PEN15 (TV Series 2019– ) Poster

(2019– )

User Reviews

Review this title
97 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
8/10
As Someone who is Half Japanese...
Go-Between10 February 2019
I've only watched a couple episodes, but it is so dead on so far from my experience. Set in 2000, I would have been the older brother. My sister is literally named Maya, was into Sylvanian animals, etc. She once cut her hair stupid and I laughed and my mom cut it into an embarrassing way. my ojiichan died some years before but we were told he would watch over us at all times. So yeah, masturbating? Is he judging us? It's so wild to see such a specific character I can relate to that I have never seen in any tv show or movie.
60 out of 67 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Na & UGIS RULE!
renaissancebradley8 February 2019
Warning: Spoilers
A story about two prepubescent girls played by two 30 year old actresses the medication I didn't know I needed. From the very first teaser trailer I felt we had pure comedy gold in our hands and the show did not disappoint. Whether it be watching Maya discover masturbation for the first time or Anna constantly getting blown off by her school boy crush all the stories told in this series are hilarious, cringeworthy and insanely relatable. This show is simply brilliant and the actresses really embodies their confused and hormonal younger selves. Sometimes to the point where I forget their 30 something year old women. Good Job girls, I personally can't wait for season 2!
41 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Haven't lol'd this hard in a long time
acompton-583099 February 2019
Some of the things that happened on this show were exactly my experience as a tween. So thankful for the girls' perspective and being spared the typical trite portrayal of what is accurately demonstrated here as a brutally painful, awkward, and hilarious (in hindsight) time in life. Writing and acting really encapsulates what it's like to lose your childlike innocence as a young girl. Binged it in a day aka when's season 2??
63 out of 76 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing
swain-6688515 February 2019
The show can be a little weird at times, but overall it's a hilarious, laugh out loud nostalgia trip back to middle school with lovable characters, and fantastic lead performances. Make sure you have the time before you start the series, cause you're going to want to binge watch the whole season in one sitting. I absolutely loved this show! Season 2 can't come soon enough!
33 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Hilarious and poignant
ninarose-0061814 February 2019
What you think would be absurd and ridiculous, 31 year olds playing 13 year olds is so brilliantly executed, it's one of the most creative poignant and hilarious TV shows to date.
31 out of 38 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
So funny
kennedyjohannsen9 February 2019
Such a great show, totally real and relatable... Literally laughed out loud in every episode!!
28 out of 35 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
OMG
mcleodjack13 February 2019
I was bored and read on IMDB that this show was funny. A show about teenagers that's funny? No way. WAY! It's not your typical "Saved by the Bell" schmaltz. This is 7th grade, Biotch. I wouldn't let my 13 year old watch a show like this because it's for adults. But it sure brings back memories. The two girls could not be any funnier. Smoking, masturbating, first kiss, farts, mean girls, mean boys, starting your period and list goes on. You're brain dead if you don't laugh out loud.
27 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Chill out
drwp-919418 February 2019
Everyone who complains about the age difference clearly isn't getting the joke. Remember body doubles exist and are used! The whole mentality of growing up at that time is there. They captured it. I'm 14 again watching this. Good stuff!
53 out of 75 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
This is fantastic
zscox8 February 2019
I was the same age at the same time. I will say that they say a lot of words that I never remember anyone saying. Like "it's chill"... I mean... who said what in 2000? The music is great and the actresses are hilarious.
37 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Highlights the hilarity of being a teenager.
ibarro-614159 February 2019
Apparently some of these reviewers need to go back to watching reruns of Frasier. For those looking for something new and brutally honest about those awkward years this could be the show for you!
32 out of 46 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
What's Not to Love?
nikitashaym9 February 2019
Both main actors do a phenominal job! Traveling back to 2000 is quite enjoyable and very realistic. The storyline is real and lessons are learned. The comedy flow and warmth keeps the viewer coming back for more!
23 out of 34 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Brilliant, Dry, and Relatable
jjklepp9 February 2019
First of all, they are all professional actors. Secondly, these teenager's parents obviously read the script and knew what the show was and agreed to let their children be a part of it. The kids also had a say in it. Was it obvious the main characters were older? Yes, but not enough to be off putting. If you just ignore the fact,

The series is brilliant! I graduated in '03, so I def remember middle school like this. Nostalgic, funny, cringe-worthy, with plenty of ups and downs that keep you at the edge of your seat.
26 out of 40 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
So funny and real
artbydanielhale8 February 2019
Whoever has an issue with this show is a sad prude. It's funny, it's real, I love That grown women are playing themselves as 7th graders.
32 out of 53 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
This Series Draws You In and Leaves You Wanting More
cleverme20056 April 2019
The characters are extremely likeable and well developed. Everyone of all ages, no matter what generation you are, you can find some parallel to the awkwardness of these characters as they navigate the 7th grade; Cringeworthy moments which are painful, comical and memorable.

Well written and funny. I can't wait for Season 2.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Funny and nostalgic! Get over the age difference!
weirdedout9 February 2019
A wonderful exploration of going through the most awkward years of your life in the 2000s. It's SO nostalgic as anyone who grew up in that era experienced these exact things! AIM episode on point. Now, to address the big issue people have, the fact that 30-year-olds are playing 13 year-olds. Get over it. Have you watched Wet Hot American Summer on Netflix? It's the same deal. And yes, I get that it can be weird to think of them pretending to have these relationships with these teenagers, BUT hear me out. 1, they have body doubles for anything necessary because obviously. 2, would you feel MORE comfortable watching an ACTUAL 13-year-old girl discovering masturbation or shaking her bare ass sexually in a thong in the mirror? HELL NO. You would be disgusted. It's far more inappropriate than their approach. So take a seat, and enjoy the nostalgia of awkward teen years, especially if you went to middle school in the early 2000s. It's a hilarious and wonderful period piece.
18 out of 29 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Did you read my diary?
hachacha71715 February 2019
This was every dork's middle school years. I was amazed at how it captured the essence of being awkward, uncool, and desperately wanting to fit in. But it also captured what it's like having a best friend that you share everything with, even the embarrassing stuff. I remember my friend sending me off to the baseball dugouts to make out with a boy I barely knew. I stuffed an uninflated balloon in my mouth and proceeded to make squeaking sounds ever time he got near. I played him a song. And then we left. Awkward and weirded out and embarrassed. It was my scarecrow moment. This show is making me relive all that.
13 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Unique voices = HILARIOUS show
pinluh10 February 2019
If you were ever a teenager (and it's safe to assume you were) then you can easily connect to this wonderfully crafted and absolutely hilarious show! The moments of cringe inducing teenage angst coupled with the loving and often times insightful plot movement create a very interesting take on an often explored idea! Cannot recommend enough!
14 out of 23 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
PEN15 is my kind of show.
lepianoisland8 February 2019
I was in seventh grade in 2000 and while I think this show is perfectly suited for people who grew up around that time, it's also still very relevant for anyone at any age. Perfectly detailed and perfectly relatable. Maya's outfit on the first day of school was literally my style, I had that same hoodie and adidas. I was Anna's height and every boy I liked came up to my shoulders. Also, that AIM episode? Man, probably the best portrayal of what using AIM was really like. Plus the soundtrack!

Amongst all the humor, I like how there are moments of real adolescent pain, like Anna's disappointing first kiss and Maya looking in the mirror and feeling insecure during the Posh episode.

I don't understand the negative reactions people are having to the actresses playing along side real middle schoolers. The juxtaposition is hilarious and they're able to bring some next level comedy to the roles as opposed to having younger people playing their characters. I think it also highlights that feeling when you're 13 and when you have a crush on a boy you think he's so mature and adult like, but when you get older you really come to realize how 13 year olds are practically babies and so incredibly awkward that no 13 year old can actually be cool, haha.
23 out of 43 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Almost EXACTLY my adolescent experience!
princessdscott16 February 2019
Brought back so many memories, laughter and tears! The R-rated stuff, COMPLETELY accurate. The show wouldn't work without two grown women as leads because actual 13 year olds would not be able to accurately portray the raunchy messiness of growing up. I binged S1 and can't wait for S2!
9 out of 14 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Great Show; Little Weird
areview4u9 February 2019
First off, I can definitely see why some people could be offended by this humor. It's sort of like Big Head on Netflix. If you think about it for too long it does seem a little weird; adults acting as kids. They hired body doubles for any scene remotely crossing the line, though. These girls handled quite a difficult role exceptionally well. It's definitely a touchy subject to make a show about.

I still gave it a chance because the guys from The Lonely Island were heavily involved. It's up to you to make the decision if it crosses your line. I do believe those who think this resembles harmful nature may have deeper set issues, though. Everybody seemed like they had fun making it from the interviews and it's also a solid credential for the kids careers.

Secondly, I'm glad I did give this a chance. Maya and Anna are hilarious and awkward in it. It's pretty funny when Maya yells and throws fits. Anna seems like a genuine person to me. For the role she put herself into, she did extremely well. They both reminded me of people I knew growing up at random points. It's just a show about life in middle school, amped up for humor, but still not too far off.

It's a pretty funny show with a heartfelt touch. Reminiscent of the old days and some issues we went through in our early teens--male and female wise. They did really well casting the two main characters. Without them, the show seems like it may have fell flat or possibly just been too weird or creepy. I would watch a season 2 because of those two. They need to make more together.

Solid 8/10. Not the funniest or greatest show, but it definitely is a hilariously written, awkward ride. I binged it all in a day and was just expecting to try an episode out.
12 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Nostalgic feels
chefsalad8 February 2019
I thought it started out a little awkward. By the end of the first episode I was hooked. It's dry, somewhat raunchy, yet tasteful humor. Almost like a "Strangers with candy" meets "Freaks and Geeks" for the 2000s
19 out of 36 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
So nostalgic I love it!
cbuchs0910 February 2019
Makes me feel like no matter how old we get we'll never grow up!
11 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Judging by these reviews...
Auror256911 February 2019
People are having some trouble getting the joke. This is a very funny show as long as you aren't easily offended.
12 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Amazing
Trees-of-lorien13 February 2019
Amazing series, amazing actresses. The world needs more of this.
11 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Brilliantly done
Yakkuro1222 February 2019
This show shines a new hilarious light to some of the most relatable and awkward memories I myself had growing up in the 2000s.

Each episode had me cackling outloud by their dry sense of humor and the shows overall editing style. The soundtrack is also on point and adds to the atmosphere perfectly as well.

Cannot day enough good things about this show! I'm excited to see what's in store for season 2
9 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed