My Mad Fat Diary (TV Series 2013–2015) Poster

(2013–2015)

User Reviews

Review this title
31 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
A Rare Well Written Witty Drama
Rachael-Harper7 February 2013
When I first saw the trailer for this, I was intrigued but I didn't watch the original episode. Instead I saw it a few days later when it was repeated and I'm so glad I did. This drama manages to be both witty and insightful which is a rare thing in television today. It focuses on a young teenage girl who after spending two months in a mental hospital is released into the world again, not only does it shows the girls sarcastic and witty nature as a defence but it manages to show her vulnerable and sensitive side too making it a really great watch. Now I watch this every week and I'd advise anyone else to do the same, you won't be disappointed!!
56 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great show!
brunarmuller4 March 2013
The thing I liked about this show is that it is about a real girl, with real problems, real friends and etc. Everything that happens on it seems authentic, it easily could be based on a true story, but they manage to keep it interesting. It reminds me a lot of "Skins", but lighter, not so much emphasis on drugs and sex, so if you like Skins, you will probably like My Mad Faty Diary. Also, it gives an insightful view on mental illness and different kinds of insecurities, which makes it easy to relate. It's the kind of show that you can't explain why, but it gets you obsessed with it, I watched the whole season in one day and I can't wait for the next one!
49 out of 50 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
My take on the show.
cromthehamster1 March 2013
Loved this show, I didn't hear about it till the season was over, which means I had to force myself not to watch all the episodes in one day! It's insightful and portrays mental illness with respect and as a real issue, not a joke like so many other shows can. The characters were thought out and felt like actual people with a life and history's. I am no longer a teen, have not been for years; but I still related to the main character. I loved how realistic it was, her thoughts and reactions to things. It was not at all far-fetched, where the viewer has to remind themselves its a TV show, I actually felt like all the events were common and normal. I was laughing and crying and I can't wait till the second season is out!
46 out of 47 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Absolutely brilliant show
ashleigh_mjj17 March 2014
My Mad Fat Diary is one of the funniest, most touching, realistic, well written and brilliant shows I have ever seen. And don't get me started on the soundtrack - no TV show could rival the quality and aptness of the music used on My Mad Fat Diary. Pretty much my favorite show of all time and I think that viewers of all age groups and social groups could relate to it in someway. 10/10! The characters are well formed, interesting, lovable, relatable and very realistic. This show touches on some very heavy subjects of youth and young life, but does so with the utmost respect and understanding of complexity. The actress that plays Rae is so perfect for the role, and the actor that plays her love interest Finn is fantastic and absolutely gorgeous to look at!
22 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
recommended
sarikizmadensuyu24 March 2013
When I first saw the name of the series, it didn't impressed me that much. But still it took my interest. I was watching too many series that I forced myself not to watch "My Mad Fat Diary", but somehow I started it and it was the best decision. This TV show is the best TV show I've ever watched. It is like a movie, you're not feeling like you are watching a TV show. And it gives you something. You can learn a lot from it. I personally think that every teenager should watch it or maybe read the book (I haven't read it yet) just to free their minds from prejudgements, stereotypes, low self-esteem, hating yourself etc. Things you will regret when you are a grown up.
23 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Real and Heart warming
jadeylady10 March 2014
I am astounded by this program, when I saw the initial trailer I honestly thought it looked like nonsense, it wasn't painted in a good light at all. I only really checked it out due to morbid curiosity.

Well here we are nearing the end of Season 2 and I am still absolutely glued to the screen. I look forward to Mondays simply to see this.

Such an incredibly accurate portrayal of life as a teenager in 90s England, this show brings a lot back for me, good and bad. It takes many twists and turns, but our constant is Rae, insecure, sweet, broken, amazing Rae, she is so relatable it's almost upsetting at times, yet reassuring too.

A real life account of a battle with mental illness, while trying to fit in, trying to grow up, this show tackles issues few have tried to before and it works, seamlessly. I think we needed a character and a program like this, to highlight the demons that those with depression and self image issues deal with every day.

I don't really watch TV, but mine is on every Monday now at 10pm without fail, the music is awesome, the characters get straight in to your heart. It's hilariously funny, and yet gritty all at once. I love Rae's Mum, she is absolutely bonkers. It's perfection.

I simply cannot praise My mad fat diary enough. I hope it will be around for many many more seasons. This is not just entertainment, it's a lifeline for many, this is clear just browsing the comments on their Facebook page. If you haven't watched it, get to 4OD and start now, but be warned you will not be able to turn away.
15 out of 16 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
tears and laughs and a total identification
tamarfriedlander122 July 2014
Most coming-of-age TV-shows present a wide variety of situations which are completely irrelevant for my life. The same could not be said about My Mad Fat Diary. It had me from the first scene, with the girls in the hospital bathroom, into the awkward moments of communications between Rae and her new friends. And when it heats the 'fat' issues, in the second season, I was already completely in love. The young characters in this series handle their daily hassles in an inexperienced manner, but I find that with some issues you straggle your entire life. The cast is brilliant, the dialogues are cool, and you can count on the writers to make each character as deep as in real life. Appreciation!
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Incredibly good and highly recommended
audrulyte14 March 2014
My Mad Fat Diary is an incredibly good, well written and highly addictive TV BBC series, which only defect is that it has only 6 episodes per series or season. While the target audience of this show is definitely teens, it is so good, clever, and so down to earth with all the raw nerve exposure of what being a teen is that I would recommend it to anyone who enjoys a good piece TV and not gets all too fixated on the fact it's about teen life. Since the story revolving in the series is set in the 1990s, personally for me it works as some sort of time travel machine - bringing back all the good, bad, hilarious or somewhat tragic experiences of own teen-hood. Since the show is not afraid to take out the many skeletons and ugly things of growing up, such as insecurities, self discovery, and own body awareness among them, instead of just going for your usual and by now quite 'safe' route of so many other shows which is just about dating, drinking, and rarely anything more, it makes the series even more convincing.

10 out of 10 and the highest possible recommendation.
11 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Love this show!
kikkapi201 January 2015
MMFD is honestly one of the most amazing shows I've watched in the last year. This is the type of television show that needs to be broadcast in America and I wish that it would get picked up here. So many teens/young women like myself will find it incredibly releasable (sometimes in ways that we might not want to admit) and super poignant and funny too. The show reminds me a bit of Skins, with it's portrayal of real life. But really, I just want to make everyone watch this show because of how raw and wonderful it is. The characters are charming but troubled in the ways that teenagers can be troubled, the fantasy sequences are perfection, and the romance is adorable and so sweet. It's addictive!
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Addictive when you get going.....
ljbostock7619 March 2013
Saw this advertised and watched the first episode but didn't really have an opinion either way. Anyway, after another weekend of awful weather and even worse TV, decided to give it a try.... What a surprise!! I watched episode 2 and instantly became hooked. I really enjoyed this show as it deals with mental illness from a different perspective and show the benefits of what counselling can do for some people. There were great story lines coupled with some outstanding performances from all characters, particularly Rae, Kester and Rae's mum. Hoping this has been commissioned for a second season as it's one of the best TV show I've watched in ages!! Season finale absolutely brilliant but make sure you have your tissues at the ready - it's a bit of a tearjerker.
7 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I did not see this coming
alvesaricia10 June 2018
I started watching My mad fat diary two days ago solely because I've been passing by this title's name on every article about Killing Eve - which stars Jodie Comer. It took some time for me to go check it out since it seemed like a teenage show, probably a little bit like "Skins", I thought. And I hate Skins, so I really had no interest in trying MMFD.

But then the pilot showed up in my "related videos" on youtube, probably because of Killing Eve's interviews, and I decided to take a look at younger Jodie's performance. You see, the idea was to watch just a lil' bit to see Jodie and then bail out. Little did I know that I was going to get hooked right away.

This show is actually spectacular. It has a teenage set, that's right, but the themes are not teenage at all. Even though it's mostly a comedy (and a good one!), it gets really dark at times and makes you reflexive as hell. The first season not that much, it's lighter, but the second season came like a wrecking ball. I actually wish I knew a little more beforehand, because I was definitely not prepared for some of it. At the ending of the second season, I actually paused the show to cry, it was just too much. And I'm not the crying-on-movies type.

I don't even know if I'm going to finish it, I'm still digesting. But that just means it's a great show that touched me as not many have. 100% recomend. Be careful, though, if you're struggling with something. It triggered me a little bit.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Best show EVER!!!!!
lafluff-677091 August 2015
This show is a MUST watch. Highly intelligent, highly amusing, highly therapeutic. Every actor, character on this show is utterly amazing! I have watched all three seasons 10 times & I still can't get enough. In the process of watching it again for the 11th time. Do not miss out on the opportunity to watch this show as it will change your life & perspective on how real television shows should be. A gang of teenagers in Stamford showing how life can be troubled but if you have support there is nothing that can stop you. Rae Earl the leader of the pack is truly an inspiration as you experience her down fails & triumphs. I have laughed so much & have cried just the same. Watching someone experience self doubt, love for the first time, trying to 'fit in' to the world and surviving all is insightful and motivational. All hail My Mad Fat Diary, best show ever.
2 out of 2 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Great 90s show
ros-90-1445585 May 2019
Never have I watched a show with such an unlikeable, self-centred, obnoxious, and rude protagonist. I think Rae was well-played, but it was hard to believe that she would have friends as she was so unfriendly and consistently screwed them over.

Despite this, I did love the characters and the 90s music, clothes, and references. It brought back a lot of cool memories!
3 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A really great piece of drama with a bitter edge that goes down smooth
GiraffeDoor25 March 2019
This show can be hard to watch, but they made it accessible and lovable.

A drama to be sure, but the whimsical usage of animation, moments of fantasy and text superimposed on the screen, made the whole thing palatable enough to take all the drama.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Loved it !!!
joyfulp11 October 2018
Story resonated so much with me some moments I felt I was her . The way I can react to situations sometimes . Not the cutting and hurting oneself part . I hate any kind of physical pain . My ears are not even pierced. However they are other ways we can hurt and endanger ourselves mentally, physically and emotionally.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Brilliant
jimbradley746 July 2015
I can not praise this show enough. Firstly, The characters feel relatable as you can really feel emotions towards them and root for them (or against them) throughout each storyline. Secondly, this show portrays mental illness as realistic as possible. As a person who suffers from depression myself i could really relate to Rae's character, seeing her go though tough events and feeling self-loathing and thinking about suicidal thoughts it reminded me of myself going through such dark times. Finally, unlike a lot of teen shows nowadays portrays real teenage issues that a lot of teenagers go though such as bullying, homophobia, mental illnesses, deaths of loved ones, and loneliness amongst others. In my opinion this show is worth checking out.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A truly rare gem.
amyrocks9322 March 2014
Warning: Spoilers
Things I love about this show:

1. Addresses key issues facing teens (and anybody really)without being overly sentimental, or sensational, which is a problem that a lot of "high school" shows contain. Skins was too crazy for me. This is better by far. 2. The title character is atypical for a female lead. She's an excellent actress, and isn't a porcelain doll like all of the other shows you see. 3. Relate able and realistic. 4. Amazing soundtrack. 5. The title character's love interest doesn't base his attraction on physical appearance alone, and you can tell he genuinely loves her.

It's really a must-watch.
1 out of 1 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Started strong, but didn't last long
aimee09523 January 2020
The first season was great. I thought it was refreshing and positive. Unfortunately, it went way, WAY down hill in the 2nd season. If fact, I fast forwarded through a lot of it. The main character became horrible, selfish, unrealistically bonded to her "friends", and just spiritually gross. The conflict seemed realistic, but the execution of the drama was just so poorly done. Not surprised it only lasted 3 seasons. Yuck.
2 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
I liked it
bensalemnour4 December 2019
Regardless of the fact that the script writer lacks knowledge about Tunisia and muslims , this was a good series to watch :) it's a good representation for fat girls' struggles and it conveys a great message about self love and hope.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Why is the lead actor fourth in the cast list
thewaskwywabbit14 September 2019
Good show. Why is the actor and portraying the titular Mad Fat Diarist listed fourth? Because that seems like some bitter irony.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Unexpectedly gets you hooked
vovers13 August 2019
Starts like a teen series, it is a teen series, yet it is also so much more. Did deep into the topics of confidence, depression, motivation and just plain complication of young people finding their way with each other. Has it's gritty moments, tugs at the heart strings. Best to binge watch it if you can.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A really good show
gphgrm011 June 2019
My mad fat diary is well written and well played, all together, teenage show, one of the best on this topic that I have ever seen. The troubled destiny of a an ordinary yet so special girl, who is fighting to survive every day of her teenage life, and all these characters around her, are marvelously depicted. Of course, there are moments that might look a little bit far-fetched optimistic, and I would say its questionable whether there is more good than bad points in this world, but in the end, I am happy that bright side of people prevails. I would say that two central teenage characters, Rae and her best friend Chloe are excellently played. All praises to the actresses. Rae's mother character, too. The psychiatrist as well. Its also good that show emphasizes the good points of psychiatric help where necessary. Its deeply educational, in a funny way.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
an accurate portrayal of what it's like to be a teenager
shealinmurphy21 May 2019
There were so many things I was confused about growing up in my teenage years. boys, my parents, trying to fit in and most of all what was happening in my brain. this show is the perfect portrayal of how the teenage brain processes these thought and emotions, and how at the time, it all seems like the be all and end all. also, as someone who has suffered with an eating disorder for many years of my life, I've never once seen a show or film (including skins, to the bone etc) that has ever done my mental illness justice. until I watched this one. there is something so calming and therapeutic in seeing the behaviour you've for years kept to yourself in your mind, portrayed in something that is addressed in a manor which is neither the whole characters arch nor them doing it to spite other people, as it's mostly portrayed as in TV and film. watch this show. it's downright fucking fantastic.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Unbelievably good😊
IReviewedThis9 April 2019
This is my first review ever in the world of internet... I have always thought of writing a review for a movie or a tv show but i never did... but THIS ONE!!! I finished watching series 3 of MY MAD FAT DIARY today and just jumped into IMDb to write a review... here it goes...

I am never a type of person who was overwhelmed by a show and stopped watching the ending to give myself some time to prepare for that... but this show did that to me.. It is not an extraordinary Tv show.. it's a very simple show with a normal plot but made in a brilliant way which makes you to feel tat RAE is your friend or even you are her...the cast and the direction is so good and I am watching some episodes again and again.. The actress who played Rae was wonderful and I cannot stop writing this without mentioning the actor who played FINN.. the look in his eyes during the last scenes were the most real most teenagers would have experienced...

A MUST WATCH TV SHOW!!!
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Real, heart-warming, and inspiring
lovelilac-639994 February 2018
This show is the best show I've ever seen, and I'm not exaggerating when i say that. The way they portray Rae's anxiety and depression is so real. The actors are great in their roles. Archie (Dan Cohen) is a total babe! Sharon Rooney, who acts as Rae Earl, is absolutely phenomenal. Sharon's acting is raw and on point. This show centers on Rae Earl, an overweight teenager who struggles with mental illness. We follow her journey as she faces life's many challenges. Overall, the show conveys a powerful message that changed my perspective on life completely. I, too, struggle with low self-esteem, self-doubt, and coping with my demons. In fact, we all do. This series shows how even when life gets hard, there is still hope. You gotta stand up and keep pushing. Life is always going to have obstacles. That's how you learn and grow.

Also, it shows that having supportive people around you is important. But at the same time, it says that you should not be so dependent on them. Sometimes, you have to depend on yourself and only yourself. That's how you grow, and that's how you love yourself.

Rae is such a relatable character, and thankfully, she's not one of those skinny sexy Barbie blondes you normally see. She represents us chubby girls and how we are often looked down upon in society. This is what makes it even more real. Not everyone is a perfect-bodied, happy-go-lucky kind of girl. There needs to be more shows like this. I've never watched a show as relatable and realistic as this one. Learn from this, current television producers.

I would highly recommend this show to anyone who has struggled with coping with life. It really sheds a light on hope! It made me look at life through a more positive lens, and showed me that, well, sh*t happens! And that's okay. However, it does have triggering aspects such as self-harm, so if you are really sensitive to that stuff I would recommend not watching it.
0 out of 0 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed