelling all around.
34 out of 52 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Death Stranding (2019)
Millennium_Bacon8 November 2019
  • Presentation : 10
  • Story : 9
  • Direction : 9
  • Gameplay : 9
  • Graphic : 10
  • Score : 9.4 "Must play!"
57 out of 94 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Play it first, judge later.
danspicuzza11 November 2019
It's simply perfect. Beautiful game, awesome developer work, awesome acting.
29 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A Masterpiece for Exclusive Gamers
faisalfaves9 November 2019
Presentation : 10 Direction : 10 Game-play : 10 Story : 9 Graphic : 10 Score : 10 "A Must play for Lonelies!"
27 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Worth a try
jamiezugu10 November 2019
Like many I was on the fence about this game, i always liked the medal gear games even though I was never a die hard fan. Nevertheless I've always respected Kojima and I wanted to try the game but I heard people calling it a "walking simulator" and seeing more gameplay I was starting to get put off by the game. I'm the type of person who likes to go out of their comfort zone so I picked it up I'm about 30 hrs In and I'm loving it so far. I understand why some people think it's boring but for me it was like a breath fresh air it's like something you've never played before. If you're the type of player who likes long thought provoking games this is for you.
24 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
A unique game
jebyvyson15 November 2019
Ever since the teaser trailer dropped on Sony E3 2016, I was really confused yet interested to see what is it about. More trailer and gameplay clips came out as years pass and I, well the world, still doesn't know what the heck this game is. Finally, the game came and I want to see what's the big deal.

Positives: The graphics and visual effect in this game is beautiful, well-shot cinematography, and has some good-known celebrities. This game felt like something out of a Netflix movie, probably it's the tone (but that's just my opinion). The game do get a bit intense at some points when you're going against your enemies.

Negatives: There are some points in the game where I would have rated 8 or 7 stars if most of the game didn't feel boring. First, I get hooked into the game, then I got bored, then hooked again, to bored. Most have to do with delivering stuff to point A to point B and you do that alot in this game and it gets so repetitive I want to fall asleep. The story is an interesting one, you get confused and while playing it you slowing began to understand Death Stranding and more to get confused on (that's just probably me). I admire the game for being weird, but what"s frustrating about it is that it's in the way of taking it seriously. If the was a movie, it'll be the movie that spark my eyes only to be seen once.

Maybe I don't fully get it, maybe it's what I expected, I don't know. Video games is art in it's own way how you create them. It's not going to be everyone's cup of tea or something to be obsess about to many eyes and that's fine. The game is weird and it was meant to be weird, just not everyone's weird taste...that's it.
16 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A truly unique masterpiece.
D4mnDaniel10 November 2019
To begin with, I love most Kojima's games which is of course including famous MGS series. I really love that Kojima is following the idea that he want to do something unique, something that wasn't made before. Not only that he invents something new to games mechanics but story itself kicks in so hard that you look at it with admiration. Death Stranding - a new Hideo Kojima's game that motivates people to come together and make connections with each other. Of course this game isn't for every one, you may find it boring because this game isn't fun or entertaining like other games because of the gameplay loop and simply delivering stuff (like for me it was fun). But the story, damn it's so impressive. I don't have words to even describe my emotions what I felt when I played through it. It was like: "seriously? SERIOUSLY? here it is how... damn... crazy..."

Death Stranding - is a brand new unique experience that necessary need to try it. Sadly not everyone will enjoy it, but for me it was amazing.
18 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
A Glorified Fetch Quest that lasts 40 hours
kushtrimhasani9770025 November 2019
Kojima manages to create a game where characters overexplain everything to explain nothing. Your reward for trekking across harsh terrain are giant exposition dumps and writing that's as monotonous as Fragile's lines. The game is a beautiful looking social experiment obsessed with shoving down pretentious messages and allegory's down your throat, very disappointing.
20 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Do not give up, no matter how much the game tricks you into thinking it's boring.
ioio32l13 November 2019
At first you'll think this game is boring. But hold tight. Keep at it, you'll soon leave the tutorial area and move on after a boss fight or boss escape. You'll be glad you kept at it when you reach Episode 8. TRUST ME, DO NOT QUIT, everything starts making sense and you will suddenly have everything hit you all at once, and you will thank me and anyone else that told you not to give up. When the credits roll and you set the controller down, enjoy the music, you just beat the best game of all time. You will be emotional during the end. You will be proud of yourself! I'll be proud of you!
12 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
MASTERPIECE !!!
othmanofrivia8 November 2019
Kojima did it again , the game is really good , the intro , the gameplay , this game is a new experience, i really enjoyed it, i really loved metal gear, but i think this game is above it , i adore it I highly recommend you to play it
15 out of 31 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Thoroughly amazing game!
decyther11 November 2019
First off, I'm 45, started gaming when I was around 5 years old on an Atari 400.. Never before have I played a game this gorgeous to look at or amazing to play. Nigh on everything in this game has been created with the utmost dedication and care, from the lore and Easter eggs to the way you walk over rocky terrain.

Been following this game throughout its development and to be honest I wasn't overly convinced as I've never really "clicked" with Kojima's other games. It wasn't till the last few weeks that I decided to pre-order it. To say the least I am so glad I did now. Something about it just hooked me, there are so many things I just love. Things like how the multiplayer aspect is implemented like finding a generator in a remote but extremely handy location left by another player and being able to "like" it as a way of showing appreciation.

Yes, it is a bit long winded but it is as amazing or as boring as you make it. If you go into it convinced it is going to be crap then that is how it will be. Go into it with at least an open mind and you will be blown away by the storytelling, the grand vistas, the suspense of avoiding BTs and the adrenaline rush of getting away from them when they do attack!
12 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Great story but not fun
dejongjaden8 November 2019
No spoilers

The story is awsome really awsome Graphics are great Some of the best voice actors Gameplay is fun for a bit but you have to do the same over and over again until its gets really boring i want to give more stars the gameplay is so bad that i want to cry
40 out of 101 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Incredible story, awful gameplay
antonkruslind23 November 2019
This story should've been a movie, not a game. The gameplay is not fun in any way, it's an awfully boring chore to get to the next cutscene. Not even the vehicles or weapons are fun to use. Thankfully the story and acting is great and the game looks visually stunning, but that's about it.

1/10 gameplay 9/10 story
15 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
SOLID TEN AND IN ONLY TWO HOURS IN
zetodmeister1411 November 2019
It's a truly masterpiece of gaming , for me it's what gamings alot about immersed in the story, cinematography story acting this game has it all, I have never played a more beautiful looking game in a long time and it's probably one of the best or THE best of this generation I am so grateful to play this game, PS also loved the wee cameo from someone who Norman has worked with before ;-)
15 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
A confusing and boring game
VegiStromman22 November 2019
I did not enjoy Death Stranding. The overall game is boring af and the only thing you do in this game is basically to go from one place to another and deliver cargo etc. Me and my friend played it one night and we both fell asleep on the couch while playing it. The game is not awful. The graphics are really impressive and the voice acting and motion capture is good. But in the end is just a really boring game that i will most likely never finish and play again.
13 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Typical Kojima Game
gabetbh14 November 2019
Personally Kojima has done it again. Everything you would want and expect from a kojima production game is present in the new release.

If you're looking for an all out action game where there is constant combat then, i'm afraid this game isn't for you.

This game is all about taking in this dark, yet intriguing world and allowing it to take you on a journey never seen before. I see other reviews and they talk about how the gameplay can become repetitive, but with respects to previous releases by hideo, the main objective of kojimas games are to play towards the next cutscenes. In addition, the gameplay smoothly progresses throughout the game, increasing the combat and action, therefore it is worth the grind.

Finally, without to mention the incredible cast laid for this story. Cutscenes are made to feel as if you're watching a film, you can just lay back for 10 mins and enjoy the ride. Not to mention how well these guys do to break the 4th wall!

I hope this helped!
11 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Genius
citizentl14 November 2019
Exactly what I've come to expect from Kojima which is nothing short of genius
10 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Unlike Anything We Have Ever Seen
tslinky15 November 2019
Death Stranding is definitely not for everyone, mainly due to it's gameplay. But when you get about 10 hours or so in, the game progresses so much faster to the point you are literally zip lining across mountains.

Story is super complex and interesting, if it was a film or tv show I could easily see it being up there with shows such as Game Of Thrones.

The real selling point is it's amazing graphics that sometimes I thought the landscape I was seeing was real.

Overall this game isn't fun in that you go around shooting people to death, it's fun is in it's beautiful scenery and complex traversal systems that range from bikes and as far as a fast travel system.

Overall this game is a masterpiece, but you will only find it a masterpiece if you are willing to go through it's slow yet enjoyable gameplay and story.
8 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
I just don't see the point
piercedinsmore17 November 2019
This game was heavily anticipated, had amazing graphics, and ended up with a 50% good rating for me. The game is literally about some guy who delivers things but other people disagree and try to kill him. That is the game.
14 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A Masterpiece that one has to understand ...
batmannilay16 November 2019
Death Stranding is one of those games that comes once every decade ... A masterpiece to be precise ... The storyline is complex but once you understand it you will be amazed ... Hideo Kojima proved why he is a genius game creator ... It truly shows how difficult is the job of a courier ...The game had star-studded cast with mind-blowing performance from Norman Reedus and Mads Mikkelsen .... My only regret is that i cant play it for myself ....
6 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
May I have some more
admiralperez5 December 2019
I bought this on day of released, I just finished still on the credits. I did not want this to end. I really enjoyed this game. Visually stunning with a story that had me on the edge, thinking, and sad, too close to crying. When I thought it was finished it was still going, awesome. Game had different elements like no other. I rate it 10. I wanna go replay on hard mode now and read every bit of detail. I don't get the hate and jealously. Pokemon sword and shield got a high 9 from IGN but DS got a 6 something. They fake news. Pokemon is rehash and needs new elements and audio haha. Thanks Hideo Kojima. Death stranding will always be in my heart. I can't wait for what you make next.
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed