"The Sopranos" 46 Long (TV Episode 1999) Poster

(TV Series)

(1999)

User Reviews

Review this title
13 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
"How did we miss out on this?"
MaxBorg8928 January 2008
Warning: Spoilers
Unusually for an HBO series, this episode of The Sopranos has a teaser (or pre-credits sequence, if you prefer). It's a once-in-a-lifetime event that never occurred again throughout the show's run, but this one time is truly special: as Tony and his friends are chatting about Lady Diana, cloning and the Eiffel Tower, a program about organized crime is shown on TV. One of the interviewees is a former wise-guy (similar to Henry Hill in Goodfellas) who declares the glory days of the mafia are over, causing Silvio to cheer up the crew by quoting the most famous line from the third Godfather movie: "Just when I thought I was out, they pull me back in!". Cue "Woke Up This Morning" and another fifty minutes of essential gangster stories.

After a fairly streamlined pilot (just Tony talking to Dr. Melfi and a few flashbacks revealing how stressful his life is), David Chase goes for multiple plot threads in the second show: the main storyline sees Tony getting in trouble with Uncle Junior over a series of hijacked trucks Chris and his friend Brendan Filone are messing with, whereas two subplots deal with his private business, be it regarding his mother (he and Carmela are looking for a nursing home where she can live peacefully) or his son (AJ's teacher had a car that was stolen; Pussy and Paulie are in charge of getting it back). And in between he keeps exposing his thoughts in the psychiatrist's office.

With the first episode being mostly about the overweight mobster, 46 Long allows some of the supporting players to have more space for their true nature to come out: scariest of the lot is Junior, who may be old but not weak or foolish - this man will beat you to death if you give him the wrong look! Similarly creepy is Livia, who hides something sinister beneath the whining surface (the moment when she asks her son to stab her should have been enough to get Nancy Marchand an Emmy). Chris has an edgier side too, but is too ambitious to keep it under control, meaning things can (and will) get ugly in future shows.

However, for all the darkness there is also some priceless comedy, albeit of the foul-mouthed type: as Pussy (referencing Rockford, another Chase character) and Paulie search for the carjacker, they wind up at Starbuck's, where Paulie goes nuts over how them Yanks stole Italian "copyrights" (cappuccino, espresso, et cetera) and explodes in a memorable rant: "We invented this sh*t and all these other c*cksuckers are getting rich off it!". That such a funny scene is followed by violence is to be expected, given the series constantly juggles awkward humor and moments of pure nastiness, both of which are hugely watchable. In fact, the Godfather quote might even refer to how hard viewers find it to stop watching the show: "Just when I thought I was out, they pull me back in!".
29 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
"Where do we go from here?"
edantheman8 September 2010
Warning: Spoilers
After being introduced to the big fat Jersey mobster in the pilot, the big fat Jersey mobster's two families are given more wiggle room to show and develop themselves in '46 Long'.

The matriarchy is further reinforced by Tony's well-intentioned selfless visits of goodwill to Livia, in which he is eventually forced to put his foot down and his mother in the nursing home (or 'retirement community' as some prefer); Uncle Junior is angered by his nephew's nephew's actions regarding the hijacking of a DVD-loaded Comely truck (one of the few remaining pies Junior still has a whole finger in); Paulie and Pussy have to search for a stolen car belonging to AJ's science teacher (on Tony's orders of course, knowing his son's science grades could do with a boost) and acting boss Jackie Aprile comes out of chemo to rule on what will be his last sit-down.

A recurring theme in this episode is the then-imminent 21st Century, all the things that will come (and have already came) with it and our inability to handle them. Be it Georgy/Livia and their ineptitude with modern telecommunications; Tony's disregard for DVD players, in favour of his more familiar laserdiscs; the pole with which the various underbosses of the DiMeo crime family touch the soon-to-be empty throne atop the organisation ("This day and age? Who wants the f*ckin job?"); Chrissy's adherence to the Mafia hierarchy in fear of taking the other path alone, foregoing the guiding hand of his 'Uncle Tony'.

In Melfi's office Tony is forced to confront the fact that he may hate his mother -and he doesn't like it one bit (aren't sons supposed to love their mothers? he thinks). At the Bing, Georgy's phone-related f*ck-ups get to be too much for him when he ends up whacking (not 'whack' whacking) poor Georgy to the ground with the telecommunications device. On the way out of the strip-club, we share one of our common ponderous silences with Tony as the song 'Battle Flag' by Pigeonhed drones on with 'Maybe it's time to get down, on your m*therfuckin knees'. Maybe it is, Tony.
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
46 Long - The better 1st episode
crowby11 October 2012
Warning: Spoilers
This does a much better job (than the pilot) of establishing the characters of The Sopranos as well as establishing what will be the look and feel of the series for it's duration. We see the already full formed characters such as Paulie, Pussy and Chris in action, doing what they do best, making calls, collecting debts and generally wheeling and dealing in their own inimitable fashion.

Every character in episode 2 is already the fully formed finished product, and the writing and acting is superb.

Immediately gone is the comical style and (most of) the ill advised artful camera angles of the pilot, any comedy flows naturally from the drama, such as the magical moment where Livia bounces her friend off her car bonnet (Nancy Marchand's twisted and addled delivery of all her scenes is awe inspiring and every time she is on screen we know we're in for a treat).

What we see here though is a proper hook for the casual viewer. An episode that will make people (who have not watched before) watch again. There's genuine tension and peril with the conflict between Chris and Brendan and Junior, as well as Tony and his mother. This episode is raw, angry, aggressive and rich in character development.

It's already a perfect example of The Sopranos we know and love.

Oh, and of course what fully formed episode of The Sopranos would be complete without Tony beating Georgie the barman with a telephone receiver? We have lift off.

9/10
13 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Brilliant Blend of Comedy and Drama, Even in This Early Second Episode
Better_TV16 June 2018
This is a show that lives up to the acclaim that's been heaped on it over the years - it's profoundly novelistic and amazingly cinematic, even in its second episode. It's also deeply, deeply funny, with a refreshingly mature sense of humor that moves effortlessly from dark satire to overt jokes about the perceived appropriation of Italian culture and cuisine.

There's a classic A, B, C plot structure in episode 1x2, straight out of screenwriting school: In the A plot, Tony is dealing with his brash nephew Chris's raids on trucking shipments that are supposed to be protected by Tony's rival in the DiMeo family, Uncle Junior; in the B plot, Tony's mother Livia is struggling to live at home by herself, though she refuses to move to a retirement community; and in the C plot, DiMeo mobsters Big Pussy and Paulie Walnuts track down the stolen car of Tony's son A.J.'s science teacher.

All the plots are interesting, and the casting is perfect, right down to the ancillary characters. The A and B plots involve Tony directly, and ultimately this is his story, despite it being an ensemble show. Coursing through Tony's narrative, even in this early episode, is a sense of middle-aged ennui, along with a deep-rooted fear of being unable to protect and secure what's his. Tony is a perpetually stressed, emotionally fragile guy - and for me, that's really what the show is all about, more so than the brief flashes of brutal violence (of which there are several in this episode).

The writing, performances, editing and even the choice of music used here is so darn good; this is a rich show, as juicy and as ripe for analysis as any great American novel. It's such a refreshing show to watch in 2018, in an era of unoriginal reboots and self-important "prestige" shows on premium and streaming channels.

Watch "46 Long," and you can really see why this show would later cement itself as one of the greats.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
46 Long (#1.2)
ComedyFan201026 February 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Tony continues to deal with his stressful life. In the business he has Chris and Brendan rob trucks that are under uncle Junior which also results in an accidental death of a driver. And he has problems in private life as well when his mother has a fire at home and he is still trying to convince her to go to a "retirement community". And his son's teacher's car is stolen and Tony's people are on the case.

A good second episode where we get to know more of the characters and have more action.

Loved the acting, very talented cast. Especially liked Nancy Marchand as Tony's mother in this episode. And lets explore more on whether he hates her or not.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Margetis Review: The Sopranos, Episode 2 "46 Long"
MichaelMargetis10 February 2006
Warning: Spoilers
Not nearly as good as Episode 1, but still brilliant. I loved how this was the only episode that had a scene before the opening credits, and the fact that they were arguing about relevant things like FBI mob enforcement and then they got off in a tangent about Princess Diana. Steven Van Zandt shines in this episode as Silvio and so does Nancy Marchand. We are introduced to Chris' moronic buddy Brendan Filone who accidentally kills a Comely truck driver which infuriates Uncle Junior and Tony. The hit in this episode was interestingly done but nothing really intriguing. I loved the ending, where Tony has his mother on hold at the Bada Bing, and he's trying to think of what he should do. Written by David Chase; Directed by Daniel Attias. My Rating: 9/10.
6 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
The Sopranos Review: S1E2 '46 Long'
The-Social-Introvert5 September 2014
Warning: Spoilers
From what I've been told, the pre-credits sequence in this episode is a once in a lifetime occurrence in the series, which can only signify its importance. It's a really interesting scene too – as a former wise-guy is interviewed on a television set, Tony and his friends discuss cloning, the Eiffel Tower, Lady Diana, and the programme on the television. Seeing their reactions to the man in the TV declaring the glory days of the mafia to be over is somewhat curious – it demonstrated that these men knew that they were mobsters, they acknowledged it. They also despised those who spoke against their organisation. Plus it was cool just to see these guys playing cards and talking about the trivial talk.

The dude in the TV brings up an interesting point. He claims that the modern mafia have lost their mojo, that the sense of honour and the code of silence that kept them strong for so many years was gone. The mafia had eaten itself inside out. What's also interesting is that this point is recognised by both Tony Soprano and Chris Moltisanti on separate occasions in this episode. No doubt that this will play a huge part in future story lines. Other than that the intro allows for Silvio to cheer up the crew by hilariously quoting Al Pacino's most famous line from The Godfather Part III, "Just when I thought I was out, they pull me back in."

46 Long is an excellent episode. It feels like the true beginning of The Sopranos. Tony's accent has been changed to make it more authentic, the characters are more recognisable, and the story seems to be fleshing itself out. It all seems more coherent and streamlined. I imagine, now that the cast and crew knew the series had been officially green lighted, they all brought their A game.

There are multiple plot threads in the second episode, the key of which involves Chris and his idiotic friend Brenden Filone hijacking trucks which belong to Tony's Uncle Junior, which prompts several arguments and lessons learned for the troublesome youths. Despite his recklessness and inability to control his outbursts Chris is shown to be loyal to Tony. The other major plot line involves a continuation of Tony's troubles with his mother, which have amplified so much that she has ended up setting fire to her house and running over her friends. After many hilarious rants from both mother and son, she eventually (and grudgingly) agrees to move into the nursing home- I mean, a retirement community. This scene if followed by a particularly touching one of a teary-eyed Tony going through his mum's old portrait photos….and having one of his now- infamous anxiety attacks. Which brings us back to the shrink meeting with Lorraine Bracco, in which Tony, in spite of his mother's inappropriate behaviour and the psychiatrist's provoking questions, defends his mother. He states, rather movingly, that it is a son's duty to care for his mother.

The third plot line involves that of Anthony Jr's teacher having his car stolen and Tony, for all the wrong reasons of course, offers to find it for him using the dynamic duo Paulie and Salvatore. This pairing is something else. I was cracking up so much at the antics from these two as they searched for clues on the whereabouts of the vehicle, especially Paulie. From his ingenious breaking-and-entry method to his bemoaning of the theft of Italian culture. Not to mention they fail to deliver the car but refuse to give up – Anthony Jr's teacher is bemused when he finds his car safely in the parking area. Except with none of his papers. And it's a different colour. And the paint is still wet.

In conclusion I very much enjoyed what I think is the real opening of The Sopranos, as it contained plenty of humour and drama, juggling the two well enough for a seamless 50 minutes of gangster life.

My Rating: 8/10

Full Review: http://cineranter.wordpress.com/2014/09/05/the-sopranos- review-s1e2-46-long/
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Multiple plots
ctomvelu-17 July 2008
Tony must deal with Uncle Junior over Chris and his friend Brendan's hijacking of trucks under Junior's protection. At the same time, Tony has to cope with his increasingly senile mother, who sets her house on fire and runs over a neighbor. His confrontation with her over where to send her is priceless. Tony hires a nanny for his mother, who turns out to be Jamaican. When he first meets her, he tells her to lay off the ganja while working for his mom. Lovely. AJ's teacher has his car stolen, so Tony sends the boys out to retrieve it. And so on and so on. Maybe a little too much going on but we start to get a feel for some of the secondary characters, like Sil who has a memorable "Godfather" moment in front of a mirror. Chris makes it plain he is going to be hard to control. A near-great episode, but way too busy
5 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
"You want my DVD player? You can watch "Grumpy Old Men"."
Hey_Sweden6 December 2020
Tony once again has his hands full dealing with his problematic mother Livia. Christopher and a friend of his, Brendan Filone (Anthony DeSando), buy lots of trouble when they hijack a truck from a company that is under Uncle Juniors' protection. Tony hears about the theft of his sons' science teachers' car from the school parking lot, and Big P***y and Paulie are tasked with trying to find out what became of it.

The characters are as lively and engaging as ever, with star James Gandolfini having particularly strong scenes with Nancy Marchand as Livia. Tony knows that living in a retirement community is the best thing for his mother, who's shown that she can't really live alone anymore. (She accidentally starts a fire in her kitchen, and also manages to run down her best friend with her car.). But she is so resistant to the idea of leaving her home that she lives him lots of grief over it. As a result, he feels lots of guilt and frustration, and realizes more than ever that repeated sessions with Dr. Melfi can be helpful.

One of this viewers' favourite moments was Paulie perusing the environment in a Starbuck's coffee shop, and voicing displeasure that the mainstream has so completely exploited Italian cuisine and culture for the sake of making a buck. Adding to the comedy elements is the fact that one employee of Tony's is so inept when placing / receiving phone calls that Tony eventually loses his patience with the guy. Silvio repeatedly references Al Pacino in "Godfather III", which always gets a laugh out of his cohorts.

A good follow-up to the pilot episode, this was likewise written by series creator David Chase, and was directed by Daniel Attias ("Stephen Kings' Silver Bullet"). Marchand is the true MVP of this episode.

Eight out of 10.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The Sopranos rewatch - '46 Long' (contains vague spoilers for later seasons)
jdjc00114 March 2021
Warning: Spoilers
When I reviewed the pilot, I mentioned that the first episode of a show can be the most difficult in a show's run. What I probably should've mentioned is that the problems that can be encountered while making a pilot will almost definitely run over into the next few episodes as well, even if the foundation has already been established. '46 Long' certainly feels like the show is still finding its footing, what with the cold open scene, corny music during Tony's panic attack at Livia's house, and an overwhelming focus on black humour. This is not to say that all of these features are inherently misguided - I do really enjoy some of the humour in this episode - but it is obvious that the balance of the various elements of genre in this show have yet to be refined.

The reason for my high score comes predominantly because the scenes with Livia are just fantastic, both in how they are written and the excellent performance of Nancy Marchand. She provides an excellent comparison to the other world that Tony deals with (that being the gruesome world of the mafia) and her presence in the show is definitely integral to the character development of Tony Soprano. The scenes between Tony and Dr. Melfi are just as good, as we can see a determined Melfi cautiously trying to weave her way around Tony's lifestyle while attempting to be as direct as possible. I had almost forgotten how significant Melfi was as a character on her own before she became little more than an expository device in the later seasons.

The other parts of the episode (the stolen car and the truck hijacking) were still entertaining, but I think that the emphasis on comedic value was a slightly undermining factor in both scenarios, particularly with regard to the very stereotypical gay couple who stole the car. However, I did like how the episode had a central theme - generational conflict - with the interview shown during the cold open having many elements of foreshadowing to it.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Coats
bevo-1367816 December 2020
I like the bit at the start where he honked the horn in the truck
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Why does the first episode have a higher score?
cartoonplanet8 July 2021
Warning: Spoilers
This episode tends to have 2 or 3 slow scenes that may drag on but besides that this episode is fantastic follow up on the first episode and much better. The story is progressing, the characters are getting further depth and I'm understanding the goal of what this series wants us to be invested in. The morals of these characters will come to question later on but I'm sure the show will handle it well 9/10.
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Wooww
memobnm4 February 2021
Wmever ep of this is just amazing i cant i love it i will never forget this show
0 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed