"Star Trek: Enterprise" Broken Bow (TV Episode 2001) Poster

(TV Series)

(2001)

User Reviews

Review this title
50 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Loyalty is an Emotion
claudio_carvalho18 October 2007
Captain Jonathan Archer, T'Pol and Trip meet Sarin and she explains that Klaang is a courier, bringing an important message from her to the leaders of the Klingons in Kronos about rebels Suliban that intend to promote the Temporal Cold War among the Klingons. Archer feels the need of rescuing Klaang and travels to the Suliban mother-ship with Trip to bring the Klingon back to Enterprise. T'Pol seems to understand that loyalty is an emotion that cannot be avoided by humans.

In spite of being a huge fan of Star Trek, I have not followed the episodes of "Enterprise" on cable television. I have decided to buy the DVD box of the First Season and this first episode surprised me. The adventure of the first Enterprise, Captain Jonathan Archer, the gorgeous T'Pol, Reed, Mayweather, Dr. Phlox, Hoshi and Trip is excellent, at least in this pilot. I have noted in IMDb that this episode is actually divides in two parts, but on DVD they are just one, therefore my review is valid for both. I did not like the music score theme, which I found very annoying, but this was an exception in this great show. My vote is nine.

Title (Brazil): "Broken Bow"
17 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The Foolish Mission
claudio_carvalho18 October 2007
In 2151, in Broken Bow, Oklahoma, a farmer shoots the Klingon Klaang with his plasma rifle after the explosion of a methane store in his farm and the Klingon is sent to the Starfleet Hospital. The Vulcan ambassador Soval proposes to unplug the life support system and bring the corpse of Klaang to his warrior empire in planet Kronos with honor. However, Captain Jonathan Archer proposes to go with the Enterprise in her first voyage and bring back Klaang alive to his home planet. Jonathan invites Ensign Hoshi Sato and Dr. Phlox, who is treating Klaang, to complete his crew, and the Vulcan Sub-Commander T'Pol is assigned to participate in the dangerous first mission of Enterprise. When the equipment of the starship is shut-down, Klaang is kidnapped by Sulibans after a shooting in the hospital. After the autopsy of the Suliban killed in the shooting, Captain Archer is informed by Dr. Phlox that the alien was actually a mutant, altered in a sophisticated genetic engineering process. T'Pol modifies the sensors of the Enterprise to track the Suliban spacecraft until she reaches planet Riger X. They investigate and disclose that Klaang was a courier, bringing an important message about the Temporal Cold War from the Suliban Sarin to the leaders of the Klingons in Kronos.

In spite of being a huge fan of Star Trek, I have not followed the episodes of "Enterprise" on cable television. I have decided to buy the DVD box of the First Season and this first episode surprised me. The adventure of the first Enterprise, Captain Jonathan Archer, the gorgeous T'Pol, Reed, Mayweather, Dr. Phlox, Hoshi and Trip is excellent, at least in this pilot. I have noted in IMDb that this episode is actually divides in two parts, but on DVD they are just one, therefore my review is valid for both. I did not like the music score theme, which I found very annoying, but this was an exception in this great show. My vote is nine.

Title (Brazil): "Broken Bow"
15 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Gene Roddenberry Would Be Proud
Leon_Walls12 June 2004
"Broken Bow" takes us back to where it all began. Set 150 years in our future and 100 years before Kirk, Spock and McCoy. This installment of the "Star Trek" franchise, is in my opinion the first series since "TOS" to recapture the feelings of wonder, danger and excitement of "Going Where No Man Has Gone Before". Scott Bakula is perfectly cast as Jonathan Archer, the first Captain of the first "Star Ship Enterprise". He and the entire cast truly show a true reverence for the Star Trek legacy. John Billingsley is Brilliant as the alien Dr. Phlox, and Jolene Blalock is totally luscious as the tempting but logical Vulcan science officer T'Pol. Broken Bow is in my opinion the best premier episode of any of the Treks, and I believe Gene Roddenberry would surely be proud.
22 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Going where no trek has gone before...
wbstsw12 October 2002
Enterprise, the latest high budget spin-off to the most successful franchise in film and or television history opens to the tune of a 90-minute episode called 'Broken Bow'. First we are swept into a massive action sequence with a Klingon being chased by some Suliban (who are the main enemy in the first season of the show). From there the televised movie takes us on a journey that seldom gets as good as it is, with some of the best character development, story and action/visual effects ever seen in such a short amount of time.

The opening-credits is a debatable subject among the minority of Enterprise fans, whom some believe that the song is out of place. What they fail to realise is the lyrics themselves. If one listens to the actual song, instead of the theme, then they will begin to piece the parts of the puzzle together. And eventually as the series progresses further and further, and we learn more about our valiant captain and his crew, will the song actually become meaningful. Overall Diane Warren's theme is beautifully orchestrated and is sung just as well by opera singer Russell Watson.

What makes any television show watchable and worth watching time and time again is its characters and the way they become structured and layered. Enterprise is (in my opinion) one of the most well cast shows since The Next Generation. Choosing Scott Bakula, as Captain Jonathan Archer was the best decision since Gene himself cast Patrick Stewart as Jean-Luc Picard. As the captain always leads the show, Bakula adds a subtlety to his role and brings a huge smile to the faces of anyone with blood pumping in their veins. He simply is (both actor wise and character wise) a superb human being and his charm, wit, and compassion are overwhelming to watch. As for the other cast members, a favourite of mine is John Billingsley who plays Dr. Phlox. It's also nice to see a non-human playing a role, and the decision to give the captain a dog, named 'Porthos' was a well-received idea. Throughout the show character development was brilliant, it was fast, well timed and almost perfect. I say almost because sadly Travis Mayweather's character played by the Briton Anthony Montgomery is a little weak at the end of the first season. He does have some things to say here and there, but remains in the hands of the producers to make him more important. Jolene Blalock is wonderful as the sometimes harsh but equally loveable Subcommander T'Pol. Dominic Keating as Lieutenant Malcolm Reed plays a strong role and is convincing as the armoury officer. Connor Trinneer plays Commander Charles "Trip" Tucker who always adds charm and comedic style to his character and finally Linda Park as Ensign Hoshi Sato, who often plays a weaker character but thankfully quickly becomes interesting. All of these characters make up Enterprise, and all bring a quality that Star Trek hasn't seen in a long time. Each person makes this show worth watching. Smiles and feel-good senses are guaranteed right from the first time we see them all together on the bridge of the starship Enterprise NX-01.

The ship itself, the NX-01 is somewhat questionable in design. The series is set 150 years from now and 100 years before Captain Kirk. So why then does the ship appear to be similar in design to mid 24th century ships, namely the Akira class starship? Continuity has been an issue in Enterprise, but thankfully Rick [Berman] and Brannon [Braga] offer suitable explanations for each and everyone of them. Continuity is only a problem if you are forever scrutinising shows and are obsessed with the tiniest of details. If you see the show with and open mind, then you'll have no problems, but there is an urge to know 'why' all the time. So what did Berman and Braga offer to the Star Trek fan-base with the issue of the deign of the ship itself? According to them the NX-01 is how it is because of the incident in First Contact. When Zefram Cochrane saw the Enterprise-E through his telescope and from speaking with the away team lead by Commander Riker, it changed the ideas in his head. That's a good enough explanation for me.lets move on. Of course its not as easy for some fans to accept that sort of answer, some go as far as to refuse to see the show until they get a reasonable answer. Come on guys grow up.When George Lucas destroyed the Star Wars saga with the launch of his profit making new trilogy, fans couldn't do anything, only watch and sap it all up anyway. And then they learned that, well maybe its not that bad after all. If you can't accept a quality show for what it is, not what it should be in your mind, then go elsewhere. Or try becoming a producer on the show and then see what you can do.

The sets on Enterprise remind me very much of the Defiant from Deep Space Nine. They often appear cold and have an eerie look of modern structure to them and they cry out that they belong to the military. Perhaps that why the crew of the USS Enterprise (aka flagship of the American fleet) like it so much. They are striking sets, and represent the show perfectly.

Rick Berman 'the overlord of the empire' as John Logan so accurately put it and his counterpart Brannon Braga has hit the nail on the head exactly where they should have, and in all the right places. Whether that be technicalities, visuals, sound, editing or score. Enterprise is a fine demonstration to just how good televised science fiction can ultimately be, when in the hands of geniuses. The late Gene Roddenberry would be proud of this series and as a Star Trek fan, so should you.
11 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Star Trek like you've never seen before.
Kieltok17 October 2001
Before I start, I would like to say to all those hard-core Star Trek fans out there that unlearn what you have learned. Okay, I got that from Yoda, but it still holds true here. When watching and critiquing (if you're a nit-picker), one must approach the new series with an open mind.

Expectations aside, I thoroughly enjoyed Enterprise. The fifth installment into the Star Trek series franchise peaked my interest months ago when I first heard about it. I was skeptical at first, I will admit to that. I just didn't want another Star Trek: Voyager, which I spent that last 7 years faithfully watching the show with little to no satisfaction when it came to an end. But when Scott Bakula signed on, Dr. Sam Beckett himself, I denounced all skepticism and it sparked my enthusiasm for the new series. Right off the bat, Enterprise threw us into the thick of things: the Klingon, Klaang, evading the Suliban, the Vulcan/Human conflict, the problematic temporal cold war, and the cameo by James Cromwell. Okay, those are more like intriguing features than throwing us into the thick of things. What can I say? I was impressed. The matter of the title song is quite a controversy among friends. Many thought it should go. I say, keep it. It's different and in a way sentimental, paying homage to exploration and discovery. I took me five viewings of the pilot to get used to it. Enterprise delivers in every way possible that a Star Trek series should: a bold captain, a diverse crew, technobabble, transporters, phasers, shuttlepods, warp drive, and humor. For all those who don't like Enterprise, I say this to you: give the show some time. It's still a newborn, finding its own way to be unique, exciting, and most of all appealing. Remember, many people didn't get into Deep Space Nine when it first came on. It grew to be a fantastic series. It might not have rated well with the hard-core fans, but there are more than plenty enough serious fans who think so. Enterprise may very well become the best Star Trek series since The Next Generation.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Strong start overall
anjiaoshi27 September 2001
A strong pilot, this two-hour episode does an excellent job of setting up the characters and background for "Enterprise," the "prequel" to the original "Star Trek" series. It stumbles a few times into "Trek" convention and cliché--candy-colored space strippers never seem to go out of style, and I can already foresee snickering references to T'pol as "Seven of Vulcan"--but the ensemble looks strong, the characters are well-drawn, and one can already see hints that this particular crew will have to be more resourceful, in different ways, than those of earlier (later?) series. Scott Bakula hits the right note as a captain with Kirk's brashness and daring but without his smugness and swagger, and I look forward to the ways in which the series will feature the engineer, weapons master and communications officer (not just a glorified phone operator anymore!) as supporting players. The writers seem to have picked up on the one big mistake made in "Star Trek: The Next Generation," "Deep Space 9" and "Voyager": Instead of starting with a big ensemble cast and giving characters short shrift, it's starting with a smaller core of characters to which a little more variety can be added later--which I hope happens, because after about a half-dozen episodes, more variety will be needed.
5 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Episode 1 does well enough in kicking off an ST series far better than people think
jrarichards5 September 2018
Warning: Spoilers
Those who knock "Enterprise" as nothing special at all had better remember how long "The Next Generation" took to get into its stride and how hammy certain dialogues and how naff certain ideas from that show made from the late 80s through to the mid-90s can now seem (and in some cases seemed even back then).

In complete contrast, "Enterprise" really hits the ground running with a competent, real-looking, intriguing, moving episode that combines a worthwhile and fun story with all the necessary briefing and introductions we need for the scene to be set (for what would in fact go on to be 4 seasons of shows).

And that scene is being set in the year 2151: and how novel and innovative it seemed from the off when "Enterprise" showed us how exceptional and flexible and superb a being Spock was (will be!) compared to so many of his Vulcan compatriots (from some decades before), who come over here as unpleasant, stuffy, haughty, troublesome and of course keen to do whatever they can to block human development at every turn?

The basic idea is that we are already 100 years on from "First Contact" (a beautiful moment in the ST film of that name, but one that was then apparently followed by 100 years (!) of stalling and holding back human progress! Few sci-fi genres would be clever or pithy enough to think of that kind of unexpected scenario, so all plaudits for it!!!

Captain Archer (Scott Bakula) puts his crew together for a ship that is for him cutting-edge technology and not too bad in terms of speed; but definitely underarmed and so primitive in other ways by the standards of the ST universe that we can still see in its design how we might have got to it from the spacecraft we have here in 2018 (or 2001) - something by the way that the opening title sequences also try to explain to us in a series of touching and moving scenes that include "HMS Enterprize" (Royal Navy 1705-1707)).

This is all really invigorating and I must say that, watching the episode, one really does get an inkling of humanity's prospects writ large above the first tentative steps into the cosmos it is taking. Just because we know nothing and can do almost nothing (nothing at all without Vulcan T'Pol aboard to let slip a hint of what she knows), does not mean we are not proud of ourselves and able to hold up our morality and achievements boldly enough against those on display among the best and worst of the sentient beings "out there".

At first glance T'Pol seems dry as dust in the first episode, but Jolene Blalock brings, not only sexiness to the role, but also hints from the very outset of the dry humour, occasionally inappropriate remarks, "fish-out-of-water-ness" but basic kindness that the character is able to develop as the series progress. And here in this episode there is a wonderful, well-acted moment when it first becomes clear that she is prepared to show loyalty to Captain and crew (not just her own species), and Archer and Trip (Connor Trinneer) present their first hint of admiration so very convincingly.

It's acting of a high order.

The other alien on the crew - John Billingsley's Dr Phlox - is another character who makes a presence felt right from the off. He's experienced, kindly, avuncular and with a few rather offputting habits! How innovative is that!? Somehow we again feel we are learning how to be tolerant and embrace the different just as the crew of NX-01 are doing.

Hence a gritty, realistic, low-techish ambience that is very easy - and rewarding - to relate to for the viewer, and all the more so in the company of characters that mostly look competent, realistic and well-rounded from the outset, in what is a far cry indeed from the situation with TNG or Voyager (though perhaps DS9 did better on that front).

And where Hoshi (Linda Park) gives the impression she won't be able to fit in on this mission ... well that's also realistic in the opposite sense, and seems quite natural enough and capable of evoking our sympathy.

There are - I know for a fact - some Trek fans who have never even given "Enterprise" a try. In my view the show - from Episode 1 on - is quite good, realistic, interesting and clever enough to make that kind of position look mistaken.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
And We're Off
Hitchcoc4 March 2017
These first two episodes were necessary to gain inroads into the obstacles that needed to be overcome so that the exploration of the galaxy could commence. These were basically search and rescue missions which allowed us to see where we were at with the Klingons, the face of arrogance when it relates to the stonewalling, obstructionist Vulcans. And to see other species and to put together a crew that will be facing off with every type of problem as they go on their mission. This predates the original Star Trek series and gives us a more primitive, even more dangerous set of circumstances. This should be fun.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
What I missed about Star Trek
laurelp5231 October 2001
Star Trek was exploration, new planets, cultures etc. All the ones that came after there was any "unknown" it was all politics and racism just the way we live now. Yes! And also, I loved Quantum Leap and Scott Bakula. He really makes "Enterprise" and I love the twist of being "before" the perfection of Star Trek, sometimes "beam me up", doesn't work! I always hate the way some people live to "bad mouth" anything and everyone. We see them for the small people they are.
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Enterprise "Broken Bow" Review Update (Ten Years Later)
christian945 February 2013
After reviewing the entire first season here in 2002 following its original airing, I gave the season 7/10 and the opening pilot 7/10 with other episodes ranging from 9/10 to awful... I vowed to give second season a chance, but the reality is that I gave up as it aired and felt uninspired and moreover couple with the dismal tenth Trek movie : Nemesis (3/10) which to me was the nail in the coffin of a fine franchise. so it was R.I.P. in 2002.

However, ten years later, and on the eve of Star Trek Into Darkness, although I was not extremely pleased with Star Trek (2009) (6/10), I decided to buy the entire Enterprise series to finally see what Enterprise season 2,3 and 4 were about, perhaps (but probably not!) tired of watching even excellent DS9 episodes for the umpteenth time and some mix/match of vibrant Voyager and dated TNG which I actually never finished in its entirety either.

Low and behold, I was absolutely hooked seeing Broken Bow in one sitting! I loved the intrigue, the tension, the action, the dialogue and the characters. T'Pol is brilliant and beautiful. Travis and Hoshi have possibly their best episode here as I remember them being underutilized after this. Phlox is enigmatic and endearing. Trip and Archer are slightly typical bravado, but solid and softened by Archer's apt back story with his father. The both makes amends with patronizing T'Pol, Trip taking his shirt off in the decon and challenging her on the bridge. The supporting character from the Ambassadors, Admirals, Klingons, Suliban (including seductive and believable Sarin) all add to the rich tapestry.

Also, the idea of the show to be early explorers is omnipresent and we are as excited as the characters to discover new civilizations and learn their peculiarities, to try new technology, etc.

Add time travel and foreign worlds who give way to amazing audio and visual effects (including sci-fi elements and sexy elements) and you have a two-hour plus episode that looks like a theatrical release. It helps that it was filmed in 16:9 way before it's time. So revising this pilot I am pumped to see Enterprise again. If nothing else and the series still feel flats, at least I can now be assured that the premise and the production was promising.

Rating changed from 7 to 9/10!

End personal log.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The prequel to Star Trek
spock06527 September 2001
Just saw Enterprise: Broken Bow, and I would have to say that it is different. It's like one hundred years before Kirk and it's interesting to see how Starfleet gets to where we know it. The uniforms are different than the standard color coordination that Star Trek has used before. It's more of a more military look. The starship shots are all computer generated, on The Next Generation they used models, boy I miss that. Great way to start off a new show, especially when they used the transporter on a human for the first time. The show looks to be promising from this pilot.
4 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Commercial disaster
Frequentflyer27 September 2001
The basic premise of this story was exciting for fans of the Star Trek genre, the first tentative mission into intergalactic space by Star Fleet. Sadly, UPN chopped this up so badly with commercials it was difficult to follow the story line. In the last hour of this two-hour movie it seemed like I was watching a repeating pattern of 5 minutes programming followed by five minutes of commercials. I understand commercials pay the bills but this was just too much. If the weekly episode follow this pattern, I'll be tuning out.
7 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Here we go again
russem314 December 2005
Warning: Spoilers
After the dismal series that was Star Trek: Voyager (with over-saturated the Star Trek universe in my honest opinion), I really REALLY wanted to believe that doing a prequel could be the most refreshing thing to happen to Star Trek. However, I was wrong. This is JUST LIKE Star Trek: Voyager - which isn't surprising given the fact that the same creators of that show are back here. What Star Trek really needs is a refresher course, like Nicholas Meyer gave after Star Trek The Motion Picture and Final Frontier. And why does the opening credits have a song instead of the traditional score of the previous series - I really don't understand this (it's a good song by Diane Warren but highly inappropriate for Star Trek). And why do they meet Klingons in this very first episode when Kirk and Company had no idea what they were in the original series - a problematic continuity error. 6 out of 10.
4 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Solid Trek
Charles-3127 September 2001
Okay, the recent history of Star Trek has not been good. The Next Generation faded in its last few seasons, DS9 boldly stayed where no one had stayed before, and Voyager started very bad and never really lived up to its promise. So, when they announced a new Star Trek series, I did not have high expectations. And, the first episode, Broken Bow, did have some problems. But, overall it was solid Trek material and a good romp.

I'll get the nits out of the way first. The opening theme is dull and I don't look forward to sitting through it regularly, but that's what remotes are for. What was really bad was the completely gratuitous lotion rubbing scene that just about drove my wife out of the room. They need to cut that nonsense out.

But, the plot was strong and moved along well. The characters, though still new, seem to be well rounded and not always what you would expect. The Vulcans are clearly being presented very differently than before, with a slightly ominous theme. I particularly liked the linguist, who is the first Star Trek character to not be able to stand proud in the face of death, but rather has to deal with her phobias and fears. They seemed to stay true to Trek lore, something that has been a significant problem in past series, though they have plenty of time to bring us things like shooting through shields, the instant invention of technology that can fix anything, and the inevitable plethora of time-travel stories. Anyone want to start a pool on how long before the Borg show up?

All in all, the series has enormous potential. They are seeing the universe with fresh eyes. We have the chance to learn how things got the way they were in the later series. How did the Klingons go from just insulting to war? How did we meet the Romulans? How did the Federation form and just who put Earth in charge. Why is the prime directive so important? If they address these things rather than spitting out time travel episodes, this will be an interesting series.

My favorite line: Zephram Cochran saying "where no man has gone before" (not "no one")
5 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Star Trek Rocks!
akiradawn24 December 2002
Call me adolescent but I really do think that this is a great series. If you haven't had a chance to experience a few episodes of the latest Star Trek series, you should definitely watch this one. Perhaps more compelling than that of Voyager's Caretaker, which launched the series with Cpt. Janeway, Archer's adventures are completely different, yet strangely familiar...The music is catchy too. No true Sci-fi fan can go without seeing at least one Star Trek episode--and these installments make the wait worthwhile.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A very good start
schuhj28 September 2001
A very good start. I was a bit surprised to find the machinery not quite so advanced: It should have been cruder, to match we saw in the original series. The cast is interesting, although the Vulkan lady comes across as a little too human. She needs to school on Spock who, after all, is the model for this race. Too bad they couldn't have picked Jeri Ryan. I like Ms. Park, the Korean(?)lady. The doctor has possibilities. Haven't sorted out the other males, except for the black guy. He's a really likeable. Bakula needs to find his niche--In QL his strong point was his sense of humor and his willingness to try anything. He is, of course, big and strong enough for the heroics. The heavies were OK, although I didn't like their make-up.
3 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Beginning of a Legacy
Usagi Tsukino 178128 September 2001
I have been a Star Trek fan for as long as I can remember. When they announced the planning and premiere of the fifth series I was very excited.

The premiere of Enterprise was well worth the wait. It was well done with the perfect setting and a great acting job done by all the characters. The NX-01, Enterprise is the perfect vessel to show the beginnings of what many people have come to love.

Scott Bakula was just superior as Captain Jonathan Archer. Jolene Blalock gave a commanding performance as Subcommander T'Pol. That it just two people of this wonderful new crew that is boldly going to take us into the great history of Starfleet.

Enterprise looks like it's going to be a good series well worth watching, and I recommend that. Watch it.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Fresh and new!
xzis10s27 September 2001
This is what I was expecting when star trek DS9 premiered. Not to slight DS9. That was a wonderful show in it's own right, however it never really gave the fans more of what they wanted. Enterprise is that show. While having a similarity to the original trek it differs enough to be original in it's own ways. It makes the ideas of exploration exciting to us again. And that was one of the primary ingredients that made the original so loved. Another ingredient to success was the relationships that evolved between the crew members. Viewers really cared deeply for the crew. Enterprise has much promise in this area as well. The chemistry between Bakula and Blalock seems very promising. While sexual tension in a show can often become a crutch, I feel the tensions on enterprise can lead to much more and say alot more than is typical. I think when we deal with such grand scale characters of different races or species even, we get some very interesting ideas and television. Also, we should note the performances, Blalock is very convincing as Vulcan T'pol and Bacula really has a whimsy and strength of character that delivers a great performance. The rest of the cast delivered good performances also. My only gripes are as follows. The theme. It's good it's different, but a little to light hearted for my liking. We need something a little more grand. Doesn't have to be orchestral. Maybe something with a little more electronic sound would suffice. And my one other complaint. They sell too many adds. They could fix this by selling less ads, or making all shows two parters. Otherwise we'll end up seeing the shows final act getting wrapped up way too quickly as was one of my complaints of Voyager.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
"Take her out Ensign, slow and steady"
Phisocal12 April 2002
I suppose you could say I am a Trekkie (I love Next Generation, Voyager and Enterprise) and when I first bought Broken Bow on video (I missed it on TV) I was overwhelmed by every thing good about it, it rocks. Ever since my dad got me into Star Trek, I've been watching it every day ever since, which probably explains why I love Enterprise. Every actor and actress perform on the mark (my favourite character has to be "Trip" for his humour and sarcasm). Trust me if you're a Trekkie you'll love this!!!
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Great Start-
bridgette_macbride9 October 2001
Ok, so, this is coming a few weeks late, but it is here. Mostly, this is because of statements of various negative natures. Starting with the technology. When Star Trek: TOS ran, special effect technology was extreamely low tec, and more than that, the crew had little money to do any kind of proper mock ups. In the 35 years seince TOS premiered, the crew of Star Trek have become experts at economy.

Ultimately, they have decided, quite rightly in my mind, to abandon the look of TOS and reverse engineered TNG et all. So what if they decided not to make the transporter out of gold glitter or made the phase pistols look closer to the ones from Star Trek II? As for the nits being picked about first contact with the Klingon Empire, it was presumed based upon comments made by Kirk and Riker that Earth only met the Klingon's in 2200. Nothing was firmly established.

Enterprise gives us the most promising venue of exploration that we've seen in a while. This is what Voyager COULD have been. No series can evolve without a few inconsistancies, but be thankful that Star Trek has so few. So, quit gripping and enjoy.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Off to a good start
starlight-14 October 2001
The latest Star Trek gives all hope for the future of television. In light of what has been happening in the USA the last few weeks, Trek can have a unique ability to inspire. This series tries to do that right from the start. Departing from the typical Trek opening of ships flying, they've grounded the scifi story in ideas we see around us today then finish off with their ideas of the future set to the beat of a "I can touch the stars" opening theme. I was not so impressed by the story line in Broken Bow as we're never quite sure what the "Temporal Cold War" is all about and other loose ends. But, I think part of the idea of this series is that everything is supposed to be going by so fast for these characters that they can hardly keep up with it all. Kind of a wild carnival ride where you know you missed some things but you get off thinking "wow, let's do that again!" Scott Bakula has a terrific ability to bring a thoughtfull presence to the hectic environment and the script in the first episode uses him effectively. While you do get the sense that everyone is still looking for their "space legs" concerning their characters as everyone has superficial emotions, there was a sweetness to the Braga/Berman script and some considered moments built on well-done special effects. These are the moments that make the show seem real and allow you to feel that you can put yourself in the place of the characters and think "maybe, some day, that could be me (God, I hope it is!) " which is really what this series is all about and why it's so popular.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The Best Series Starter yet...
megaqueenfan29 September 2001
I think this has the potential of being the best Star Trek series yet, I say POTENTIAL.. we all know there is a chance they will drop the ball and run out of ideas... BUT I HOPE NOT! For those that have not seen it..SEE IT! Without that annoying "PRIME DIRECTIVE" floating over their heads every time they encounter races it could be cool.. and Scott Bakula was without a doubt a GREAT CHOICE for Captain, and the Vulcan Babe is hot too, (Check out the decontamination scene)I gave this a FULL 10... it blows away ALL the other series openers.. I hope this goes longer than 7 years...
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Fall in love with "Trek" all over again
charliecarden29 September 2001
I, like many die-hard Trekkers (or Trekkies, i don't care!) suffered through seven seasons of "Star Trek Voyager", dreaming of a better show when it was over, lamenting the end of "Deep Space Nine" in 1999. prayers, answered. "Enterprise" is fantastic. Fresh perspective, radically different characters, stunning new visuals, a pop-song for the intro. (I was shocked!) I can't think of anything I didn't like. sign me up for 10 seasons of this show. "Star Trek" is back - "Voyager," nobody misses you! Keep on Trekkin'!

>
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
A new hope for the Star Trek saga
jeffq28 September 2001
So far, new Star Trek series take a season or two to get interesting. This one promises to be interesting already. Bakula makes a great Captain. I like the oddball doctor and look forward to fascinating revelations about him. It's great that there's at least one (human) crewmember who isn't sanguine about the dangerous situations; it'll be cool to see her develop a thick skin. Not crazy about the "babe" factor, with Jolene Blalock in a "cat suit" like Seven of Nine from Voyager; it's insulting to ST and SF fans, unnecessary to get attention for a potentially great show, and very much out-of-character for Vulcans. The Suliban and their associates are extremely intriguing -- what do they want? Looking forward to seeing how Berman et al insert stories into the ST saga that tie in but don't mess up the ST universe. (Will Capt. Archer wind up leaving really weird events out of his log? What happens to new aliens that don't seem to be around in Kirk's time? So many interesting questions.)
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Good show, promising series
uw0343428 September 2001
The pilot of Enterprise has one thing that has been lacking since the original Star Trek: A dose of realistic, flawed personalities. The Utopian characters of the Next Generation got tiring, they were so noble as to be unbelievable. I also like the sub-plot that humans are bitter toward the Vulcans. Its funny seeing them as pretentious snobs. It makes me look forward to seeing when the humans become the dominant race between the two, though I don't think it would work in the time frame of the show. The only negatives that jumped out at me were the "quick cut off the ending at 2 hours" feel of the end, which is common among many of the Trek shows. The second was the shameless dig for ratings by a couple of senselessly sexy scenes. It was out of place, a good science fiction show should be able to stand on its own without trying to pad the pre-teen audience with some skin. But its not my job to make the show profitable, so oh well.

Lets see how the next episode does.
2 out of 3 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed