Britannia (TV Series 2017– ) Poster

(2017– )

User Reviews

Review this title
334 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Second rewatch since finally getting season 2 in the US
KOOLAIDBRO3 October 2020
This show is about the Romans invasion of Britain with some sorcery, gods, and devils mixed in. The first time I watched it which was over 2 and a half year ago I remembered liking it well enough, but I watched again and I feel like I actually liked it more this time around. The first episode is slow and you're kind of like wtf by the end, but if you continue it explains and things make sense. Most of these actors and actresses I'm not familiar with except for Kelly Reilly, and David Morrissey who are great as always, but The Outcast and Cait are the two that makes this show really shine. Now when these two are on the screen together is when it's really unforgettable. They play off each other and the banter is really great stuff that at times I'm feeling sorry for how The Outcast talks to her and the next I'm laughing at her being over his crap and then snapping on him. The acting is very good, the story is wild, and really everything that went into making this is well done. It feels and looks like a big budget production. This isn't GoT or The Last Kingdom so don't expect that at all, but it is a good show for fans of that type of genre. I'm excited for season two.
30 out of 32 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I Genuinely Enjoy This Series!
jdgtc16 December 2020
Just the right mixture of historical fiction, action adventure, and irreverent dark humor. Don't worry about historical accuracy. Just sit back and enjoy a creative and unique show!
15 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Surprisingly great!
heatherleefox30 September 2020
I don't know a lot about this time and place in history so it doesn't bother me that it's, apparently, not historically accurate.

I didn't expect to like this so much! It's got huge production value, fantastic actors, a great story that is very well paced, it can be quite humorous at times, and quite gory! I love it! Eagerly awaiting the second season!

Makes me wonder if I need to take a look at other shows that are on EPIX, if this is the quality they're offering!
19 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Worth a look - First Series was, IMO, the best...
jaybizman24 October 2020
I'll admit I love watching anything to do with Ancient Rome. As a teenager, I studied Lingua Latina and translated, for example, the writings of Julius Caesar and all the exploits throughout his career.

The Roman Army around 43AD was the most dangerous and skilled in the World; and Ancient Rome ruled most of what was the known World, they may lose a battle here and there, but rarely lost a war.

After every battle a Legions Commander would write about both his and the enemies tactics, and send a dispatch to the Sergeant Major Of The Army, back in Rome - who would copy same, and send it to every other Roman Legion General. This way every Commander had full knowledge of the enemy. And it worked.

Britannia shows just how ruthless the Roman Army and their Generals were. Kind of like, take no prisoners. Even the children were killed. Why? Because the Generals learned that when the kids grew up, they would want revenge.

There's a lot of action in Britannia and the Roman General in Britain is especially cruel. And smart.

For anyone who likes this time period, don't dwell too much on any perceived 'historical inaccuracies', just sit back and enjoy the ride. The opening music by Donnavan sets the mood. In part to me Britannia was both great and slightly crazy. Well worth your time.
24 out of 26 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
When reviewers can't tell the difference between their Cantii and their Regni
basilisksamuk23 January 2018
My goodness what a lot of negative reviews this show has generated though I can't understand why. Seldom have I seen such a fun programme. Yes, fun. This was funny, sexy, violent, bonkers and emotionally truthful in a way that other series fail to achieve.

To think that this was aiming for any kind of historical accuracy is mad. It was made as an entertainment riffing on possible historical events. The use of modern language, initially jarring, ends up working to its advantage. There's no more reason to dislike modern usage than there is to dislike cod medieval or cod turn of the millennia language. Any language choice is going to be inauthentic so you might as well go for modern vernacular which has the side effect of milking the dialogue for humour. Using Donovan's Hurdy Gurdy Man for the theme tune is as inspired as using Nick Cave for the theme tune of Peaky Blinders.

You might also like to note the satirical reference to other well-known franchises and the use of Shakespearian minor characters. The two centurions sampling the "stash" of the witch doctor was comedy gold.

Yes, how we all hunger for the certainty of the old days when you knew where you were. When Loved It or Hated It reviews could be searched on and all TV programmes followed the same rules and were as bland as each other. Now all we have left is "helpful" so please regard this review as a provocative Loved It review. No, seriously, I really loved this series and can't wait for the next and I hope I've been really unhelpful in my review.
332 out of 433 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Worth watching
jw468113 October 2020
I read some negative reviews, and want to reiterate, this is a movie, not real life, not a biography, at first I was like OK this is OK and then once they started getting involved with magic and fantasy I really got hooked, It drew me right in And I really hope for more down the road I am so glad for a season two, I got an epix subscription just to see it, when I first seen it it was on Amazon and then I searched and searced for more and finally a season two came out on Epix in the US
10 out of 10 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Ignore all these chumps, it's an entertaining watch that captures the ancient Roman perceptions of Britain well
dank199423 January 2018
There's plenty of people on here that are taking the series and its historical accuracy too seriously, even to the point that someone seems to figure themselves as more well informed than the Roman historian Mary beard (looking at you Allen). I'm currently undergoing my Masters in Roman History, and just a little newsflash mate, ancient Britain was famous for its warrior queens (esp. Cartimandua and Boudicca) which are mentioned in Tacitus - do your homework and stop thinking you're an expert because you've read Herodotus lol. Also Rome pooled auxiliaries from all over the empire including its North African provinces, and due to the migratory nature of the peoples from Sub-Saharan Africa, and the plethora of reports about peoples below the desert its not unlikely that these people wanted to live in the prosperous North African provinces of the Roman Empire and took up military service with its lucrative benefits. Either way, its not the point; the show captures the perceived mysticism and magical Roman conceptions of Britain well. It was seen by Roman and Greek writers as the land at the end of the world where magic and human sacrifice among other abominations occured. Yes the show deviates away from certain historical events, but the invasion of Claudius was not all that well documented, and it still captures the internal strife and rivalry well, as well as the mysterious prominence of the druids in celtic culture. It's quite sad really how many people are trying to be historians while watching a sky drama: the cast is good, some of the characters are endearing, and for the shows early days, it looks promising. Stop trying to step into academic fields that you're clearly not all that well acquainted and just enjoy the drama. Jheeeeezus.
385 out of 508 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Britannia(2017-)
robfollower25 October 2020
In 43 AD, the Roman Army returns to crush the Celtic heart of Britannia.

If you're looking for an event-accurate historical drama to binge, "Britannia" is probably not the series for you. But if you're down for a feminist-leaning "Game of Thrones" with a psychedelic Sixties vibe that's also loosely based on the 43AD Roman invasion of Britannia, then this might be your new favorite show.
14 out of 15 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Combine Game of Thrones, Vikings & Rome
travisremling20 December 2020
& you have Britannia. I like the show a lot and is quite interesting, IMO. With beautiful scenery & landscapes its definitely worth the watch, especially if you enjoyed GoT/Vikings/Rome.
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
I might be biased.
oreddish30 October 2020
I love Roman history so I'm not sure is this show is ok and I love it cause I love anything Roman. Or maybe this show is actually good.

If you're a fan of Rome or this time period you will like the show. If not I would not recommend this show.

It's not historically accurate as it blends magic into the story. But the overall theme follows the Roman occupation into Britannia. I liked the way they use tribal rivalry to the Roman advantage. That part is very accurate.
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great adventure/fantasy
mrtntemp26 October 2020
I've seen alot of series and this is one i enjoyed much! Just a great fantasy.
9 out of 9 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A historical fantasy with a modern tone that maintains historical authenticity without feeling bland.
BIGDAWWG-7742019 October 2020
Britannia, a historical fantasy that doesn't take itself too seriously. Having modern dialogue and music whilst maintaining historical authenticity makes this show a unique breath fresh air. Most antiquity period pieces have trouble keeping a consistently entertaining narrative as the creators allow the history they're working with to restrain themselves into a box, resulting in a bland cinema experience. Britannia thinks outside the box, using fun familiar dialogue rather than the Shakespearian way of conversing as most period pieces do. A key to creating a compelling historical narrative one must use history as a guide, not a bible, and Britannia executes this fabulously.
18 out of 20 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Slow burner but fantastic middle-end!
beckylcarter-9788123 January 2018
Don't know why this has so many negative reviews - it's a fantasy show on television, it isn't supposed to be a word for word history lesson. Granted the first two episodes are a little slow and a little bit cheesy at first but once you get to know the characters and the story starts to blossom I was hooked.

I am a huge Game of Thrones fan and I admit I was drawn here as so many had described it as the GOT filler until the next season/book us eventually upon us - but - THIS IS NOTHING LIKE GOT! It is a story and world in its own right and incredibly entertaining.

The young girl actress - Eleanor Worthington Cox, is brilliant. Her rapport Nikolaj is incredible and they both were my favourite characters from early on.

All the complainers need to simmer down. It was ace.
209 out of 286 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
An insane romp through (a highly fictionalized) the Roman invasion of the British isles
jwade-5704323 April 2020
It's like someone read the Wikipedia page of the Roman invasion of Britain, ate a pound of shrooms, and then wrote a TV show. It's a tight pair of leather crazy pants and I love it.
12 out of 13 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Wow! S1 is good but S2 is amazing
ryanlcarlisle11 December 2020
Some impressive acting here! MacKenzie Cook as Veran & Haka is ridiculously good! I didn't even recognize him. He transforms and shows some acting chops! Julian Rhind-Tutt as Phelan goes through such change as a character. Very good. Nikolaj Lie Kaas nailed his role as Divis. Very colorful very likeable character portrayal! Young Eleanor Cox does a bang up job and should be paid attention to. Hugo Speer as Lucius goes through a major transformation as well! Love to reference and connection to Jesus. Great twist and believable. Jodie McNee as Willa The Witch kills it. What a fun character and she was all of it! Zaqi Ismail as the shrooms soldier was a blast to watch. When you watch that scene you can tell someone who's gone on a magical journey consulted hahaha. David Morrissey shows once again what a good villain he makes. This show is right up there with GOT or Black Sails and deserves massive attention!
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Enjoyed it!
DiCaprio-HardyFan2 November 2020
I enjoyed Britannia quite a bit more than I thought I would. I don't understand some of the bad reviews. It's not a documentary and doesn't claim to be a true story. It's just a fun fantasy type show that keeps your attention throughout the series. Again, I like it and looking forward to more seasons!
7 out of 7 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A very slow burn
mail-0349623 January 2018
Wasn't sure quite what to make of this.

A lot of the very negative reviews are from people who gave up after the first episode and to be fair, I wasn't entirely convinced for quite a way in.

Anyway it gets to very dark places by the end. I'm watching the last episode now and I'm completely invested. Its great and I do hope it gets a second outing.
145 out of 206 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Second season amazing
aj_eva16 January 2020
I was a bit lost and confused by season 1 but thought I'd give season 2 a crack - I love it! It's entertaining and intriguing, it's making me want to watch season 1 again to see if I can understand it better lol
16 out of 19 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
A jolly good time
Mr_researcher24 January 2018
If you want to see a documentary when you watch a television series, then by all means listen to the people who complain about the lack of historical accuracy.

If you on the other hand just want to have a good time with a fictional series based loosely on history, then by all means watch it! It is weird and violent, with many interesting characters and some good ol' action too.
131 out of 193 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Love it
marina-196221 December 2020
I needed a little time, but now I love to watch. Some of the characters are brilliant, the humor just great and I just want to see more of them.
6 out of 6 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Amusing Celtic romp.
pixiegirl4421 January 2018
I've read some of the ridiculous negative reviews on here and just want to scream with frustration. Britannia is not meant to be factually accurate or historically precise. It's a tongue firmly in cheek romp through Celtic Britain. The characters are either evil or hilarious with Zoe Wannamaker having some of the best one liners. Surely, anyone can see it's not meant to be taken seriously, especially after seeing Veran and Divis play their parts like characters out of a play that a stoned Shakespeare might have written. It's a fantasy epic with great characters and scenery and a perfect title song by Donovan. The song alone should tell you that you should just go with the flow and have a laugh,something a lot of reviewers surely need, along with a few beers and a good lay. They've totally missed the point. Don't let it put you off. I'm really looking forward to another season. It's not game of thrones but it's never claimed to be.
169 out of 257 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Fun story, great actors
bakerj72 December 2020
Warning: Spoilers
If you're expecting historical fiction, you'll be disappointed. It uses a historical event as a rough framework on which to hang a purely fictional fantasy story (no shade to Druidism, past or present). Outstanding performance by Eleanor Cox, from helpless lost crying little girl to full grown, powerful confident woman. That's a demanding role and she nailed it.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
This is Historical Fiction not Historical Documentation
Dealpra1 October 2020
People are mad with this show because the historical accuration. but here im an ordinary man who just want to enjoy a fiction show. Im so glad that I listen to people who told me this show is great and ignore all the bad review. this show deserve better. deserve more attention, and a better rating.
10 out of 12 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Ignore the negative reviews!
Rachela12317 January 2020
I have enjoyed this programme. As opposed to other reviewers that compare it to history, or other box sets, and find it wanting, I have watched and enjoyed this and found it to be entertaining. The casting, characterization, cinematography, script, soundtrack etc is great. As a late comer to the series, I have also learnt a valuable lesson - to take less notice of ratings, to not follow the crowd, and to judge for myself.
23 out of 33 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A breath of fresh, bonkers, entertaining, well acted air!
jolmorris16 February 2021
If you want to imagine how life for everyone could have been around the Roman invasion with nobs on then this is for you. The acting is outstanding from the cast and I loved the amazing interaction between Eleanor Worthington Cox and Nicolai Lie Kaas which is wonderful. David Morrissey is just terrifyingly brilliant, Makenzie Crook is amazing and there is a fabulous theme of strong female characters who are the glue . Thoroughly emmersive, magical, inspirational and addictive, which I feel is a fitting description!! Bring on series 3!!!!!
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed