The Blacklist (TV Series 2013– ) Poster

(2013– )

User Reviews

Review this title
721 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
James Spader has created a great character.
brianehill19 September 2015
Once again I see people criticizing a good enjoyable show because it's not like reality and "Real governments and law enforcement organizations don't operate that way!!!!" Get a grip people! Batman isn't real either but he's fun to watch! The delineation of James Spader's Raymond Reddington is more important than any hang ups you could possibly have with the plot. I just can't see passing up such a good performance and character study because a fictional show isn't reality. It's not often a real good character comes along and I feel Spader has pulled this one off excellently in every respect. Don't cheat yourself people. It's a good show.
341 out of 378 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Still good but getting irritating
jtags-8405918 February 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Have watched all seasons and its still a good show but as with others getting tired of the Elizabeth antics and the almost split personality and insane pursuit of finding Reds 'secret' and love/hate relationship while still doing his bidding. Also pretty sure Red turns out to be her mum as everything else makes absolutely no sense with this 'secret' issue which I feel has gone on too long. I for one am more interested in the actual Black listers than the long winded 'secret' narrative that surely has long run its course after 5 seasons.
114 out of 124 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Elisabeth
gdaskalou-3251616 March 2019
This is indeed one of my favorite shows and one of the best i have seen. Spader is insane and the character is amazing. But for the love of god can someone please kill elisabeth and get her to dissapear from the show?? Terrible acting and iritating character makes a bad combo ... let her die so we can enjoy the series and not want to pull our eyes out ...
105 out of 115 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Love everything about this show except "Lizzy"
mlphi71519 July 2019
James Spader is superb in his roll as Raymond Reddington. I find all the characters in the show top rate and believable....except for Megan Boone and the character Elizabeth. This character is so sanctimonious and self centered it just grates against my nerves.This character does anything she "feels"is the best thing even if it's against protocol and puts the team in danger. Then berates Reddington, who is actually helping her, because he colors outside the lines.The fact that the show went from an interesting "get the really bad guys" show to all about "Lizzy" has gotten really very annoying and is starting to get old. There are 6 other characters to shed some focus on. I understand the background story between her and Reddington is important....I get that. But all the drama and, not to mention, all the dumb selfish things Elizabeth does is really starting to be a turn off. Whoever the writer is for this character needs to be fired. Also, what's up with Lizzy's miraculous healing powers? She can get punched in the face by a man and not only get up right away, but never has a scratch on her. She should have had black eyes for at least a couple of weeks. Everybody else on the show gets realistically (believably) injured and goes through the healing process. But not cast iron Lizzy. Come on guys, give it a rest. Please don't turn a great show of intrigue,espionage and edge of your seat stories into a soap opera with a bad leading actress. I TRULY want to continue watching this show. Needless to say, this is why I gave a 9 rating instead of a 10.
119 out of 131 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
One Glorious Actor Can Make A Difference
macktan89422 October 2015
The Blacklist isn't the best TV show you've ever seen--it's not edgy or innovative with an original storyline or remarkable cinematography. It doesn't have distinctive, stylish features. Into its 3rd season, The Blacklist survives, it thrives despite its being no Breaking Bad, or Mr. Robot, or Fargo, or The Knick. How is this possible? Just what is its appeal?

James Spader as Red Reddington is the answer and the sole reason this show is so watchable. He's not only the captain of the ship, he's the crew and the ship as well. In short, his performance is everything that makes this show great and I suspect he's somehow improved the template like performances of his supporting actors over time. The man is just a joy to watch and makes an improbable character--govt spy turned international criminal mastermind-- delightful and believable. Every actor on that show ought to thank Spader for allowing them the opportunity to make money on a show that would have been cancelled its first year--perhaps mid-season--if he were not on it. It's the darndest thing, the difference one actor can make.

Still, I wish that the creators had chosen a different actress to play the part of Elizabeth Keen, the FBI profiler that Red Reddington is inexplicably fond of. Someone like Zoe Saldana would have been brilliant casting and added dimension to the mystery of the Keen-Reddington relationship. And perhaps better casting for that part would have inspired the writers to shape her role more credibly and sent the show into the stratosphere. While Megyn Kelly may be a solid actress, she does not yet have the chops to make something of the oddly inconsistent writing for her role. Too late to change this up now.

I'm hardly the only fan who tunes in to enjoy Spader's performance, marveling at how the dreamy young actor with long blonde hair evolved into this very charming, balding older man who can act his *beep* off. I give him an Emmy for just Being There.
260 out of 299 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Spaderrrrr
oneiljas22 February 2019
Created my account just to come in and praise James Spader. I'm late to starting the show but binge watched it and love it. He definitely knows what he's doing and it's been a pleasure watching.
59 out of 65 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Please stop flipping Liz's character
musclelondon14 February 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I used to love this show but I'm struggling this season. The writers have a long history of Liz flipping from 'I hate you Reddington' to 'I love you Reddington' multiple times within a season and possibly within an episode.

This season however, she appears to have a split personality as her feelings change depending on who she's talking to. Will I keep watching, yes. Am I enjoying it, no. I'm just hoping there is some kind of payoff.
30 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I'm hooked once again
martinbrunero21 March 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Ever since Kate Kaplan survived the bullet to the head The Blacklist series seems revitalised and was allowed the scope explore new and exciting directions. Series 6 has started off in much the same way. The whole series is escapism at its finest and worth a look. Reddington (James Spader) has a fascinating on screen role. One of the most likable TV villains of all time.
46 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Spader is the Glue
nycbren646 May 2019
Spader is the reason this show makes it. Maybe at some point Boone will learn how to act from Spader. Hard to watch her act . Very one dimensional and flat.
70 out of 81 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Warning!
Bauer083 August 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I already wrote a review of The Blacklist, but after having watched half of season 6, I have to write an addendum; a warning if you will. Not only does Agent Keen's character become increasingly irksome and irratic, the worst part is that Megan Boone becomes a worse actress with each episode. I'm not sure how this is possible, as 5 seasons with the brilliant James Spader would have rubbed off positively on even the most incompetent amateur actor. But somehow Boone manages to become even less charismatic and even more boring. Begs the question why she even landed the part in the first place, as the height of her carreer should have been a walk-on on "The Bold & the Beautiful". I'm guessing it's a bit of wonderful nepotism at the hands of some related Hollywood boss. Bottom line: She is a horrific actress and makes sn otherwise entertaining show almost unwatchable.
63 out of 73 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Gets better before it gets worse.
sagir-khan18 January 2019
James Spader is an enigma of an actor. His voice and acting can carry any show. The supporting cast are great. The Blacklist has several likeable characters including Tom, Dembe, Cooper, Ressler and especially Aram Mujtabai but it suffers at its core because of its female protagonist

The main problem is the female lead character, Elizabeth Keen. Megan Boone has done a good job of portraying the character but the writing behind the character is awful. Special Agent Keen was likeable until halfway through season 3. The character has massive daddy issues and zero integrity. She will constantly have a hot and cold relationship with Raymond but at the end of the day she will side with Raymond every time. She's quick to overlook every criminal offence Red has committed and is likely to commit in the future and she will readily justify it by saying the FBI needs him. She has even shown she's willing to commit crimes if she can get away with it. Her self righteousness has also spread out and infected the other characters over the later seasons. I had originally rated this show 8/10 but the score dropped down 2 points in the last two seasons.
80 out of 97 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
used to be...
judidequaker15 March 2019
This used to be one of the most creative unique shows on television and James Spader is quite amazing also :-) but, does whole Keen mission to find out who he really is is really taking the TV show down the tubes. Go back to the original storyline! It was a great show why did you change it?
26 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Free Reddington and Dembe From This Rubbish!
pastafrolla19 April 2018
Reddington and Dembe must have their dialogue written by completely different writers than everyone else on this show. Of the regular cast they are the only two characters that aren't painful to watch and listen to. Spin-off these two actors along with their storyline and dump everything and everyone, including the writers who are scripting this corny cliched drivel. Spader carries this show on his back.
102 out of 127 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A great show spoilt by sub par co-star
jon-evancook6 March 2019
James Spader is eminently watchable but why did they not kill off Elizabeth Keen when they had the opportunity, her character spoils my overall enjoyment of this show. Surely the writers could find a better way to keep Reddington's ID and motives a mystery.
60 out of 73 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
2/10
Elizabeth-Get over it
mycoactivecoach2 February 2019
Warning: Spoilers
I have really liked this show for it's unique approach to the foibles of humanity. And it was tragic when Tom was killed. But I was DONE after Liz betrayed Reddington. For the past few seasons her character has appeared alternatively vapid, confused, and just not that interesting. Ok, she knows Red's her daddy. And who is this flimsy sister character they introduced buy never developed? She's a bit wimpy to me. So blah, blah, blah. Liz-either flat out shoot Red and move on or go find another set. You're spoiling the fun of this master mind criminal turned whatever. And you've become just plain boring.
46 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Hair
karmenspillercontact9 March 2015
I've really been enjoying the first season of The Blacklist. It's thought provoking, has many twists and turns, and the cast is excellent. I feel as if Donald Ressler could use some more character definition instead of just being the angry/arrogant protagonist without explanation, although they may explain it later since I'm only a few episodes in. The only other thing that has bothered me throughout the show is Elizabeth Keen's hair. It looks like a badly placed and groomed wig. I realize this isn't her choice, but it makes her head look large and is distracting throughout many of the episodes. It's a small detail, but a very important one if you want the audience to create a connection with the lead. Hopefully next season they will change up her look.
67 out of 85 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
"Spader's Show"
tanmay1021 September 2016
Spader with yet another magnificent performance. This show has got everything from a good plot to an interesting lead male, to not so good female lead Megan Boone. Despite Spader's splendid performance , Boone's appalling acting makes the show a little less pleasing. It has a deep interesting story going around with an episode basis criminal search. While the main story holds you to this show , the episodes have lots of loopholes.You can count 2-3 loopholes in each episode easily. Background music and songs used here is awesome , delivers it purpose. If you are a fan of James Spader , you are definitely in for a treat.Despite ,the performance of Megan Boone, you will definitely enjoy the show.
20 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
Katerina Rostova story arc...PLEASE STOP this stupidity SPOILERS
DaytonaBob27 October 2019
Warning: Spoilers
This is my second review on this series. I really do love the premise and I like the way Red is working to eventually make himself the world crime kingpin while actually doing some good on the way. So I like that part of the story arcs.

BUT please STOP with these all season long subplots.

This idiocy of the Rostova story arc is STUPID. Seriously STUPID. We know she will be found out. Probably killed or at the last imprisoned but more likely killed.

WE know it because these are the main stars. What happened to a highly rated FBI agent working against these bad guys and Red KNOWING she will be working an angle and she never has her apt swept and this incredibly stupidity. OR suddenly this new neighbor shows up and the writing is just so bad and dumb for this arc.

I cannot think of another word. So please stop with these subplots. They are boring and we know how they will ALWAYS turn out. You are not going to lose your top stars on the show. So just kill her off and get on with the various villains OKAY?

To me this sort of time wasting will end up killing the show. It is boring and we know he will win and next season WHAT? Some other lame subplot? Just stop it okay.

Because I just fast forward through those parts anyway. I don't care about them and I would bet neither does the vast majority of viewers. Get rid of the character and get on with the show.
23 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Red run the hole series.
snikers-0437520 June 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Raymond Reddington run the hole series, some good characters and a okay story. The thing ruining the show, is that a couple of the lead roles and FBI agents are very emotionally unstable and very unfit to be FBI agents. Elizabeth Keen is especially unstable, terrible as a profiler, childish, selfish and always act and talk (in her own interests) without ever thinking, and somebody always saves her, mostly Red ... again and again and again ... Is she 30 or 13. Liz "I promised myself I' was not gonna cry ... Boohoo". I can understand Ressler, he is sort of obligatory, "agent brake down", who would be fired. But Elizabeth Keen is just broken and bad writing, always drama never thinking, she keeps messing things up and makes others clean up after her.

I would probably have given The Blacklist 8 stars. If it had not been for that soap opera character, that most series and movies for some sad reason, almost always have today.

The best episodes is the ones when Liz is "dead" (like we would ever be that lucky) because her constant drama and misplaced anger is gone, and the characters actually act like adults and not a bunch of nanny's for her, maybe a little like a bunch of revengeful nanny's.

If James Spader is going to write another show, I suggest he does not write his horrible daughter in it, no matter how much she whines. I don't know if he has a daughter, but I can only assume the character is a big F you to her, like "this is how you act, you disgusting person". The rest of the show i not bad.
32 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
Not smart people
ckrautheim-3614921 April 2019
I hope Liz & Ressler are not an idndication of the competence of actual FBI agents or the country is doomed. Have they ever conducted a surveillance where the criminal did not escape?
22 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
glad to see spader back
tomhg3825 September 2013
Read the synopsis of this show and saw James Spader was starring and had to check it out.

Plot centers around a criminal mastermind that has eluded authorities for years, but whom in the opening scenes inexplicably gives himself over to FBI custody. What unfolds is a tale where no one is who they seem to be and the audience is never truly sure where anyone's loyalties truly lie.

Obviously we are only one episode deep (as of writing this) but the show looks like it has a good shot at taking off as a smart roller coaster of intrigue and character development.

The negatives were few, apart from the female lead the other fbi agents seemed very generic, stiff and set in their ways and fairly ineffective at dealing with what is portrayed as a vastly superior criminal underworld.

fans of spader such as myself will doubtless watch this regardless of reviews or ratings, but if you enjoy shows in the vein of thomas crown affair or catch me if you can, you will likely enjoy this kind of show.
128 out of 176 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Good show , but!
riquelmy26-882-41662012 February 2019
I would give this show higher ratings if it were not for that Lizzie lady who is the most annoying person in the whole show. She keeps betraying her own friends with her own stupidity. Why don't the writers of the show make her disappear like her husband? The show does not need her. I am sure it will survive without her. Without her, I would be happy to give higher and much higher rating. I enjoy the show, but that lady is a major turn off.
29 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
In my opinion the BEST newcomer this season (fall 2013)
Dr_Sagan9 October 2013
The Blacklist is in my opinion the best series right now on TV. I waited to see 3 episodes before I write this mini-review, just to be sure!

It's about one of FBI's most wanted fugitives, Raymond "Red" Reddington, who, without an apparent reason, walks into FBI Headquarters in Washington, D.C. and surrenders! He has a secret agenda though and no one knows exactly what it is. He offers his expertise and connections to the FBI, to help catching some of the world's most dangerous criminals and terrorists (=The Blacklist). There is a condition and it is a strange one: He only talks to Elizabeth Keen, a young FBI profiler.

The main character is played by James Spader with an earthly style and confidence. He is really good in this. Not an over-the-top performance, with too much sarcasm like the usual mastermind villains in movies or series. He is succeeding to put a tone of regret in his character and that's make him likable.

Megan Boone is OK as the rookie agent, Diego Klattenhoff is very good too.

The production is looking good, the pacing (a very important factor in TV series) is great, and so far the plot works fine. In each episode we are seeing Reddington helping FBI catch another world class villain, but there is a backbone central story that also seems interesting.

Overall: Highly recommended.
181 out of 258 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing Show
Annettemc-817-87818014 October 2013
I've been looking forward to James Spader's return to the small screen since Boston Legal. and just finished watching last episode at http://www.trailerdb.net as always Mr Spader has chosen well the show to return with, it is a fascinating series about a mastermind criminal turning himself in to the FBI with a list of criminals that are pulling strings all over the world, the people behind the criminals.

The termination of Dexter and Breaking bad has left very little to watch on television but I can't help but to be hopeful with such great new shows taking their places.

I am a big fan of Mr Spader and I can't wait for the next episodes. Bravo!
175 out of 251 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Sweet
Eric_Cubed9 September 2014
The thing is, you just gotta decide what you are in the mood for. If you are in the mood for ridiculous, campy fun, this is your show. If you in the mood for gritty, well researched crime-drama realism, this is not your show. It isn't Breaking Bad and it isn't even in the category of the awesome English Detective Show. But it is fun. And it is especially fun if you have, let us say, a bit too much gritty realism in your 9 to 5 and you need to escape for awhile. James Spader has an uncanny ability to lose himself in his absurd character and make us suspend belief, if only for a few merciful moments, and really enjoy the show. It's hard to forgive the writers for the obvious clichés and intentionally constructed character hodgepodges (I can picture them now: "Okay, for this show we're gonna combine Dr. Lector with Sherlock. M-Kay?") but Spader and the unbelievable gorgeous token partner pull it off brilliantly. I kind of wish this was more in the style of 24, with more relentless action and less clean sweeping.
32 out of 42 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed