Holy Hell (2016) Poster

(2016)

User Reviews

Review this title
71 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
10/10
Lots of reviews by cult members
spencerthecat7 July 2016
I don't review movies here BUT I read the extremely negative reviews and was curious. All were by new members with this being either their only review or maybe one or two additional ones done soon after to legitimize their reviewing credentials. Obvious plants by the still faithful. Sadly they are still out there.

Their reviews did not have the result intended. They piqued my curiosity and I sought out this film. If you are fascinated by cults or a fan of documentaries seek this film out. It's a rare thing to have this much inside footage of a cult leader and his followers in action. To outsiders the machinations of this vain Svengali seem transparent and obvious. So vain that he was the one who had all of this footage shot. Meeting the members you gain insight, sympathy and understanding as to how and why seemingly intelligent, aware individuals can be swept up by someone and something like this.

The film is well constructed, clear, emotional and does have a point of view. That point of view is what gives this film it's fire and passion. It's made by ex cult members and boy are they angry. It doesn't pretend to be a cold, objective view on what went on there and I think it is better for it. Imagine a film about Scientology made by angry ex-members or a film about the Manson family made by a disillusioned, embarrassed, remorseful ex-member. Oh the truths we'd learn!

My only complaint is that I wanted a cathartic confrontation with the cult leader at the end. There is a confrontation but it seems muted and sad rather than explosive and angry.

See this well made documentary if you can. It's an eight but I'm giving it a ten to counterbalance those idiotic one star reviews.
94 out of 103 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Pretty weird stuff....
MartinHafer12 December 2016
"Holy Hell" is a documentary about a very small cult led by a man named Michel. The man who made the film happened to be the videographer for the group...and so he had a huge cache of footage that he could use to make this film. It's his personal journey as well as a history of the group during the years when he was a member.

Using hypnotic techniques and a charming personality, Michel amassed a group of about 200 followers. However, over time, it became obvious that Michel was not quite the man he said he was and ultimately many within the group left...disillusioned and angry. I could say more but don't want to spoil the film.

While this is a small cult, it is unusual because of all the video footage and that makes for a very compelling and interesting film. It's currently available streaming from Netflix and is well made and worth your time.

UPDATE: I watched the film again. This time I found I got a bit more out of it and am updating my score to 9, as it's a GREAT general film about cults and would be great for families or friends struggling with losing people to these groups.
23 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Great documentary that breaks down the fundamentals of a cult
maddiea1418 September 2016
Frankly, I'm a bit baffled at a lot of these reviews.

I have seen numerous reviews implying that these people are stupid, that this wasn't actually a cult, that men in their 20's can't be sexually abused and why didn't they "just leave" and a whole myriad of other things. I think that's a pretty ignorant perspective.

Personally, I can empathize with these people on a small scale. I did not undergo the intensity that they experienced, but I was in a similar situation for about 18 years. I can tell you that anyone can get drawn in to that kind of codependent abusive cycle, given the right circumstances. It's psychological. It's not crazy. They're not stupid. It's just human behavior, when presented with the right stimulus.

This documentary touched me, and shed light on so many topics surrounding abuse, trauma, codependency, cult psyche, manipulation tactics, I could go on and on. It reveals a common truth about most people, that we want to be loved, accepted and apart of something, and sometimes you get trapped in those ideals. My heart breaks for these people, and I feel angry at the comments and reviews calling them stupid and gullible. I feel like that defies the entire premise of the documentary, because I think that it broke down the exact fundamentals of how a cult works. Cults don't always start out like cults. But somewhere along the way, everything turns inside out and people are usually in too deep to see it from a rational perspective.

This was a fascinating and revealing tale, and I highly recommend watching if you have any interest in psychology, sociology, religion, cults... just watch it people. And try to see through their perspective and experiences rather that judging from your own.
29 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Essential Viewing for all Seekers
andrew-906633 August 2016
Excellent documentary that gives a first hand look into the power of social influence in a group dynamic. This film is a study of a teacher who has abused his power and uses his social influence to manipulate and control the members of the cult. It's equally parts disturbing and inspiring as the cult members seek the truth and expose the teacher to gain their back their own freedom of mind.

If you are interested in how cults operate from an insider's perspective, this film is invaluable. A must see for all everyone as the lessons here run deep and the journey of the members is both moving and profound.
41 out of 49 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Fascinating!
kristinajanelawson22 April 2019
A unique view inside the makings of a cult. It's incredible that the director was able 25 years of brainwashing. Must watch for anyone even remotely interested in spirituality. There are a lot of con-artists and manipulators out there, so it's always good to be aware of red flags and listen to your intuition.

Moral of the story: At the end of the day all the answers are within. You are your own guru. Never idolize or worship another human being, especially if he calls himself your "master".
8 out of 8 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Thank you
mmarianne12 September 2016
This movie of the beginning of something beautiful that turns in to something ugly, personifies so many cults, how they come to be, and how hard it is to try to free yourself from all that you've been taught.

I want to say thank you, so much thank you, to Will Allen, and all the wonderful people who are in this film, for showing your hearts and souls and what you've been through.

I cried throughout the film, and in the end I was bawling my heart out.

Having been interested in cults and also having a short (a year only) stint in one myself, I've read so many books, and watched so many documentaries and movies and clips of ex-cult-members, this one was truly the best.

To all of you, thank you from the depths of my heart.

Marianne
18 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A Little Eyeliner Goes a Long Way
wes-connors5 September 2016
In 1985, a film student graduate joins a Southern California cult of spiritually enlightened and very good looking young men and women. The group is called "Buddhafield" and is run by a muscular, charismatic ex-actor. This leader has several names; mostly, he is identified as Michel. The cinematographer is the narrator and director of this very documentary, Will Allen. As you might guess, hypnotic Michel provides group members with an otherwise unattainable link to God. After 22 years with Michel and the group, Mr. Allen leaves the group to obtain even greater enlightenment by producing this film. It is a fascinating look at this cult, its leader and their activities. We are fortunate Allen was allowed to capture so much and finally break free from the group. It ends with a look at Michel today and (if you see CNN's airing) even includes a final statement from the Godly leader...

"Holy Hell" is most valuable due to Allen's surviving film and video footage. While it provides insight and is engaging throughout, the story is not satisfying in one important respect. We are told, but do not see the appeal of Michel. This man, slightly older than the average group member, is not as mysterious as he is obvious. "The Master" saunters around in a protruding, jock strapped-up Speedo. Michel works out, dances and sports carefully applied make-up. He's tanned, tightened and glistens. Michel positively screams warning signs. Very loudly. His connection to "Rosemary's Baby" (1968) startles, but his eventually exposed shocking secret comes as no big surprise. We assume Allen and his peers were susceptible people with severe emotional problems because Michel would send almost anyone else running for the hills. It's great they are free and good luck to them.

******* Holy Hell (1/25/2016) Will Allen ~ Michel Gomez, Will Allen, Dimitrius Pulido, David Christopher
18 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Beware of cult member reviewers here.
Nemesis4223 September 2016
Warning: Spoilers
It's obvious that some of the people reviewing on here are defending the cult leader. If this is a real documentary, then we are dealing with a very sick individual regarding this 'leader'.

You should watch this to become aware of the dangers of getting trapped within a movement like this.

The documentary is well made. The filmmaker became close to the cult leader, so we are left with a lot of footage from within the group.

A must watch. It is good to know that at least one more dangerous destructive narcissist has been found out. The way he manipulates people is despicable. Evil would be a good word to describe this guy.

It seems that this guy is still duping and molesting followers right now. Be aware and beware.
20 out of 24 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A new and chilling take, but the story is the same
paul2001sw-13 June 2019
Sometimes it seems that all cults are built from the same ingredients: a charismatic, but weird, frontman; techniques designed to lose the self, but also to sever members from any external influence; the systematic harvesting by the organisation of the value of its members labour; sexual abuse. Watching 'Holy Hell', the story of one such cult, the striking thing is how much of the cult's history has been caught on film (in no small part due to the narcissism of its leader); the story, however, seems very familliar, and not unlike not only the story of other obviously similar cults, but also the story of Michael Jackson as recently covered in 'Leaving Neverland'. What's interesting for the outsider is that, while in some senses brainwashed, the cult members can't be said to have simply "lost their minds"; they speak logically and eloquently about their experiences, and sometimes with more respect for the cult they have left than the viewer might consider justified. Again, this is familliar from other films about cults; and shockingly, the man behind the sect featured here is still leading a group of devoted disciples. It's not obvious how society should deal with groups that are, at some level, voluntarily constituted, yet which act so clearly against their own members' interests. All we can do, perhaps, is to look out for our friends.
10 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Over twenty year documentary of buddhafield cult
nomadlife1 September 2016
Wow! I loved it! I stumbled upon this on CNN, and started watching because of my love for documentaries, and interest in the bizarre, such as cults. My review is based on what I thought of the movie, and not the accuracy of what some other members of the cult think. First of all, it's hilarious, and I mean hilarious! The movie keeps moving never a dull moment. I had to google this cult when I completed the movie, because I thought it was a mockumentary. I was wrong. It really happened. Lastly, if you are currently in this cult, please get more footage so I don't have to join it to get my own. There is enough footage to judge for yourself whether or not you believe this is a true account, or whether wrong was done. Cult members always remind me of drug addicts, or drug users, they are there for a reason. Drug addicts will always tell you how bad drugs are and how it ruined their life. Drug users will tell you about the fun and crazy times they had, and why they occasionally use them. One is a positive experience, and the other a negative one, but for the same thing. This movie does a good job at conveying the differences in cult members opinions. The reviews I read discussed these issues, and no mention of humor. Trust me, this movie is absolutely hilarious.
22 out of 28 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
An interesting look at foolish adults
umimelectric18 February 2019
Intriguing documentary about a homosexual predator/cult leader who used his experience in hypnosis and acting to prey upon adult cult members in Los Angeles who to this day fail to accept responsibility for going along with it. There is no doubt that cult leader Michel was a terrible person and sexual predator, but this biopic does an even better job of exposing the foolishness and desperation of his New Age members.
14 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Speedos, RayBans, Eye Liner
ferguson-626 May 2016
Greetings again from the darkness. David Koresh and the Branch Davidians. Marshall Applewhite and Heaven's Gate. Jim Jones and People's Temple. Charles Manson and The Manson Family. For most of us, this list just about sums up our insight into the world of cults … and the horrific and violent endings of each are probably the only reason we know as much as we do. Filmmaker Will Allen, and his library of archival footage spanning more than 25 years, takes us behind the scenes of The Buddahfield, a cult run by an exceedingly odd man named Michel Rostand … or Jaime Gomez … or Andreas … or Reyji … depending on what time period and location we are discussing.

The film begins in 1985 West Hollywood as Mr. Allen joins his sister in her search for enlightenment and spiritual awakening. "Why am I here?" he asks ... not referring to the commune of young men and women, but rather why is he on earth – what is the meaning of life? We have all wondered if it's simply life and death, or if there is a greater purpose. These unanswered questions are how massive churches are built … and how cults are formed. The early film footage reveals exactly what one would expect: young people frolicking in the type of freedom that comes from dropping out of society. It's an innocence that is ripe for plucking, and that's exactly what "The Teacher" Michel does.

Trained as a hypnotherapist, Michel is the guru who claims to possess "the Knowing" – true enlightenment and the path to God in the purest form. At this point, I should mention that Michel is seemingly always strutting around in a Speedo and Ray-Bans. If he is a man of the cloth, it's an awfully small swatch. He also wears heavy eye-liner and strikes many pensive poses for the camera and his followers.

The last thing that I want to do is judge these followers on decisions they made early in life. Feeling lost or emotionally empty and aimless can lead to desperation. In filmmaker Will Allen's defense, this documentary acts as personal therapy or even catharsis for his fellow cult members who judge themselves harshly for the two decades of belief in a cause and a man that ultimately proved to be something much less than spiritual. Many of these followers are interviewed on camera and are clearly struggling even years after leaving the cult. It's not just the awareness of so many wasted years, but also the guilt in following a man who was not merely odd, but who also victimized so many.

Creepiness plays a big part here. It's creepy how one guy can so influence the lives of so many others. It's creepy how no one was able to expose this fraud before so many were hurt. It's creepy to hear these folks talk about their mindset during that time. And mostly it's creepy to view the incredible footage shot by Mr. Allen during his two decades on the inside. Lastly, the stalking (with camera) in 2012 which allows Mr. Allen to get the ending for his movie is in itself a special form of creepy … one that had me thinking that ALL of these people need psychological help.

If you want to see the internal workings of a cult (from California to Texas to Hawaii) – one with Speedos, plastic surgery, ballet, brainwashing, two kinds of peacocks – and the subsequent fallout, then you'll agree the film delivers a type of eavesdropping and peeking that is both rare and fascinating … in a creepy kind of way.
59 out of 85 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Mixed Feeling
tedicaprio5 July 2019
Warning: Spoilers
Since the beginning I was doubtful about this Michel guy, and asked myself, how could those young people be stupid following him? That is pretty much my thought about the whole thing. But looking into details of the story, I find it quite astonishing - a single guy hypnotizing so many beautiful people. Until he himself couldn't stand his own principle about not having sex and started using therapy session for devouring his male disciples' bodies separately and individually they didn't know what happened to each of their male friends. Sometimes I felt sad watching it, and at times I laughed out loud when the camera was showing Michel-Andrea-Reyji's ugly face. He looks funny in the whole movie, I swear. And that's what makes me believe that he's a great hypnotherapist, and a very evil one.
11 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Unique and Provoking
MikeyB17938 September 2016
Warning: Spoilers
This was a unique documentary. It follows the growth of a cult for over 25 years. The author was a member in it and was allowed to film. We do gain insights into its leader and his motivations (a narcissistic manipulative actor). We also see how the people surrounding him venerated him – and they were all young, white and beautiful. They called him "master", definitely a sign that they were devoid of independent thought. Like many cults the "master" gave his members new names – and put a distance between them and their families.

** spoilers below**

And this is the first cult I have been aware of, where it was the men being sexually abused. Women, it seemed, would have only been psychologically abused. Interestingly no children were permitted.

This film does provide many insights into cult behavior. We see how the "master" hypnotized and put these young minds under his spell. I couldn't help thinking, as I was watching; would these people now be ISIS recruits? One woman said that she "would be willing to die for the "master" ".
11 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Creepy guru, naive apostles
NORDIC-213 October 2019
Warning: Spoilers
'Holy Hell' is a fascinating look at sociopathy, gullibility, the essential vacuity of modern bourgeois American life - and what it means to surrender one's existential freedom to a charismatic grifter. The conman in question is a guy named Michel Rostand (and various other aliases). Michel is a homosexual would-be actor/dancer from Venezuela who came to L.A. in the late 1960s to break into the movies. He ended up in hardcore gay porno. But, lo and behold, by the mid-1980s he had installed himself as the leader of a dippy New Age cult (which he evidently still is today, in Hawaii). Michel is also a dyed-in-the-wool, card-carrying sociopath, utterly manipulative and without a shred of shame or conscience. A typical charlatan, he promises enlightenment to lost souls who follow him but delivers exploitation and emotional/sexual abuse. What is baffling, though, is Michel's appeal over his flock. He's effeminate, obviously self-absorbed, somewhat dimwitted, and speaks poor English - nothing prepossessing about him. Yet over the years he's been able to exert tremendous power over scores of acolytes. It just goes to show how poorly educated and poorly developed - emotionally and psychologically - lots of Americans really are. Anyone with a reasonably healthy ego and a scintilla of self-awareness would see through this simpering, malevolent flim-flam man in a New York minute.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
The Psychosis of Adulation and The Damage Inflicted from Dependency
AndrewB68619 June 2017
Will Allen courageously confronts the demons of his past experiences, bolstered by the testimonies and anecdotes of his fellow brothers and sisters within the cult, in order to broadcast to an audience the horrors of misguided idolatry and to, hopefully, teach others to look optimistically at one's tribulations as a step towards achieving fulfillment in the post-trauma phase of life.

"Holy Hell" is a hellish and nightmarish documentary focusing on the cult known as the Buddhafield, initially a blissful and energetic community of people gathering together to learn and receive the wisdom of their master. This man had many names; and yet, no one seems to have known anything about him for the vast duration of their time spent under his instruction. As his demeanor and temper become increasingly dramatic and feverish; his appearance slowly shifting and morphing into something hideous; the enlightenment that was promised from the beginning seems to be gradually fading from the grasp of the enslaved acolytes.

I felt an overwhelming empathy for these people. They were lost. They were burdened by various desires and yearnings. They wanted profound answers to their far-reaching questions; unfortunately for these beautiful people, what they were given instead was a journey across immense stretches of land for nothing more than the satiation the narcissistic fancies and pipe dreams of a vile human being. Thankfully those featured in this documentary appear to be in a better place. I commend them, because I would never have survived what they had to endure for so many years. I wish you all the best.
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
a great in depth look at cult leader and follower
surfisfun9 May 2017
Worth 8+ .

Not sure Why some reviewers think its hard to believe someone would follow that leader, he was cunning, energetic, mesmerizing and a good psychological manipulator. Also, he was able it seem to channel at times energetic forces and focus people together to do so, resulting in so call spiritual,mental and physical experience that felt powerful to the group. Also a sense of belonging to oneself and the universe . People often need only a little push that way and wanna feel part of something, a group, a family, a nation. not alone.

Charisma and assertive power come in many shapes and form.

This documentary did and OK job to explain and show this, thanks!
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Post Hippy
maryhbutler18 October 2016
Holy Hell is a documentary made and produced by Will Allen, focusing on the "Buddhafield" cult in Hollywood, and his experiences of being a member of the Buddhafield for 22 years. The film school graduate compiles a plethora of funny, serious, and chilling shots from his time in the cult. It follows the members of the cult, and their leader, who was called "Michel" for most of the film. The film uncovers the secrets and stories of the members, horrified from their past in the cult and its leader.

The film opens up with Mr. Allen speaking about his childhood, and his mother not accepting his homosexuality. It then jumps to footage he took from the beginning of the cult, with members dancing and floating in a river. I was confused on this quick transition, because it clashed with the topic of his homosexuality or his mother. The clips of the dancing post-hippies in the beginning of the film was very intriguing, and was the reason I continued with this documentary. He shows more images and videos of Michel, the leader of this group, and the clips immediately grab my attention. The narration and images of the exotic and eclectic leader in the beginning of the film quickly foreshadowed the secrets uncovered later in the film. His persona was god-like, prancing in his speedo and polarized sunglasses, with his followers kissing his ankles, literally.

The personal shots given by Allen, from his small 80's camera, are invigorating and interesting. The footage invites viewers to picture themselves inside the cult, and what it was like through their daily routines. The film cultivates a hippy-ish vibe and creates a feeling of freedom

As Will shows past members, and their recorded interviews, the pain in their eyes stands out. They become scared and upset when they begin to reminisce and talk about their past in the Buddhafield. The members share similar stories throughout the documentary, insuring the validity of the information given by the members. Topics such as sex, abortion, drugs, and abuse begin to stir, and we see the true colors of Michel. Other 'serene groups' begin to be shut down around California, so Michel decides it's time to pack up and move to Texas. His devoted followers, of course, follow him. We see how the group gets accustomed to their new house and environment. We also see how Michel, who is now Andreas, moves from a spiritual leader to a controlling narcissist.

This film jerks emotions, and could dig deeply into viewers' similar past experiences. We can feel Allen's pain listening and watching the footage from the last few years of the Buddhafield. This film was enjoyable and informative. It showed emotions and memories that are rarely touched, and made me, as a viewer, feel emotional along with the interviewees. I recommend this film for an audience who enjoys learning about cults and their practices, or just simply because it's an aesthetically pleasing, emotional film.
9 out of 11 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
A wacky cult with a manipulative, narcissistic leader
wavecat1317 April 2019
If you are interested in religious cults, then you won't want to miss this account of a group that grew up around a muscular, narcissistic former dancer and gay porn actor who has gone by a number of names. He used his ability as a hypnotherapist to control people and create a community around himself. The group was called the Buddhafield but they were not Buddhist, rather the leader seemed to present a grab bag of poorly thought out spiritual ideas, which he felt personally free to ignore. The group engaged in wacky activities like creating theatrical presentations that were only staged once and making music videos.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Don't pay attention to the negative reviews...
agincourt141529 May 2016
Warning: Spoilers
Reading some of the comments by others who have reviewed this film here, I find it almost unbelievable that they actually sat through the entire movie

This is a heart-wrenching document of a man's life for over two decades, filmed as it was happening and illuminated by the voiced narration provided by himself and many of the friends that went through these experiences with him. They all put their trust and faith in a charismatic man who hid behind spiritual truth while manipulating them for years into supporting him- indeed, into worshiping him- and, in many cases, into being his sexual playthings. The colossal betrayal of trust described here is beyond comprehension for most of us, and bravo to the filmmaker- and to his fellow former victims of this narcissistic charlatan- for having the courage to tell the story. Not only will it hopefully help to put a stop to their former guru's continued transgressions (yes, he's still at it), maybe it will also help to open people's eyes to the kind of hypocrisy and predatory behavior that such men practice in alarming numbers within our culture, right under our very noses.
29 out of 45 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
1/10
How to take advantage of idiots
timherbert-434851 July 2019
Warning: Spoilers
In principal quite an interesting documentary, the problem is all of the victims of this scam are far too stupid to feel any sympathy for.

This is a story of a group of entitled yuppies who spend 25 years worshipping a gay porn star/ balet dancer/ hypnotherapist all the while being sexually and psychologically abused by him and paying him for the privilege.

When they all finally figure out what's been going on, rather than report him, they let him go, on the understanding that he'll be a good boy and stop grooming and sexually assaulting people. Of course he goes somewhere else to continue his nefarious deeds.

We get a nice "5 years later" graphic and they find the guy doing the same thing to another group of un suspecting morons. At this point you would think that the remainder of the story will be about his victims rallying together to expose him and bring him to justice and they do........ Nothing

Cue to the credits where we are told how messed up all these people are now while this guy is still abusing people in Hawaii.

Would give 0 stars if I could.

Ps. If you enjoyed this and would like to learn more about my "definitely not a cult" spiritual group please send me £100 to recieve enlitenment.
21 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
There's a Pattern Here...
naught-moses31 August 2016
...though one has to admit, this guy was really strange from the git in ways Hubbard, Erhard, Silva, et al weren't (as much, anyway) during their own days as Hollywood's cult leading men. The dynamics are -- as is relatively well, but far from completely, demonstrated in the film -- pretty much always manipulations of the inherent low self-esteem, defense mechanisms (including compensatory competence- seeking), codependence, et al in the psyches of the "true believers."

Look up an article called "Codependence as Soft-Core Cult Dynamics... and Vice-Versa" on the Pairadocks blog at Blogspot for a thorough rundown. Or click on http://pairadocks.blogspot.com/2016/08/understanding-co-dependence- as-soft.html if it works here; I dunno.)

But, yes, I do agree with one of the thread starters who suggested that all the documentaries about these characters are similar. One wonders if it's because the gurus themselves are essentially similar (as that blog article suggests) or if one of the cults (that is =very= well established in Hollywood) is continuing to do battle with the "competition."
12 out of 17 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Ever wondered why America is so completely f*kd? Here's your answer
michaelmouse117 July 2019
Oh my goodness...what a truly disturbing film. In ninety or so minutes this film encapsulates everything about what's wrong with the USA. No wonder the world looks on in shock, but not awe, with where America has come to. Words can't describe the mess that allows people as featured in this movie to be cult worshippers for twenty years only to realise, like their Government, it's all fake. Watch it and weep.
7 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Depth to Make you wonder about your choices
milena-450499 May 2016
A great movie to make you question just who we give our power to in our daily lives, on a spiritual path or not.

Unlike a good number of the reviewers posted here, I actually saw the movie twice at Sundance. Beware, the movie never premiered in Minneapolis as mentioned in a review or two. Most of the reviews, and all of the negative ones are from current members of the cult. Let that show you something about this movie and why it is so relevant and important!

This is a captivating story with depth, where the director takes you along for the ride- his perspective while spending 20 years in this spiritual community turned cult. The talking head interviews from many of the cast members who were also group members allow you to understand why everyone was initially there in this community, something most cult movies never show.

And, the movie quite easily captures their confusion and disbelief when their idyllic world collapsed around them. Suddenly it was a classic CULT with a narcissistic leader, almost straight from the book and it is painful in moments, to listen their disillusionment and suffering, sometimes still a bit woven into their current lives. We feel with them.

A must see for anyone on a spiritual path as it is a tricky slope to do the work, surrender all that is not Awareness, yet not surrender your will to some one elses' personal agenda.
31 out of 55 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
Never gets off the ground
chakukan31 October 2017
Warning: Spoilers
This movie runs a bit long yet misses the investigative nature of documenting. No need to spend more than a few minutes on the ballet dancing, mascara wearing, self proclaimed leader... it's quite apparent to anyone that he is mentally ill. What drove these people to him? lack of self esteem, childhood issues, naivety or issues themselves?? this is never explored. With a title like Holy Hell one expects details of what the victims suffered, financial ruin or irrevocable harm, loss of family and friends... This is not explored either. What was the cost? its seem more of a vague stab in the dark at trying to tell a cautionary story but never quite getting off the ground. The ending is bizarre with a failed climax at a mild confrontation, are you being a good boy?? Strange considering allegations... I feel bad for people who easily fall pray to cults and scams but in the end one should know better! If it's too good to be true it probably is...
10 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed