PEN15 (TV Series 2019– ) Poster

(2019– )

User Reviews

Review this title
145 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
As Someone who is Half Japanese...
Go-Between10 February 2019
I've only watched a couple episodes, but it is so dead on so far from my experience. Set in 2000, I would have been the older brother. My sister is literally named Maya, was into Sylvanian animals, etc. She once cut her hair stupid and I laughed and my mom cut it into an embarrassing way. my ojiichan died some years before but we were told he would watch over us at all times. So yeah, masturbating? Is he judging us? It's so wild to see such a specific character I can relate to that I have never seen in any tv show or movie.
115 out of 137 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Na & UGIS RULE!
renaissancebradley8 February 2019
Warning: Spoilers
A story about two prepubescent girls played by two 30 year old actresses the medication I didn't know I needed. From the very first teaser trailer I felt we had pure comedy gold in our hands and the show did not disappoint. Whether it be watching Maya discover masturbation for the first time or Anna constantly getting blown off by her school boy crush all the stories told in this series are hilarious, cringeworthy and insanely relatable. This show is simply brilliant and the actresses really embodies their confused and hormonal younger selves. Sometimes to the point where I forget their 30 something year old women. Good Job girls, I personally can't wait for season 2!
68 out of 80 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Haven't lol'd this hard in a long time
acompton-583099 February 2019
Some of the things that happened on this show were exactly my experience as a tween. So thankful for the girls' perspective and being spared the typical trite portrayal of what is accurately demonstrated here as a brutally painful, awkward, and hilarious (in hindsight) time in life. Writing and acting really encapsulates what it's like to lose your childlike innocence as a young girl. Binged it in a day aka when's season 2??
88 out of 110 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing
swain-6688515 February 2019
The show can be a little weird at times, but overall it's a hilarious, laugh out loud nostalgia trip back to middle school with lovable characters, and fantastic lead performances. Make sure you have the time before you start the series, cause you're going to want to binge watch the whole season in one sitting. I absolutely loved this show! Season 2 can't come soon enough!
52 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Chill out
drwp-919418 February 2019
Everyone who complains about the age difference clearly isn't getting the joke. Remember body doubles exist and are used! The whole mentality of growing up at that time is there. They captured it. I'm 14 again watching this. Good stuff!
75 out of 107 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hilarious and poignant
ninarose-0061814 February 2019
What you think would be absurd and ridiculous, 31 year olds playing 13 year olds is so brilliantly executed, it's one of the most creative poignant and hilarious TV shows to date.
42 out of 58 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
So funny
kennedyjohannsen9 February 2019
Such a great show, totally real and relatable... Literally laughed out loud in every episode!!
40 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This is fantastic
zscox8 February 2019
I was the same age at the same time. I will say that they say a lot of words that I never remember anyone saying. Like "it's chill"... I mean... who said what in 2000? The music is great and the actresses are hilarious.
48 out of 69 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
The funniest show since Letterkenny
KOOLAIDBRO16 September 2020
Maya Erskine and Anna Konkle play teenage versions of themselves where in the first episode they are starting their first day of 7th grade with dreams of how great it is going to be. I think most of us know how complicated this time of our lives were. I was literally laughing out loud at things and others I felt extremely uncomfortable which is part of the charm. The way they play off each other is fantastic and their interactions with the actual teens in this is where it really shines. The soundtrack of the late 90's and early 00's is perfectly placed and adds to the comedy. I accidentally started watching this and it is one of the best mistakes I've ever made. Being a man there are things that I can't relate to and I started to think that maybe it would be even that much more funny to women, but there's things like the boys trying to catch a booby shot on the restricted cable channel. Any male growing up before the internet was flooded with pornsites will understand this. This show is pure gold.
11 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
OMG
mcleodjack13 February 2019
I was bored and read on IMDB that this show was funny. A show about teenagers that's funny? No way. WAY! It's not your typical "Saved by the Bell" schmaltz. This is 7th grade, Biotch. I wouldn't let my 13 year old watch a show like this because it's for adults. But it sure brings back memories. The two girls could not be any funnier. Smoking, masturbating, first kiss, farts, mean girls, mean boys, starting your period and list goes on. You're brain dead if you don't laugh out loud.
39 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Graduated 2008 it is litteraly on the money
southernpride510893 October 2020
I miss times when cell phones were not around. Skating rink, litteraly 6 people coupled up in a little room with homemade cubicles Doing what kids do (honestly not having phones just aol & aim you expirenced more) if you graduated 2005 to 2008 this is super on point. To be honest I might have been on the more expirenced middle school side haha.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
My new favorite
visubversa16 September 2020
I am a 40 year old man. Why is this my new favorite show? I watch Colombo. I watch history documentaries one day, and Archer the next. But there's something about this show that my wife and I absolutely love. We were the freaks and geeks, but we had that one friend who was kept us level and made us who we are. I hope this show lasts for as long as possible.
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Highlights the hilarity of being a teenager.
ibarro-614159 February 2019
Apparently some of these reviewers need to go back to watching reruns of Frasier. For those looking for something new and brutally honest about those awkward years this could be the show for you!
40 out of 59 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best show I've seen in years
Nucci3721 May 2020
I haven't felt this way about a show in a long time. The writing and acting of the two main characters is so superb you forget that they are 30 year olds acting. I laughed out loud so many times while watching this series. I blew through the first season in about 2 days. I'm on my second watch right now and am trying to take it slow but am already on episode 9 lol. My favorite episode has to be Community Service, the "tomorrow" scene had me dying. I can't wait for season 2!
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
What's Not to Love?
nikitashaym9 February 2019
Both main actors do a phenominal job! Traveling back to 2000 is quite enjoyable and very realistic. The storyline is real and lessons are learned. The comedy flow and warmth keeps the viewer coming back for more!
30 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Funny and nostalgic! Get over the age difference!
weirdedout9 February 2019
A wonderful exploration of going through the most awkward years of your life in the 2000s. It's SO nostalgic as anyone who grew up in that era experienced these exact things! AIM episode on point. Now, to address the big issue people have, the fact that 30-year-olds are playing 13 year-olds. Get over it. Have you watched Wet Hot American Summer on Netflix? It's the same deal. And yes, I get that it can be weird to think of them pretending to have these relationships with these teenagers, BUT hear me out. 1, they have body doubles for anything necessary because obviously. 2, would you feel MORE comfortable watching an ACTUAL 13-year-old girl discovering masturbation or shaking her bare ass sexually in a thong in the mirror? HELL NO. You would be disgusted. It's far more inappropriate than their approach. So take a seat, and enjoy the nostalgia of awkward teen years, especially if you went to middle school in the early 2000s. It's a hilarious and wonderful period piece.
32 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Love this show so much
shelliemarie_c19 September 2020
I am older and grew up in the 90's, but I think this show is relatable to anyone who can remember the awkwardness and ridiculous, sometimes heartbreaking situations we are subjected to as young adolescents. I think that is what makes it so funny, seeing other people having similar embarrassment, friendships and of course the ever present mean kids. If you think this is so inappropriate then you are no longer in touch with your preteen/teen self. Definitely not a show for actual young kids though, hence the MA rating.
8 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
"Don't leave me"
POIguy27 September 2020
Warning: Spoilers
What I once thought was a joke of a show quickly became one of the most wholesome, raw, and hilarious television viewing experiences I've had in quite some time. PEN15 is a spot on depiction of middle school - everything from the "Yur Mom!" jokes, the name calling, the awkward sexual encounters, and the sweet and innocent friendships. Even though both of the main actors are in their 30s, they both do an amazing job of making you believe they're back in 7th grade. It's kind of strange to think this show is a bit of a period piece. It takes place in 2000, so it's relatively older for 2020. Pen15 made sure the audience realized it took place in 2000 while not shoving it in your face. Watching this show made me extremely nostalgic. I went to middle school in 2010, so this show is about 10 years before my time, but I still consider my middle school experience very similar to Maya and Anna's. The scene that really got me was the scene at the dance where Maya and Anna were dancing with no one else around. They share a dance together and then each tell each other "Don't leave me." I suppose it made me reflect on my own childhood and I realized how many people I was friends with in middle school and how most of those people I barely talk to now. In particular, my best friend in middle school and I were very close at one point, but now we don't even talk anymore. Watching PEN15 allowed me to take a trip down memory lane and relive those sweet and awkward times (I know middle school wasn't the greatest for everyone, but I found it quite amusing). Absolutely wonderful show. I can't wait for the 2nd half of season 2 to come out!
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Super Funny and Traumatic LOL
shill033025 September 2020
This show is comedic gold!!! It is the perfect representation of middle school experiences. By far the best show in a LONG time. Season 2 reminded me so much of my middle school experience and was almost traumatizing because of how accurate it was! Absolutely love this show and highly recommend it to anyone who needs a new show to watch!
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Brilliant, refreshing.
meekphilly9 May 2020
Couldn't be a funnier more accurate tribute to the beloved 2000s. Season 2 is heavily anticipated to this viewer.
6 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
So funny and real
artbydanielhale8 February 2019
Whoever has an issue with this show is a sad prude. It's funny, it's real, I love That grown women are playing themselves as 7th graders.
38 out of 64 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Brilliant, Dry, and Relatable
jjklepp9 February 2019
First of all, they are all professional actors. Secondly, these teenager's parents obviously read the script and knew what the show was and agreed to let their children be a part of it. The kids also had a say in it. Was it obvious the main characters were older? Yes, but not enough to be off putting. If you just ignore the fact,

The series is brilliant! I graduated in '03, so I def remember middle school like this. Nostalgic, funny, cringe-worthy, with plenty of ups and downs that keep you at the edge of your seat.
31 out of 51 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A Spiritual Successor to Freaks and Geeks.
casualspider7 August 2019
This show fills a void for me that I didn't know existed. As a guy in his early 30's, this hits the middle school experience on the head. The awkwardness, the emotions, the cliques. It's tonally perfect. I am so stoked they are greenlit for a second season. This show is too perfect.
9 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Brilliantly written and captures the intricate details
kcitraro9 August 2019
I almost always forget maya and Anna are 30. I think this show is exceptional. It absolutely captures the exact emotion and actions of 7th grade. EVERYTHING! Spoken and emotionally captured. There were many moments that I felt exactly as they did while watching. That is because they made me remember that I went through what they did. I felt it to my core. .. funny.. charming.. sad.. embarrassed.. all of it.
10 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Did you read my diary?
hachacha71715 February 2019
This was every dork's middle school years. I was amazed at how it captured the essence of being awkward, uncool, and desperately wanting to fit in. But it also captured what it's like having a best friend that you share everything with, even the embarrassing stuff. I remember my friend sending me off to the baseball dugouts to make out with a boy I barely knew. I stuffed an uninflated balloon in my mouth and proceeded to make squeaking sounds ever time he got near. I played him a song. And then we left. Awkward and weirded out and embarrassed. It was my scarecrow moment. This show is making me relive all that.
21 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed