1st & Ten (TV Series 1984–1991) Poster

(1984–1991)

User Reviews

Review this title
10 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
First and Ten --- Play it again!!
gunchick4 April 2005
"1st and Ten" was to Football what "Major League" was to Baseball. The closest thing I've seen to it since has been Arliss, which had its moments but just wasn't quite as funny as 1st and Ten. I really loved the show. It's definitely in my top ten of all time shows. (I'd still have them on tape if I had switched over my old BETA tapes to VHS in time).

Granted, it was a series, but so what?! It wasn't censored! It was a really funny show, cleverly written, with some great actors, as well as having the professionals popping in.

It would be so nice if it was out on DVD, or at least re-run on HBO... or any non-censored channel.
14 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
HBO's funniest
ohimikey10 February 1999
The best show HBO has ever produced! Delta Burke was great, everyone 'on the team' (except for OJ Simpson maybe) was funny. Every character brought something different to the show. I wish I could get 1st and Ten on video.
3 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An Honest Review
generationofswine2 June 2019
This is impossible to find, and, honestly, I am bitter about that, I loved this show when I was a little kid.

And shows like this need to make a comeback, it's from an era where comedy could still be sophomoric, stupid, childish, and fun. Today it seems that comedy is either a political statement that the audiance is supposed to laugh at not because it's funny, but just to signal that they are in the same tribe...or references that stopped having a punchline and are only asking you to recall something from the past...

...and none of that works for me. 1st & 10 had from highbrow to Eskimo pee jokes and all the stops in between. But it was allowed to back then, it was an era where, with comedy, anything goes. And it was made in an era where HBO ruled comedy and not the dramatic series.

Unfortunately a lot of the jokes do reference the culture and politics of the day, so it comes with a bit of an aged feel to it.

Beyond that, it's one of the rare instances where football and not baseball gets the good comedic showing.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Wildly inconsistent, but sometimes amusing, pioneer in the world of cable TV.
Poseidon-319 April 2007
Warning: Spoilers
One of the earliest premium-cable TV series (airing on HBO) and one which took advantage of the relaxed broadcast standards in allowing adult language and nudity, this was a raucous comedy (and quasi-soap opera) focusing on the fictional football team The California Bulls. The show referred to the league as the NAFL and incorporated grainy football footage (in the early episodes) and, later, videotaped footage mixed in with new shots of the actors going through the paces, though, especially as the series wore on, the actual games and plays tended to have little to do with the plots. In the premiere episode, wealthy Burke walks in on her husband, the Bulls owner, naked and in a homosexual tryst with one of the players! (Played respectively by former real-life player Rick Moser and former film actor Ben Cooper, this was one of the first instances of such activity to be insinuated on a TV show, though many years later "Providence" would start off similarly.) Burke wins the team in a divorce settlement and faces sexism from some of the players, but mostly from the other owners who use good old boy tactics to keep her out of their plans. The first season, she also dealt with some mobsters (led by Michael V. Gazzo) and a slimy assistant controlled by them. Her allies were Lee as the Bullettes manager and Shelton, the Head Coach. The second year saw Simpson joining the cast as the new Bulls manager and he remained with the series until it was cancelled, his character going through a divorce and experiencing other romantic issues throughout. Later, Burke departed (to devote herself to "Designing Women") and Shanna Reed became the Bulls owner through her position at Dodds Corporation which had purchased the team. She was only with the show for less than a full season when she was replaced by Tweed, who stayed through till the end. Most episodes featured bits of brazen T&A and (in the early seasons) drug use, violence, casual sex and/or crude humor. The clothes (some of them laughably skimpy and tacky) are a hysterical time capsule of the 80's. Several later episodes were either fantasy ones (such as one parodying "Rambo" movies) or concept ones, with the cast all on a plane. These usually ranked among the worst shows of the series. The show was marked by many, many cast changes, re-tooling and inconsistencies throughout its run, but some actors were on board for a lengthy tenure. Frazier and Hughes were fixtures, offering up many zany and rowdy antics, most of which were lowbrow in the extreme. Gibb, playing a character called Dr. Death, and Longo, as Mad Dog, were also on for the bulk of the series run and tended to have a mix of loony story lines mixed with somewhat poignant ones. Shelton was with the series for all but one season during which his character was fired and replaced with a similar type of actor. Kassir was a major presence as a slick, former-Communist immigrant, always looking for a way to make a buck or turn a con. However, the quarterbacks and many other players were rotated in and out rather swiftly. Along the way, several actors appeared who would later make a name for themselves, none more so than Meloni, who played an ex-con quarterback years before he would cause a stir on "Oz". Noted guest/temporary stars included Roy Thinnes, Vince Edwards, Ron O'Neal, Michael Michele, Lela Rochon, Tobey McGuire, Boomer Esiason and Joe Namath among others. An interesting case is Moser's character - Ty Taylor - who, after having slept with the original (male!) owner, stayed on the team when Burke took over and usually had one ragingly homosexual scene per episode. Then, when the AIDS crisis broke, he was suddenly deemphasized and ultimately de-gayed before disappearing entirely in season six. PLEASE NOTE: The IMDb page for this show is WOEFULLY inaccurate and incomplete. Most of the regular cast of the show were on for far more episodes than what is listed for them here and many cast members, regular and guest cast, are left out entirely. In the case of the latter, this user comment has first and last names listed within. ALSO: The current boxed set containing all six seasons does NOT contain completely unedited episodes. Some of them (maybe 20%) are unedited, but the majority are chopped up and feature an annoying and intrusive laugh track.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Some Laughs!
Sylviastel23 January 2014
In the 1980s, pay cable stations like HBO and Showtime had original programming. This is a sitcom about a wealthy divorcée, Diane Barrow, who gets her husband's football team in a scandalous divorce. Being the new team owner, she has a lot of learning too. The team is okay for now. Leslie Easterbrook is always divine and a welcome presence. This sitcom is a bit racy than television sitcoms of the time. Cable allowed more creative freedom in allowing sexual situations, language, etc., By today's standards, this show is tame. I never saw this sitcom until now. It's okay but not great! It's entertaining though! The sitcom is out on location in the football fields and other Southern California locations. Delta Burke shines here in the starring role.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
found and bought
woof3595 December 2019
Found it one day by accident, I was a fan of the show when it first appeared but lost interest after the show began changing characters. having re watched it I find it hard to get thru an episode. no continuity, silly plots. IMHO they lost there best charters, Delta Burke and Coach De Nardo
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Pretty good
SanteeFats19 December 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Okay I am sure this series is not for some, even most, people but I like it quite a bit. The first three to four of the six seasons are pretty much based on rough football humor. Somewhere in season four they started to mix in some drama which, in my opinion, lessened the overall episodes. There are several characters that are in the entire series, although not necessarily in all 80 episodes. This series shows both good and the bad of pro football. The booze, the pills, the girls, the machinations of owners, trainers, and upper management. They do change team owners and such with out a lot of reasons around season 3-4. Why Delta Burke left in the middle of season three is never explained. I thought she did a great job in her role. One of the nice things about this show is they use real pro players at times. Usually all-pros such as Marcus Allen, Lawrence Taylor, O.J. Simpson, etc. but most of the cast may have played college ball at best. It is still a good series. There is some nudity from time to time but nothing other than breasts are exposed. So if you don't care about incidental nudity in rather limited circumstances you may enjoy the series.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Not Bad
JSplend95424 July 2008
Warning: Spoilers
I remember watching this series years ago when it appeared on HBO. I recently saw the DVD's on sale which contained every episode for $7.95. I purchased the set and watched the entire six seasons. Not a bad series, but I think it could have been a lot better.

Throughout the series, there were a lot of inconsistencies, many events went unexplained and there were a lot of questions as to what happened to certain characters.

In the 4th episode of Season 1, a wide receiver named Butch Cassidy joined the Bulls. Cassidy had a drug problem and was sent to a Drug Rehabilitation Center and was told he could re-join the Bulls once he completed his rehab. Well, Cassidy was actually played by Michael Toland, who would later play wide receiver, Billy Cooper. After season 1, Mace Petty, Bob Dorsey, and Carl Witherspoon just disappeared from the show without any explanation. Witherspoon signed a huge long term contract.

In Season 2, O.J. Simpson was introduced into the show as being a long time Bull Player, yet he was never mentioned in the 1st Season. Also, the General Manager, Roger Barrow was gone after the 1st Season. I liked Barrow's character and I think his antics of conniving and scheming were somewhat hilarious.

Tom Yinessa was the QB for seasons two and three, but when season 4 got under away there was no explanation as to what happened to him. Maybe he married former Bulls Owner Jill Schraeder and settled his lawsuit and retired-who knows for sure. Earl Lassister was often brought up as being one of the owners of another football team and could not stand the Bulls. In one season it was mentioned that he owned the Buffalo Franchise and in another season he was said to have owned the Houston Football Team. That wasn't a real big deal.

Marcus Allen was brought in to be the next big running back for the Bulls, but once he was introduced to the team, we never seen him again. Same thing with Brian Bosworth.

Backup QB, Lenny Salvino was mentioned as a Bulls Player for almost the entire 6 seasons, but he wore different numbers throughout the years. One episode he was number 10, another episode he was number 12 and so on.

The New V.P. for Dodds Corp., was there for seasons 4 and 5, but without any explanation was not there for season 6.

The story lines got somewhat ridiculous towards the end of the series. There was a plot about aliens, flashbacks, a Rambo episode.

It seemed when Delta Burke left the series it regressed somewhat, although I think Shannon Tweed was credible.

Should the show have been canceled? I would probably say No. I think if there was a season 7, I would have liked to see Mac Daniels, come back as the Coach. Bubba and Jethro were still funny, maybe bring in a few new characters and develop better story lines.

All in all, not a bad show.
1 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Question about the show
luvuwildbill27 December 2004
Warning: Spoilers
I remember watching this show on HBO back in the '80's. I could have sworn there was a recurring gay character on it, named, if I recall correctly, "Ty Taylor". I think he was played by Rick Moser. Yet I don't see such a character mentioned in the cast. I also didn't see the show listed among Rick Moser's credits. Could I have possibly imagined it? Does anybody else remember seeing a character like that on the show? If so, I'd appreciate some confirmation that I'm not crazy. As for the show itself, I always found it pretty funny and outrageous. I preferred it when Delta Burke was on. Shannon Tweed is pretty, but she isn't really a comedienne. Update: Having recently purchased the DVD of the series, it turns out that Ty Taylor WAS indeed a character, and Rick Moser is listed in the credits, though his name appears nowhere in the IMDb entry for the show among the cast & crew. The character wasn't a major one, and seemed to have been "de-gayed" by the third or forth season. Also, the show had a succession of female team owners-Delta left at the beginning of season three.
2 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Hasn't aged well
cmomman198829 October 2018
Pros: The theme song is the only thing I can think of that actually had aged well even with cliched lyrics. Cons: Juice, definitely 80s at it's cartoony worst ("The Boz", etc.)
1 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed