I Am Not Okay with This (TV Series 2020) Poster

User Reviews

Review this title
420 Reviews
Sort by:
Filter by Rating:
9/10
Mix of Carrie, Breakfast Club and superhero stories
sarikauppila28 February 2020
Great show for someone who has grown up with Stephen King stories, Carrie and Breakfast Club. Building up the characters takes time, and I see that some other viewers think it is too slow - but I like the story been build up from layer to layer. Nice start for an interesting story... And great work from young stars!
226 out of 253 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
the final of the last episode just felt like the start of the whole series
mapika26 February 2020
Am I the only one who felt that way?

Don't get me wrong. This series is really entertaining and witty. But it just felt like the intro to the story itself.

Binge watching is done easily and quickly with seven 22 minutes episodes on average which just felt like 3 at the most or a 153 minutes movie.

At the end i just asked myself, why they didn't go on so that the story gets told?! Couldn't they finish in time?!

That's the only reason, i just gave it 7 stars. Now we have to wait at least for a year for the continuation.

Everything else was really good.
373 out of 433 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Would have been interesting to see where this was going, now, we will never know.
rob-stanley-facebook22 August 2020
Another Show with lots of promise that has been cancelled. Lets hope someone else picks it up, there was a lot of room for an excellent second and third season.
18 out of 18 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Extrapolation on teenaged angst
Bmoviesforever5 March 2020
I'm nearly 60, yet I found things to relate to with these characters.
63 out of 71 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Awesome..
mbuddy-4093326 February 2020
Bingeworthy perfect length 7 episodes ..strong performances...with a cliffhanger which makes me want season 2 right now..
272 out of 340 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
binge worthy
hanekk26 February 2020
Ive watched this in one sitting, it just grabs you and Sophia Lillis is just mesmerazing imo. loved every minute of this show and dying to see if second season will be made :)
169 out of 221 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
WATCH THIS NOW
adenevosirch1 March 2020
I made an account just to review this. it's from the producers of stranger things so you get those vibes but it's so much better. it's darker, deals with more emotions, and is written so well. please watch this
45 out of 56 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Dope show
ravenclaw_girlrules26 March 2020
Warning: Spoilers
I absolutely adore this show. It didn't queer bait, when it totally could have. It didn't pull back in the ending. And Stanley is such a freaking great character. He was so charismatic that you felt bad his romantic pursuits failed. I knew nothing about this show before I hit play on Netflix and was not expecting the "superhero" angle. I got Carrie and End of the F*cking World vibes from this show. It was extraordinary!
23 out of 27 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Not original, predictable from the start but brilliantly done
Sayitasitis21227 February 2020
From the start you know exactly how it ends, this takes nothing away from the series at all, there's enough going on to keep you interested from start to finish and the length and pacing is absolutely spot on!

It touches on all the usual high school phase issues and deals with them in the right way as not to offend anyone but more to add comfort to anyone that goes through these problems as a youngster. (Minus the super hero stuff ;-)

As the title says it's not original we have seen all aspects of this type of series before, for me it was a bit like watching the end of the fucking world, sex education with some super hero twist. What more can you want?

Loved it, the only way to watch is in one sitting. Look forward to more.
70 out of 91 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
The show is appealing.
hariharip026 February 2020
I am not Okey with this, because I am desperately waiting for the second season.
146 out of 201 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Good show but...
mhunts3327 February 2020
I found the show entertaining and fun. However, 20 minute episodes?? With a total runtime of just over 2 hours, with a little more editing it may have just been a better movie. I don't see the point of 7 different 20 minute episodes. I hope there is a season 2 but I hope they add a little more substance.
103 out of 151 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Emotional And Powerful Teen Drama!
ashishhoro-4994026 February 2020
I am not OK with this,hit's hard but thanks to Sophia lilies electrifying performance with each episode passing you'll demand for More.
102 out of 157 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
A John hughes movie with a scifi twist
greglaw4122 March 2020
I like the show. The lead actress reminds me molly ringwald and 80s iconic movie undertones music, language and comedy is perfect for this generation of millenials and even older generation that went threw similar high school issues but with a xmen thrill in it. A new breakfast club.
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
It's like if Carrie & The Breakfast Club had a baby
xsargon14 March 2020
So many twists and turns to the plot. Can't wait for season 2
5 out of 5 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
A bit predictable, but still good enough superpower origin story
pranayjalvi27 February 2020
I Am Not Okay With This is in similar lines of The End Of The Fucking World, but with some superpowers and twists Sophia Lillis was good as the lead and this story just got started with it's final episode

Although the story could have been more strong just like the cast and the act of Sophia, I believe it might improve further it's credibility and story telling

I would rate 7/10 for this twisted superpower Netflix Original Series
28 out of 39 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
7/10
Its alright
jdiz11524 March 2020
Nothing new or groundbreaking. Well acted and story is decent enough without being to cliche. My one gripe is Netflix obsession with making every female character a lesbian lately. Feels forced imo.
16 out of 21 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Not perfect but has a lot of potential
hamiltonturtle27 February 2020
This show was a mix of cliché and originality. On one hand you have interesting plots for episodes, crazy situations, and twists and turns, and I'm the other you have predictable plots and writing. The acting was great, they made a smart move by getting actors that have worked on projects previously, and Wyatt Olef is perfect for his role. I enjoyed Sofia's performance as well, she really sold me on her character and her ability to change from being an angry or rude character to a charming and like able one is extremely impressive. I also loved Sofia Bryant, she was great for her role. All the acting was amazing so props to the casting director. One of my main complaints is the inconsistency with the episodes, some of the, were great, some were okay, and some I didn't like very much. This wouldn't be a problem if there were more episodes, but considering there are only 7 it was not convenient. The series doesn't drag along and the music is amazing. It perfectly fits the mood! I do feel like the last episode was the best one, and it made me feel like the story had just begun. That's another big problem. I felt like the first 6 episodes were all leading up to the real show. One good thing to come from this is that it made me want more from the show. The potential really shines through I'm the last episode and we get to see what the writers and directors can really do and I would have liked to see that more extreme tone through the season. I was suspecting something was going to happen but the scene really did leave me in shock. It was amazing! I want more of that in the show. My only advice for the writing team is do your research! Look at what other Netflix shows are doing and do not do that. That is the only way you're getting noticed. Break the cliché's! You've already started with having the protagonist having a crush on a girl. We rarely see a (possible) LGBTQ+ lead so props to you guys! Make something different and don't be afraid to take risks. Overall I like the show and feel like if people give a second season a chance we may really see the ball get rolling.
37 out of 57 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
8/10
Another breath of familiar fresh air(plz watch it completely)
daffewok14 March 2020
After the old famous Stranger Things season 3 came to a dramatic conclusion, I decided to begin watching yet another Netflix original, and coming from the same producer, yes, it is quite a clone of 'Carrie', a classic teen horror movie which got remade recently. For me, it does not detract from the plot line at all, though it does get a bit predictable now and then(like almost everything else nowadays). The characters are completely charming and believable, the humor and dialogue is hilarious time and time again, and the superpower idea was great and unexpected in the trailer I saw. Now, please. Please watch it until the last episode. It all goes uphill from there. "IM DYING TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS NEXT" is what I could say, but I hate clichés, so yeah, watch it.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Dark indie comedy
cartoonheart459 March 2020
I started hating netflix because they easily get you hooked on some series and you just need to wait a whole year to get more. This is definitely one of the best shows I watched this year. The actors did their job perfectly. The storyline is unpredictable. I was expecting a new version of Eleven from stranger things with some social issues and a new circle of friends. Shows normally display those supernatural humans as undefeatable and friendly loving species who naturally cope with their superpowers and learn to love their differences. Practically, everyone of us wants these superpowers judging from the bright side of things, If you're familiar with Stephen King novels. This thing is for you.
4 out of 4 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
9/10
Carrie, The Edge of Seventeen and Stranger Things all rolled into one
DarkVulcan294 March 2020
Warning: Spoilers
Sophia Lilies really shines like she did in It(2017), she plays Sydney, an awkward girl, dealing with tragedy. Having an estranged relationship with her mother, and having one real good friend Dina(Sofia Bryant). But things take a weird turn for Sydney, when she discovers that is a power within herself, that begins to surface, and how will all this play out in the end.





The show plays like a good teenage drama and mixes good sci fi elements perfectly together. Sophia Lilies is not always likable has Sydney, but at the same time you kind understand why. Wyatt Olaff is also quite the scene stealer has Stanley, who was also in It(2017). I am super excited for season 2.
15 out of 22 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
5/10
Very meh
lfrey061427 February 2020
I am super confused as to how this is getting such great reviews. The series felt like a brief overview of a story. A cliff notes. The in between of a movie and a TV series-too short for the in-depth look you'd expect from a series and too long to be considered a movie. Just felt like they didn't really try.
84 out of 153 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
6/10
Stan Barber Deserves A Better Show
hermesv-4174027 February 2020
Warning: Spoilers
Hoo boy, this show annoys me. It had so much potential but it WASTED IT! Let's start at the beginning

Episodes 1-3 are very boring and repetitive and almost stopped me from finishing the show. I feel like they could've been cut down into 1 or 2 episodes and accomplish just as much. And for a show that's only 7(!) episodes long, you don't have time to waste repeating yourself. They'd just have Sydney have a bad day, have her powers blow up, and then repeat.

Also for the first 4(Out of 7 episodes remember) Syd is just an absolute rude to the people who try to be nice to her (except Dina). For example, in the bowling alley scene, she makes light (and/or fun) of Stan's abusive relationship with his dad (also doesn't help that Stan seems a more interesting character than her)

Now, I believe the show gets tremendously better from episodes 4-6. Syd gets to be more than just angry sad girl and gets to interact with Dina, Stan and her family in better ways and the story trajectory is looking very interesting.

But they couldn't stick the landing. And up until a point, I was loving the final episode. The characters are gelling together perfectly and the story's climax is *chef's kiss* Brad's death is such an interesting way to take the story but the writer's had to go and ruin it with the most lazy and CLICHE cliffhanger!

I would've been perfectly fine if the show had just ended right there with Brad's death. However the writer's had to end it with that cheesy ass line "Let's begin'' (It reminded me of S7 Game of Thrones writing it was that bad) It ends the story abruptly and leaves me so unsatisfied.

Now, overall I think this show is a solid 6/10 and I will definitely tune in to season 2 but goddamn I am so annoyed right now
92 out of 172 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
3/10
Could have been awesome but...
plangdon-482214 March 2020
Warning: Spoilers
Breakfast Club meets Carrie and goes woke.

Can't they write ANYTHING these days without the compulsory lesbian, the mixed race relationship, the bullying jock, the effete young man, the dysfunctional.family with the stressed out overworked mother desparately trying to hold it all together?

Can't writers be original any more?

Come on guys. Just once can originality PLEASE trump woke PC nonsense? It's getting a bit of a yawn fest now.
84 out of 156 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
10/10
Great Series ... Dont understand the hate from others.
sianelizabethann26 February 2020
Warning: Spoilers
I just watched all these episodes back to back and I thought it was great. I dont agree with other comments saying it is like 'Stranger things'. Yes it has an 80s feel but it is set in modern time. The other thing that would tie the two is that they're young adults/kids. This series is more realistic with a dark twist.

I would love to see another season. I like that it was a shorter episodes with 20-30 minutes on each. Was a great afternoon binge session, Gripping scenes that kept me wanting more.

10/10 from me. Everyones preferences are different but I would say dont let others put you off watching. Decide for yourself.
45 out of 80 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
4/10
This has been done before . . . and better!
DeckerDigital27 February 2020
This series is a pretty typical adaption of a comic book teen coming of age comedy. It doesn't have a real hook and the use of the protagonist talking to herself is poorly done. The dialogue, the little that there is, has been done many times before. The angst is predictable and common. So the only thing new is the new superpowers Sydney has. Even that has been done before. There are many better adaptions done better. This one has nothing really new to offer.
69 out of 130 found this helpful. Was this review helpful? Sign in to vote.
Permalink
An error has occured. Please try again.

See also

Awards | FAQ | User Ratings | External Reviews | Metacritic Reviews


Recently Viewed