We Die Young (2019) Poster

(2019)

User Reviews

Review this title
80 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
Wasted potential
mikkiparker3 March 2019
The beginning of the movie was really promising. Casting was great, people who were cast as the gang members were amazing, David Castañeda did an amazing job portraying Rincon. JCVD l, even though he didn't appear much in the first half, did a great job as well. The biggest problem was the camera man. Almost every shot was shaky and after a while, you couldn't ignore it anymore. I do understand that the budget was very low, but it's not hard to shoot scenes with steady camera. Also Elijah Rodriguez, in my opinion, was missing emotions needed in certain scenes. The ending wasn't that great as well. They could make it a little longer or add a few scenes. A little more action couldn't hurt too However, considering how low the budget was, they did a good job with the movie.
27 out of 37 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Really good movie
ryan-597222 March 2019
I thought this movie was very well done, for it's budget. JCVD said they only had 30 people on the crew rather than 300 like a normal big budget movie. So for what it's worth the movie was done very well IMO. It's not your typical JCVD movie with all his spin kicks and stuff. Instead he's a junky soldier with PSTD but trying to make a meager living. The story is more about these kids in MS-13 being used by the drug lord to run drugs around the city. JCVD gets caught up with the boys when they get in trouble and all hell breaks loose. JCVD isn't really a figher in this but more of a solder trained with guns.

The acting was great, the car chase scene was intense. It's a drama that grows on you. Drama with action. I think JCVD has risen to a new level in acting on this movie.. His crew members, The main MS-13 guy and the boys did an excellent job too. I watched the movie yesterday and going to watch it again today. This movie really grows on you.
43 out of 66 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Not really watchable
randomfx0112 April 2019
This is not an engaging movie at all. It shows some promise at the start and teases, yet never delivers. JCVD is under utilized and does nothing of note. The shaky cam is well noted and just underlines the cheapness of the whole project. It would of been an easy 5* if JCVD just burst out from his passive shell just once.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Dizzy and Sick
donbassetti6 April 2019
People, if you get sea sick don't watch this move. The camera is bouncing all around the darn screen! Plus you can't seem to hear any conversation about the movie be use of all the loud Latin music over Bering to the conversation. Not sure what they call this type of film where the camera is all up in the actors grill. Anyway if it wasn't for the jumping, swaying, back and forth up and down camera foot that makes you Dizzy and sick, I would have stayed. Walked out and got a refund!
12 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wicked!
paindweller3 March 2019
O the classic old actors who actually know how to act... why'o why don't they teach this younger gen?

This was an entertaining watch from start to finish, not too much gore, the right amount of emotion...different to what put out nowaday, really enjoyed it.
26 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Better than expected
srudenko2 March 2019
This was actually a very good movie. Much better than I expected. Jean Claude Van Damme is not the main character and has no speaking lines at all. The 2 lead characters are from the 2nd Sicario movie and did an awesome job in this one.
27 out of 44 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Good news. A solid Van Damme flick in 2019.
bcbell792 March 2019
As a long time JCVD fan, from time to time I look up to see what he has coming out later in the year. I've been waiting to check out We Die Young since I found out about it last year. Since I grew up 20 minutes from Washington D.C. (not far from where the film takes place) I was extra curious about this one. Although not the actionfest I was originally hoping for, it turned out to be a surprisingly good film. Solid directing and acting make this one of the better Van Damme movies of the last decade. Nothing revolutionary, but an entertaining "day in the life" of a teenage gang member who suddenly tries to get his little brother out of the gang life. The films main character is a teenage drug runner for the MS13 gang in a D.C. neighborhood. The same day he is making the biggest "package" run of his life, some gang members decide to "jump in" his little brother. Deciding he doesn't want that life for his little brother, they try to take off, and things get hectic from there on out. Van Damme is a former marine, who was injured and lost his ability to speak (yes, Van Damme has no dialog in the film) and is now a junkie who buys from (and eventually helps) our teenage lead. Don't let that deter you, JCVD is in the whole movie, it follows both characters over the 24 hour period in which the film takes place. There isn't a single martial arts fight, but there is a good amount of violence from beatings, stabbings and shootouts. Van Damme gives a solid performance, especially for no dialog. If you just enjoy gang films it's worth giving it a watch. If you like JCVD movies than definitely check this one out, it's one of this best films in years.
25 out of 41 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Bet Jean-Claude Van Damme
vandamito4 March 2019
Great bet for the budget of this film would say that Van Damme wants to finish his career but the script is a little weak but the other aspects are excellently very well but very well achieved Jean-Claude from a long time to be just an action hero congratulations
19 out of 30 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Surprisingly Top Notch!
nledude26 March 2019
For a low-budget feature this film is well executed and has a studio "A" feel throughout. JCVD is award worthy and the entire cast is excellent. As an Editor I appreciate the monumental task of piecing together something coherent and watchable but this goes beyond that into the highest level of the craft. It's heartbreaking to think of people living in such desperate conditions and the Director conveys the "street" very well. Thumbs Up!
15 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Great casting, weak story, poor camera work, but still a fun film.
TopDawgCritic2 March 2019
I have to say the gangster casting was very convincing and on point. Lior Geller's story's concept was good, but the screenplay had some issues. His directing was good, but his camera work was poorly captured with the non-stop shaky cam shots. Not sure if he's heard of a gimbal or a cam tripod, but it was really needed in 80% of this film, as I was getting a headache trying to stay focused on the main scenes. The score was decent, but overbearing and unnecessary in some parts. JCVD was great in this, although not much of his martial arts talent was showcased. For a B-grade film, it was decent. Would I recommend it? Sure, if you're a fan of JCVD, as this is better than some of his recent previous work. Would I see it again? Nope. It's a generous 7/10 from me
23 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Oscar Winner for Most Fake Reviews. See below-
NickGepetto6 August 2019
26 of the 57 reviews are 8, 9 or 10 stars. It's so surprising to me how IMDB allows trash like this to be padded with obviously fake reviews. Most are laughable. Here's an example of the absurdity. An actual 10 star review IMDB: --------------------------------- 10/10 REVIEW TITLE: Not bad irina_galaxy3 March 2019 Only giving it 10 stars because David Castaneda was really good. Not bad overall, you can tell that the budget was 10 bucks though. ------------------------------------- So Ms. Irina Galaxy (her real name, I assure you) gave a 10 star review titled "Not Bad."

So what about the movie? O M G. Really terrible on all levels. Why? Let's start with JCVD. He plays a soldier suffering from extreme PTSD. OK. Is that it? No. This soldier also got shot in the throat. So what? So that means that JCVD is mute for the entire picture. A few grunts but he doesn't say a word. Is that all? No. From JCVD's years of cocaine, smoking, drinking and stress, his face has transformed from a guy so handsome you may want to switch sides to a dried apple doll that you find in the corner of a Cracker Barrel Kuntry Store. The main character is played by a muncher named David Castaneda. With his droopy eyes, he looks like a low-rent latino Forest Whitaker and his fake tattoos are ridiculous. His style of "method acting" is to stare at the person he is talking to or the object he is in front of for a long, long time. I think it's supposed to express his "depth" but after the 50th time you will be asking "WTF are you starring at?" There is no character development on the kids. Do they have parents? They don't? So they live in D.C. on their own? And don't go to school? Yeah, no. Truant and social services (Washington D.C. has the 3rd largest in the nation after LA and NYC) would be all over them within a week. So are they constantly running from the truant officer making up an interesting and engaging aspect of the plot? Nope as this would require thought and intelligent writing which this movie does not possess.

Definitely not worth the time to watch even if you are hardcore JCVD fan. Just watch Bloodsport again and you'll be happy.
16 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
We die young... of boredom !
destroyerwod29 July 2019
Warning: Spoilers
MAY CONTAIN MINOR SPOILERS (i wasn't sure it could be seen as it, so i clicked the box to avoid any sanction by IMDB)

I will admit i was surprised to see this movie getting so much high reviews on IMDB. I always been a fan of JCVD and usually i can cope with Direct to DVD/VOD stuff and still be satisfied, as long as the story is interesting and the action is good, even if low budget. But this one was the least satisfying in the last 10 years to me, even less than Lukas .

This movie has a good premise, but the actual story itself is nothing great. I will give props to the actors who did a great job in my opinion, especially the guy portraying the gang leader, but sadly thats one of the few praise i can give this movie. Its low budget i get it, so they couldn't do a lot and the movie had to be told on a smaller scale but not much happen.

First of all Van Damme decide to once again plays a "down on his luck, wrecked by life, depress character" in a dark gritty movie like he does in almost all his recent movies exept Ennemies Closer and Welcome to the Jungle. Only this time, the character can't even speak due to an injury from his past. This play very little part in the story so it feel completely unnecessary.

There is barely any action and i think this is where it bothered me the most. You look at the cover and you expect Van Damme taking on the MS-13, that there is gonna be plenty of fights and everything. But nop... I don't even recall Van Damme giving one kick in the whole movie. He has barely one fight and its super lame.

Maybe i am typecasting him too much but when an actor has been known for action roles (especially fights) the majority of his career, and looking at the premise of the movie, and the trailer too, that was what i was expecting.

The last 2 movies i watched of Van Damme, this and Lukas, have really bored me. There was a time , yes even in the direct to dvd era, that i was really looking forward to his new movies. Some have been really cool. Maybe he want to do different stuff, more drama, now that he is older, wich is guess his fine if its what he want. But for me watching a new Van Damme flick on friday night meant seeing an ass-kicking on screen while drinking a few beers.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
From Heli-Kick to acting
terranigma-2613615 March 2019
Like the guy before i prefer classic actors of 90s hollywood like van damme, washington or pitt. They exactly know how to act and show expression. There is not the budget of snobbish hollywood but that fact makes the film even more solid. Think the only reviewers that will downrate here are haters.
14 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hero Jean-Claude
vandamito4 March 2019
Great bet for the budget of the film one would say that Van Damme wants to finish his career but not. the script is weak but the film in general is correct in all respects Jean-Claude since time he stopped being just a good movie action star and if he manages to carry out his project the tower I think we can be more surprised still congratulations Jean -Claude
18 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Van Damme come back with a bang
phanthinga10 March 2019
I love Van Damme older movies and I still find his new work wacthable despite most of them left me feeling empty but We Die Young his latest movie is definitely not one of them. The movie is not an full fleshed action movie but a crime drama movie with elements of action and it a damn good one. Van Damme as Daniel a veteran with PTSD who served in Afghanistan in this movie feel more like a supporting character than a main one but that not bother me one bit because the actual main Lucas played by Elijah Rodriguez a young but promising actor kick his role out of the park and thinking of it now there not a single perfromance in We Die Young that I think is bad to be honest. The camera work maybe unbearable to watch and the story is as old as hood movie can go but give it a go because you will not regret it
11 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What did I just watch?
rgu-2974426 September 2019
This is just bad. Any good reviews must be from teenage, males, who might barely enjoy this. JCVD doesn't even do much in the way of fight scenes. Crappy story, so so acting, means a total waste of time.
4 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Looking for lyrics of the No Miraré Hacia Atras
amirsaid-3160810 March 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Please can you send me the lyrics of the song of the wedding in the movie, and I've enjoyed the movies, it's wonderful and very successful❤❤
14 out of 25 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
More story than Van Dammes usual films and certainly one to see
markthomassintek26 March 2019
REVIEW - WE DIE YOUNG

Van Damme is back!

I've waited a long time to say that and mean it, recently he's been in some quite poor films but......

Set in Washington DC 20 minutes from the White House in a deprived area this story follows 2 kids trying to escape the drug filled neighbourhood, but reading this you may think this film is yet another run of the mill film of kids trying to escape the hood but wow, the human story, the characters (even the man who runs the neighbourhood), the twists and turns and the whole story arch brings this whole film to life, so much so you feel and care for the characters.

Van Damme shines in this film without opening his mouth once (no spoilers). Thoroughly enjoyed this film from start to surprising finish which I even didn't see coming, respect to the writers!

More story than Van Dammes usual films and certainly one to see.

Rating 8 out of 10
12 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Van Damme is back 👊
ahsan_dada6 March 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Perfect story ... Awesome action ... Outstanding action .... Want part 2 😍
17 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
What did I just watch?
jhr201211 November 2019
How embarrassing for Van Damme to have been associated with this pile of crap. Some reviews have said he did a great acting job. Great acting? He never said a damn word. He was a deaf mute for the whole movie. On top of that, he looks about 95. The years have not been kind to him. Pass on this mess. Time for Van Damme to retire.
5 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Not bad
irina_galaxy3 March 2019
Only giving it 10 stars because David Castaneda was really good. Not bad overall, you can tell that the budget was 10 bucks though
17 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Van Dead
ipaston5 April 2020
I'm a big Van Damme fan. But what was this Cack? No Martial Arts, which let's face it is what made him famous not his acting! Avoid at all cost. Unless you suffer with Insomnia.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Reviews mislead me...
Reem75061810 December 2019
With all the positive reviews on IMDB I thought it was a good movie, but it really isn't. I'm a Van Damme fan, but this movie is just done badly. The camera is all over the place, even when there's no action it just jerks from left to right. The music is bad, the story is dull and there are way to much boring scenes that just don't fit the film and take the pace out of the story, if you know what I mean. All in all it's just a weak movie, that isn't even interesting enough to play in the background. Sorry, Jean-Claude...
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Watchable but terrible casting. No soul.
jftherd4 December 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I'm a 35 year old Guatemalan-American. If Lior Geller was making a film about MS13, at least put a majority a real latinos in it.

Rincon, the main bad guy was good. The fat kid with blond dye hair was believable and the 2 main kids were ok, but not great.

Alot of the supporting cast was no where near hispanic. Spider, the guy in blue shirt who who gets beat down towards end is Israeli and his accent sucked ass, his acting was a characture of a cholo, nothing believable.

The supporting actress was terrible. FAKE, pointless accent. She says Latinos the way an American would say it,it was so pathetic.

I'm prettysure Lucas says "Salvatrucha" wrong. He ssays "salvatruka."

Jesster, was just a white guy acting angry with fake tats. The problem is because it was few real latinos, it lacks soul and truth. And when was JCVD supposed to have been in Afghanistan? If he is 50 and was the in 2004, when he was 35, then damn, suffering from PTSD 15 years later? Not understanding his out of place character...not realistic.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Dumb Van Damme and a drug delivery cycle boy !
saptesh7867 March 2019
Some movies are always with a well known name of actor/actress and we will go with them for it. 'We die young' is a same like this. Here is the name of Van damme which for I saw this title. But a little disappoint to me that Van Damme is not doing his great marital art like kick boxing as pervious many movies. However movie is good and watchable. The main hero is here 'Lucas' a young drug delivery boy ( Elijah Rodriguez) whereas Van Dam is playing a retired soldier's role who lost his voice in attack to terrorist. His life on depends on medicine now and managing life anyhow at a garage where a woman (Joana Metrass) is favouring him. Main plot of Lucas & his little brother, Lucas' boss and Van Dam. Lucas is working for his boss Rincon (David Castaneda) as drug delivery cycle boy. His boss also going to train his younger brother as delivery boy. Lucas oppose for this. His boss has a handicapped sister and he arranges her marriage and told Lucas to deliver two bricks by train track side on same day. All the drama is starting here now and it is worth to watch on screen only enjoy you. I found some points in the movie that cruel boss has a kind heart too for his sister and that delivery boy Lucas means bad people also have a heart! I really impressed from his sympathetic role to his sister and one can really will have sympathy to his sister. I feel very touching brother-sister affection story. Finally Van Dam made Lucas and his brother make their way out from crime world. It is watchable drama. Besides actions of goons we can also watch two brothers story , brother & sister' story, old retired & dumb soldiers' life, a woman's unexpressed love etc. It means story having all genre like action, thrill, love, affection, courage, fear etc. Good acting by Elijah, David and of course stone faced Van Damme ! A noticeable role by Kerry Bennett (Rincon's wife), you will much like her. Overall movie is worth to watch for money and time.
11 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed